We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Cenote Ik kil
from $79.00
More Info
from $99.00
More Info
Reviews (5,613)
Filter reviews
5,613 results
Traveler rating
3,264
1,543
543
164
99
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,264
1,543
543
164
99
Show reviews that mention
All reviews life jackets treading water changing rooms red bull black fish rent a locker jump off cool water sink hole water level catfish tour buses unique experience chichen itza tour refreshing swim buffet lunch on site
Filter
Updating list...
437 - 442 of 5,613 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2017 via mobile

We came here as part of our Chichen Itza tour. The cenote was good, we swam for about 30mins which was a great experience. The downside is there were so many people doing the same thing. We visited other cenotes for diving in the same which were quieter in comparison.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank tia91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2017

So glad we decided to swim in this cenote! My husband and I had a rental car and parked outside of the entrance gate before we realized there was plenty of parking inside as we arrived at 5pm (an hour before they closed). I don't recall there being a parking fee but I may be incorrect. Arriving after the crowds had left was probably the best accidental decision we made; we were running behind schedule that day as Chichen Itza took roughly 4 hours (unguided) and we stopped and grabbed lunch in the small town.

Upon arriving, you pay roughly a $20 USD entrance fee. You will also have to rent a locker to put your things in once you've made it to the bathrooms. Remember to bring towels, an extra change of clothes to change into afterwards, water shoes, and rent a lifejacket.

Once you're in your bathing suits, you are asked to rinse off under the outdoor showers to avoid contamination of the cenote. The stairs leading down are a little gross because of the foot traffic of people who leave soaking wet. This is where the pair of water shoes come in handy as there are also rocks inside of the cenote to avoid scraping your feet. You are allowed to dive in, not very high but definitely fun!

I will say, it may be a bit scary at first because of how dark it is and due to the fact that you see small fish swimming around you. If you decide not to rent a life jacket, you may get tired just from keeping yourself afloat; although they do have ropes you can hang on in case you do.

During our visit, we did see kids as young as 7 or 8 years old there but I wouldn't recommend bringing any younger as they may not be as comfortable adapting to the colder temperature of the cenote and the fact that you may not be able to see what's swimming about.

Overall, the amazing view of the cenote and the small adrenaline rush from swimming in a majestic place overcame the small "imperfections" of the experience.

Date of experience: February 2017
3  Thank Sylvia5083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2017 via mobile

This is an absolute must do!! The Cenote is limestone and the water is so cool and refreshing. You are able to jump into the Cenote from as high as 40 feet.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2017 via mobile

This Cenote is gorgeous and will take your breath away. It was quite busy and still we had a great time. We purchased our tickets to include the buffet. Had a great time, would highly recommend.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank roadtrippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2017

This incredible find in the middle of Mexico didn't disappoint. The long walk down 94 stone steps to reach this cooling pool was amazing. If you have the time and can stop in to do it I would.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews