We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem in Cancun”

Luum Cocina Creativa
Ranked #52 of 1,190 Restaurants in Cancun
Price range: $10 - $35
Description: Regional cuisine inspired in the richness and flavour of our land combining traditional products and techniques with unique presentations and flourishes of modern day cuisine, always based on fresh, seasonal and local products. The ideal place to relax, enjoy and feel like home!
Restaurant details
Description: Regional cuisine inspired in the richness and flavour of our land combining traditional products and techniques with unique presentations and flourishes of modern day cuisine, always based on fresh, seasonal and local products. The ideal place to relax, enjoy and feel like home!
Reviewed August 22, 2018

After missing our flight to Tulum, we spent an extra night in Cancun. We weren't super familiar with where we were going and were essentially stranded. After walking around the area a bit, we eventually stumbled upon this Gem. The staff was extremely nice and courteous. First helping us to find a taxi which is what was our initial need, but we decided to stay for a drink which then turned into a bottle, a dinner, and a spectacular desert. Everything was prepared with great care, flavor and technique. We had the portobello flat bread, the octopus special, and the creme brûlée. All delicious. If you're visiting and want to experience the life of a local outside of the tourist mayhem, please make sure you stop by this amazing restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 77 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2018

This was a lovely find for NYE dinner. They had a fixed menu for the evening which was not excepted but embraced. The food was unique and delicious. They service and family were wonderful. They had a dew small groups and were willing to go off menu to accommodate some needs. They also hosted a big group in the room next to us. It was a lovely evening. We finished the night with champagne and grapes.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2018

We enjoyed a table outdoors, under the tree, as the day cooled down. The attentive server Eduardo was personable, knowledgeable about the food and wine, and provided excellent service. He made the experience special and took note that it was our anniversary and provided complimentary champagne- a nice gesture. It is a small family run place- with highly personalized attention to your needs. Menu is limited and innovative, We enjoyed trying and sharing foods from all the different categories- appetizer/salad, followed by pizzeta, then a delicious beef, then dessert. All was wonderful. Highly recommend this place and make reservations if its the weekend as there are only a few tables.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BethHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienciaLuum, Public Relations Manager at Luum Cocina Creativa, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2018

Dear BethHanoi,

On behalf of all of us at Lu’um, I would like to thank you for choosing us to celebrate your anniversary. We are thrilled to learn thar you could indulge with our Cuisine on this special date for you.

Our staff is our most valuable asset, we take from them as they are highly apprecaited by our guests. Even though our menú is limited, we do have Chef’s special every night and we are happy to accommodate special requests.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2018

We had probably our best ever meal in Cancun - after coming here regularly for 10 years! Lu'um (means earth in Mayan) is high end dining with a nouveau creative mexican flair. A small menu - 4-5 starters, 2 entrees, a few flatbreads and 3 desserts - based on what is fresh and available. We shared 3 courses - an excellent spinach salad, grilled octopus and beef tenderloin. Each course was very good. We also shared a dessert which we liked but I enjoyed the earlier courses more. Our waiter - Eduardo was helpful, engaging and guided us thru the menu and there was great attention to detail in all aspects of the meal. Overall prices were reasonable - our 3 shared courses plus dessert and 3 glasses of wine was $75 with tip. Easy access by bus (R1 or R2) or taxi and Lu'um is on a street (Nader) with several other interesting restaurants. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank rsburgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienciaLuum, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Luum Cocina Creativa, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2018

Dear rsburgess,

We are so glad that after these years coming to Cancun, you finally made it to Lu’um.

Our Cuisine is based on the flavors of our earth, fresh and traditional local ingredientes are combined to elaborate creative and exquisite dishes. Also, our personalized service is greatly appreciated by our guests.

Do not hesitate to come back on your next visit to Cancun, it will be our pleasure serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2018

This was our last meal in Mexico before heading back to Washington DC. We could not have had a better experience. The food was great, so very tasty and originally presented; the dishes were creative. The chocolate mousse stood out as being the best we had in the whole of Mexico. The place is small and makes for a great intimate experience. The service and attention is impeccable. The place is clearly run with passion.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mmsfssm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienciaLuum, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Luum Cocina Creativa, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2018

Dear mmsfssm,

Thank you so much for noticing the passion that we work with, passion for Cuisine, passion for wine, passion for service and most important passion for our guests. We take pride for our chocolate mousse, it was not part of our menu, however, as people tried it, they asked us to have it every night and it has become a guest’s favorite.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luum Cocina Creativa also viewed

 

Been to Luum Cocina Creativa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing