We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Original spot - Excellent”

La Habichuela Downtown
Reserve with OpenTable
La Habichuela Downtown is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 970 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Avenida Coba & Uxmal
Description: Located in the center of the city, La Habichuela, has become a legend of Cancun with more than 38 years of operation. Some say that if you don't know La Habichuela, you don't know Cancun. The unique and a genuine ambience of the Mayan culture, attentive service, complete menu of Mexican cuisine,Caribbean seafood , steaks, international dishes, have built the restaurant's strong reputation. La Habichuela was awarded the Five Diamonds Award from the American Academy of Hospitality Sciences & is a proud recipient of the National Best Restaurant Award and the recognition of DIRONA since 2001. La Habichuela is considered a must in Cancun
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Original spot - Excellent”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Love all their dishes. Try their plantains. The Cesar salad is made from scratch at the your table. Absolutely great. Go here very year that we are in Cancun. Their other location is very good as well (Sunset).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank USJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    836
    219
    94
    28
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Meal of Death.”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The garden is a beautiful place to eat.
I asked for the fish filled with lobtster and i got intoxicated.
I am not Superman but i rarely get sick, and i got sick here.
Its a shame because i really liked the place!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gaston S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, NJ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Feels like going back in time”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We decided to give La Hibichuela a try given the amazing reviews and we wanted to hit Parque de las Palapas after dinner. I was disappointed with the overall experience. It feels like you are back in the 80s at this restaurant. The decor is old - the light above the table was old and dirty looking. The food presentation is also old school. The taste was just ok. I'm not sure what the fuss is about. Maybe we ordered poorly. I had the grouper supreme. It tasted ok but was nothing to write home about. I'd pass on this place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wang923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Holbox Quintana Roo
Level Contributor
126 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“ROMANTIC INTIMATE w/ 36 Years in CANCUN!”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Wow !!!! This jewel tucked away in Downtown Cancun has been thrilling Travelers & locals alike for 36 YEARS! Armando Pezzotti the owner has served up some of the BEST Caribbean food on the PLANET!

Dine in a lush Tropical Garden & be attended to by his staff of friendly waiters many who have been there for 10-15-20 years!

My Favorite is the CONCH Apetizer marinated in a Tangy Citrus sauce (Sometimes I order 2 & skip the entree!)

LaHabichuela also offers Formal Dining in AC Comfort....but if its a nice night why not "DINE UNDER THE STARS! Its Hard to find but a short cab ride from the Hotel Zone! His son Armando Jr also has opened the SUNSET LAHABICHUELA @ Km 12.5 on the lagoon side of the Hotel Zone

There its LIKE "FATHER LIKE SON" Armando Jr has Duplicated DADS success and added a few NEW Treats of his own. You gotta Try BOTH! Sunset also offers a Great MAYAN FLOOR Show outdoors @ 800pm Monday-Wed-Fri evenings.

LAHABICHUELA a LANDMARK EATERY for 36 YEARS! Nobody comes close!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whale Shark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing food and service”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

A beautiful restaurant with excellent service and wonderful food! I thoroughly enjoyed myself! The food was absolutely delicious! I had the amaranth encrusted grouper and huitlacoche crepes. I would order both again! The waiters were attentive and engaging and offered suggestions. And the drinks were powerful! It was such a great experience that I will recommend it to anyone and I will be coming back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingyogini523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Habichuela Downtown also viewed

 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to La Habichuela Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing