We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in Cancun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Habichuela Downtown

La Habichuela Downtown
Reserve with OpenTable
La Habichuela Downtown is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 939 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Avenida Coba & Uxmal
Description: Located in the center of the city, La Habichuela, has become a legend of Cancun with more than 38 years of operation. Some say that if you don't know La Habichuela, you don't know Cancun. The unique and a genuine ambience of the Mayan culture, attentive service, complete menu of Mexican cuisine,Caribbean seafood , steaks, international dishes, have built the restaurant's strong reputation. La Habichuela was awarded the Five Diamonds Award from the American Academy of Hospitality Sciences & is a proud recipient of the National Best Restaurant Award and the recognition of DIRONA since 2001. La Habichuela is considered a must in Cancun
New York
1 review
“Best in Cancun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We've been going here for years and they never disappoint, including our most recent visit last week. The food, ambiance and service are impeccable. The staff constantly goes above and beyond to accommodate and make you feel like you are the only diner in the restaurant. The unique dishes are delicious, no matter what you might order from the extensive menu, and are presented with flair in an incredible courtyard setting that makes you feel transported miles away from a busy downtown area to some other-worldly, ancient Mayan locale. It is worth the trip for the Cocobichuela alone, and the Mayan coffee is a true 'foodie' experience unto itself. This is a definite 'don't miss' dining experience in Cancun.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HCG91570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    805
    212
    89
    28
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We have a exelente dinner. Great service, the owner came to us several times and recomenend several dishes.
The food was the best.
First I ordered shirmp soup (spicy) but we a cold beer was amazing.
Then some tacos with Jaiba (soft crab shell) WOW !!!.
The third dish: fried Boquiten (fish) two thumbs up.
For dessert we had some ice cream with mint and we love it.
So I do recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Garminte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bay area, california
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Ambiance & Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband I have gone to La Habichuela several times over close to 20yrs when we've traveled to Cancun and I always love the ambiance of the patio, restaurant, food & staff. We've since brought our children (11yrs & 14yrs) and the also love it. The staff goes out of their way to make you feel special throughout. Ending the meal with a Mayan coffee is absolutely the best (made table side, flaming...makes it even more fun.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kvh2kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

In the many years we have visited Cancun we have not eaten at La Habichuela until this past April. We were advised by some local people to go to the downtown restaurant even though there was another one close to our resort. When we arrived the staff was very friendly and accommodating and we were surprised at the variety of the menu and the beauty of the gardens.
It was a quiet and peaceful setting, the drinks, wine and food were excellent, as was the service.
We had an absolutely enjoyable evening with friends and will definitely be back next year.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Don't let the location put you off!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

After nearly 30 years of vacationing in Cancun we finally tried La Habichuela - Downtown. At first the drive there and location was a bit off-putting but the restaurant itself was a hit. Beautiful decor throughout the entryway lead to an upscale dining room and, even better, a fantastic outside garden area full of trees, Mayan sculpture and tons of atmosphere. The service was very attentive and our waiter, Muse, was so knowledgeable and passionate about the menu we were hard pressed to decide from the quite large menu. Ultimately we all had the Super Surf and Turf which had a very good sized filet, grilled shrimp and a grilled lobster tail all served with three flavored dipping butters. Fabulous! The desserts and Mayan coffee prepared tableside were a hit as well. Kudos to the wait staff, the kitchen and especially Sr Muse. We will be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank suesguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Habichuela Downtown also viewed

 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to La Habichuela Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing