We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travellers Beware”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Porto Fino Bay View Grand
Ranked #51 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Cancun
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Travellers Beware”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I am sure the apartments and complex are great, but be very aware, there is a Bylaw prohibiting the apartments from being rented for less than 90 days periods. We were asked by the owner we rented from to lie and say were were friends of his, and were not renting. Unfortunately he did not tell the truth about why we were being asked to say this, claiming it was because other resident owners did not like the apartments being rented out. We found out the truth when we arrived and were refused entry by security once they found out we were renting, and not legally allowed to stay. We were forced to find alternative accomodation at a nearby hotel. To make it worse, the owner we rented from is refusing to refund our money, claiming it is our fault we were refused entry, because we could not lie convincingly enough to get past security. So be very careful when paying owners in full before arrival, and make sure you are being told the truth about the rules and regulations.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
44 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    13
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
45
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Great property and location. Pool and bar on site fab! Staff service excellent. Sadly we didn't have hot water for three days and the owner a bit slow on the mark to get sorted. No broad band or Internet unless you go to the pool. Property had all the things you would expect. Blinds didn't work so sun beaming in very early! Enjoyed holiday absent maintenance issues.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank londonflashpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Me and my family went to Porto Fino Condos in January 2012 for 2 weeks. We all loved it! I am 10 and I love travelling with my family. We stayed in tower 5 and it was beautiful! I was very pleased! Marble floors, jacuzzi on our deck, and a fantastic view! Me and my sister's bedroom had a flat screen TV on the wall and one bed for me and a pull out couch for her. The TV has most of the channels we have at home. We also had a great view of the city from our window. I didn't hear any music from Senior Frogs or any of the surrounding buildings. This one had a big kitchen for my Mom and Dad to cook in. We could even go buy our own food from the local grocery store instead of room service. It keeps us fit too! Downstairs there is an outdoor pool for everyone who is staying at Porto Fino to swim and have fun with their families. I had a lot of fun swimming and playing with my sister and my little cousins in the pool. There even is a hot tub too for the parents to chill out and take a break. There is also a little shallow pool for toddlers to get used to the water and learn how to swim. It helped one of my cousins learn how to swim and she could swim underwater in the deep part of the pool by the 14th day. There is even a restaurant/bar by the pool! I loved their pancakes (hot cakes) and their guacamole. Try the strawberry ice smoothie. It is the best drink on a hot day. For kids who are waiting for their meals there are two flat screen TV's at the restaurant/bar. The kids can choose the channels they want to watch and you can actually hear the shows. It also worked for my Dad, who is a big soccer fan and watched a game while waiting. I miss Rau, the guy who ran the bar. He was nice and he made us feel comfortable while eating. When going to Porto Fino, visit the water by the beach. Watch for the colour of the flags too. Red means dangerous, yellow means be careful and green means safe. It may be a little rough but it is still fun to splash and play. George the lifeguard and the security staff in the complex are great and really looked after us. For shell collectors, take a walk along the beach. There is a big sand wall full of interesting, colourful and special shells. I am a shell collector myself and I found so many awesome shells! Porto Fino is a great experience. It is WAY better than a resort or hotel. Trust me, go here! I'm going back as soon as I can!

Room Tip: Tower 5 is closer to the water and has a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ARB2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

8 of us rented from Steve@CancunBeachResortCondo, loved our unit, Tower 6 unit 1904, he
send us all kinds of information from transportation to dinning, made it much easier when we got there, the property mamagers were very professional, accomidating and very polite. We all loved that the ocean was so close, we all had a blast and will be back for sure!

Room Tip: A little loud with the all night music but staying on the main street that is to be expected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lisa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We just came back from a week in unit 1904, tower six of the Portofino. The higher up floors of this tower definitely have stunning views. We were one floor below the penthouse and heard music from the surrounding clubs most nights, even from the bedrooms that face the ocean. It’s not so much hearing it as it is feeling it due to the bass vibrations. We are early risers and some mornings the music was still going on at 7am. Beautiful condos are readily available in Cancun. For our tastes, this one was a little too close to the action.

I was a bit hesitant booking with Steven of cancunbeachresortcondo because of his negative responses to those who did not give the Portofino a good review on Tripadvisor. I’m thinking you should be listening to the feedback instead of getting your back up. We went ahead and booked anyways.

The paperwork we got prior to our arrival states that “If anyone inquires about your status please state you are guests of the owner and do not state you are renting the unit, as there is a small group of owners who frown about renters.” I won’t lie for anyone. Luckily nobody asked me my status.

In an email prior to booking I asked Steven if the water is purified and he said yes. It’s not. The fridge’s water/ice dispenser is disconnected because the water is not purified.

Unit 1904 does not have a dishwasher, as advertised. We would never have booked this unit knowing there was no dishwasher. There were nine of us; four adults and five teenagers! A dishwasher is a must. I was told that maids would be up twice a day to fix this problem. They rarely came once a day. When I brought this to Steven’s attention he said that twice a day was too much and most people (99 out of 100) eat out! We enjoy our vacation as we see fit. If we want to eat in our out, well that’s our choice. It was very disappointing and frustrating to not have the dishes cleaned and to be dismissed when we brought this to Steven’s attention. Steven’s paperwork says “I and my team of professionals are dedicated to ensure your vacation experience is nothing short of outstanding.” We found this to be totally false.

Stay in the Portofino if you want to be very close to the action, just don’t stay in unit 1904 or use cancunbeachresortcondo, as Steven is quick to take your rent (3,800 for our week) but was not helpful at all during our stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank fiveinthefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVG_Steve, Manager at Porto Fino Bay View Grand, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
#1 - The traveler was there the heart of spring break week. I happen to be there at same time in a unit several floors below. There was a few nights where the music was loud and going to the wee hours of the morning, but after a few days the music ceased and was not an issue. There is ordinances against the clubs who are outdoors playing music excessively loud and I was informed the police did get it under control and again the music ceased after a few days. Spring break week can be chaotic in Cancun especially when you are located 4-5 blocks from the night clubs.

#2 I did not know the owner removed the dishwasher from the unit last month because it was rarely used and starting to corrode. The unit now reflects this fact. The traveler did email me about the problem and we agreed to send the housekeeper there daily to wash the dishes. The traveler was not promised twice a day, the traveler rather dictated on her terms what she expected. The traveler demanded we send someone to the unit a few times a day and also expected a substantial refund and was behaving rather bizarre.

As this is not a hotel and we do not have cleaning woman working 24/7. We did our best to accommodate this traveler, but some people cannot ever be satisfied. the emails no less than 5 times per day give you an idea of the type we are dealing with.

Regarding the water, the water in Cancun is purified. This does not mean I would recommend drinking water from the tap or making ice for drinks with tap water. The water is perfectly safe, but most owners including myself choose to buy a pack of ultra purified ice from the convenience store right out front for 15 pesos vs chancing using tap water. For this reason most owners including myself do not hook up the refrigerator water and ice. All units also have 5 gallon water dispensers, and 2 5 gallon jugs are provided in unit and additional can be purchased for 30 pesos from the convenience store right out front.

In summary as one can see the overwhelmingly vast majority of guests love Portofino for its quality, views, location and more. Every once in a while you get someone who goes on vacation and lets a small thing stress them out the entire vacation. While I agree there were minor issues associated with this stay, this traveler dwelled on the minor issues and let it eat her up, as evident from the emails no less than 5 times a day. We did our best to accommodate her and make things right, and always do. Hey, enjoy the vacation, go the beach and get outside and relax. Don’t let small details eat you up.

There was someone staying in same unit who arrived a couple days later, I received one email from that guest telling me how they loved the condo and cannot wait to come back. I will ask the 8 ladies who stayed there this past week to post a review so everyone can see the contrast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

If you recently read the review slamming Ernie don't believe it. We have rented twice at Portofino and both times Ernie has been the property manager. In our experience he was nothing but professional and went out of his way to ensure our trips were trouble free. I find your review "invasive property manager" shocking considering our personal experience and your inference that if you travel with girls you should be worried slanderous.

The facilities are top notch, location top notch, ten times better than being stuck in a resort living in one room for your vacation.

If you lose or break things then man up and pay up, the property managers job is to ensure the property remains in top shape and items that were there when you arrived are in the same shape as when you leave.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeedBreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

This location is across the street from Senior Frogs and a block away from a flea market and clubs. The condo is pretty nice and the view is pretty awesome.

The worst part of this trip for me was the manager Ernie. He was very invasive and has the power to come in anytime he wants with out you letting him. He came in when everybody was sleeping, to "fix" something. If you are traveling with any girls this should set off alarms. Also on our last day, check out was at 12 and we stepped out at 11 to grab some burritos next door (awesome burritos) and the wait took a bit longer than expected but when we go back at around 1130 Ernie was already there counting all the silverware, bowls, towel, etc. I felt like he made up missing items like 3 bowls were missing when accounted for all the bowls we used. We admit we lost 2 towels by the pool, because you take them up and down to the pool but no way we lost bowls. The towel we lost were embroidered with the tower number and the room number so I'm positive they still had them. Ernie would not let us leave until we paid $300 cash for the towels. We tired to argue that he could take it out of our deposit, but demanded we pay cash right then and there. So that's why I believe he just took our money and put the "missing" towels back.

This place is nice but not worth the hassle of dealing with Ernie.

Oh yeah, no internet and someone stole my Ray-Bans

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
13 Thank Daren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean Dream
Ocean Dream
#85 of 175 in Cancun
216 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mayafair Design Hotel
Mayafair Design Hotel
#142 of 175 in Cancun
143 reviews
0.6 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cancun Clipper Club
Cancun Clipper Club
#80 of 175 in Cancun
595 reviews
0.5 mi away
Krystal Cancun
Krystal Cancun
#69 of 175 in Cancun
4,900 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salvia Cancun
Salvia Cancun
#25 of 135 in Cancun
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Fino Bay View Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Fino Bay View Grand

Property: Porto Fino Bay View Grand
Address: Km 9.5 Kulkulcan Blvd., Cancun, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Cancun
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Fino Bay View Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Porto Fino Bay View Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Fino Bay View Grand Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing