We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, pricey though.”

Puerto Madero Cancun
Reserve with OpenTable
Puerto Madero Cancun is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 980 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The most exclusive restaurant in Cancun since it opened in June 2004. Casual and elegant atmosphere with soft music, an invitation to enjoy good food, the best service and the warm Caribbean atmosphere of Cancun, which attracts millions of tourists from around the world. Our menu features the finest selection of meats, fish and seafood imports and Lobster from Maine, lovingly prepared in our exclusive "Charcoal Grill". A privileged place where you can admire every evening, from our covered terrace, the spectacular "Sunset" that makes this Cancun a destination "must see".
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, pricey though.”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This place serves great food, the wine is expensive so i would advise not to order any. They should have a house wine for 20 - 30 dollars. We paid nearly 60, we didnt really think it was that dear because it was in pesso and we use Euro in our country. Charging for water is a bit extreme also and 3 euro a bottle nearly. This bill for the food came to 200 dollars and that was for 2 main courses, 1 dessert, a bottle of wine and the 2 waters so it is pricey. It was our honeymoon and we wanted to go for a nice romantic meal and some good food so we didnt mind. Once you know what you're getting yourself in for. I thought it was still worth it though. Portions were big so we were glad we didnt order starters.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,540
    638
    188
    61
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yonkers
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not as good as before”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

For many years Puerto Madero, Harry's and Casa Rolandi were our favorite restaurants in Cancun. We go to Cancun every October for 2 weeks. This trip we went to Puerto Madero twice. The food is generally very good except for two things. We have martinis before we eat. A Kettel One vodka martini costs 280 pesos or 22/23 dollars. Its not particularly big and I think it is incredibly overpriced. We also ordered on one of the visits NY Strip steaks. The steaks were not trimmed and had quite a lot of gristle. A quality steak house should not do this. On the positive note the Grilled vegetables are terrific. We probably will try it again but if they do not change we will eat at Harry's next door.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2valentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Dining With A View”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We just spent a week in Cancun, and left Puerto Madero for our final night of celebration with our friends. That proved to be a good choice. We all have different palates, and this restaurant certainly meet our needs. From steak, to delicious seafood, our meals were all very very good.
We were seated on the veranda, overlooking the lagoon, and the ambiance was sublime. Our waiter and his assistants were wonderful. It's a very pretty place, with a solid history, and my husband and I will certainly be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The good:
Great food, nice presentation, well prepared, plentiful.
Nice view of the lagoon
The bad:
The waiters are a just a little too pushy trying to sell you more food and drinks.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royersford, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Steaks”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I don't eat steaks in CanCun anywhere else. This is top-notch restaurant. Expensive, but beyond compare. Waiters in Tuxedo, excellent service, great beef. The locals begin to fill the place around 9:30. For those who dine earlier, you can get a good table around 8:00 or earlier.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puerto Madero Cancun also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Puerto Madero Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing