We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place!!”
Review of Grand Oasis Palm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Oasis Palm
Ranked #47 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2014

The Grand Oasis Palm was an amazing place! The customer service was always WONDERFUL. The staff really went out of their way to make my boyfriend and I comfortable during our stay. From check-in to check-out, everyone was awesome! Our room was great quality as well. We had a balcony on the 9th floor, which had a nice view of the lagoon. Our air conditioning didn't work the first night, but they switched us rooms as soon as they found out.

The pool was very nice on the Grand side. It was very quiet and relaxing. On the other side, there were constantly activities and fun going on. The beach was nice as well. Very clean and well kept. The Caribbean was calm, unlike other places in the resort area. You could see different fish swimming along with you! We ate at several of the restaurants during our stay. The buffets were great for a quick meal. We also ate at Careyes and had the best dinner ever! La Bamba also had great seafood.

We had a wonderful stay and can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We had a balcony room, facing the lagoon, on the 9th floor. It was absolutely breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Grand Oasis Palm, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Lauren:

We are pleased to greet you at the same time thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit to Cancun. Likewise express our appreciation for the flattering words we received from your stay with us.
We are delighted to have met your expectations, It is a pleasure to serve you and make your stay with us an unforgettable experience.

Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,530)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,067 - 1,073 of 3,529 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2014

The Grand Oasis palm is a solid choice. My husband and I wanted a short, and inexpensive honeymoon and the Grand Oasis Palm was the best option. The hotel is clean, the staff were friendly and helpful and there about 7 different restaurants to choose from. The food wasn't bad, nothing extravagant. This is definitely a family hotel, so if you're looking for nightlife this isn't the place for you

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sexxxys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Grand Oasis Palm, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your kind and positive review. We are glad you spent your holiday in our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is a pleasure to serve you and make your stay with us an unforgettable experience.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Grand Oasis Palm is the perfect example of "you get what you pay for", if you are looking for some upscale romantic getaway this isn't the resort for you. With that said, for the money it was a great find. Ten of us traveled together (four kids) and we all enjoyed it very much. The staff is very attentive across the board, from the front desk, to the cleaning crew, the bartenders, waitstaff and most of all the beach waitstaff. We did spend one day at the sister hotel (Oasis Palm) next door but there was no service on the beach so we headed right back to our hotel where we were taken very good care of by Marco Antonio Hernandez Hernendez. He was the best server EVER! He made sure our drinks were never empty, he engaged in conversation, he even played with our kids! He was truly the best employee at the entire resort (but there really were no bad employees!). Also, at the steak house, Francisco and Gustavo were amazing as well, we went back three nights in a row! Our kids ate at the buffet and the staff there tended to them (happily) while we ate right outside the buffet at the steakhouses outdoor seating. The food was nothing great, the steak house and the buffet at the Oasis Palm (not the Grand Oasis Palm) were the best places to eat. If you book your stay at Grand Oasis you have full access to both hotels. You find a lot of people on trip advisor that will rate a hotel low based on one bad experience they had while there, maybe their sink dripped or their window wouldn't open etc, in my opinion these things have no overall bearing on whether I have a good time, the staff, the service and the food are what matters and all three were pretty good at this resort (well the staff was better than pretty good, they were GREAT!). Thanks Marco, we miss you and hope you enjoy your time at home - we will be looking for you when white water rafting becomes an Olympic Event!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Grand Oasis Palm, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Laurie:

It is a great pleasure to receive feedback on our service and this motivates us to keep improving and so ensure a high quality service. We look forward to welcome you again in our hotel where we will welcome you with open arms and the satisfaction of seeing you again.

Again, we appreciate your trust in us. We are at your service.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

My husband, 9 year old daughter and I visited the Grand Oasis Palm the week of April 21st. Check in was nice and easy but beware of the vacation package sellers who will immediately approach you the first time you enter the lobby! They are very persistent but if you are persistent to and keep saying "no" (if you are not interested in the 90 minute sales presentation) they will eventually give up. Restaurants: Las Palmas: good buffet, love the brazilian style churrascaria at night - wish they would have GUACAMOLE like their sister resort buffet next door. Thanks to Virna for her friendly greeting every time we showed up there...which was a lot of times. LOL. and thanks to sweet Filiberto for turning me on to the healthy green nopales drink - at breakfast! The steakhouse Aires Del Norte...highly recommend - ate there twice - delicious ribeye steak, pork ribs...chicken taco appetizers...yum! Big shout out to Francisco Maduro....his big smile and great service was really appreciated! Muchas gracias Francisco! Did not love La Bamba...and I queued up at 6:50 am to get the rez! It is worth skipping. Hamburgers, popcorn and ice cream at the cart by the pool: good. Sushi at sushi bar: nice service and pretty good. Tequila bar: Great drinks! Beach bar: Thanks to Hervin for always knowing that I needed another pina colada! Muchas gracias! The room: the bed was comfortable but the room could have been kept a little cleaner. If you like to use washcloths, you better bring your own...we only had three towels - no bathmat for the floor either. However, we LOVED the personalized welcome note and the plate of welcoming chocolates..a really nice touch! Nice view of the Ocean but between Mr. Peacock shrieking at day break and the noise from the disco, next time I will not elect for the ocean view....all in all, we had a fab time. If you want to take the bus to "Downtown" you can catch it outside...La Tienda Viente Ocho, Walmart and other shops await! A quick trip back and forth. I will definitely stay at the Grand Oasis Palm again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bibi_Burke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Grand Oasis Palm, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Bibi:

It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your vacations in our hotel and that you received such excellent service.
We are proud to say we have a team always ready to give their best at all times to make every single one of our guests feel at home and make sure they have a wonderful vacation. We will certainly congratulate them for their amazing job.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again on your next visit to Cancun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

After we ran from the oasis Cancun, what a dump, we were greatful to be transferred into the palm, the room was comfortable and clean, the hallways were noisy but settled down after midnight, we got tired of the buffet after three days, the sushi was horrid, the beach was nice, the pools were okay, lots and lots of kids, only two elevators and one kept breaking down, the front desk staff need more training....the beach staff were great! Marco was the best!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony and choose a lower floor because of the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Grand Oasis Palm, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Jennifer:

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us. We want to know that every day we are making changes and improvements to our hotels to provide our guests with excellent service. We look forward to see you again in our hotel to enhance your experience.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We booked this trip last minute and got a reasonable price through sunwing so our expectations were possibly slightly lower due to price.

The room:

The room was equip with a king bed, large tub, double sinks, nice size balcony over looking the lagoon, and a mini fridge stocked daily. The use of the safe is an extra $8 usd per day. And wifi is extra cost of $7 for 12 hours or $30 for 5 days. It worked fairly well we purchased it for twelve hours. The hallways are a bit noisy at night, but being a family resort everyone is usually quiet by 11pm. Front desk service is nothing go brag about, they need some training on customer service.

Elevators: there is sometimes a bit of a wait, but not as bad as people make it out to be. The most wait was about 5 minutes at tops.


Restaurants: there is 3 buffets and at least 4 a la cartes I believe, and we had unlimited reservations. Reservations are each morning at 9am and gives people arriving everyday a fair chance at reserving. We got our choice every time as well as the time we wanted to go as well . Real plus. The food was average at the buffets and most of the a la cartes was pretty good. The services in most restaurants is really good. Buffets not as good as a la cartes but that is to be expected. The snack bars aren't open nearly long enough during the day, and you can't get a drink before 10am, and by then the sun is beating down on you! The ice cream machine is awesome, but again not open nearly long enough during the day. There is no snacks late evenings so we found ourselves eating at the buffet for a snack before the show each night.



Housekeeping:
Our fridge was refilled daily, bed made and fresh towels. However the floor was never swept, so we kept getting sand everywhere and one day our room was wide open when we came back from an excursion. Kind of disappointing for me personally, we did tip occasionally and they never did any designs with towels or put any extra effort into it.

Beach and pools:
There are two large pools to use, which are both clean and shaded. They get busy with all the kids at times but try to find a corner where you won't be splashed. The beach is clean and the guy works hard every night to organize chairs, which didn't go un noticed. The water is really calm so there is a little more seaweed around the beach and in the water. But great for little kids that can't swim to just play.

Entertainment :

There is a nightly show which was always nice at the grand ballroom. There are activities through out the day that are planned, with adults and children. I tried an early morning yoga class for the first time and was welcomed and felt the instructor was great. Allan works as part of the entertainment team and is fantastic ! He's great with children and always working 24/7! There is also a kids club on site which we didn't see because we don't have children but heard from others is was good.

Overall: the resort was pretty good for the price we paid, however personally for a few hundred more dollars we would stay somewhere else next time.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Traveller12234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Grand Oasis Palm, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Guest:

We are flattered to know that your stay with us has motivated you to share such a great review about our hotel.
We are very happy to have met your expectations and that you were able to have an excellent trip to Cancun. We work hard to create positive experiences for our guests and for you to remember our hotel with a huge smile.
Thanks for highlighting those qualities that made your stay unforgettable. It makes us happy to know you enjoyed the restaurants, facilities, entertainment and personalized service we offer.

We hope you can visit us again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

I stayed from April 17-24 on a girls trip with my 2 friends. Immediately upon arrival the staff were beyond welcoming, check in was a breeze and they tried to familiarize us with the hotel as quick as they could. They looked sincerely happy to have us as guests. If you're looking to party very hard go to Oasis Cancun for a wild crowd and a wavy beach but this resort is where you'll feel relaxed and enjoy clean pools and way nicer rooms. It's also excellent for families as water is not too deep and there are activities galore. Renting the jet skis was a blast! If you're in vacation mode you won't care about a slow elevator or making early a la carte reservations, we woke up early every morning and the line ups were either very small or non existent. Rebecca at the tequila lounge is very sweet, Ever and Herven are great at what they do and the manager Eduardo Perez was simply the best! Always checked up on us at breakfast time and tried to ensure we were having the most enjoyable trip possible. If you stop for a moment and look around you will see these employees work SO hard, please validate their hard work and tip them! I never had a empty drink in my hand and was always greeted with the warmest smile :) Being 3 young girls we felt safe and I was sad to say goodbye to this resort! PS: if you ever tire of the food order Dominos Pizza, it arrives on a scooter faster then you can even make it to the lobby- amazing! We stayed in room 2543 on the 5th floor and it was all we needed with a great view. Till next time my friends :)

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Brittany460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Grand Oasis Palm, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Brittany:

We appreciate the comments made to us through this medium. Your review motivates us to give our guests a high quality service. We are delighted to have met your expectations and that your stay has been pleasant.

We hope to see you again.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.6 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#43 of 177 in Cancun
730 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oasis Palm
Oasis Palm
#75 of 177 in Cancun
2,953 reviews
6.6 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#26 of 177 in Cancun
3,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Great Parnassus Family Resort
6.2 mi away
GR Solaris Cancun
GR Solaris Cancun
#34 of 177 in Cancun
4,697 reviews
6.2 mi away
Grand Oasis Sens
Grand Oasis Sens
#85 of 177 in Cancun
5,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Oasis Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Oasis Palm

Address: Blvd Kukulcan km 4.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Grand Oasis Caribbean Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $167 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Oasis Palm 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"I'm all about the kid-stuff: endless entertainment, family-friendly accommodations, child-centric restaurants and a Kids Club that's cool as can be. But I've got that pampered, indulgent side, too, as a visit to my Kin Ha Spa shows - I always find plenty of fun stuff for parents to do while the kids are having fun. I'm like my sister resort, Oasis Palm - but a bit more upscale, with the extra amenities you're looking for. I'm Mexican and proud of it: my dancing, dining and decor reflect the culture of Cancun, with my delicioso Mexican food in the cantina and lots of activities for everyone". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Oasis Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Oasis Palm Hotel Cancun
Grand Oasis Caribbean Beach Hotel
Grand Oasis Caribbean Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing