We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So so hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Oasis Palm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Oasis Palm
Ranked #50 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So so hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

My 19 yr old daughter and I took our first trip together to Mexico. We found that the hotel was nothing like the photos and descriptions in the travel mags. The rooms were clean but there was absoloutely NO soundproofing. we could hear people talking in the hallway all night long. The beach area was very disappointing - it was weedy and dirty. we spent more time in the pool than on the beach. The buffet was average, usually our choice for breakfast. A la carte restaurants, on the other hand, were great. Service, food quality, etc was top notch.
On the whole, we found the resort dull. No evening entertainment other than music around the pools. We spent most of our time elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlbertaJansue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,421
    875
    416
    216
    218
See reviews for
1,735
727
39
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

Over the last 20+ years, we have stayed at a number of different types of
holiday resorts and hotels in Acapulco, Mazatlan, Puerto Vallarta,
Cozumel and the Mayan Riviera.

This is our third visit to Cancun.

Popular with both Latin American and North American guests, Grand Oasis Palm
is one among a family of resort hotels in Spain and Mexico under
the Oasis International Hotel Group (www.oasishotels.com).

In Cancun, their other sister resorts include Grand Oasis Cancun,
Oasis Cancun, Oasis Palm and Sens del Mar.

Grand Oasis Palm is adjacent to, and interconnected with, Oasis Palm.

Since 1998, their charitable foundation, Fundacion Oasis (www.fundacionoasis.org),
has assisted various social development programs, especially in education.

Although our room was at Grand Oasis Palm, it quickly became obvious to us
that Oasis Palm had a much prettier meandering swimming pool area,
more elegant restaurants to dine at, a livelier ambiance and more
interesting entertainment/activity options.

To show you what you can expect at Oasis Palm and Grand Oasis Palm,
We also put together a quick little video compilation with live
audio-visual clips recorded during our 2012 March break there.

Here is the link:

http://www.tripadvisor.com/ProfileGallery-i40370992.html

Enjoy!





* * * * *





GRAND OASIS PALM


The resort offers its guests outstanding value in terms of good management,
(mostly) genuinely happy-to-serve staff, good (not excellent) beachfront
location, well-maintained lush landscaping and infrastructure, good food,
clean refurbished rooms, activities and entertainment.

This is a family-oriented resort hotel which caters to lots of children.

However, it also has a very cosmopolitan mix of mature travellers
and young single adults of various nationalities.

It is one of the more active hotels along the northern edge of Cancun
where the waters are, for the most part, a lot calmer, shallower
and warmer than they are along the eastern strip of the island
where it is - in contrast - frequently a lot rougher, deeper
and colder.

Here are some adjectives we would use to describe Grand Oasis Palm:

contemporary / upscale / clean / modern





* * * * *





TOP 10 TIPS


And here are our TOP 10 TIPS for Grand Oasis Palm:

(1) Visit your bank and place an order in advance for a thick wad of fresh
newly-minted USD$1.00 bills to feel good giving them away as gratuities ...
and enjoy the faces of hardworking service staff light up with bright
appreciative smiles like it's Christmas again;

(2) Bring along your hotel voucher/booking confirmation because you will need it
when checking in at reception and for the transfer between the airport & hotel;

(3) For a good night's sleep, ask for a (quieter) room facing the lagoon
and away from the disco;

(4) Get a (not always, but often free) day pass from reception to enjoy
one of their other sister Oasis resorts in Cancun, certain restrictions
and a nominal fee (especially during peak holiday periods) may apply;

(5) Refrain from encouraging petty theft (it happens everywhere) by insuring
your valuables - cash, passport, credit cards, jewelry, etc. - with a lock
(just USD$4.00 a day) for your room safe and enjoy peace of mind (priceless)
throughout your stay;

(6) Unless you are the legit kind of morning person who automatically wakes up
at the crack of dawn and would be thrilled to line up at 7:00am bright-eyed
and bushy-tailed, you could instead have lunch - without reservations -
at the 2 restaurants, Akeru and Cocoa, which would otherwise require one
for dinner;

(7) If you do not have an abundance of patience and/or you do not wish to risk
getting trapped in the (yet to happen) (rare) event of a power failure,
take the stairs instead of the elevator;

(8) Try the beach next door at The Royal Cancun - it's quieter and their water
is warmer, cleaner and less painful on the bottom of your feet;

(9) For more activity options, use the amenitites at Oasis Palm: breakfast
at Dos Lunas, lunch at Akeru or Cocoa, dinner at Sarape and drink
the night away at La Cantina;

(10) Pack your strongest, most fragrant shampoo/body wash and/or
moisturising bar soap as running tap/shower water (perhaps piped in
from the methane-bubbling mangrove swamps nearby) in your room
might smell a little like rotten eggs (and taste a lot like
strong chlorine cocktail) ... and yes, be prepared to side-step
the intermittent scalding hot or freezing cold blasts of water
when in the shower!






* * * * *





BATH TOWEL ETIQUETTE


If your bath towels have not been changed for a week ... it's your fault.

For being presumptious. Or for not opening your mouth to ask
after a couple of days without fresh towels.

For everyone else and for those pretending to be savvy and well-travelled,
there is, might be, should be - if someone has not already stolen it -
a little placard somewhere in the bathroom, advising all guests that
if you hang the towels, they will not be changed.

To get fresh towels, you must leave your used towels on the floor
(regardless how unhygenic or unintuitive it might be).

At other hotels, the untold secret may either be to put the towels
in the sink or in the bathtub.

More about that other mystery some other time.






* * * * *





THOU SHALL NOT TEMPT


You can expect a high level of honesty and integrity.

Be an angel - notwithstanding - and refrain from tempting the (morally)
weak and less fortunate.

Lock away in either your luggage/suitcase or room safe all valuables,
including expensive-looking clothing and accessories.

Do not leave any of these kind of items in sight, on the table,
in the closet or in the drawers.

If you lose anything, it's ... yes, your fault!





* * * * *





AQUA FRIO, POR FAVOR


Water: the best drink in town ... next to tequila.

However, tap water is not recommended for consumption (for obvious reasons, duh).

Exceptions aside, you are probably entitled to one bottle of purified water
in the refrigerator in your room for each day of your stay.

Double check with front desk regarding your purified bottle entitlement.

For more water, bring a bottle and tip the waiter to have it filled
at the restaurant or pay for having more of them in your room.

Don't be cheap with mankind's most valued drink.

Tequila, you can have for free at the bar.






* * * * *





DON'T BE LAZY, START WALKING


Exercise is good for you.

Be prepared to frequently take the stairs as elevators can sometimes be infrequent
and/or crowded, and they can also mysteriously skip and by-pass certain floors
(your floor, especially), besides being a little claustrophic, stifflingly warm
and not well-ventilated to the discomfort of some less than hardy guests.

Imagine for a moment:

God forbid, if there is a power failure, you will be cursing yourself forever
if trapped in such an elevator with just elbow-room, cramped in like sardines
with other unfortunate victims and standing space only!

There are lots and lots of stairs/steps around the resort to test your fitness
and graceful stride ... what a great way to work away the calories
but not so if you are tipsy.





* * * * *





NOISY VS. QUIET


What's that thumping, huffing and puffing we hear?

Well, there are basically 2 types of rooms, based on acoustic merit.

Exceptions aside, rooms facing the lagoon are generally quieter
than those facing the ocean and bay.

You had better be a real party person or someone who passes out senseless
every night from an overdose of liquor if you get a room anywhere close
to the disco ... the noise (is that music?) (oh, sorry) and revelry
often goes on till the wee hours of the morning.

Don't say we didn't warn you.

Adjoining room walls are acoustically paper-thin, so you will not need to
put your ear to the wall to eavesdrop on your neighbours.

Try jumping on the bed (like little kids do) in the wee hours of the night
to arouse your neighbour's imagination.

When checking in, just tell the reception staff what type of room you prefer
before he/she starts punching in your room assignment on the keyboard.

More often than not, they will try their best to give you what you request,
whenever possible.

But do not expect (impossible) miracles.





* * * * *





WHERE IN THE WORLD ARE WE?


Cancun is a figure 7-shaped island that is connected to the mainland
at both ends by bridges.

Situated at the northern end, Oasis Palm is closer to downtown Cancun
(not located on the island but on the mainland) than most other resorts.

Nearby is the jetty to take a ferry to Isla Mujeres for only
USD$17.00 (return trip).

Major shopping centres like La Isla (probably the most colourful
and popular on the island) are a quick 15-minute bus ride away.

Just tell the driver where you would like to go when boarding any
of the buses plying the street ... and he will let know you
when to get off.

Give him USD$1.00 (and let him keep the change as your tip).

You simply cannot get lost!

The shopping centres are perhaps best enjoyed as an evening stroll
after an early dinner.





* * * * *




AT THE BEACH


Body surfers who prefer hard pounding waves will not be disappointed
if you ask for a day pass to use the facilities and beach of one
of their other sister resorts along the eastern strip of Cancun.

It's just a 15-minute bus ride away.

Even at high tide, the relatively calm waters around Oasis Palm will only
come up to around knee or waist level, depending on how tall you are.

Great for kids and for wading around with little fish darting about
(although a bit stoney and painful on the feet closer to shore)
or for just soaking, especially during the later part of the afternoon
after the sun has had the opportunity to heat it up for you.

Slide over to the neighbouring resort next door for an almost stone-free,
pain-free experience ... it's a mini version of the vast calm shallow
beach waters of Cayo Coco in Cuba.

The sand here is soft and white (compared to the more grainy coral sand
along the eastern strip), and the water can be quite clear on a good day.

For good company, you have a pirate ship anchored close-by across the bay;
a never-ending parade of catamarans, ski-doos, yachts and motor boats
to distract the eyes; and a resident helicopter taking off and landing
every so often, almost right in front of you.

Suggestion - bring an inflatable donut float to drift around in ... cool!

This is one busy but relaxing beach!







* * * * *




WI-FI


USD$25 for 5 days / USD$10.00 for a day

Although wi-fi access was possible almost everywhere we went on the premises
- at the restaurants, lobby, in our room on the 9th floor and even
on the beach (!) - getting connected was like a game of Russian Roulette.

Frequent problematic access to Yahoo! email account.

Sometimes, resetting wi-fi connection with on-off button on our laptop,
re-starting the browser or logging out and then logging in again
using our username & password helped alleviate the problem.

Keep your cool ... and try again at different times of the day/night.

Always keep your fingers crossed.





* * * * *




GIVE AND YE SHALL RECEIVE


Tipping is not expected.

With or without gratuities, service is often - not always (unless you are
royalty or a popular movie star) - attentive and prompt.

Our "Best Waiter Award" goes to Ernesto at Sarape ... ask for him.

As a small gesture of your appreciation for good service and good work ethic,
we suggest you consider giving up a little of your (everyone knows)
hard-earned mullah (which probably would not mean much to you anyways
but which would likely mean a lot more to the person who served you).

There is an army of maintenance, security, technical, logistical,
supervisory and administrative staff working (often) out-of-sight
to ensure your safety, comfort and enjoyment throughout your stay.

While your patronage alone helps contribute towards their livelihoods,
plan, nevertheless, to give a couple of dollars every day to the maid
and take care of your servers (and other deserving staff) as well
... since they tend to be somewhere at the bottom of the ecological/
economic hierachy.

You will be rewarded with good karma.

Unless you wish to allow someone else to pick up the tips you had
intended for the maid by leaving it on the table, we suggest you
personally hand it to her yourself because other staff also periodically
and discretely access your room (often during your absence) to top up
the refrigerator or for a quick check/inspection.

Do the right thing by doing the unexpected: tip and expect nothing in return.

Give and it will be given unto you ... wonder where those words of wisdom
came from.





* * * * *




EAT, DRINK & BE MERRY!


You will not starve; and we promise the food and drinks will be much better
than what you had on the plane, and there will be heck a lot more variety
than what you would normally have at home ... so be grateful and enjoy!

Dress code in effect for all restaurants.

Here are the restaurants which do not require prior reservation for dinner:

Sarape - for Mexican buffet

Dos Lunas - for Continental buffet

The restaurants which require prior reservation for dinner include:

Akeru - for Japanese delights

Cocoa - for harvests from the sea

If you are like us, preferring to sleep in a little longer and not wanting
to line up at 7:00am to book a dinner reservation at the latter two
restaurants, you might consider having lunch alfresco instead
- without any need for a reservation - by the pool at Akeru
or by the beach at Cocoa.

Try the "Dragon Roll" at Akeru.

The seafood at Cocoa is also quite good.

Coffee lovers take note:

For your strong expresso or cappuccino fix - not available in the restaurants -
drop in at the indoor lobby bar lounge (the one with 4 large mural portrait
paintings on the wall) which is tucked away in a corner a flight of steps
below check-in/reception on the way out to the swimming pool area.

Brandy/Cognac connoisseurs:

When at the Cantina, ask to taste Don Pedro Gran Reserva Especial,
critically acclaimed by many afficionados as one of the Top 5
brandies in the world.

Surprisingly, this world-class brandy is made in Mexico ... and even more
astonishingly, you might even be able to purchase a 1-litre bottle
of this delicious libation for only about USD$20.00, if you are able
to find one at the liquor stores downtown.






* * * * *




WHERE TO DRINK TEQUILA


There are many bars scattered all over Oasis Palm but the Cantina -
an almost authentic replica of an old Mexican bar - is where you
should take your first shot of tequila!

If you are lucky, the Mariachi will there to serenade you.

Yee-hah!





* * * * *





BEST PLACE TO PARTY


Currently, the number #1 place for all ages to chill out and party
the night away in Las Vegas style in Cancun is at Coco Bongo
(www.cocobongo.com.mx).

Check out their website for more info.






* * * * *





BEST DAY TRIP


There are many great day trips and excursions to choose from
- Chichen Itza, Tulum, Isla Mujeres and so on - but our
all-time favourite is Xcaret (www.xcaret.com).

Xcaret is a once-in-a-lifetime full day of fun for the entire family.

Be sure to also stay for the night show at Xcaret ... it's one of
the best world-class live cultural performances anywhere
in the world!

Simply S*P*E*C*T*A*C*U*L*A*R (in every sense of the word)!!!






* * * * *





SAY "HI!" FOR US


If you meet any of these fine folks, kindly send them our love and kisses:

Jorge (front desk supervisor)

Felippe (front desk receptionist)

Juan Carlos (Oasis Plus rep)

Ismail (supervisor @ Sarape Mexican buffet restaurant)

Sulmar (hostess @ Sarape Mexican buffet restaurant)

Ernesto & Jorge (waiters @ Sarape Mexican buffet restaurant)

Orlando (waiter @ Dos Lunas Continental buffet restaurant)

Eduardo (supervisor @ Cocoa seafood restaurant)

Giovanni & Daniel (waiters @ Cocoa seafood restaurant)

Luis & Jorge (waiter @ Akeru Japanese restaurant)

Juan (bartender @ La Cantina)

Santos (server @ La Cantina)






* * * * *





GENERAL SAFETY


Most decapitations, executions and security problems involving drug cartels
have, to date, been localised along the border with the US and in towns
such as Acapulco along the west coast of Mexico.

Tourist destinations along the east coast of the country - such as
the Mayan Riviera, Cozumel and Cancun - are currently perceived
as relatively safer holiday options in comparison.

Regardless, your trip to Mexico would in all likelihood be uneventful
and death-free since murder/homicide rates are much higher elsewhere
in the world.

One needs to be extra vigilant, however, when venturing into downtown
Cancun (on the mainland), especially late at night.





* * * * *





PRE-ARRIVAL PREP


While on the plane to Cancun, take your time to diligently answer all questions
on the tourist/customs declaration cards issued by your flight attendant.

Do this in advance to avoid being asked to go back in line by immigration/customs officials at the airport to properly

complete your paperwork.

Unless you have made other arrangements, your complimentary designated transfer
to the hotel will be waiting for you with a placard outside the terminal building
in the car park/drop-off/pick-up area, so after picking up your luggage,
put on your blinders and walk straight out. Try not to look left or right
in case you be side-tracked or hood-winked by (time-share and other agency)
vendors when passing through the confusing gaunlet between the luggage
carousel and the building exit.





* * * * *




FINAL THOUGHTS


We encourage you to read through as many reviews as you can (especially
the bad ones) with the goal of not repeating the mistakes of others
... such as why you should not leave cash and other valuable items
unattended or unsecured; why it is a good idea to invest just USD$4.00
a day for a lock to the safe in your room; why you should be aware
of what is included and what is not included in your vacation package;
and so on.

Be positive and enjoy yourself because if you are happy and relaxed,
your good vibes/juju/karma will be reflected back to you by those
around you ... and you may begin to notice that people are actually,
more often than not, frequently trying their best to please and
accommodate you (rather than give you a hard time).

Have a sense of humour.

If you have a problem or a special request, politely and respectfully
tell reception staff about it. Most are well-trained, eager to please
and are able to communicate in English.

Vacations are more memorable, enriching and enjoyable when you know
the names of those who serve you and when you make a few more new
friends along the way.

Have a fantastic time!





* * * * *




ESSENTIAL SPANISH VOCABULARY


If you are an educated and savvy traveller, you would put in some effort
to be at least minimally literate with some kind of Spanish ...
other than "tequila"!

Here are our most frequently used Spanish words/phrases:


how are you? (como estas?)

(i am) good/fine, thank you (bien, gracias)

good morning (buenos dias)

to say goodnight to someone (buenas noches)

hello/hi (hola)

thank you (gracias)

you are welcome (de nada)

please (por favor)

si / no (yes / no)

one (uno)

two (dos)

three (tres)

four (quartro)

water (aqua)

water, please (aqua, por favor)

hot water (aqua caliente)

cold water (aqua frio)

coffee (cafe)

milk (leche)

coffee with milk (cafe con leche)

two coffees, please (dos cafe, por favor)

beer (cerveza)

one beer, please (uno cerveza, por favor)

red wine (vino tinto)

White wine (vino blanco)

more food, drink, etc., please (mas, por favor)

more water, please (mas aqua, por favor)

that's sufficient/enough, thank you (sufficiente, gracias)

towel (toalla)

two towels, please (dos toallas, por favor)

what is the cost/price? (cuanto?)





* * * * *





CAVEAT


So that you don't come back and tell us otherwise, all information provided above
may not be 100% accurate and they are subject to change without notice.

All opinions expressed above are just that ... simply opinions, not facts.






* * * * *

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
37 Thank sheratoncadwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

We just arrived back from Grand Oasis Palm after a week long stay and we loved every minute of it! The hotel was modern, extremely clean and well kept. After reading mixed reviews before our trip, I was feeling a little uneasy...I'm glad to say that I was more than pleasantly surprised upon arrival at this beautiful resort. It was so nice having the ability to share services with the connecting hotel, as we did find the pool area of the Grand a little boring during the day. We loved the beach bar and enjoyed meeting new friends, including our fabulous bartender Eric. The food was good, with many selections to please everyone. The beach area had a great mix of beautiful shady areas or full on sun with many chairs. I would recommend this resort to anyone looking for an affordable slice of paradise!

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet ask for a room that does not look toward the pool, as the music from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Canadiangurl_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

Very noise hotel! Not a coffee maker in your room, you can order one but you have to pay! What does it mean ALL INCLUSIVE? This hotel is not for family with kids! They don't have enough chairs! !!You have to wake up at 6 to put something on a chair! (if you leave your towel, you have to pay 50$, when you check out) The ocean is full with weed, and very dirty, because its a laguna river very close! The helicopter noise it's very loud all day! Very noise and poor quality!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Avhida J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

Grand Oasis Palm Review:
Okay this is a long review but this will give a good idea to someone thinking of staying here. Despite some of the negative reviews this was a great resort in my opinion. So here we go:

Hotel/ Room: large spacious and modern lobby. Very clean and inviting being able to see right to the ocean. Check in was a breeze and the staff were friendly. The room was large and had a great lagoon view. The beds were 2 doubles pushed together(kind of strange as it felt like a huge sleep over with 3 in the room). Had bistro set and built in sitting area. Jack and Jill sink, toilet and full bath with shower. Has A/C, TV & fridge.

Amenities: multiple à la carte restaurants to choose from by reservation, although we went later in the day and were able to get in on cancellation. Multiple ice cream, hot dog stands and cheeseburger grill were nice for a snack mid day. Swim up bar and various bars throughout the property with numerous holiday drink choices was good. There were 2 pools that were fair sized. Spa and gym onsite. 

Beach: although on the smaller side it was nice. White sandy areas with small amounts of sea weed in crystal clear ocean water. Lots of beach chairs but filled up quickly so go early. Lots of cabana's and hammocks. Was located in the marina area so was kind of a smaller beach.

Food: The Mexican à la carte was the best restaurant as it was more upscale and better dining choices; could taste the quality. The steak grill's food options were limited but satisfactory. Danny the waiter was wonderful!  I didn't much care for the 3 buffets they had as they were greasy and felt like I was eating out of a food trough. Good effort though. Had 24 hour room service with limited options for an 8 day stay but was nice and took 45 mins to arrive. 

Entertainment: In the coffee shop/bar had a live band playing "romantic" music at 10 pm. Mariachi band during the day on occasion. Peacocks walking the property. Games and events by the swim up bar and ping pong daily. Disco(Kuxtal) with unlimited drinks, dance floor and music every night. Pirate ship show every night at the beach.

Price: Paid 1100 CAD for 8 days all inclusive including flights. 

Overall: Great resort, friendly staff, great food, unlimited liquor, nice beaches and comfortable rooms. We went on spring break and it was busy with college age individuals(awesome). Would I stay again, yes.

Cons: not all beverages were free from fridge(2 water,2 pop, 2 beer/day included) Water limited. $$ wifi. $$ safe. Very loud at night not very sound proof and 2 small elevators were a burden at busy times. One day only one was working and that was frustrating. 

 Side note excursions:  went on the party hopper which was 3 bars Dos Equis Bar XX, Señor Frogs & Dadio's. Was amazing but regret not going to coco bongo! Was 60$
Catamaran: was an all day event for 60$ went snorkeling, to Isla Mujeres island, shopping @ the markets and had lunch.  
Bus ride: stops outside the resort for 1$ takes you to "old cancun" or bar district. 

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roxy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

We went to OASIS PALM BEACH Mexico on Jan 12th 2010 and traveled sun wing we like the air line and trip was comfort able. Mexican customs were very friendly and nice. When we got to hotel we got a supposedly upgrade to the first class section but found that all it did was put us a long ways from all the facilities and bars so every day we had to make a long trek to and from our room and we were not allowed to use the bars and buffet in our building. The beach was very stony and never went in the water to any extent. We were unfortunate with the weather too it was very cold for the week but that is no ones fault but the weatherman. Buffets had lineups all the time it seemed and bar tenders were very slow and had to wait a long time for a drink and for this reason there was always a long lineup too (TIP to get good service tip a waitress big time and she will get you your drinks for you ) food was ok but not 4* We took a bus to market 28 which was a big mistake they were all over us so that didn’t take long for us to get out of there. We walked the strip one day and that was fun except for the sico that was sitting on the ground and flailing his harms around his head and shaking his head so we took a wide berth around that. The highlight of the vacation was a trip to Chich’en-itz’a ruins we had a very good guide and learned a lot. Also we went to the island and rented scooters for the day that was a hoot. All in all I would not recommend this hotel it is the first hotel that I can say I have not recommended.

Room Tip: refuse any upgrades it is never good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zzap69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

We booked this vacation at the last minute at a very good price,based on reviews weren't sure what to expect but were determined to have a great time no matter what as this was our first time travelling without our kids.

Check in was fast and easy. We got there at 1 and our room wasn't ready- weren't expecting it to be as check in wasn't until 3-I asked the person at the front if our room was going to be two doubles or a king and he said two doubles. I asked about the possibity of getting a king and he said no, resort was at 100% capacity (spring break) and I said that was fine, no problem. Later when our room was ready, we were surprised to see that we did end up in a room with a king size bed. Our bed was super comfy- it had a pillow top mattress and was not hard at all like others have said. The room was nice- not fancy but nice, the bathroom was spacious with double sinks and a soaker tub. TV was tiny, but that was OK- I don't travel to Mexico to watch TV! But on the third day they switched every TV on our floor for a 42" flat screen which was a nice surprise!!! On the first day when we got back to our room they had left us a bottle of Tequila. Other times we would get fruit platters or one time little pastries with chocolates. Considering what we paid, we were very surprised to have all these little extras.

The beach was great for me- shallow water which was nice for wading in-and it was a beautiful color- looked like a picture on a post card. Had to get up early to get an palapa, but that was OK. Drink service on the beach was spotty- tipping didn't seem to help- only one person working so not his fault- but there was a bar close by so it wasn't a big deal.

Our favorite restaurant was Rodizzio's which was the Brazilian one- the bacon wrapped filet mignon was to die for. We went to Las Palmas for supper but didn't have a reservation- didn't know we needed one- but they were happy to sqeeze us in anyways which was nice. The food was just OK but the setting was wonderful- candle lit and right on the beach.
They had a beach party for Sunwing guests which was great- the fire show was amazing and the live band was very entertaining- same one that plays by the pool at night- they play everything from Elvis to Black Eyed Peas. The lobby bar was a nice place to unwind at night- quieter with a band playing. Benita and Alberto took good care of us there.

Overall it was a perfect vacation, we loved everything about it and would go back in a heart beat- with our without our kids- there's something for everyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank motherofthree_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.7 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#44 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oasis Palm
Oasis Palm
#77 of 182 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,730 reviews
6.6 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#25 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
6.1 mi away
Crown Paradise Club Cancun
5.2 mi away
Great Parnassus Family Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Oasis Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Oasis Palm

Property: Grand Oasis Palm
Address: Boulevard Kukulkan km 4.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Grand Oasis Caribbean Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Oasis Palm 3.5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"I'm all about the kid-stuff: endless entertainment, family-friendly accommodations, child-centric restaurants and a Kids Club that's cool as can be. But I've got that pampered, indulgent side, too, as a visit to my Kin Ha Spa shows - I always find plenty of fun stuff for parents to do while the kids are having fun. I'm like my sister resort, Oasis Palm - but a bit more upscale, with the extra amenities you're looking for. I'm Mexican and proud of it: my dancing, dining and decor reflect the culture of Cancun, with my delicioso Mexican food in the cantina and lots of activities for everyone". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Oasis Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Oasis Palm Hotel Cancun
Grand Oasis Caribbean Beach Hotel
Grand Oasis Caribbean Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing