We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, staff, surroundings, and atmosphere.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Ranked #7 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel, staff, surroundings, and atmosphere.”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hyatt Zilara.
Our stay was a 9 day vacation for our anniversary and we could not have been happier.
Previous to our arrival my husband had spoken to Marcelo who was instrumental in getting us the room and location in the hotel perfect for our wants/needs (we strived for a quiet and relaxing stay) - our room was great, a swim-up with direct access to the pool over by the spa area.
Additionally the fact that the hotel is an adult hotel makes it so that the general atmosphere is, from our perspective, more relaxed and easy going - plus the free drinks IN the pool is a good plus.

The food was good, and there seemed to be enough variety that we were not bored for a selection even after 9 days.

A special praise should go to Jesus at the restaurant "Spice", we ate there almost every morning and he was always ready with a smile, a joke, and anything we could possible wish for. We still miss our special made omelette and smile from Jesus in the morning.

All in all, my husband and I would go back in a heartbeat and recommend this hotel, its staff, and general atmosphere to all.

Room Tip: Rooms located near the spa seemed to have more peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole1359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Nicole1359,

First of all thank you very much for selecting Hyatt Zilara Cancun for your anniversary celebration and for sharing your truly wonderful experience with us.

We are thrilled to know that you truly enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere, delicious and varied dining options, as well as excellent service provided by our dedicated associates such as Marcelo and Jesus.

Please be assured we will share your kind words with each one of them and they will most certainly be proud to know they were able to make your stay memorable.

Thank you for recommending us to friends and family and we cannot wait to welcome you back during your next Cancun vacation.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,445
    850
    243
    78
    74
See reviews for
668
3,853
81
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,421)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Amazing service,waiters Roberto, chuy, patricia and hector were fantastic.
Also David,the entertainer was awesome. Had a really fun time with him. Loved this hotel and will definitely come back just to see this staff again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophxxoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Sophxxoo,

First of all thank you very much for selecting Hyatt Zilara Cancun for your recent vacation and for sharing your excellent experience with us.

We are truly excited to know that our valued associates, such as Roberto, Chuy, Patricia, Hector and David, were able to contribute to making your stay truly special and that you also truly enjoyed the fun entertainment.

Please be assured that we will share you motivating words with every single one of our associates.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and we cannot wait to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Just got back from Hyatt today. I couldn't wait to share just how wonderful this place is.
As many have already stated it is the staff that makes this place special.
I stayed at the Zilara from 7/4-7/9 and it was my 10th time to Cancun.
I have stayed at several places and have finally found a place that I can honestly say is a perfect 10.
I came in contact with 3 employees that stood out and need to be commended on there performance
Escobar, at the romance concierge desk who does everything for you with a smile and professionalism.
Tony in the coffee shop who provides service and makes the simple task of getting a cup of coffee into an unforgettable experience.
And lastly the" GodFather" of the pool and beach Raphael. A day never went by without him doing at least 3 jobs at once. I highly recommend anyone who goes to the Zilara to meet him. You will see how awesome he is.

Here are some things that really impressed us:
The food at Spice is fresh and never the same everyday. They had a different theme every night
The Asian restaurant has a great Hibachi area, you do need a reservation which is made easily.
The rooms are spotless and the view is awesome.
The girls in the spa professionals and do a great job. There prices are fair and they explain everything to you.
The Drink servers on the beach are cut above all the other hotels. They are always available and always have a smile on there faces,
The nightly shows are very good and the staff keeps guests very entertained at the pool area.
They allow smoking only outside the building which is great for all.

I do have one suggestion to management.
Please figure a way to stop inconsiderate guests from holding chairs by the beach and pool.
I suggest they station someone by the pool early in the morning. Around 6AM to see just how many towels are being put down. I saw some people hold 10 chairs and go back to there room.
Maybe give each suite, 2 room number plates to put on chairs to hold there spots.. That would put an end to all of this..

Thanks,
see you again soon

PGR
NYC
.

Room Tip: A higher level floor is much quieter. preferably 6-8
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear pat R,

Thank you very much for choosing Hyatt Zilara Cancun for your well-deserved vacation and for sharing your detailed comments with us.

We are thrilled to read that you truly enjoyed your recent stay, especially the beautiful rooms, gorgeous view, varied and delicious dining options, entertaining evening shows and especially the personalized service provided by our associates.

Thank you very much for appreciate our valued associates dedication, especially Yunuen Escobar, Tony and Raphael. We will assure to share your kind words with every single one of them and I am certain they will be truly proud to know they made your vacation experience truly special.

We are very sorry to know that you felt there was a lack of beach chairs by the pool area and we sincerely appreciate your suggestions in regards to this matter.
Please know that this is already being reviewed by the corresponding department heads for the appropriate follow up and resolution.

Once again thank you for your preference and we are very much looking forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

First time back since the change and it was still a great place to stay. The staff is wonderful as always. Rafael by the pool is the best. Also enjoyed Moses by the pool, Gabriella and Eloisa! Definitely a great place for couples.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Debspence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Debspence,

First of all thank you very much for selecting Hyatt Zilara Cancun once again for your vacation and for sharing your comments with us.

We are truly excited to read you had another wonderful vacation while enjoying the great all inclusive offerings and excellent service provided by our dedicated associates such as Raphael, Moises, Gabriella and Eloisa.

Be assured we will share your kind words with them and I am certain they will be thrilled to know they positively influenced your vacation experience.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Well it has taken my more or less a week to be able to even consider writing a review on this WONDERFUL hotel as I am suffering extreme holiday blues!
Where to even begin.....the hotel as a property is absolutely beautiful and the rooms are faultless with that gorgeous ocean view! The food is amazing, drinks are constantly flowing and all of this is provided by true 5* service! The staff cannot do enough from you, including the bar staff, beach and pool staff, the maids...and especially Escobar who made this trip extremely special!

I will definitely be returning and recommending this hotel to everyone I know! thank you again Hyatt for a truly amazing holiday :D

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ashi1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear ashi1990,

First of all we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Hyatt Zilara Cancun for your recent vacation and for sharing your truly positive review with us.

We are very happy to know you had an amazing stay while enjoying the beautiful facilities, luxurious suites, amazing views, upscale food & beverage offerings and of course excellent service provided by our valued associates.

Thank you very much for taking your time to recognize our associates and especially Yunuen Escobar for their dedication and be assured we will share your motivating words with every single one of them.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and we cannot wait to welcome you back during your next vacation.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Square, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We just returned from our 1 week stay at the Hyatt Zilara as a family of 6 and we had a great time.
The beaches are beautiful and clean, the resort is also kept beautiful and clean. We had a great time at the pool during the day playing aqua volleyball and aerobic exercise with the very nice and fun entertainment people DAVID and EVIAN.
DAVID and EVIAN made our days at the pool fun and enjoyable for our entire family. The evening shows were also great although I wish they would have dancing later in the evening after the shows. It would be nice to burn off some of the food and drinks. Book your reservations for the resaurants as soon as you get there! The restaurants were all great, definately enjoyed the hibachi at Asianna's. Our servers were fun and interacted so it was a great time.
I didn't care for the fact that men needed closed shoes at the resataurants. They made my husband and 2 boys go back to the room and change into shoes after we were already there for our reservation. The funny thing was you could put on a old pair of sneakers but couldn't wear a nice pair of sandal? (for the men only)
I do have to state that I did see them let in certain people (men) with Sandals? But made others change? Not sure why there was a preference to some guests and not to others? One other disappointing thing was that they closed Pelicano's for most of our stay without notice. The only thing you could eat during the day was the buffet and I do not like buffets in general so that was VERY DISAPPOINTED. If the men in our family did not have open shoes we would have had to eat at the buffett for dinner all week? Thats not acceptable when you pay for all inclusive!
The activities were not clear? They had a screen in the elevator with activities but that is all I saw. We missed mostly everything because we didn't know anything was going on? They should give a written list of things happenening when you check in. We were looking forward to the beach party but at the last minute they changed the day and we were leaving the day they changed it to. We like that is is all adults and since my younges is 19 we can really enjoy these types of resorts. They just need to add some more evening activities for adult families and the 20's age group that are not just couples. I don't like just sitting listening to music and drinking. I would prefer to be able to get up and dance and interact and meet other guests and laugh. Maybe evening Salsa lessons or something to get people to interact.
The only other thing was you had to get up real early to get a cabana or even seats by the pool. Its also again WHO YOU KNOW! I was up at 6:30 am everyday and ALL of the cabanas and the chairs in the water were reserved already. People didn't show up to sit until after 10 or 11am if they even showed up at all? so something should be done about that. Over all we had a great time and the staff was friendlty and fun. The rooms are cleaned 2 times a day which is really nice and they do a wonderful job. I did not receive any rose petals though only some chocolates?
Hopefully we will be back!

Room Tip: you have to upgrade if you preferred service
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nancyc184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear nancy c,

First of all thank you very much for selecting Hyatt Zilara Cancun for your recent family vacation and for sharing your detailed review with us.

We are truly sorry to read about the areas of opportunity you experienced with the dress code not being communicated clearly enough in advanced and that you felt it was not always applied equally, that you felt the activities were not announced sufficiently and not enough activities being available for younger guests, cabanas being reserved by guests very early in the morning as well as Pelicanos being closed a few days during your stay for preventive maintenance.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for these shortcomings and be assured that your feedback has already been communicated to the corresponding departments for the appropriate corrective measures to be taken.

We are however very happy to know that you did not allow for these issues to affect your overall experience with us and you still had an amazing vacation while enjoying the beautiful beach and pool area, well-kept facilities, fun activities and great service provided by our dedicated associates.

Thank you very much for pointing out David and Evian for their dedication and be assured we will share your kind words with them and all our associates. They will most certainly be proud to know they were able to assist in making your stay truly memorable.

Once again, thank you very much for your preference and we sincerely hope you will allow us the honor of welcoming you back during your next vacation.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pflugerville, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is our fifth year at this hotel. We were a little nervous as the hotel changed names since we became members of the Real Club. We were unsure of the changes. There were only minor changes. While the hotel is extremely nice, it really is the employees of the hotel that make this a truly exceptional place to stay. We have referred 3 other couples who have all liked it enough to become members.
I want to take time to recognize some of the fine staff. Marcelo greeted us at the entrance welcoming us back and walking us over to member services. We did not even have to tell him we were members. He recognized us immediately. Guadalupe, Eloisa, Wendy and Ligia make going into the bar or beach area a pleasure. They remember us year to year and hug us in welcome. We feel very special. Jose in the spa gives an exceptional deep tissue massage year after year. He also welcomed us back. Their service and personality are truly exceptional. This year we met some other noteworthy people. Rafael in member services helped us multiple times always with a smile. Meteo in Marie Marie's, Diaz in the Coffee Bar, and Hector in Spice also became some of our favorites with their smiles and friendliness.
We witnessed some improvements as they were working on one of the restaurants (unfortunately they had it closed a few days). Hope the updates continue.
We will definitely return and hope to refer even more people.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a great view. I would definitely recommend something on a higher floor and cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear David D,

First of all thank you very mucho for your loyalty to Hyatt Zilara Cancun and for sharing your once again wonderful vacation experience with us.

We are truly excited that we were able to once again meet your high expectations and that you especially enjoyed the excellent service provided by our dedicated associates, such as Marcelo, Guadalupe, Eloisa, Jose, Rafael, Mateo, Diaz and Hector.

Be assured that we will share your kind words with all of them and I am certain they will feel very proud to know they were able to positively influence your vacation experience.

Thank you for recommending us with your friends and family and we cannot wait to welcome you back during your next vacation.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#6 of 175 in Cancun
4,167 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,874 reviews
1.0 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
1.3 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
2.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Zilara Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Zilara Cancun

Property: Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 11.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Royal)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#7 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#8 Family Hotel in Cancun
#18 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Zilara Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hyatt Zilara Cancun, an adults-only, all-inclusive resort (min. age 18). Prominently located on the widest stretch of beach in the heart of Cancun's Hotel Zone, Hyatt Zilara Cancun is an adults-only, all-suite, all inclusive resort where guests experience traditional Mexican warmth in an intimate yet casual setting.Our resort features spacious suites with breathtaking views of the Caribbean and offers world-class dining, an impressive array of upscale amenities, outstanding service from an attentive and thoughtful staff, and spectacular grounds and facilities.Hyatt Zilara Cancun offers a myriad of activities and conveniences including, sophisticated culinary options at six gourmet restaurants, rejuvenating treatments and services at The Spa- Cancun's only ocean view spa - wine and spirits tastings, enhanced pool and beach butler service and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, HotelPower, TravelUp, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Zilara Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal In Cancun Hotel Cancun
The Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Cancun Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing