We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far away from Winter!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Ranked #7 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This is our six trip to an AI in Mexico. They do a very good job at this resort.

We visited for a week in February with our daughters aged 19 and 22. The rooms were spacious and clean. Well appointed washrooms with large showers and great water pressure.

All of the rooms overlook the sea.

They ask you during check in when you would like to have your room cleaned in the morning and when you would like the turn down service. They were pretty good at meeting those time frames. On Friday night they did not come.

Most of the staff were very friendly and hard working.

Kudos to Charly in Marie Maria's, Guadalupe in the lobby bar, Paul on the beach and Astrid in Guest services.

Buffet food was good when it was hot. Cold/warm is a common problem and one of the reasons I don't like buffets. Breakfast, lunch and dinner at Spice gave you the option of having them make an omelet, pasta or a carvery.

We visited Asiana twice and the food was good but we felt that it was not as good as Marie Maria's. Service was great during all of our visits- very accommodating and helpful.

Pelicano's had great breakfasts and lunches although we preferred to eat in a shaded area at lunch we were told that it would be 20 to 40 minutes before we could get a table for the four of us. We sat in the hot sun to avoid the wait but watched as two or three shaded tables sat empty.

Thursday night's Mexican night in the ball room was very entertaining. The Mexican themed food was hot and tasty. They feature Mexican dances and a band. We enjoyed the whole show.

The sport's bar has a couple of pool tables, ping pong table and a couple of large screen televisions. They played many of the Olympic games on the screens which was great. They have a fully stocked self serve bar with liquor and wine but you have to ask for beer! Not sure why they don't have it available.

Thanks for the free Wi-Fi. I don't understand why all resorts at his level don't offer it.

Lobby bar was good but as mentioned by others the cigarette and cigar smokers ruin it for those who would like to relax with a drink and enjoy the entertainment.

The early-rising-lounge-keepers were alive and well a this resort. We had no problem getting loungers on the beach at any time of the day. We prefer the beach anyway. Drink service was spotty on the beach sometimes good and other times not so much.

Very little pressure to do the time share or whatever they call it. We politely said no and that was it.

We love the beaches, weather and the people of Cancun and would consider returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room higher up to avoid having to listen to the pool noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tjocCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRobertsZilara, Gerente at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear TjocCanada

Thank you very much taking the time to write this positive review.

We are pleased you were able to enjoy your stay at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, with its great location and services.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Kind regards,


Monica Roberts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,909)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,735 - 4,741 of 5,909 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

Put us in a room with two double beds on our honey moon when requested to have a king bed five months in advance. Continually up selled even when we explained that we would never be returning because of the way they treated us.... Couldn't get anyone to serve us at a restaurant, couldn't get anyone to answer the phone or return our calls, couldn't eat at certain restaurants wothout upgrading or booking it days in advance, listened to construction all throughout the day.... Etc. go anywhere else but here. Extremely dissapounted.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Joballinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRobertsZilara, Gerente at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Joballinger

First of all, thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments. Our guests´ feedback is essential for improving our services. We are sorry to read that you experience didn’t meet your expectations.

We hope you do give us a second opportunity to host you again and personally assist in making your stay an outstanding one.

Sincerely,

Monica Roberts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Great stay , the only reason it gets 4 is they tried the old bait and switch , we did read about other people complaining so we were ready , we paid last Oct so gave them lots of time to have a room ready for us , we ordered a king size bed and was told none available but 2 double beds but for a extra 40 US a day they could upgrade us to a king size bed and espresso coffeemaker , the place did seem only half full , so we never did get our king size bed , that could stop us from ever wanting go back there again , when you pay $500 a day you should get what you pay for.
Now the good stuff OMG the place is paradise the cleanliness the service the food ,there is so many people that made our trip fantastic , Special thanks to Solomon , Luigi , and Jesus Boenaventura , the beach is amazing cleaned daily , we ate at Pelicano's that over looks the ocean and the food was delicious. Tapas was also delicious. Thanks for a wonderful stay.
ps stop with the bait and switch and you would get a 5 .

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carolmobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRobertsZilara, Gerente at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Carolmobbs

We are thrilled and honored to know that your stay at the Hyatt Zilara Cancun was an exceptional one and even inspired you to write your first review ever..

Thank you very much for sharing your experience and we are pleased to hear that our associates delivered the excellence in service you and all our valued guests deserve.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cancun!

Sincerely,


Monica Roberts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed this all-inclusive resort. We travel abroad on a regular basis. This resort was smaller that some of the properties we have stayed in the past, but we had a wonderful time. The staff is excellent. The food options are great, and the food is very good. There were a few restaurants that required reservations. They were very difficult to get in. We never got to eat there; however, the other food options were fabulous. We had an incredible time at the swim-up bar with Phillippe. We saw him frequently. He mad excellent drinks and was always entertaining. Our room was cleaned and turned down daily. Jonathan was very thorough in housekeeping. The beach was beautiful; however, most of our time was spent at the pools. We did not take our children. There were not many resort activities that would have entertained our children. We have two teenage boys and a younger daughter. If we would have traveled with them, we would have looked at the excursions.

Room Tip: We upgraded to the corner ocean view suite. We loved our room; however, all the rooms facing the oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRobertsZilara, Gerente at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Angela J

Thank you for sharing your experience with us while you are still here on vacation!

We are very happy to read that you are having a wonderful time and that our staff is pampering you just as you deserve!

Indeed we have a beautiful location with prime views and our amenities are top notch!

Once again, thank you for your kind feedback and please let us know if you need absolutely anything to make the remainder of your stay perfect.

Best regards,

Monica Roberts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I highly recommend this resort. It's is the perfect size so there is lots of activity and services but never lines. Best beach on hotel row and you can always get a poolside or oceanfront cabana in to hang out all day.

The food is good but not great and the service is superb. Asiana cooking show is a must and the Tuesday night weekly beach party was a blast. Of course the beach and water are no secret and do not disappoint.

As a loyal Hyatt member they extended the standard amenities and the Diamond Conceirege was brilliant. Overall just great value and fun.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Gbatstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRobertsZilara, Gerente at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Gbatstone


We are pleased you were able to enjoy your stay at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, with its great location and services.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Kind regards,


Monica Roberts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The room and view were exquisite, The beach was one of the best we have been to, But what makes this place worth coming back to time and again is the staff. We were treated like royalty. From our arrival (with Jorge and Laura) to the bar staff (Eduardo, Cupul, Kuri and Uriel) to the servers (Elosia, Merium, Frankie, Dasi and Guatalupe), waiters, cooks and room staff (Guatalupe) were all exceptional. Spa time was also excellent. We will be back again next year for a longer stay.

Room Tip: We upgraded to the presidential suite from a corner suite and found it worth the money. Next visit w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRobertsZilara, Gerente at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Michael L

We are thrilled and honored to know that your stay at the Hyatt Zilara Cancun was an exceptional one and even inspired you to write your first review ever..

Thank you very much for sharing your experience and we are pleased to hear that our associates delivered the excellence in service you and all our valued guests deserve.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cancun!


Sincerely,


Monica Roberts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

My husband and i joined my sister-in-law, her husband, step daughter and her husband from Feb 12 - 17th for our first all inclusive trip. We began to get concerned after reading Tripadvisor and all of the bad reviews due to the change to Hyatt but noticed they were improving as we got closer to our arrival date - which was very encouraging.

We had both a great and awful experience and i want to be careful not to taint my review because of how absolutely frustrated we were with a few things.

So the great - you arrive into this incredible open air huge lobby that looks from the reception area all the way through past the pool to the Caribbean Sea - AMAZING! You are handed champagne and a wet towel upon arrival and immediately know you are vacation at a special place. Check-in was simple and except for us because we had a corner deluxe suite already, all of our family were offered upgrades, which quite honestly really aren't necessary because the basic rooms are pretty sweet - more on rooms later.

The restaurants did have to be reserved in advance but the options at Spice and Pelicano's are pretty good for non-reservation eats. Asiana is a pretty typical Japenese teppanyaki but the servers were definately there to be sure you had a good time. As a matter of a fact our evening there turned into a wild night due to over serving of tequilla - which fondly has become known as "the incident". So be careful because it does seem that the servers and waiters want you to drink as much as possible, likely because their tips increase the more you have consumed. The food was good, nothing special to write about. We really enjoyed the Spice buffet. They have great selections, lots of salad options and we became particulary fond of the pasta station which was very tasty. Pelicano's was just ok, nothing great but a good lunch option while at the pool. We did have dinner there our last night and were underwhelmed by the steaks which we both had. We did the Chef's Plate which was a gourmet 6 course meal, it was well done and the food was good but it didn't seem like they were able to completely pull off the ambiance they were trying for. There were only 8 of us at a table probably for 20 and we were all seated as individual couples and it just didn't feel right. But the concept was a good attempt, it might ahve been different with a larger or more social group.

We were there over Valentines's Day and they had a steak and lobster dinner with a live jazz band out on the beach which was a nice group thing to do. It was an incredible full moon for most of our trip and the pictures we got over the water are beautiful.

The drinks were perfectly fine - they have top shelf and regular bottles. If they served basic brands, all you had to do was ask and they would give you what you want. My family also noted that the tap beer is particularly weak, so I would suggest you stick to the cans to get a fresher, tastier beer. The mini bars in the rooms were generally sticked with 6 beers and 4 bottles of basic rumm, vodka, tequilla and i forget the last. Along with water and sodas. We never had any problems finding anything to eat or drink. Oh and room service and the private serving box is pretty cool. Nice not to have to get dressed so a server can push the cart in.

The property is beautiful, very well kept up and clean. One of our issues is that they were doing construction on the floor above us while we were there and it was loud, they started early in the morning (7am) instead of realizing we are on vacation and might want to sleep in. And one morning it felt like they were just moving furniture back and forth upstairs for an hour for no reason. Even laying at the pool and on the beach you could hear constant banging and pounding - which was very very frustrating for us. However i realize that would not be on-going and as mad as it made us, i am not using it against my ratings.

We also had to move rooms from our first room. Two reasons - is was overrun with ants by the jacuzzi and second is we were in the end corner room (I think it was 641) and the smell from the painting they were doing was all funneling into our room and you couldn't breathe. We keptopening the room to air it out and then the maid would close it back up again. It was the worst room experience i could have imagined. I also am glad we moved - we ended up in 632 which is a corner suite still but more situated in the middle of the resort - MUCH BETTER. the high number corner end suites have a west face to see sunset, but barely and it's not worth giving up the full on ocean view and the last suite has street noise. So - pass on the high number end suite - stick to the middle! We had to spend the first night in the smelling room but with all doors open and air off it was survivable - although Alfonzo was apologetic other than moving us there was nothing offered for our first 24 hours of discomfort. We didn't have a swim up suite but they looked really nice, one thing to note is that they are out of the sun very early in the day and even the pool is out of full sun mid afternoon.

Back to the room itself - which were actually very nice. All seemed to be water front based on the design of the hotel itself. The showers had lots of spray heads, gadgets, steam, and a sorta view to the water. I think the description is a bit misleading about seeing the water from the shower but i guess it's generally true. The jacuzzi was amazing, which for our room had a better water veiw than the shower. The candles were also a nice touch for an evening bath. Beds were comfy and nice sized.

I could go on but i think it sums up the basics of how we felt about the property. We would go back but i would make sure they are done with their remodeling and transition.

Room Tip: Stay towards middle of hotel. I think all rooms face the ocean so if money is tight there is absolu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jeana28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRobertsZilara, Gerente at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Jeana 28

We very much appreciate you taking the time to share your detailed comments with us.

Your comments are very important in order to know where we can improve our services.
Please rest assured that the areas of opportunity you have mentioned in your review have already been addressed with the corresponding departments.

Thanks to our valued guests feedback we have already been able to make many enhancements to the food & beverage services and are still making more changes to improve the offerings and assure our guests satisfaction.

We are sorry to read about the inconvenient, not being as nice as you expected, but we are glad you did not let this ruin your experience.

We cannot wait to pamper you again during your next visit at Hyatt Zilara Cancun!

Kind regards,

Monica Roberts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#6 of 177 in Cancun
4,503 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 177 in Cancun
5,948 reviews
1.0 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
2.2 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
2.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Zilara Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Zilara Cancun

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 11.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Royal)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#7 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#8 Family Hotel in Cancun
#18 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $415 - $1,078 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Zilara Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hyatt Zilara Cancun, an adults-only, all-inclusive resort (min. age 18). Prominently located on the widest stretch of beach in the heart of Cancun's Hotel Zone, Hyatt Zilara Cancun is an adults-only, all-suite, all inclusive resort where guests experience traditional Mexican warmth in an intimate yet casual setting.Our resort features spacious suites with breathtaking views of the Caribbean and offers world-class dining, an impressive array of upscale amenities, outstanding service from an attentive and thoughtful staff, and spectacular grounds and facilities.Hyatt Zilara Cancun offers a myriad of activities and conveniences including, sophisticated culinary options at six gourmet restaurants, rejuvenating treatments and services at The Spa- Cancun's only ocean view spa - wine and spirits tastings, enhanced pool and beach butler service and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Zilara Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal In Cancun Hotel Cancun
The Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Cancun Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing