We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Name - Major Changes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Ranked #7 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Ok, being a travel agent and knowing this area like the back of my hand, I am giving an UNBIASED review. I was such a fan of The Royal Cancun as I LOVE The Royal Playa del Carmen (since that IS the only The Royal left).

The name changed in November at the Cancun location to a Hyatt Zilara. Rooms still fantastic, beds even better, but alas, food slipped. I know Hyatt entered this arena with little experience if none operating an all inclusive hotel and made TOO many changes up front and really upset a lot of people, both internally and most importantly their clients and even agents. When I was there in early December, I too, was confused on why they changed things so drastically. I understand they need to separate from The Royal, but not in food quality. I am happy to say that they saw the light and are now adjusting to a similar menu as before but still creating that separation from The Royal. Food quality is much better, presentation is also better. I think all the horrible reviews that took place at the beginning was justified and I agreed with many of the reviews, but give it a 2nd look, I think they worked most of the bugs out. Hyatt just took ownership of the Barcelo in Cabo (fantastic property) so that is their 2nd all inclusive with more to follow.

NO more exchange privileges obviously with the Gran Caribe Real next door. UNLESS you are having a destination wedding at The Hyatt Zilara and have family staying next door, that is the ONLY exception. Email me for more information!

So, take advantage of this ALL INCLUSIVE ADULT ONLY resort with Jacuzzi for two in every room and have a wonderful experience from their outstanding staff!

Room Tip: Better views are considered Oceanfront, those are the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DonnaLSTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRobertsZilara, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear Donna A,

thank you very much for sharing your kind comment about your past visit to Hyatt Zilara Cancun!

As you mention in your review we have been listening carefully to our valued guests' suggestions and made immediate enhancements, especially to the food & beverage offerings, to assure guest satisfaction.

The support received by loyal guests and travel agents, such as you is very important for us and we sincerely appreciate you recommening us to your clients.

We truly hope you will allow us to welcome you again in the near future and provide you with the excellence of service you and all our distinguished guests deserve.

Kind regards,

Monica Robers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,027)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,896 - 4,902 of 6,030 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2014

We just went to the Zilara for the second time and had been there when it was the Royal several times as well. We were actually staying there in November when the transition to the Hyatt was occurring. The staff and transition team bent over backwards to accommodate the guests' needs. Having been there before and having had the opportunity to return so soon after the switch-over, I remain impressed by the beauty of the hotel, the quality of the service and the joyful demeanor of the staff,even when they must deal with impatient, demanding guests. I have taken some 3 dozen guests with me to the Gran Caribe, Royal and Zilara and everyone has had amazing vacations...

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
5  Thank Kristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRobertsZilara, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear Kristina M,

First of all thank you very much for sharing this wonderful review with us and other TA reviewers.

Loyal guests such as you are very important to us at Hyatt Zilara Cancun and are pleased to read that you and your guests had another amazing experience.

We are very much looking forward to pampering you during your visit.

Kind regards,

Monica Roberts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Stayed here last January, and absolutely loved it!

Despite a mix up checking in the hotel lives upto the hype.
The staff are so friendly and polite and simply cannot do enough for you real 5* service.
I would recommend this hotel without a 2nd thought so much so we have booked to go back in 2015 with friends!

Room Tip: Don't fall for the sell at check in just go to the room and enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gav J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRobertsZilara, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear Gav J,

thank you very much for writing this encouraging review about your visit to Hyatt Zilara Cancun!

We are sorry to hear that there was an area of oportunity during your check in, but glad to know this did not keep you from enjoying your vacation at its fullest.

We will make sure to share your kind words with our associates who will be thrilled to have made a difference for you with their excellent service.

We sincerely appreciate you recommending us with your friends and family and cannot wait to host you again in 2015.

Kind regards,

Monica Roberts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

My girlfriend and I had a great time. It was our first time in Cancun. We stayed at the Hyatt Zilara the view was great and so was the service. We ate at Maria Marie the ribeye steak was great. The hotels service was good. Hopefully next we have more time so we explore more places. I would recommend Hyatt Zilara to friends and family for future trips!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank livingthelife12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRobertsZilara, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear livingthelife12,

We very much appreciate you taking your time to share your amazing experience at Hyatt Zilara Cancun!

We are glad to know you were able to enjoy the excellence of service you and all our valued guests deserve.

We sincerely look forward to having the privilege of hosting you again during your next vacation.

Kind regards,

Monica Roberts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed there Jan 5-18. We had stayed there in August 2012. We were as impressed with the quality of the resort as we were when it was the Royal. Where do I start?
The genuine friendliness of the staff was apparent every where. Special thanks to Moises, who will attend to your needs and address any concerns at the beach. The same is true of Raphael by the pool. These gentlemen make it clear they want you to do nothing but enjoy yourself and they will take care of the rest. The restaurants that require reservations are truly 5 star. The Asiana, reservations are needed for the hibachi table but not for the upstairs. You must ask for Roberto to be your server at the hibachi table. He will take good care of you throughout your visit. The servers also double up and work at different events at the resort. Roberto remembers the people he has served and will try to help you during your stay. Special thanks to Freddy at the Maria Marie. When we return next year we will seek him out as you should during your stay. His friendliness and smile is contagious. Next to the Hyatt is the Gran Caribe. El Pescatore is a great place to eat. Our server Moo was terrific. We had mentioned we had been there in 2012 for our honeymoon and he had been our server then. Our dessert came out with 'happy anniversary' on the plate. A small but extra step to make your visit more memorable. Please note that I have not mentioned any of the specific meals we ate. Every thing was 5 star. Every meal you want to take a picture of. Every meal was delicious and great attention is paid to the presentation and service of the meal. The Spice restaurant where breakfast, lunch and dinner was served was great. You could eat there three times a day and not be disappointed. Every thing fresh and a great selection of food at the buffet. You will be warmly welcomed by Alfredo, Laura and Guillermo. A nice way to start the day seeing their friendly welcoming smiles. We asked to be seated in the area served by Jesus. What a burst of sunshine he is by himself. Thanks to Aaron who served us via room service. You will not know him as a server but as a wonderful caring human being. As you may wish to have a cocktail in the lobby you will be fortunate to have Ligia or Guadalupe wait on you, both of whom have wonderful smiles and truly care. The 24Hour VIP lounge is where we met Benjamin, a nice young man who is a pleasure to talk to. If you need reservations made we went to Jose Luis, Alberto and Carlos in the lobby. They will help not just with reservations but with anything you need done. A great group of guys who will also help you with learning and saying a few words in Spanish. We had massages done at The Spa. Perla and Mariana made us feel like new people. Thanks you. Please note I have spent this time mentioned people that made our trip special. I have not mentioned others only because we dealt with these people the most. Every one there is helpful and friendly and will do what is in their power to make your trip as enjoyable as possible. Finally the nightly entertainment. Don't miss it. The performers live their parts. They are not actors but the become the characters. Costumes were great. The athletic abilities is unbelievable. One do NOT miss is Mexican night in the ballroom. The costumes of the dancers, the music and the Mariachi band afterwards is something you will not forget. We have been there twice and we will return. What more can I say. Special thanks to Karla and Marcelo in the Real Club Members room for all of you help.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRobertsZilara, General Manager at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Tom C,


First and foremost we would like to thank you very much for the time you took to share with us your feedback. Our guests comments and observations, such as yours are vital for improving the details in our services.

We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful overall stay with us, and that our associates were able to provide you with the excellent service all of our appreciated guests are accustomed to.

Once again thank you for your appreciated feedback, we hope your travels bring you back to Hyatt Zilara Cancun very soon to demonstrate the continuous improvements that allow Hyatt Zilara Cancun to provide authentic hospitality to all its distinguished guests.

Best regards,

Monica Roberts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I had a great time at the Hyatt Zilara in Cancun. It was very relaxing and everyone is so friendly. They staff was always so helpful with anything you needed. We did not have a reservation for dinner at Asiana but they were more than accomadating to fit us in. Pelicanos was nice for lunch where you could go and and look at the ocean as you ate.

Room Tip: There is not a bad room in the hotel. i love the swim up suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRobertsZilara, General Manager at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Christina G,

First and foremost we would like to thank you very much for the time you took to share with us your feedback. Our guests comments and observations, such as yours are vital for improving the details in our services.

We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful overall stay with us, and that our associates were able to provide you with the excellent service all of our appreciated guests are accustomed to.

Once again thank you for your appreciated feedback, we hope your travels bring you back to Hyatt Zilara Cancun very soon to demonstrate the continuous improvements that allow Hyatt Zilara Cancun to provide authentic hospitality to all its distinguished guests.

Best regards,

Monica Roberts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I have just got back from what was formerly known as the Royal Cancun having had the most fabulous week.

I went with a female friend, which was brave, considering it is all couples.

We were treated like royalty from start to finish.

Special mentions needed, to Mark, the drinks boy around the pool. He did not stop ensuring we were well cared for with drinks, whether it be cocktails or water.

Francesco the lovely waiter who looked after us all week, made our meals such fun. The constant service was fantastic.

The cleanliness of the hotel was 6 star. I'm really fussy with cleanliness, and when I saw the waste bin being polished I thought I'd died and gone to heaven!!!

Ignore the negative comments about tipping, if you don't tip you get ignored. Absolute rubbish. We were looked after beautifully and only tipped on our last day.

The food was good. The tapenyaki at Asiania was outstanding and a great show to boot.

There was plenty of choice so you never got fed up with the same restaurants.

We found that the Americans/Canadians pre booked all the good restaurants as block bookings and then wouldn't turn up, so if you are told its full, just try arriving anyway and you'll find there will be spaces.

Regarding the moaning about sun bed reserving, that's life, it happens everywhere just get up earlier!

I have to rate this a 5 star plus experience and having stayed in some of the best hotels all over the world I am not saying this lightly.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
6  Thank Valuable40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRobertsZilara, General Manager at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Valuable40,

First and foremost we would like to thank you very much for the time you took to share with us your feedback. Our guests comments and observations, such as yours are vital for improving the details in our services.

We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful overall stay with us, and that our associates were able to provide you with the excellent service all of our appreciated guests are accustomed to.

Once again thank you for your appreciated feedback, we hope your travels bring you back to Hyatt Zilara Cancun very soon to demonstrate the continuous improvements that allow Hyatt Zilara Cancun to provide authentic hospitality to all its distinguished guests.

Best regards,

Monica Roberts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#5 of 177 in Cancun
4,705 reviews
1.0 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
0.5 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 177 in Cancun
5,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
1.3 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
2.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Zilara Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Zilara Cancun

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 11.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Royal)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#7 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#8 Family Hotel in Cancun
#18 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $409 - $928 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Zilara Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hyatt Zilara Cancun, an adults-only, all-inclusive resort (min. age 18). Prominently located on the widest stretch of beach in the heart of Cancun's Hotel Zone, Hyatt Zilara Cancun is an adults-only, all-suite, all inclusive resort where guests experience traditional Mexican warmth in an intimate yet casual setting.Our resort features spacious suites with breathtaking views of the Caribbean and offers world-class dining, an impressive array of upscale amenities, outstanding service from an attentive and thoughtful staff, and spectacular grounds and facilities.Hyatt Zilara Cancun offers a myriad of activities and conveniences including, sophisticated culinary options at six gourmet restaurants, rejuvenating treatments and services at The Spa- Cancun's only ocean view spa - wine and spirits tastings, enhanced pool and beach butler service and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TravelUp, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hyatt Zilara Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal In Cancun Hotel Cancun
The Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Cancun Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing