We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Captain Hook Cancun tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Captain Hook Cancun
from $70.00
More Info
from $70.00
More Info
Reviews (6,736)
Filter reviews
4,067 results
Traveler rating
2,648
665
290
180
284
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,648
665
290
180
284
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak pirate ship our waiter black pearl all ages sword fights pirate fight jack sparrow fantastic night treasure hunt fun night surf and turf great fun drinks flowing set sail dinner cruise top deck
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 4,067 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Me and my boyfriend had a really good night out at Captain Hook! We got the transport from playa del Carmen and arrived ahead of the crowds. The entertainment by the team was great fun from the arrival and throughout. The dinner was very generous and we were never without a drink, we loved the crossover between boats and the mini disco on the boat at the end. Would recommend!

Thank Sophia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We weren’t sure what exactly this trip was going to be like, because it hasn’t been overly well advertised like the other Cancun Adventures or Xcaret/etc/etc. We thought we would give it a try because our oldest (8) had a cast on his arm that limited our excursion abilities at the X places. The 6pm sailing was sold out so we went for the 7pm one.

When we got there, it was slightly confusing in that we were told by the person at the resort that we would only need to pay $90USD for transfer and docking fees, but it turns out we needed to pay $108 because we had a third child, and children were only free if accompanied by an adult. Other than that unexpected surprise, things went smoothly.

Seating was all quite good from what I could tell. Everyone could see virtually everything. Where I was sitting (in the handicap section, not that I needed it, just that no one needed it and our family of 5 fit perfectly), I had to lean out to see the acrobat that was performing above us. We had a great vantage otherwise.

From start to finish, it was non-stop action. We sailed with Captain Jack Sparrow, a very charismatic Captain, and his crew was so amazing at getting us all engaged and excited. The dinner was delicious for adults and our 4, 6 and 8 year olds. Drinks were included. We were able to watch from our seats because we had a little table to eat at, otherwise they also had tables you could sit at as well to properly eat.

The pirate showdown between our boat and the next was so much fun! Lots of battle action on both boats, and I feel like we lucked out and had the captain fight, where our Captain won! The boys were enthralled and were totally into it! They got to go one a “treasure hunt” and got a little loot bag of candy to keep them entertained a little while longer. There was then a dance party, which was wholly unexpected. Who knew we would be bringing the kids to a club/bar but it was so much fun and the kids totally loved it.

We even saw a gentleman propose to his girlfriend! So sweet! Another surprise was that they had a girl perform high above us an acrobatic act with the ribbons. So unexpected and so cool!

One thing my husband and I noted was that it might have been just a tad long for little kids. We didn’t get back until 10:30, and they were pretty done after all of the action at 10. I would suggest parents with little kids to really aim for the 6pm sailing.

The only thing that put a damper on our night and really brought my rating down to a 4 was that our server, Delphine, kept harassing my husband for an extra tip. The Captain mentioned at the beginning of the show that we put all of our tips in the pirate chest at the end and they divvy among the crew. We were horribly disappointed this guy really felt he should ask for more. Cheapens the experience as we’ve been on other excursions where the team collected a group tip and it was far more comfortable. He certainly was a fun part of the show and served drinks to us well, but I did not feel he needed to act as he did. He asked multiple times over the night and my husband finally had to turn his back to him so he would leave him alone.

I would still recommend the show, and see if you can make it onto Jack Sparrow’s boat. His crew was phenomenal.

Thank DiMart81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a horrendous tourist trap waste of time and money!! Everyone is herded like cattle onto Dangerously overcrowded, claustrophobic boats and packed in like sardines. This trip must have been oversold to the tune of double what would be safe and comfortable let alone fun. We fought our way off before the ship left, just desperate to get out! We then spent the next 3 hours attempting to get our money back through various people... We eventually got around 65% of our money back through the office we originally booked with earlier that day but only after much explaining and eventually shouting. This company is a disgrace...you will not be treated as a human being at any point and their customer service is non existent. Avoid this at all costs!

1  Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prcaptainhook, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Captain Hook Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Visitor

We are very sorry that your visit was not a pleasant experience, we regret the inconvenience you may have had during your visit.
Regarding our tour we share that we always take the appropriate security measures to safeguard the integrity of our visitors at any time
The Galleons are 93 feet long and each has a capacity for 285 passengers, we do not exceed this capacity. We have the main area on the deck with tables and seats to see the tour as well in the upper part of our VIP area, where by purchasing one of our variety of Premium bottles you can buy 4 places in the VIP area. This is optional for customers who wish to acquire it.
Unfortunately, because you did not buy directly from us, it was not in our hands to make refunds due to our policies where we clearly specified the terms for a refund.

Our team regrets the situation that was caused and we regret the inconvenience that happened, for some situations that were not in our hands. We hope you will give us the opportunity to change your opinion.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was hoping this trip didn’t disappoint and I was pleased it didn’t! It was a great experience, my son, nearly 12, with his mate same age, thought it was brilliant from start to end! Being met by some realistic, scary ish pirates, had them hooked from the get go! We loved the show, they had you captive, entertained and dancing non stop! The food was brilliant , not at all sub standard, in fact, better than expected! I will tell everyone who visits to book this trip!

Thank rcfinn28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prcaptainhook, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Captain Hook Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Visitor

We appreciate your opinion, it is for us very pleasant to know that we comply with providing you with an incredible experience on board and we fulfill your expectations

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again

Thanks for your visit
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This ship is a fun rip. It had all you can drink, entertainment to start the night, got to see some titties and meet new people. Time went by fast, I think the trip was about 3 ~ 4 hours long.

Thank 296guilleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prcaptainhook, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Captain Hook Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good day Guillermo

Thank you for your opinion, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We wanted something different for our anniversary and this fitted perfectly. The captain and the entire crew were delightful and made the experience simply magical and enjoyable.

Must say the lobster and steak were both cooked to perfection, the bar man made cocktails of our choice using our recipes.

If in Cancun again, will take the cruise again.

Thank Adekama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prcaptainhook, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Captain Hook Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Visitor

We appreciate your opinion, we are pleased to know that an incredible evening happened on board. Our team works constantly to provide each passenger with the best service on board and we are happy to know that we meet our objective.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was by far the best activity we engaged in!!!! We had an absolute BLAST!!! It's a show for all family members!!! The crew and service was acceptional! And the Captain....well....Great at his job!!!! VERY ENTERTAINING!!! We will definitely be doing this again when we come back!

1  Thank FarAway729520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prcaptainhook, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Captain Hook Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Visitor

We are glad to know that you enjoyed an incredible evening on board and lived an original pirate adventure, each comment encourages us to continue working to bring you the best service

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This trip is a must do!!

We went adults with kids and we had a brilliant time. Every single person was up dancing. Great atmosphere!

Really good food and plenty of drink.

Best evening of our holiday

Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prcaptainhook, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Captain Hook Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mr. Daniel

We appreciate your opinion, we are pleased to know that you spent an incredible evening on board in the company of your family.

We hope to see you again

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked with some first time travelers who were interested but we quickly realized that this was better for families then couples.

The boat is great and nice sunset cruise but the show went 5hrs and was mostly introductions and stories followed by dancing with just a small action sequence.

The food was good but took forever before we ate...drinks ok but the VIP seemed over priced especially if your at an all inclusive resort.

Hard pass if you don’t have the kiddos.

Thank Brandon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prcaptainhook, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Captain Hook Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Visitor

Thank you for your comments, for our team it is very important to know your opinions about our service. We regret that your experience on board has not been completely pleasant, our tour is specially dedicated so that all the people on board have fun and we regret not having met your expectations.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you in another opportunity

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Myself & my partner experienced this excursion just last month, it was most definitely worth the money, the waiters are literally always on hand offering you more drinks, there was always something happening on the ship, there was never a dull moment, the games, the music, the dancing, always something putting a smile on our faces, the food on board was decent, nothing amazing, but decent, towards the end, they did offer around a tip box, for all the crew and staff aboard the ship, we happily put some cash into it, however, semi ruined the experience when the waiters and crew came around asking for tips on the sly so they didn't have to share with anyone else.

TIPS - if you can, try and get onto the boat first, you'll get better seats, we managed to be one of the first on the boat and got seated good, other people was squashed sitting on stools and very tightly packed, if you manage to get on earlier, you better seats.

If we ever visit Mexico again, we'd most definitely potentially do this excursion again.

Thank Eust95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prcaptainhook, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Captain Hook Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Visitor

We appreciate your opinion, we are glad to know that he lived an original pirate experience on board and that he had fun with us, that is the experience that Capitan Hook wants to leave in his visitors, we are glad to know that we fulfill with provide a great experence.

We hope in your next visit to Mexico come back to join us

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews