We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would go back tomorrow!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Great Parnassus Family Resort
Ranked #70 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I loved this resort! So many places to dine!
Pedro Sanchez was our bus boy and he was the best! Very professional and so willing to help us with feat ever we needed!
In the Magnus Marco was such a great asset to this resort! He remembered us after the first time sitting in his section! He always remembered what we wanted to drink!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnabrassor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,301 - 1,307 of 5,365 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

My family spent a week here over winter break. HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT! The hotel was okay as far as the room was concerned. However, the food was horrible! I only ate breakfast the whole week and we ended up going into Cancun to eat at local restaurants. I ended up getting sick and figured out it was the water and/or ice. Mid-week, I realized I could not drink water or have any drinks with ice. I asked for bottled water and was told that it was only for room service! Really? Finally, we were on the 10th floor and on some nights we could hear the partying in the lobby. The only really great thing I can say about the resort is that we had an awesome beach bartender named Teo. He had superb customer service. They are lucky to have him. The rest of the staff was NOT very friendly at all! I will never return to this resort and have NO idea how they have a 4+ Apple vacations rating!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelungmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parnassus2011, Chief Concierge at Great Parnassus Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback about your recent stay at the Great Parnassus Resort & Spa.

We are truly sorry to know that we couldn’t live up to your expectations. It is important to let know to further guests, that here at the Great Parnassus we work with the highest hygiene standards and certificates to assure our guests safety. Even when we only deliver bottled water to for room service, in all of the other restaurants, bars and for cooking we use purified water.

It is good to know that at least you had a nice experience with part of our staff.

Greetings,
Sussan Melikyan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The customer service is the best here, all the workers were very friendly and Latisia(Not sure if I spelt it right, 12th floor) She was AMAZING and our room always looked perfectly cleaned! Teo was our favourite bar tender at the swim up pool! I found they make the drinks strong so don't listen to people who say they don't!!!

We hated the food, but we are also picky, the taste of the oil or something they cook it in makes everything taste bad... we liked the pizza and the Japanese restaurant I think was the best by far and my bf loved big bens the most!

If you want to get away from the kids go to the adult pool on floor 2... relaxing, no line up for boos. NOT A SPRING BREAK HOTEL... but there are some young people but definetly not the place to go if your looking to party, it is mostly families and old people... the odd young partiers.

I thought the rooms were nice, elevators took FOREVER most of the time but whatever, only sucked if you are hungover.

The beach was amazing and unfortunately I didn't get to go to the nightly entertainment but the staff seemed amazing.

GET DOWN EARLY TO RESERVE A CHAIR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chipmunk88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Worst hotel in Mexico that I ever stayed in.

Plus
Easy check in
Spacious room
Good TV

Negative
Room was never sanitized. Filthy the entire time we were there.
Had no towels 4 of the 7 days
Stained beach towels
Gross food and frozen drinks... best thing I had there was the fried chicken fingers
Whole hotel falling apart. Cracking falling away concrete bits everywhere. No one even sweeps it up
Overall dirtiest hotel I have ever been to. Nothing ever smelled clean.

No outside dining
Beach is nice but trash everywhere especially the straws.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunnyfield33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parnassus2011, Chief Concierge at Great Parnassus Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear guest

We appreciate you to share with us your feedback. We think we’re receiving a hard critique from your behalf and some of your comments are lacking of objectiveness, however, they are welcome as long as they help us to improve our quality and service.

It is true that we had a leaking problem with the last rainy season, which we have already solved with maintenance to the complex.

Greetings,
Sussan Melikyan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

What a great hotel near the girlfriend have came back four times now. The beach has been renovated the last couple of years the hotel staff fantastic can never do enough for you there are far too many names to mention that the managements were fantastic there are about seven restaurants but not all of them were open because it wasn't high season and the food was outstanding you could also get premium drinks which is excellent The rooms are of good standard and you could have a lovely Oceanview or the lagoon which both are beautiful there is also an adult only Pool on the second floor and they are very strict with that with great bar staff and great drinks if you're thinking of taking a family here there is crazy golf, tennis ,kids club with plenty to do. Like I said before this is fourth time as a couple and we are bringing the children here in the summer. They also have a sister hotel which you can use their restaurants any time of the week with a free shuttle. What more can I say 10 out of 10 see you soon

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parnassus2011, Chief Concierge at Great Parnassus Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear guest.

We would like to thank for your preference to the Great Parnassus Resort & Spa. We're glad that you have come by 4 times to our Resort, and have always enjoyed of an excellent holiday finding a fantastic staff to serve you throughout your stay.

Great Parnassus is a family hotel, but has designated exclusive areas for adults and for children. For adults we have 2 bars, exclusive pool for them on the second level, for those who want to relax without natural noise produced by the children. We also have 10 restaurants with different types of food and buffet food.

This summer we look forward to your children, to enjoy a family vacation with sun, white sand beach and the quality care and warmth that the Great Parnassus offers.

Greetings,
Sussan Melykian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Am a frequent business traveller but decided to stay at this hotel to trial it out in case I plan to bring my family on vacation. The check was speedy hospitality classy food tasty and cost affordable.

Room Tip: Try the freshly made smoothies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ISAAC E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parnassus2011, Chief Concierge at Great Parnassus Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your feedback. It will be a pleasure to welcome you with your family on your next vacation.

Greetings,
Sussan Melikyan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We booked this hotel on the advice of our travel agent. We have never stayed at an all inclusive before so didn't know what to expect. The hotel itself is run down, cracks are showing and mold/mildew is growing in the showers. Having said that, we were rarely in the room and really, for what we paid we can't complain too much. The staff for the most part was wonderful. We were supposed to get a bottle of water in our room which we asked for every day and never got. I ended up buying a bottle of water in the gift shop near check in (don't expect change when shopping there). The food in the main eating area was hit and miss. Some dishes/places were very good while others were not. For example, bacon and sausages were deep fried making them very greasy and hard as rock. There was however, always fresh fruit around and many many other options. We dined at a few of the on site restaurants and had no complaints. The food there was of a higher standard. Overall we enjoyed our week in the sunshine and sand and would go back to the Great Parnassus.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the higher numbers we had 736 and the view is better at this end of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parnassus2011, Chief Concierge at Great Parnassus Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Great Parnassus Resort & Spa to live your first All Inclusive experience. We are glad to know that you enjoyed of a pleasant stay at the sunny and warm Cancun.

At the Great Parnasssu we have 10 restaurants to offer with different type of food, buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner, as well a la carte dinners.

We will be more than happy to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another pleasant vacation in Cancun.

Greetings,
Sussan Melikyan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.4 mi away
Emporio Cancun
Emporio Cancun
#46 of 177 in Cancun
2,129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Omni Cancun Resort & Villas
5.1 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Occidental Costa Cancun
Occidental Costa Cancun
#47 of 177 in Cancun
5,689 reviews
4.9 mi away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
1.3 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 177 in Cancun
4,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Parnassus Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Parnassus Family Resort

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 17 | Lote 52-04 Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#49 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#50 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $187 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Parnassus Family Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Parnassus Family Resort is located at KM 17 on the Hotel Zone. It is an ideal hotel whether you are vacationing, celebrating or working. Ranging from fun to excitement for the whole family. With areas specialized for baby care, plus a complete children’s water park with a castle, pirate ship and water slides. Teenager club and a complete day and night time activities program. All the upbeat fun imaginable for families; snack bars, coffee and sweets at our creperie. Offering also exclusive areas for adults only. When choosing suites or club rooms for adults only, guests have access to our elite lounge restaurant for breakfast, and in-room special amenities. A variety of 7 different restaurants, 11 bars, 24 hour room service, 4 pools, mini golf plus a variety of different suites to choose from including family suites that fit up to five people. Entertainment at night, with interactive games and shows performed by our entertainers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Great Parnassus Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Parnassus Hotel Cancun
Great Parnassus Resort Cancun
Great Parnassus Resort Spa Cancun
Parnassus Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing