We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun resort”
Review of Family Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Family Resort
Ranked #72 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We had a very nice time on a cheap trip via Spirit Airlines. The staff bent over backwards to make our stay a fun one. Nice rooms, great beds, nice pools. Loved the Adult area on the second floor. Had an excellent trip to Isla Mujeres and into Cancun.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parnassus2011, Chief Concierge at Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for satying at the Great Parnassus Resort & Spa. Seems like you had a fun stay with us, we would love to have seen your feedback regarding to the average review you rated us. This way we can get better.

Best regards!
Zazil Roca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,424 - 1,430 of 5,377 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

Our first stay was in 2010. We checked into the sister resort, the Golden Parnassus. We ended up touring the great and decided to stay there. Even though the golden was adults only, the great had much more to choose from with regards to food. We stayed at the great for 6 nights our first stay and 7 nights this stay. Not like we're jet setters, but we're done with the 3 star all inclusives. The great is an old hotel in need of updating. We stayed in an oceanfront suite which has a real neat shower, with body jets, rain shower overhead, foot massager, radio, etc.....none of which worked. The AC vent is not located in a good area of the room and does not do a good job cooling. The deck is huge, with great views with a jacuzzi tub, which wen filling, fills up with a yellowish water. It did work though. We've always found 80% of the staff in all these resorts are hard working folks who only aim to please. The great is no exception. To bad the food is barely mediocre. Couple small examples, the orange juice is like Tang, the hamburgers taste like Salisbury steak and the mixed drinks taste of sugar only. If value is what your looking for, the great is the place for you. Especially with families, tons for kids to do. We don't have kids, but can tell this would be a great place for them. Folks with families would probably rate this 4 or 5, but just two adults, I just can't give it that rating. Maybe even 1st timer couples would enjoy this resort. But at 46 with 6 trips to decent resorts, we're just ready to step it up a notch (or two or three) and are willing to pay for better food and accommodations such as Royal Luxury Cancun or Dreams.
One last note: you need to call room service now to get your refrigerator stocked. They will bring whatever they have in stock, gladly.

Room Tip: If your staying in an oceanfront room, make sure you get one of the two inner ones. The outer ones h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parnassus2011, Chief Concierge at Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying once more at the Great Parnassus Resort & Spa.

We are truly sorry to know that we could not reach to your expectation on your recent stay the Resort. As you mentioned in your review we are aimed to please, so we appreciate all of your feedback and positive criticism for us to improve our services and facilities.

Do not hesitate to come back for a third stay at the Great Parnassus and allow us to present you our improvements made due to your comments.

Best regards!
Zazil Roca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks from the 12th October -26th October

We have 2 children .0, facilities for them were great with 3 pools and the water park they loved except when 1 day the girl in charge couldn't cope with the 10 kids that were there using it 1 afternoon so shut it an hour early !!!!

Check in was quick when we arrived
Our family room was great with a sea facing view until we decided to have a bath and the water was orange with black silt in it -:(. We complained 5 times about this and ended up moving rooms only to find that this room had the same problem too- I think it was a problem right across the hotel

The curtains were mouldy , the room phone didn't work, the bedding was damp, and ants everywhere on the balcony

The restaurants were ok nothing special and staying there for 2 weeks got very boring as menus were always the same

After a shower of heavy rain the main hotel roof leaks onto the main corridor through ground level and old towels were put to soak it up !!!! My daughter slipped badly and hurt her knee
Health and safety we'll there is none clearly !!!

Would I return - definitely NOT

We felt that the hotel was 2/3 star
The service was poor and staff were less than average

Be careful if booking this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuciLacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parnassus2011, Chief Concierge at Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you to share your feedback with us. We are very sorry to know that your experience at the Great Parnassus Resort & Spa, was not up to your expectations, however, I appreciate you to point me some opportunity areas to work on with the staff in order to provide a better experience for further guests.
We would be grateful if we had the opportunity to welcome you back to show you our improvements and make you live s great experience this next time.

Best regards!
Zazil Roca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Well where do I start ? Firstly we have just returned (09/10/13-20/10/13)secondly I must tell you that my girlfriend and myself have been here 3 times!!! that must say it all but I will still give you some idea how good this hotel is. The hotel has 7 restaurants which included a buffet. The food was great and the service even better. They have bars inside the hotel just in case you have to wait for a table ,all these bars include premium drinks !!! If you stay for two weeks and you get bored with the restaurants you can visit their sister hotel (GOLDEN PARNASSUS) which has free transport every hour until 22:00 hrs. Although this is a family hotel ,there is an adults only pool/bar on the second floor. This also has one pool and two hot jacuizzies with its own bar. The beach has been upgraded and is absolutely lovely. There are new permament straw/hay umbrellas and plenty of beds. There is always plenty to drink and plenty food to eat!! At night you have the usual entertainment team (show) and there is a 24 hour coffee/doughnut bar plus 24 hr room service, The rooms are spacious with flat screen TV with cable/satalite channels(english speaking) and great views of the sea and the lagoon. All the staff are fantastic from the Bell Boys to the Management, and I would be here all day mentioning their personal names . Here are a few I really must mention...Alan the front desk supervisor (nothing too small for him to deal with) Edgar (Head waiter) Victor (waiter) Julian the bartender (who kept moving from bar to bar) Jose (must have been one of the restaurant supervisors) who always greeted you as though you were the only guest there ! I have saved the best to last and that was Elpedio, This Manager (beverages ,i think) was just so helpful that anything you wanted he would sort !! he was truly a great ambassador for the hotel,there was no issue too small for him,we thank you so much for making our stay so great. All in all the hotel was always clean and tidy and we shall definitely be going back for a fourth time and would recomend this to everybody !!!

Room Tip: Lagoon side has more to look at as you watch the sun go down(West facing).Sea view rooms are East fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HUNNY33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parnassus2011, Chief Concierge at Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your preference and for another stay at the Great Paranssus Resort & Spa. The feedback from our repetitive customers is greatly appreciated as it makes us notice hoe much we have improved from day to day.
In our Food & Beverage selection you can always find something to cater all of our guests, from the breakfast buffet, to our specialties restaurants and 24hrs. room service, all included and available for all the guests.
For those travelers staying without kids we have the option of Only Adults room’s category, restaurant, bar and pool, as well the opportunity to visit and use the facilities of our sister Resort, the Golden Parnassus.
Your message and kind words for our staff have touched and inspired us to keep doing our job with joy.
We are looking forward to welcome you for the fourth time, here at your home in Cancun.

Best regards!
Zazil Roca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Not a big resort and crowded . Not enough chairs on the beach and next to the pool. Food was ok. Entertainment was fun , on a rainy day a lot of stuff to do. The only bad thing is the Jacuzzi on the balcony above us overflowed and water was coming to our room through the ceiling so we requested a new room since our room was all wet, after a long talk and arguments with a resort manager , they gave us a new room.

Room Tip: Rooms with Jacuzzi on the balcony are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agata S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parnassus2011, Chief Concierge at Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Great Parnassus Resort & Spa. We are glad to know that despite of the small inconveniences, our staff was able to fix this issues and provide you a good vacation experience.
We hope to welcome you back in e near future for another Great vacation.

Best regards!
Zazil Roca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed here from Oct 2 until Oct 9. This was my 4th time and my wife's 5th. We had an ocean view room on the 6th floor ( Fantastic. Thank you Federico). From the beautiful sunrise in the morning to the evening drinks at the Atlantis bar our vacation was outstanding. And now I would like to mention a few people that work there who made it the usual great time.
Breakfast- Lucio (non stop energy). Got our coffee and OJ every morning and always a smile.
Umberto ( The Captain) always a good morning and there to make sure everything was good.
The Pool- Tere (pool waitress ) for always keeping our glasses full.
Bongo bar- Raul and Guillermo, great margarita's.
Samoa bar- Emilo, knew what we were drinking after one trip.
Bora Bora snack bar- to the cooks behind the counter. Great wings, burgers and chicken fingers.
Food and Beverage Manager- Elpedio, thank you so much for the dinner in the French restaurant and the breakfast in Sanctorum( 10th floor). You and your staff are to be commended for the way you treat your guests. This is the reason we keep coming back.
Atlantis bar- Ceasar, our favorite bartender. Always with a smile and the pleasure to serve you. The perfect way to end our day.
Bell boys- Luis and Christian, always a good morning and a smile.
Manager- Federico, always very attentive to the guests needs. Perfect person to manage this resort.
Hope to see you all in February,
Jeff and Judi

Room Tip: Bring a insulated cup or mug with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parnassus2011, Chief Concierge at Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Jeff and Judi,

Thank your for choosing the Great Parnassus Resort & Spa as your home in Cancun, it has been a true pleasure to welcome you back and serve you once more.
All of your comments and kind words for the staff is very rewarding for our hard work, this motivates us in our daily work to keep going beyond to exceed your expectations.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in February and visits to come to the Great Parnassus.

Best regards!
Zazil Roca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is an average resort. It looks nice and is clean. Our check in was pretty slow (30 min. on a Saturday afternoon and only 1 person in front of us). The front desk staff was friendly and helpful all throughout our stay. Our room was rather large! The bed was harder than my liking, but I slept good still. Our balcony door did not lock/unlock properly. Good thing my husband was in the room while I was on balcony or I would have been locked out! The staff at the restaurants are absolutely amazing! Shout out to Marco and Lucio in Magnus, the buffet, they went above and beyond! The food was average, some did not look very appetizing, but tasted just ok. The Shanghai (Asian food), Manhattan (American), and Portofino (Italian) were better than the buffet, but still just ok. The menu does not change, so if you are here for longer than a week, it would get old. My advice would be to take the free shuttle to the sister resort (Golden Parnassus-adults only) for dinners if possible. The pool was very nice and beach was wonderful. The nightly entertainment was cheesy, but fun. They had volleyball and water polo at pool (and with 3 sections of the infinity pool, you could still swim while games were going on). There was putt-putt and a kids pool, and an adults only pool also. I did not like how only parts of the resort were only for time-share customers (a restaurant on 10th floor and a sports bar). This was not the worst resort I stayed at in Cancun (this was our 3rd trip), but not the best.

Room Tip: Rooms next to Iberostar are a little noisy from air-condition units
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parnassus2011, Chief Concierge at Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Great Parnassus Resort & Spa as well for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay.
It’s been a true pleasure to serve you during your vacation, all the good comments we receive due to our good service are very motivational and helpful for us to keep working with heart and passion for you to live a Great experience.
We appreciate your feedback regarding to our food options and night entertainment, this will be considered for further improvements.
Do not hesitate to come back to the Great Parnassus, and this time provide you the best vacation experience in Cancun.

Best regards!
Zazil Roca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.4 mi away
Emporio Cancun
Emporio Cancun
#45 of 177 in Cancun
2,191 reviews
0.5 mi away
Omni Cancun Resort & Villas
5.3 mi away
Occidental Costa Cancun
Occidental Costa Cancun
#46 of 177 in Cancun
5,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
0.9 mi away
Crown Paradise Club Cancun
5.2 mi away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#47 of 177 in Cancun
3,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Resort

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 17 | Lote 52-04 Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#50 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#51 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $183 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Family Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Resort is located at KM 17 on the Hotel Zone. It is an ideal hotel whether you are vacationing, celebrating or working. Ranging from fun to excitement for the whole family. With areas specialized for baby care, plus a complete children’s water park with a castle, pirate ship and water slides. Teenager club and a complete day and night time activities program. All the upbeat fun imaginable for families; snack bars, coffee and sweets at our creperie. Offering also exclusive areas for adults only. When choosing suites or club rooms for adults only, guests have access to our elite lounge restaurant for breakfast, and in-room special amenities. A variety of 7 different restaurants, 11 bars, 24 hour room service, 4 pools, mini golf plus a variety of different suites to choose from including family suites that fit up to five people. Entertainment at night, with interactive games and shows performed by our entertainers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Parnassus Hotel Cancun
Great Parnassus Resort Cancun
Great Parnassus Resort Spa Cancun
Parnassus Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing