We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not perfect but a good value; plenty of options across two hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Great Parnassus Family Resort
Ranked #70 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not perfect but a good value; plenty of options across two hotels”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I feel there are a few things that you have to take into consideration when staying at the Great Parnassus. From a purely architectural standpoint, the GP is a great hotel that is large and has great rooms. The room was nice and spacious with a very nice private balcony that overlooked the beach and the ocean. In terms of food, which seem to be the biggest compliant that people have, it was hit or miss. I thought the French restaurant was very good, the buffet was an average buffet you can get anywhere (but it wasn't unedible as many people claim), and the others were just average. The biggest thing to keep in mind is that you have complete access to another hotel. The Golden Parnassus is an adults only hotel that had a much nicer buffet and more of a adult party theme. There is a shuttle that goes back and forth every hour, or you can just walk, which me and my girlfriend did a few times (its a nice 30 min walk on the beach but you are in Cancun with perfect weather so it was very relaxing). The people at Golden were a lot more friendly, but I think that has to do with there being a LOT more english speaking people there (Americans, Canadians and Brits) than at the Great Parnassus (which had a lot of people from Brazil and South America).

Overall, I think the GP is a great value. There are enough good places between Golden and Great to eat at where you will be satisfied. And besides the food everything else was top notch. If you want Wolfgang puck cooking every meal, then you can pay double the amount and stay at Le Blanc or something like that. But for the money I had a great time hanging out at the Great and Golden Parnassus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Shomari E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,647
    1,680
    965
    465
    539
See reviews for
2,941
1,271
45
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (863)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights with my couple, and it was a nice surprise to see the hotel. It is a very large hotel well kept, with a big food assortment. Swimming pool and beach area were very well kept as well.

To start out, both check inn and check out were very fast, we had no issues with either, and although we got there much earlier that check inn time and left much after check out, they offered us to change and use some showers in a dresser meanwhile our rooms were ready and after we checked out as well. I thought this was great, as usually you don't have these options.

The room was amazing we upgraded to an ocean suite, and it is totally worthwhile, you can see the sunrise right from your bed, the size of the balcony is huge, you have a large jacuzzi in the balcony as well as a table and you can sun tan there as well. We got one of the corner rooms (342) which gave us a ocean and lagoon view as well so we could see both the sunrise and sun set. The bathroom and dresser are excellent size as well.

Regarding the food in the hotel, there are many restaurants, during our stay not all were open at the same time (Low season) but we were able to eat in all of them, the assortment is large. Don't expect the most refined and sophisticated dishes, they are normal but flavor and quality are good. The buffet is excellent you have all the different cousins to choose from.

Some issues regarding service, one of the days they made our room and forgot to change and leave new towels, and another one they took our bathrobes and we had to call 3 times to request them again, and they never sent them, the minibar isn't refilled every day so you have to call to request a refill, when we did the went right a way, but still this should be done without you having tor request it.

The drinks in the hotel are good, not the best quality alcohol but not bad either.

In general I say it has an excellent price / value. Room was the best part of the hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed at the ocean suite 342, I believe all the ones on that side of the hotel have the best view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Allan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This resort is fabulous. We had a wonderful time.
We had no complaints about anything. If you have young children, this is the place to go.
The staff was phenomenal. The food was excellent. Lots of choices and when we went it was unlimited a la carte.
We only did one excursion as we wanted to enjoy as much of the sun, sand and relaxation as we could.
The staff were very good, especially the animation staff.
The only issue is the people trying to sell you things constantly.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sacha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at this resort from Nov.3 to Nov.9. We have travelled to several (over 20) resorts in Mexico and the Great P was exactly was we expected. The check in was quick, our room was ready early and the family style, with bunkbeds and a king bed, large bath that was totally fine,although slightly dated, and a gorgeous view of the ocean on the south side of the building. Tons of storage as well and the safe is free - just ask for a key at the front desk on check in. The room was cleaned everyday and towel art was usually left for our enjoyment.
The staff here were amazing! Extremely friendly and accommodating. We found that when we asked for something, they were able to produce it, or tell us how to get it. The resort was not fully booked so some restaurants were on limited hours and yes, the large watersildes were closed for part of the week for maintenence, but Sunwing had sent an email about this, so we were prepared.
The Food - We really enjoyed the Mexican Restaurant by the kids area - civeche and tortilla soup were both highlights. The restaurants in general were all enjoyable, depending on what you ordered - just like at home. We never went hungry. We brought out own thermal mugs as most resorts only use the smaller cups at all of the bars (to avoid wasted drinks and breakage) and all of the bartenders were happy to fill them with whatever we ordered. We did use room service for bottles of cold water and cans of beer, which we put on ice in the room. The buffet had made to order stations with everything from omeletts, to stirfry, fresh empinadas and tostadas, to sushi made fresh per order. There was fresh bread, pastries, etc, etc, etc. No complaints about food. The Creperie had 24 hour coffee and something to nosh on.
The beach is gorgeous and the water had many shallow entry points for kids There is a lifeguard from 9 am to 5 pm-just on case. 7 days of hot, sunny weather makes everything that much better. The entertainment crew were great. They knew your name after the first day if you participated in any activity. My daughter was treated like a princess. The evening shows were typical, but enjoyable and something fun to do after dinner each night. If you are there for 2 weeks, it might be repetative.
Overall, we liked this hotel. The focus is definitely on family here, so if this is a couples vacation, I would choose another location. There are lots of kids and lots of "screams" of joy! Would we go back, yes. But when there are hundreds of places to stay...we would likely try another spot. Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Where_is_the_Bar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2012

we stayed at the Great Parnassus from Oct 14th - Oct 21st. This was our 3 boys (ages 15, 13, 9) first trip out of the country and it did not disappoint! We loves our stay at this hotel....the food was great...lots to choose from...pool and water slides clean and fun. The beach is clean and just the right size. The water is beautiful and clear...can be a bit rough some days but my boys loved that because they could bodysurf a bit! Enjoyed seeing the iguanas in the nature preserve lot next to hotel. Lots to do here for kids...they didnt get bored....the adults and kids loved the swimup bar too! The only complaint we had was the room AC didnt work in our first room...after a couple visits from maintenance to try to repair it still was too warm. The easily switched us to another room and that room was much better...and a beautiful view of the ocean. Loved the bunkbeds for the kids but would have been nice if those were separated from the adult area by a full wall instead of just a 3/4 wall. Rooms were clean and cleaned daily. The service at this hotel is exceptional! everyone who works here seems to do their beat to please you....from front desk to cleaning service to food servers! Jerry in Magnus was our favorite...be sure to ask for him! Jerry went above and beyond every day to make sure we were seated And had everything we needed, getting our drinks and anything else we needed and he knew our favorites by the end of our stay and would have it waiting for us! Thank you again Jerry! Tipping is not required but if someone gives exceptional service you should. Access to the bus is very close and its very easy to catch a bus as one comes every few minutes...this hotel is close to shopping and nightlife area. We booked the tour to the island....the Garrafon trip with the dolphin experience and the kids loves it! Very beautiful island. Overall this trip was great and we recommend this hotel to families...we plan to return! The Robinsons from Franklin, Indiana, USA

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aerobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donaghadee, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Just back from this hotel and we had a ball! Staff were pleasant, pool area great and beach at your door. Entertainment staff ran decent programme during the day. Waiters made plenty of drinks suggestions & pool service was great. Food for breakfast & lunch was good with plenty of choice. Dinner could have been better but you can get the free bus to sister hotel- golden parnassus- which has much better food and is only 5 mins away.

Lots of families but there is adult bars/ adult pools/ adult only restaurant. The spa facilities & gym are great and again 18+.

Not the most luxurious hotel I have been to but was reflective of the price. Some chips and wear & tear needed done but if u r too busy having a good time on your holiday you make the most of the sunshine and all inclusiveness!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynsey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmsdale, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We just returned home from an 8 day stay at the Great Parnassus Resort and Spa. This was our third visit to Cancun in the last few years having stayed at the Gran Caribe Real and Moon Palace Golf and Spa resorts previously.

I'll start with the positives:
* Our room, 439, had an amazing ocean view, we loved the separate children's area and the bathroom was huge.
* The beach is beautiful.
* The main buffet restaurant catered to lots of different tastes and we had no problem feeding our 3 children.
* The italian restaurant was our favorite. My husband and I recommend the lasagna while our children recommend the fettucini alfredo.
* The entertainment team do a great job at getting people involved. We participated in many activities including beach volleyball, water polo, water aerobics, trivia, etc.
* The children enjoyed craft time at the kids club, mini-golf and the waterpark (despite the big disappointment - see below).

As for the negatives:
* Our room phone did not work and it took a few days to get it replaced.
* There are very few english channels on TV and our channels were different than others on the same floor of the hotel. Not a big deal but it would have been nice to see the election on CNN in english.
* One day, our room was not cleaned. We received no note indicating that someone had tried to clean our room that day, nothing.
* We did not get to try the french restaurant as it is adults only. We find this odd since this is a family resort.
* Every morning there was a wait to get into the main buffet restaurant for breakfast. It would be nice if it opened earlier than 7:00.
* Our biggest disappointment is that the two large waterslides at the resort were under maintenance during our stay. It would have been nice if this had been advertised on the resort's website as we would have booked another week.

In our opinion, the Gran Caribe Real and Moon Palace Golf and Spa resorts had better service, food, accomodations and amenities than the Great Parnassus Resort and Spa but they also cost more which is always a consideration.

Would we return to this hotel? Yes, but only if the price was right.

Room Tip: 439 was a great room. Great view of ocean and lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank cthomas5858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
11.6 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
6.6 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#36 of 175 in Cancun
662 reviews
5.2 mi away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#51 of 175 in Cancun
3,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#25 of 175 in Cancun
3,130 reviews
5.1 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
13.7 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Parnassus Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Parnassus Family Resort

Property: Great Parnassus Family Resort
Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 17 | Lote 52-04 Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#49 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#51 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Parnassus Family Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Parnassus Family Resort is located at KM 17 on the Hotel Zone. It is an ideal hotel whether you are vacationing, celebrating or working. Ranging from fun to excitement for the whole family. With areas specialized for baby care, plus a complete children’s water park with a castle, pirate ship and water slides. Teenager club and a complete day and night time activities program. All the upbeat fun imaginable for families; snack bars, coffee and sweets at our creperie. Offering also exclusive areas for adults only. When choosing suites or club rooms for adults only, guests have access to our elite lounge restaurant for breakfast, and in-room special amenities. A variety of 7 different restaurants, 11 bars, 24 hour room service, 4 pools, mini golf plus a variety of different suites to choose from including family suites that fit up to five people. Entertainment at night, with interactive games and shows performed by our entertainers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great Parnassus Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Parnassus Hotel Cancun
Great Parnassus Resort Cancun
Great Parnassus Resort Spa Cancun
Parnassus Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing