We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was treated like royalty for pennies a day!'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Great Parnassus Family Resort
Ranked #71 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We orginally booked with another resort to find out last minute that some of our 'all inclusive ammenities wouldnt be available. Lucky for us we were able to get in at the Great Parnassus Resort instead.

I was impressed with this resort when I first layed eyes on it. The lobby was very spacious & all opened up to let the sea air in. It was very beautifully decorated & staff was on hand & ready to take our luggage off our hands while we checked in. While knowing the lauguage was a plus for us, it was not necessary for basic communication.

I was very satisfied with our room. It was very roomy w a king bed & the tv was set up to receive both English & Spanish channels. There was a lounging area off to the side of our room as well as a balcony looking right out to the ocean that was set up with a little table & chairs. While the furniture needed a lil repair work, everything else was wonderful-and, YES, the water is safe to drink!

We noticed right away that room service was available 24hr a day & you could even order your breakfast the night prior via a menu attached to your door. We took advantage of that option numerous times during our trip & enjoyed breakfasts on our balcony with the ocean & quiet dinners at night.

Downstairs, they had many restaurants to choose from-each with a different menu & we had a blast trying all the different locations. If you run outta choices you could always take the shuttle to their sister location: 'The Grand Parnassus' where you could enjoy similar ammenities w an adults only vibe. They had a great seafood restaurant right on the beach where I had coconut shrimp & the snack shop off the pools had the best pico de gallo Ive ever had!! If you cant get away to the Grand, theres an adults pool & spa section on one of the upper floors at the Great & was a great escape.

At both locations, the beach was literally a step outside the resort doors & had many lounge chairs & shaded palapas to relax in. Getting a drink was no effort at all. Not only were the bartenders quick to serve, but they were extremely accomendating!! They filled our Nalgenes from home full w frozen beverages saving us a few trips to the bar. While tipping wasnt necessary as it was an all inclusive resort, its important to note that slipping the staff a $1 here & there went a LONG WAY towards our service & pretty much guaranteed the royal treatment. Snack bars were provided right on the beach & they had many vendors walking throughtout the beach who could literally get you ANYTHING youre after!!

If youre looking for some planned activities, theres no shortage in that department. There were information booths set up right on the beach w staff ready to set you up with whatever youre after & more in the lobby. We did a snorkeling trip to see the coral reef with the booth outside & a jungle tour with the organization in the lobby. Both were well worth the money we paid, try to bargain down the beach booth guy as they are quick to sell a 'discount' that isnt that great compared to the other outfitters.

We didnt do much exploring around town as it wasnt very inviting in some areas. We did take the local bus for pennies down to a seafood restaurant right on the ocean. The food was pricey, but very delicious & nice to get a night away from the resort!!

The only downside to our trip was the persistent man who kept trying to get us to come for a timeshare presentation whenever we passed the lobby. We just politely said no, the first few times & then began to downright blow him off when he commented we need to 'give him a break & help him out.' Sorry, presentations were not part of our Cancun vacation agenda!!

Overall, it was a perfect vacation & you cant go wrong with the Great Parnassus resort. We plan to come back & try their other location, The Grand Parnassus next time.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank skeeter82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,181 - 2,187 of 5,359 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2011

The people at this hotel go the extra mile just to make sure everyone there enjoys their vacation. We just arrived back from Cancun yesterday and we already want to come back. Of all the workers here, there is one individual who made my stay even better. His name is Manuel Isis. He works on the first-floor bar called the karaoke bar. This young man has an excellent work ethic and great customer service. Even though his bar wasn't always the busiest, he would always have a smile on asking you about your day and vacation so far. He is the reason I would come back to this hotel. I always enjoyed his company. I walked in his bar for the first time Saturday night as just another customer and then a week later I left him as a great friend. I will never forget this gentleman as for he has deserved my respect.

If anyone is on the fence for this hotels because of some shady views, don't even listen to them. This is a fantastic hotel with great restaurants, customer service and entertainment. Every morning about 9am they have already started games in the pool; whether it was basketball, volleyball, water aerobics, or water polo their staff was ready to have fun for the day.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrockL23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Great Parnassus for 2 weeks from the 25th of July untill the 8th of August. We booked a club deluxe room, which was just perfect! We were located on the 11th floor at the side of the hotel so had a fantasic view of both the ocean and the lagoon. The room was very spacious, with a lovely jacuzzi tub beside the massive bed, which was very comfortable and to add the jet shower was amazing too ! Our cleaner called Luis, was the best cleaner we've ever came across!! Always left our room spotless every day, lining up our shoes, folding our clothes and leaving us different animals made from towels.. very impressed! The room service was also brilliant, very nice food and quick!
Included in booking our room we were took on a lagoon cruise.. which we thought would of been a bit boring and laid back, but how wrong were we!! It was great fun, with tequila drinking games and an all-inclusive open bar!
We loved the pool area, with the swim up bar.. and the entertainment staff were fab, who had activities on all day everyday for everyone! we played the water polo and tequila volleyball which where great fun! We also went out to the clubs with the entertainment staff at night, our favourites where City and Coco Bongos.. amazing! It is a must to go to these when you're in Cancun!
I also recommend you book with the aquaworld stand at the pool area, we booked the jet ski's in the ocean.. what an experience! And the 'Jungle Tour' which allowed you to drive your own speed boat and snorkel in the reef.. amazing!
The only downside we found, was the restaurants in the hotel, in Porto Fino, the italian restaurant we waited nearly an hour for what was a childs 4 slice pizza and in Big ben restaurant we found the New yorker steak very fatty.
So we mainly ate in Magnus, which was good.. nice pasta and pizza and salad!
Manhatten was also a favourite for late night snacks when coming in from the clubs!
Last but by no means least, is the karaoke bar on the 1st floor of the hotel.
We have never meet a more friendly, helpful and fun barman in our lives.. Manuel, you are a star! Manuel works so hard, and always has a smile on his face and was so welcoming every night.. and the cocktails he made us where fab! Not forgetting the waitress Isis, who was out this world.. she was rushed off her feet but still managed to get our drinks quickly and bring a new round of drinks without us even asking!

We will be back in the Great Parnassus next year! very impressed overall!

Room Tip: Book the club room, they are on the high floors, and have lovely views of the ocean or lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Emma V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

My husband, 5-year old son, and I stayed here July 23-30. Another family of 5 traveled with us (kids ages 2-8) and we were able to get rooms on the same floor, so that was nice. Overall, the hotel was nice and the food better than we expected from an all inclusive. The bartenders, especially Teo, were great at coming up with drinks you might like.

If you stay at this hotel, DO NOT book your pre-paid airport transfer from the link on the Great Parnassus website. The company was 'Hotel Beds.' When we arrived at the airport, they did not have our reservation. The agent talked on the phone for about 20 minutes until he got us a van. He said if you book on the internet, your reservation 'sometimes' gets lost and that it is better to call. The day before we left, we had the bellman call and confirm they would pick us up. This call also took 20 minutes since they again could not find our pre-paid reservation. Needless to say, the van did not arrive the next day, so we had to pay another $45 to hire a cab. The van company charged $44 each way for our party of 8 as well. We are currently disputing the charge with our credit card.

The hotel is atrium style and the week we stayed there was the week a group of about 100 kids from Brazil was also staying. At all hours of the night, the kids were yelling, whistling, pulling the fire alarm, etc. to hear the wonderful echo. My husband and son slept through this; I did not.

The kids club (ages 4+) was great! They had a lot of activities for the kids inside the club, and around the resort. The hours were 9am -7:30 the week we were there, with one stipulation- you have to pick your child up for lunch at noon (but not the kids in the baby club 18 mos. to 3), so that makes it hard to do any of the day trips. But, it was nice to have some quiet adult time around the resort.

I would recommend this resort if you have kids, but maybe bring some ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julieisaprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Four of us (two couples ) went to the Great Parnassus in April for a week. We enjoyed it, but in retrospect would have preferred the partner hotel, the Golden Parnassus.

If you have kids the Great Parnassus is good value, and they do a lot to keep little people amused. But, we took the courtesy bus to the Golden Parnassus and found it more suitable for adults. In retrospect we would have paid the extra to stay there.

Alternatively, stay at the Great and use the shuttle to spend your days at the Golden.

This is not a citicism of the hotel as much as it's an acknowledgement that we should have chosen the other option in the group.

The staff at both hotels are great, so long as you disregard the persistent requests to attend the timeshare sales pitches.

If you stay at the Golden you may find the smaller choice of restaurants and issue but then just jump in the shuttle and try out some at the Great Parnassus.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelNutFromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

I tooke my wife and two boys and we had a blast!!! The food was great and we had so many choices...unlimited food and drinks..we loved the everything included-all inclusive. The pools were nice and the water park was awesome. We made a great choice. WE DEFINETELY RECOMMEND IT

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank chmateo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed 08/04 to 08/11 and had a great time! there were 5 couples and our children totaling 14 people. The food wasnt great but we got a great deal so no complaints, our favorite was Big Ben. They brought bottles of water to our room 4 at a time for 2 people so we didnt worry about the water. They brought as many bottles as you asked for. Room Service took forever.
The waitstaff and entertainment staff was fantastic!! They work they butts off. The entertainment staff was sooo good. We played games everyday and by day 2 they knew our names and had given our group the nickname "Boston" We all had a great time and would go back without hesitation. Umberto was our favorite bartenter at the samoa swim up bar. Drinks were not watered down which was important to us as a mainly adult group. When we won tequila volleyball they just handed over full bottles of vodka for victory shots. On one night we even took over and tended bar. The entire staf was so much fun,even the busboys!
We didnt hear any noise at night but others in our group said they heard noises so, I would recommend a beachside suite. When we first arrived we didnt like our room. Alexandro(the manager) quickly changed it and apologized profusely about the mix up. It took about 30 seconds for them to fix it. Bring sunscreen, we all used it and still managed to burn under umbrellas

Room Tip: beachfront suite was amazing. Didnt hear any noises at all in the hallways. we used bookit.com and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArmyMom83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
6.6 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#43 of 177 in Cancun
726 reviews
11.6 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
1.4 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#26 of 177 in Cancun
3,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#47 of 177 in Cancun
3,523 reviews
1.0 mi away
GR Solaris Cancun
GR Solaris Cancun
#33 of 177 in Cancun
4,689 reviews
5.2 mi away
Oasis Palm
Oasis Palm
#75 of 177 in Cancun
2,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Parnassus Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Parnassus Family Resort

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 17 | Lote 52-04 Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#49 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#50 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $197 - $477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Parnassus Family Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Parnassus Family Resort is located at KM 17 on the Hotel Zone. It is an ideal hotel whether you are vacationing, celebrating or working. Ranging from fun to excitement for the whole family. With areas specialized for baby care, plus a complete children’s water park with a castle, pirate ship and water slides. Teenager club and a complete day and night time activities program. All the upbeat fun imaginable for families; snack bars, coffee and sweets at our creperie. Offering also exclusive areas for adults only. When choosing suites or club rooms for adults only, guests have access to our elite lounge restaurant for breakfast, and in-room special amenities. A variety of 7 different restaurants, 11 bars, 24 hour room service, 4 pools, mini golf plus a variety of different suites to choose from including family suites that fit up to five people. Entertainment at night, with interactive games and shows performed by our entertainers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Great Parnassus Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Parnassus Hotel Cancun
Great Parnassus Resort Cancun
Great Parnassus Resort Spa Cancun
Parnassus Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing