We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They do allow groups of spring breakers!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Great Parnassus Family Resort
Ranked #71 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed March 16, 2011

Our trip was planned for 15 days @ this hotel( from end of February - after 1st week of March). These dates obviously crossed over spring break time for many North American staes and provinces. Our second week there, we went down for breakfast and noticed a sign saying " welcome class of 2011". We didn't want to believe that the hotel was welcoming a group of high-school spring breakers because on their website, they claimed that they did not. But of course they did!. They made so much noise on their first night there that we called front desk to complain of the noise. 1 hour later, the kids were still running down the halls, screaming and yelling obsenities. Front desk had still done nothing to stop these kids. We called again, and unfortunatly, were forced to search out the night manager. The next day, we complained to the front desk manager about what had happened about the night before. His response, in a nut shell was, if we were not happy, we could go somewhere else. Combined, front desk staff as well as the front desk manager, were useless.
Sound travels greatly in this hotel due to design. It is like having a room attached to a shopping mall. It is not a quiet place during the nights! The food was edible. The place was clean and the rest of the staff was friendly.
The kids club was good. Sandy, Rosy, Brenda, Karla, Ellie, Alex, Kendra and all of the other names that I am forgetting were great with the kids. I and my husband felt very safe in leaving our children in their hands. Very safe!Great work!
Other Entertainment staff like Angie, George, David, and Carlos kept us occupied and entertained. Good job! Water slides were fun and Diani and Elie did a good job in making sure people followed the rules.
Staff were very helpful and efficient in helping you out and getting things cleaned up like Jerry, Isaac, and Martin ( Magnus restaurant), as well as many others.
All staff at all of the bars were very friendly and always had a smile for you (Good job- Roberto, Hector, Jimmy, Gloria, Paty, Luisa, Miguel, Ricardo, Nayeli, Rebeca, and Sonia at the Lobby Bar)

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SerenaandTaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,350)
There are newer reviews for Great Parnassus Family Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,310 - 2,316 of 5,350 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2011

Pros-
Price- great value for amount paid
Staff- totally impressed majority of staff spoke good english, staff was exceptional- courteous, went above and beyond acceptable service
Cleanliness- this resort was SPOTLESS! I cannot get over how clean this place was. The housekeepers not only cleaned the rooms every day, but changed all the linens on the beds...everyday.
Pools- pool areas were clean and well maintained.

Cons
Food- I wouldn't rate the food as great...it was acceptable at best. The buffet was the best. Big Ben had a good steak but salmon dinner was overcooked. The Manhattan was just horrible. We were afraid to even try the other restaurants for fear we would just end up at the buffet anyways.
Only place for breakfast is the buffet, only place for lunch is the buffet and a little mexican place in the children's water park area.
Noise levels- due to the design, size and openness of the resort, any sounds (doors slamming, children yelling at all hours of the night, drunk people coming back, etc.) echoed throughout the entire place. There are no barrier walls or carpeting to absorb the sounds. We were also on the other side of elevators, which made horrible sounds all night long.
Unless you are staying with children, I would recommend trying the sister resort for adults only, Golden Parnassus. I visited for a day, it is half the size, clean and quiet.
Great Parnassus is just too big for my taste but definitely had it's good side.
All in all a good vacation, weather was fantastic and the view was to die for.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We went to the Great Parnassus with 11 people.... 4 being kids. Ages 6, 6, 11, 9 months. We all had a fantastic time. The food was excellent and the service was great. They was a few bartenders that seemed grumpy at first, but give them a tip and a little conversation when they weren't busy and they were awesome and the drinks got stronger :) . The waiters were very accomidiating as we asked for special dishes for both the infant and my mother in law as she cannot not eat anything with glutone. The best restaurant was defiently Big Bens. The rooms were very clean and modern, no complaints there. As for the towel situation that you may read from other reviews , again leave the maid a tip and you were taken care of wonderfully. The waterpark for the kids was great.... however our kids preferred the beach. The entertainment staff was great with the kids. There was no shortage of things for the kids to do.
Every day they played soccer and baseball on the beach. The nightly show were great for everyone, and lots of laughs.
Highly Recommend this resort for people with kids. Ignore the bad reviews, those people obviously expect perfection. I would go back again for sure..... Great hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracey241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We went to Great Parnassus from March 4 to March 11. Our first impression was that this place was amazing. Big, clean. We were upgraded to a suite with king size bed, walk in closet, and a shower big enough for 6 people. The first night we were there, the room flooded after our shower, because the drain had come undone and was coming out the sides. But in a matter of an hour they had it fixed and the room all cleaned. The food was hard to get used to. I didn't like the way the buffet was set up in a circle. You have to walk around and around to see everything. Not much of a choice at each station. But we never left hungry. The Big Ben steak house was the best. Love the no reservation for the a la carte restaurants. Nice and clean pools. They had an adult pool with spas on 2nd floor in front of resort, but was always too quiet, no music and hardly anyone there. There were more kids than adults, but we don't mind them, so it was nice to hear their laughters. Would definately go back with my young kids. Great kids club, and day care. Very safe and they were kept busy the whole day as far as we noticed. The beach was soft and hard to walk in, but the water was beautiful and warm. Also had the best massage ever from Otis and Roxanna. Very professional and very elegant place. A must do. Wait til end of your stay. We had 50% off. And had a great big gym with brand new machines and equipment, sauna, steam room and hot and cold tub. No one ever used it, so we were alone in it. Besides the food, and the noise at night (our room was over the karaoke bar), it was a great place.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Car0Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

We stayed from March 7 - 11 and Loved It! When I booked this I was looking to go somewhere warm as we live in MN. I also wanted a family focused Hotel for "Cheap". This Hotel was exactly perfect for us.
The Lobby when you first walk in is very impressive. We were able to "ditch" the White Shirts for the Timeshare. We got the Family room and the bunk beds worked for our 3 kids (9,6,3). they had their own TV and there were stations that were in English which provided some distraction for them. I would agree with other peoples reviews of the noise. There was 1 night where there was a lot of yelling by young adults. My husband and I always have ear plugs so this worked well for us and the noise never woke the kids.
We loved the main pool that has 3 separate sections. We were able to find chairs and and the kids enjoyed getting their "virgin" margaritas and pina coladas. The bar has a list of a variety of kids drinks to pick from.
The beach was nice in my opinion. We went to Cozumel last year and we couldn't even walk on the beach because it was not sandy and full of large shells. We were able to walk here and not have it hurt. The waves were rough and we didn't spend as much time in the ocean because of the age of our kids. We still were able to make sand castles and bury Dad in the sand.
As far as the food, we were able to find something to eat that we liked every day. We have the view that this is not a 5 Star Hotel and we did not expect that type of food. We definitely did not go hungry. We went to the Ice Cream shop every night after dinner. I tried one of their Waffles and filled it with Ice Cream and toppings and have never had anything so wonderful. We probably gained weight on the trip. The best part about Magnus - the Buffet was the Oriental station. Esperanza is wonderful with her Wok. She makes a great Sweet and Sour Chicken along with Fried Rice that was so good I had to have it 2 days in a row.
The only part that I can't wrap my head around was the Towels in the room. The first day there were 2 bath towels, the next it was 4 and then their were none. We forgot to ask for more towels at the front desk so my family of 5 took showers and all we had were 2 hand towels and a wash cloth to dry ourselves with. My son is able to speak Spanish and he called down to Housekeeping and request blankets and towels and he said that someone answered and he talked and then they hung up on him. Weird! Anyways I finally remembered to ask for more bath towels at the Front Desk. She asked for my room number and after I gave it to her she said that Towels were not included in the Package I bought. WTF!!! I asked her to repeat this in case something was lost in translation. She said that the next upgrade was VIP so we were not allowed ANY bath towels. This did not ruin our vacation, but I still can not believe this happened. I hope to talk to Expedia to see if this is something that I missed when I paid for the trip.
Otherwise it was a Great Family Vacation!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichellefromMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Was there oct 2010 hotel not too full.Staff really make this hotel,like one great big family unusual for a hotel this size. From the bellboys right up to the general manager. Special mentions to Elpedio Pena Ibarra cant do enough for you even got us different butter! Fernando adult poolbar and his mad cocktails, tom cruise eat ur heart out. Jose lobby bar, Alberto waiter magnus + louise cleaner. Food xcellent, plenty choices, drinks gr8. Lovely company thanks to Deb,gerry,blair,becs + kirsty. Scousers Robbie,mad sisters + family. The fife mob, the falkirk lads + all the other scots. We had a laugh!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomrosserskine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

e stayed for 2 weeks: 5.2 - 19.2.11. These are our informed observations: The Great Parnassus is a good, solid, better than average AI hotel representing good value for money! (Many Air Pilots & Cabin Crew stayed here during our 2 week stay).
The hotel is large & designed on a cruise liner. It easily accomodated over 1100 guests without a strain on it's facilities!
The staff are very hard working & friendly, especially: Sonia, Rebecca, Eunice, Carol(ina), Vicky & Nico the lifeguide.
The food was more than adequate in all of the restaurants. Our favourites were: Big Bens, Samurai & Porto Fino (Don't forget to tip). The main Magnus restaurant was again more than adequate offering varied cuisine.
There were plenty of bars around the hotel & if you like strong drinks just ask for more alcohol in them.
There were never any issues with the pool or beach loungers as there were plenty of them even though the hotel was full! The pool was big with swim up bar, 2 additional bars & snack bar, whilst the beach was also big & clean offering waiter service for drinks.
Our room was Hilton side, 9th floor (next to the Ocean Suites) & we had fantastic views of the sea & coast! The room & bathroom were of a good size offering good facilities. Room service was handy on more than one occasion.
Overall: Good, solid, better than average AI hotel representing good value for money.(£)

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheldon110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
6.6 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#40 of 176 in Cancun
710 reviews
11.6 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
1.4 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#26 of 176 in Cancun
3,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#47 of 176 in Cancun
3,496 reviews
5.2 mi away
Oasis Palm
Oasis Palm
#75 of 176 in Cancun
2,929 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Parnassus Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Parnassus Family Resort

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 17 | Lote 52-04 Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#49 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#50 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $187 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Parnassus Family Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Parnassus Family Resort is located at KM 17 on the Hotel Zone. It is an ideal hotel whether you are vacationing, celebrating or working. Ranging from fun to excitement for the whole family. With areas specialized for baby care, plus a complete children’s water park with a castle, pirate ship and water slides. Teenager club and a complete day and night time activities program. All the upbeat fun imaginable for families; snack bars, coffee and sweets at our creperie. Offering also exclusive areas for adults only. When choosing suites or club rooms for adults only, guests have access to our elite lounge restaurant for breakfast, and in-room special amenities. A variety of 7 different restaurants, 11 bars, 24 hour room service, 4 pools, mini golf plus a variety of different suites to choose from including family suites that fit up to five people. Entertainment at night, with interactive games and shows performed by our entertainers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelPower, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Great Parnassus Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Parnassus Hotel Cancun
Great Parnassus Resort Cancun
Great Parnassus Resort Spa Cancun
Parnassus Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing