We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel sotavento”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sotavento Hotel & Yacht Club
Ranked #109 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“hotel sotavento”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

A hotel with a very good location, nice clean rooms and very friendly and helpful staff.
it is located right on the ocean and also has a verz nice pool at the sight.
The continental breakfast was more than enough located in the restaurant in the hotel.
the transfer from downtown, the beaches could be reached very well through a bus system 50 metres away!
it was also possible to book tours and excursions next to the front desk.
all in all we were verz satisfied with the stay in our hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sassie2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    176
    121
    66
    69
See reviews for
116
160
47
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I was booked here for 2 weeks from the 2nd of january, we lasted 5 before we damanded our travel company to move us. The hotel staff were rude, arrogant and generally didn't care. The hotel it's self is very old, and nearing the end of its life. There are big problems with red ants everywhere outside, so sunbathing by the pool isnt really an option. It's a long bus ride to the nearest decent beach. Although the outdoor breakfast area was adequate enough, there is a big problem with birds, constantly trying to grab things from your plate/table. If your thinking of having since relaxing time sunbathing by the pool then this is the wrong hotel for you.all over the grounds of the hotel are fly and ant infested trees which block almost all daylight getting through! The only place to get some decent sun is the yet again ant infested lawn backing onto the marina. Having fishermen ogle you and shout things is a lovely setting for a relaxing day. Pay more money and get a decent hotel, trust me.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Matman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cancun hotels

Calciania, Pisa
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

As we wanted to stay a few days close to downtown Cancun we opted to stay at a fairly inexpensive place such as Sotavento. The location is quite nice due to its quaintness however you can tell it was one of the first buildings to be built in the Hotelera Zone and hasn't been recently renovated.
Our room never "dried up" even though the AC was kept on all the time. The breakfasts weren't bad as they changed it up every morning. We only had hot water 1 of the 3 nights to take showers.
The local bus stop is very close and there is a great typical Mexican place to eat at 3 min walk, there is also a conv store very close as well.
Would I go back........no.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and had no noise issues except for the drunk people getting home a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My husband and I spent 5 nights at Sotavento during a "snorkel with sailfish" trip. Our group of 7 was picked up each morning right at Sotavento's dock--very handy. Check-in was quick and the staff friendly. Our large room had two double beds, a desk and chair, luggage stand, open air wardrobe, loud AC (great white noise), a spacious bathroom with plenty of counter space, and a shower with lots of hot water, although occasionally there was very little water pressure for a few minutes. The room was kept clean and fresh towels left each day. There was an in-room safe that required a $20 returnable deposit for the key. Internet was available everywhere, including the rooms, and was usually fast.

A continental breakfast was included which consisted of orange juice, coffee or tea, toast, cereal, and a rotation of eggs, fruit, pastries, or other items. The dining area was large and open-air and the pool was next door. There were several lounge chairs around the pool; there was also a small grassy area nearby that I saw a few people using.

We ate at Sotavento every night but one. The food was OK, and inexpensive, but not terribly consistent. I ordered the same thing three nights due to food allergies and each time the meal was prepared differently, so be careful if you have food issues.

Sotavento is not close to much of anything entertainment-wise, but buses to shopping areas are cheap and plentiful. There is a near-by store where bottled water and snacks are available. La Palapa del Mezcal restaurant, about a 12 minute walk to the right, is a fun place with good food. Five minutes to the left was a small street-side restaurant. We walked a half hour each way and didn't run into any shops. The hotel is about 35 minutes from the airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UnderwaterDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My impression of Cancun is that if you're not going to stay---::Scratch that::---my real impression of Cancun is DON'T. Just DON'T. Why bother when the rest of the Riviera Maya is so spectacular? However, if you do go, it's really about the all inclusives and the big resorts. We knew we didn't want that type of experience but my family still wanted to stay in the zona hotelera (my preference would have been El Rey del Caribe in el centro). So if your hotel is not your destination, Sotavento is a fine choice. The bar and restaurant were decent and the grounds are actually quite pretty. It sits on the lagoon. If you're not looking to splurge, this would be a fine choice. When I booked it, it was the lowest price hotel in the zona hotelera on hotwire at about $30 a room. Super cheap.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I am a frequent traveler to Cancun as I come here both on Holiday with my Family and on Business, a few months ago a friend of mine suggested that we try the Hotel Sotaviento & Yacht Club so here I am at 10 minutes to one writing a review.

The beds in this hotel are that of a cheep motel and I have not been able to get comfortable for the past 3 hours, this is not what I expected after driving 4 hours to get here.We are a group of four adults and decided to get one room because the hotel offers on their web site room for 4 adults, well the beds are full beds not even queen and are hard as rocks, the hotel management should stay a night on one of these beds then get up in the morning and see how they feel.The room we have does have a window so we thought it would be nice to sleep with the window open but after 5 minutes our room was full of mosquitoes because they dont have a screen on the window. I do have to say though that the gardens are very nice and the bar and restaurant offer some great food, the staff are very friendly!

I would suggest that hotel management spend a few extra PESOS on keeping up the quality of the hotel, and as for bang for buck I feel that we over paid as I will be sleep deprived in the morning and it will have messed up my day for tomorrow.

Room Tip: ask for one with screens on the windows if they have them, as Cancun in the winter has great weather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mexoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Hi I am all for a good deal but This hotel did not do it for me , the beds were not comfortable, the pool was too small , the lobby scared me big time it was dark , smelly and super hot . I did like the people who worked there they were friendly but the amenities are just not what you want when in a holiday. I will not recommend this place at all. It is too far from the airport so a taxi will cost you $60 Us dollars. I also saw bugs in the shower !!! The only good thing was the air conditioner. I only end up staying one night that was all I can handle. However I must say for $45 dollars a night It is a good deal !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grace_cannady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.3 mi away
Grand Royal Lagoon
Grand Royal Lagoon
#122 of 175 in Cancun
208 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cancun Clipper Club
Cancun Clipper Club
#81 of 175 in Cancun
601 reviews
0.1 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#148 of 175 in Cancun
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Terracaribe Hotel
Terracaribe Hotel
#107 of 175 in Cancun
202 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Margaritas
Hotel Margaritas
#87 of 175 in Cancun
146 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ambiance Suites
Ambiance Suites
#64 of 175 in Cancun
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sotavento Hotel & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sotavento Hotel & Yacht Club

Property: Sotavento Hotel & Yacht Club
Address: Blv. Kukulcan km 4 Zona Hotelera | Calle del Pescador Lote D-83, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sotavento Hotel & Yacht Club 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sotavento Hotel & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sotavento Hotel And Yacht

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing