We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel for the $$”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
Ranked #105 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed March 6, 2009

Stay here if you are going to Cancun to travel around and see sights and would like to save money. No, the beach is less than ideal but the staff, rooms, restaurants are all very good. The restaurant staff was extremely friendly and made our family meals very memorable. A delight for us and our children. We would take the bus to Playa Del Carmen and spend our days there or at the various ruins in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank k-betty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (910)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

255 - 261 of 910 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2009

Dont go if you want a nice beach . it was horible I have been all over the world to many islands and resort, But this was the worse I just wanted to go home after the second day we went for r&r and didnt get any I lost 10 pounds and not trying lousy food the buffet smelled so bad it turned my stomache to walk in there. loud music under our room till three in the morn.called to complain did not care. you cant call that murky water and yellow sand a beach. Dont go!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EstellManor_NJElena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2009

We had a wonderful time! I was so woried after reading some of the comments, our trip was great! We stayed three nights and came down with three other couples. We had no problems with hot water or air conditioning. There are safes in the room for locking up valuables. The food was amazing!! Lots of different options for vegetarians. Wonderful drinks! I highly recoomend the all-inclusive package and there was free entertainment each night! Everyone in the hotel was super-nice! I recoomend the best day travel people! A fantastic exoerience for little $$

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacationgirl03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2009

We stayed for 4 night for our anniversary. The air conditioning didn't work in our room, but they fixed it while we went out on the beach. Our showers were cold water. There were ants in the bathroom and bedroom area. The all inclusive includes bottom shelf alcohol, draft beer and just one bottle of water, but you can buy more water in the gift shop. They do not have hardly and change in there, so you will not get the right amount back every time you buy something in there. And the front desk did not have any change either. There are 2 pools. The smaller private one is in the shade all day and is very cold. The larger pool is shaded most of the day. Both are very clean. Vendors sell jewelry, etc by the pool in the evenings. The beach is very small, but was just right for us. Get our there early though to get a chair, or they will be gone. Was in the upper 80's but was breezy, so it felt wonderful. Buffet has good food. If your want to eat at the Italian or Ocean Grill restaurants, you must make a reservation in the buffet area, but good luck finding the person to do that with. Make sure you do it as soon as you check in, for both places, or you won't get it. They fill up fast. You can get down to the nightclubs, shopping and restaurants just by walking across the street to catch the bus ($6.50 pesos per person.) They do not have change for american money, but they do for pesos. The cabs cost about $30 to do the same trip. It also cost us $25 to get a ride back to the airport.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisalisaerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2009

Stayed here 6 nights and disovered the Beach photo is not anything close to reality. This is a lagoon, man made beach with very little appeal. Close to downtown and the bus is very accessible as many have stated. If you need to be near DT then it is OK for that. If you want a Beach Resort...this is NOT the place.
There are no attractions within walking distance and you must take the bus or taxi to eat or anything unless you paid for all incl.

NO HOT water x 6 days...I had to call the desk and complain and then they would send the engineer to open a valvue somewhere and then run the water for 15 minutes until the hot water reached my room.. This happened EVERY DAY and the hotel was only 30% full/

The water is not pleasant...has a significant chemical smell.

I accidently walked into the kitchen area and it was FILTHY!!!

Stayed: January 2009
Thank batesmotel911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2009

Honestly for the money it was so worth it. The people were so friendly... no there english wasnt perfect but we are in there country. The bar did close a little early but a few drinks there and then out on the town. If wanting to do something outside the hotel there was many of travel agents to help you book other outings. Also it is a ways from town but the bus is only 50 cents and not as bad as people make it seem. The pool was fun and nice and shaded so no sunburn. The food was not bad either the night we got there we ate the buffet outside looking over the beach very nice. So all in all nice hotel for the money!!

Stayed: August 2007
Thank can_d_cain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2009

I am from Brazil and that was my first time in Cancun. I have read many reviews here picturing a bad hotel. Big problem: I had booked it in advance and there was not much to do... After staying 5 days there with my wife and 2 daughters (9 and 12 years old) the only thing I can say is the title I gave this review: "Don't stay here if you like to burn your money". You must remember it's not a 5 star hotel. Don't expect luxury everywhere. I can't complain about a single thing at this hotel:
_Staff: friendly; (and yes, many of them speak english....)
_ Rooms: big rooms with nice views, comfortable beds, good shower and free wi-fi.
_Food: Great variety - of course you will find some strange things (unless you are mexican) but sometimes it's worth the bite. There was always "average food" that anyone could eat. Besides the buffet restaurant you can make a reservation and eat at the Mexican and the Italian Restaurants (the last one was really good).
_Drinks: Anytime, everywhere... what else can I say...
I Paid $180 a day for the all inclusive package (for 4 people) and that was a bargain...
I don't know about you, but I wouldn´t go to Cancun to stay all day long at the Hotel. There is so much to do and the hotel is just a part of it. This Hotel is an excellent base, close to everything, with great service. Of course: don't make this Hotel your primary interest here and you will be completely satisfied.
By the way, reviews saying this place is no good because nobody speaks english here and there are just latinos all around the hotel can't be taken seriously: if you want a place like your home, stay there!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank JulioGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
3.8 mi away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#72 of 177 in Cancun
3,028 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aquamarina Beach Hotel
Aquamarina Beach Hotel
#101 of 177 in Cancun
819 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Las Perlas Condos
Las Perlas Condos
#153 of 177 in Cancun
693 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Dos Playas Beach House
1.4 mi away
Casa Maya Cancun
Casa Maya Cancun
#60 of 177 in Cancun
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas

Address: Blvd Kukulcan Manzana Km 2.5, Cancun 77504, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $92 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**** ALL INCLUSIVE OPTION ALSO AVAILABLE**** KIDS FREE UNDER 12 Beautiful BEACH FRONT Hotel, Mediterranean style, perfect for couples and families. Located in front of the calm Cancun beaches. Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas with the best location in the Hotel Zone with a warm environment, surrounded by beautiful gardens, with a walk way that brings you a gorgeous view, that goes from Cancun downtown to the heart of the Hotel Zone, where night clubs, shopping mall and restaurants are located. The Hotel offers All Inclusive Plan and European Plan, beautiful and comfortable rooms with ocean or lagoon view, quality service and four star facilities. Your all inclusive package includes: - Comfortable rooms with Internet access, hairdryer, safe deposit box, iron & ironing board, TV cable, voice mail system, alarm clock and coffee maker. - All meals at the International buffet Restaurant. - Snacks next to the pool - Italian Specialties a La Carte for dining option & The Ocean Grill Tequila a'La Carte' (Reservation required) - Domestic Drinks at the Lobby bar, Pool Bar and the Theater Bar. - Room service (limited menu and hours) - daily activity program and night entertainment. - kids Club - Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas Hotel Cancun
Cancun Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Arenas Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing