We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected and most pleasurable experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Cancun
Ranked #81 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Sarnia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Unexpected and most pleasurable experience”
Reviewed December 27, 2010

After spending four weeks at a five star Time-Share complex (which we own) in Cancun, we moved to the Bel-Air Collection Resort & Spa to extend our time spent in Cancun. This resort is towards the south end of the hotel zone and closer to the airport. The famous Cancun beach is a little narrower at this point, but still with soft sand and the turquoise Carribean sea, just steps from the resort pool. Plenty of soft loungers and hamocks are available for hotel guests use.
After reading some of the negative reports on Trip Advisor reagarding this resort, we were quite skeptical about our five day stay there. Our stay was a Time-Share promotion from another Time Share company in Cancun, and not affiliated to The Bel-Air resort. From our warm welcome and Champagne cocktail given upon arrival, we had a good feeling about this place. The open courtyard concept with flowing white curtains accented with Red ties in the lobby, made the resort look a totally relaxing place. The rooms were also white with red accents and very spacious. Little welcoming treats and a stocked mini bar was a nice touch in the rooms. We had the all-inclusive package which meant we ate at the speciality resturants (open to all) with unexpected gourment meals (no buffets) which were wonderful. The service throughout the resort couldn't be faulted. Free Champagne and pastries were served on the 6th floor every evening to watch the setting sun over the lagoon. All in all it was a most pleasurable unexpected experience staying at the Bel-Air Collection Resort & Spa.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bucky2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    775
    507
    333
    266
See reviews for
367
1,585
133
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thornville, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed December 26, 2010

well all we can say is great with all the reviews you don't know what to do so we decided to give the bel-air a shot for our first time to cancun and i must say we were relieved. the place was great the hotel was clean the suite was very clean and spacious all the staff they were extremely nice and helpful and tried their best to please you like other reviews take 50 or 100 us dollars for tips well worth it good amenities for smaller hotel a little off the beaten path but we liked that nice beach nice pool area. to bad the water in pool was a little cold ocean water was great if your looking for a nice place with smaller hotel charm this is it just my opinion we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyann564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2010

if you're looking for a place to go on your honeymoon or just spend some quality time with your loved one bel air is just the place for that!!!! i read a lot of nasty reviews from people and honestly i just think they were at the wrong place... ok, hotel is not brand new, there're some minor repairs and update needed but hotel staff will make your stay just great so you won't have any negative emotions left to notice some insignificant flaws! we travel a lot within us and always stay with marriott properties and NEVER i repeat NE_VER we've seen service like here in bel air!!! housekeeping is fantastic!!! those guys start scrubbing, washing, polishing, cleaning at sunrise and till midnight!!! hotel is may be dated but veeeery clean!!! beds are even better than famous marriott and westin beds!!! plush!!!
front desk staff is amazing! very helpful and friendly!!! restaurant manager Manuel (i think that was his name) is great!!! everyone worked to make out stay a real honeymoon!!!! after a romantic dinner housekeeping decorated our room with rose petals, candles and so on which was a great surprise!!!!
we got FREE upgrade to beach front with gorgeous view!!!! when in miami and everywhere else you'll have to pay about $60 per night to have it!!!!
the first thing i loved about bel air - no kids!!!!! cancun is one of top spring break destinations so i definitely wouldn't go there that time but in october/november it's nice and quiet there!!! no crazy crowds of teens running around, very intimate atmosphere!!! pool is facing the ocean and it's beautiful any time! jacuzzi bar is very nice! it's nice to have a drink without getting out of the pool!!!
restaurant and bar menu is by the way pretty cheap so we really enjoyed having room service and nice little champagne evenings by the pool without having to go somewhere!!!
well i can talk about it forever but plain and simple WE LOVED BEL AIR!!! and we'll definitely come back and recommend it to our friends!!!!
Good Job Bel Air Team!!!=D

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElenaSR2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2010

For 6 days, we had the same menu breakfast, lunch & dinner. Usually took 2 to 3 hrs for dinner. Only one restaurant plus pool bar burgers & snacks. Restaurant has only caffateria type plastic chairs for all 3 meals, not cushioned and very hard and uncomfortable. The room was beautiful with an ocean front and small balcony. The pool was very cold and few people used it. No games or activities. The sushi bar was a table with a few items and a longer table for seating with low hard chairs. The lobby bar again had hard plastic chairs 6 max. Although it was clean, it needed a lot of up-dating. Best thing we did was go out for dinner twice even though we paid for all inclusive. All bars and rest did not have any boubon, only scotch wiskey. Rum, vodka, gin and tequilla was ample. Would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monthlytravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cancun hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

I have just returned from an amazing holiday from Mexico. I stayed the last 4 days at The Bel Air hotel and spa and really felt I needed to write this review to inform other travellers about this hotel. Apparentely this is a 4.5 star hotel, which could have been true, if it was still 1976, the pictures are slightly out of date! On our second day in the hotel, we went to to the pool and upon returning to the room, realised our Ipod, charger and 2 sets of headphones were missing. I went to the front desk, who spoke to the maid. She told them that she had not seen anything, and that was that. There was no other help at all. They completely dis-regarded anything I had to say and were really unhelpful. Basically, someone had been into our room and stolen our possesions. I was not expecting this to happen as I had travelled around in Mexico and had had no problems whatsoever, anywhere. This hotel does not desreve its 4 star status, perhaps -4 for really unhelpful staff. If you do have to go here, lock everything in a safe or your luggage. The best thing about this hotel was the JC Captain fish restaurant opposite, which was great and the staff were fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevino_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2010

My sis and I went to Cancun last week and stayed at The Bel air. It wasn't that bad but I would not recomeend it. We stayed for a week and it was really nothing special. I have stayed at a lot of hotels in mexico and this one that I would never return to. My sister and I went ot relax and enjoy our vacation and some nice weather. The hotel is very boring and there is nothing to do. We enjoyed the spa and that was all. It was a decent value for what we got but I would stay somewhere else if I returned!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotSpud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, CT
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

The Bel Air hotel is clearly a dump! It’s in serious need of repair. It would be really kind, if a hurricane came a along and demolished it. At this point start over from scratch. The hotel has rust in the pool. The exterior of the building needs to be painted and the stucco has holes in it. Most of the light fixtures do not work. The carpets had mold growing all over them. As for the room…. the bed was gross. The bedspread had something on it that looked like blood stains and the sheets smelled like mildew. The bathroom....well honey… all I can say is, it’s sad when you take a shower and come out dirtier than when you went in!!! The drain had fungus and mildew coming up out of it and not to mention roaches and not enough towels. The hotel also won’t give you new towels everyday. They expect you to use the same towels all week long....disgusting!!!! My recommendation... DO NOT STAY HERE! I’ve seen hostels that were nicer in Europe for way less! This hotel has bad accommodations and it's a really bad value!!!! Save your self and your money move on to another resort that worthy of your business!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunseeker0824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.9 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
6.5 mi away
Hotel Dos Playas Beach House
5.2 mi away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#73 of 175 in Cancun
2,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
#100 of 175 in Cancun
884 reviews
6.6 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
6.5 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Cancun

Property: Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Cancun
Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km. 20.5 Hotel Zone | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#53 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#62 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where body, mind and spirit become one. The Bel Air Collection Hotel & Spa enhances your meditation and serenity, where everything is dedicated to your wellness and to completely restoring your body, mind and spirit. The Bel Air Collection follows a hip and minimalist trend, for those who are looking for a relaxing and romantic experience. 10 Minutes from the airport and just 15 minutes from the commercial zone, restaurants and the exciting Cancun's nightlife. *Adults oriented. Children 12 years old and up are welcomed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Cancun Hotel Cancun
Bel Air Collection Resort And Spa Cancun
Bel Air Collection Hotel Cancun
Bel Air Cancun
Bel Air Collection Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing