We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's not a luxury resort but it's nice and certainly vacation doable!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club Regina Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Regina Cancun
Ranked #93 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It's not a luxury resort but it's nice and certainly vacation doable!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

Based on the reviews on read on Tripadvisor I was expecting the worse. Club Regina is no luxury resort but it is nice, clean, and comfortable. I have pretty high standards and had no issues spending 7 days at this resort. If you are interested in thrill and frills and lots of entertainment then this isn't the resort for you. But if you're looking for a great value comfort place for you and your family to enjoy a nice vacation Club Regina will do.

The only negative thing I could say about Club Regina was their restaurants are not the best. They are affordable but not really tasty. Go off the resort to experience really good food. There are so many good places to eat in just a short bus ride away. Also it's perfectly fine to catch the bus. It's really cheap, they come pretty frequently, and they're easy to follow. I believe they go in a circle.

Also this is a timeshare resort. We were asked once to listen to a presentation. We declined and wasn't asked again.

I hope this evaluation is helpful. I was honest and really wanted to give a true description of Club Regina.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lovelykinab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    94
    61
    20
    30
See reviews for
110
110
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

First, I want to commend the staff as they are very friendly and efficient. They tried their best to fix all the problems we had with our room, from a bad air conditioner; to no internet for 4 days; to running toilets; to wind and noise blowing in the windows all night long.

We changed rooms, but no avail. The food was good and the beach was fabulous. Loved Cancun, and can't wait to go back...just to a different property. But cudos to the staff! The property is just too old and is in desparate need of a major upgrade!!

Room Tip: If you value your sleep, go to a non-beachfront view and higher level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eventguy_Phoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cancun hotels

Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

We have been to this location many times, last years visit was not a happy one as they messed up our reservation and did nothing to correct the mistake. This year a two bedroom three bath on the ocean just what we expected ya, everyone is very helpful with anything you need or want to do from scuba diving to eating. The Westin next door has a resturant that you are beach side and cook you food on a hot rock it is quite good and a lot of fun. The rooms are being updated I believe the kitchens have been completed new micro wave, dishwasher etc. nice. The resort is easly accesable by bus only 8.5 pesos cheep and is away from the crowded mess closer to the convention area. It is a smaller resort with all the things you need to have a peaceful vacation.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Global-Deep-Diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

Fabulous hotel, very friendly helpful staff, clean & very safe. Loved the location, not so close to rest of hotels along kukulcan. We cant wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiwipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

Liked: Food
Personable staff,
Great Members party w/free drinks

Disliked: Rusty colored tap water
Less than clean bathroom

We came down on a promotion where you pay $100 for three nights and they try to sell you their vacation program.

it's amazing that they would put potential customers in the least desirable room. Especially since the place was no more than 25% full, and there were plenty of ocean-view rooms available. What chance did they have???

Room Tip: Stay in a different resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OldDrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

Ok, let me start by saying we love our raintree membership. That being said, We were excited about the trip to Cancun and couldn't wait to experience this facility. This is the first of the Club Regina facilities and at times it showed its age. They had to repair one of the toilets in our room due to leaking and a couple of the mornings the water coming from the faucet was brown in one of the bathrooms.
The staff were wonderful at the beginning of the week and were very helpful, but towards the end when our trip was done it seemed as though we were being nickled and dimed for everything. It started with not being able to see the checks (had to wait abnormal amounts of time to recieve it after payment). Then we were given 150 Regina dollars in response to us not attending another presentation from a competitor (we were told that this could be used as USD at the Regina) we found out that during checkout the exchange rate was lower for these than USD(lower than pesos). Also during the week the exchange rate went down to 11.73 at the resort where right across the way at the Westin it was 13.45. I was told and shown Saturday night by the front desk that the exchange rate would be 12.24 to USD the next moring... WRONG!!!! We went from owing 9 pesos to owing 44 USD. It was amazing how disinterested the front desk was compared to our arrival.

Again I love the Club Regina membership but really felt slighted by some of the staff. I will say that even at the end Juan and Carlos were still very nice. I will be sending a copy of this to raintree club regina, it was just disappointing at end to the trip.

The oceanview is great and the beaches were also wonderful. All in all it was an amazing visit, but it could have been soo much better.

Troy and Nicole

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank neteru11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

My friend who is a Raintree vacation club member booked this hotel for me and my wife as a wedding gift. We weren't too fond of all inclusive resorts since we figured we'd be really active going to different restaurants and such. The fact the room had a kitchen worked out really nice for us since we bought some groceries at Walmart and fixed ourselves something simple to eat before we were headed out to excursions.

One thing I loved about this hotel was that they have really friendly staffs. Everyone remembers your name and greets you with your name. What makes it even better is their entertainment staffs. Jorge and Marco played Texas hold-em, blackjack, and volleyball with us on top of some other activities like bingo and dance lessons. The hotel should probably buy them a couple of new decks of cards (they were old.. haha) but these two gentlemen were super friendly - it seemed like they really enjoyed their job and spending time with the hotel guests.

One negative experience is the timeshare presentation. If you book a room as a guest, a concierge offers you a complimentary breakfast. He tells you it is on the house because you are a guest of a member but he does not tell you anything about the timeshare presentation. We got a call 8:30 in the morning (we were still in bed). We got up and dragged our feet to the concierge desk because we didn't want to be rude to his hospitality, but we were extremely disappointed when we found out it was the timeshare presentation trick. We just couldn't believe that they were bothering their own hotel guests with this crap. We had to sit through this thing until 12:00pm. We said everything from "i just lost my job", "we have no money", "we have bad credit", and what have you, they don't give a rats [--]. I got upset and i had to lie and said, i was interested but i had to ask my friend if i could borrow some money. I guess at this point the rep probably knew I was lying and I had enough of it. If it wasn't this stupid timeshare non-sense, I would have given this hotel 5/5.

If you are going to Club Regina, a couple of things you need to have in mind:

It is really far from the downtown - takes about 45-50 minutes by bus during the day but it takes about 15-20 minutes to go back to the hotel in the late evening (this is because there aren't many people who use the bus).

Participate in the member's party (this is not a timeshare non-sense). they will give you some free stuff.

Play as many games as possible with Jorge and Marco - because they are awesome folks and if you win, you get free stuff.

Say no to a complimentary breakfast - unless you are interested in a time-share presentation. Believe me. If you are not going to get a time share, this is not worth the breakfast. Your hourly wage is probably worth more than what the breakfast is worth, and plus your vacation time is just too precious.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calking97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.8 mi away
Solymar Condos
Solymar Condos
#5 of 118 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Cancun Beach ApartHotel
#70 of 118 in Cancun
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bsea Cancun Plaza
Bsea Cancun Plaza
#44 of 118 in Cancun
3.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
0.4 mi away
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Cancun
0.8 mi away
Solymar Cancun Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Regina Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Regina Cancun

Property: Club Regina Cancun
Address: Kilometro 20, Blvd. Kukulcan Zona Hotelera | at the Westin Cancun, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#54 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#66 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Regina Cancun 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Club Regina Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Regina Cancun Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing