We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Cancun
  
Ways to Experience Amigo Tours
from $54.40
More Info
from $47.00
More Info
from $49.00
More Info
from $43.00
More Info
Reviews (3,690)
Filter reviews
3,690 results
Traveler rating
2,506
520
211
112
341
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,506
520
211
112
341
Show reviews that mention
All reviews early access early tour chichen itza tour mayan culture through viator box lunch juice box beat the crowds private archeologist express tour great tour guide marco bus driver ham sandwich mayan descent bathroom break morning tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 3,690 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2020

We were travelling as a family of 5, it was a very early morning (about 6:30 AM) but once we got on the coach, it was very nice and new. The guide, Caesar, was very nice and informative, no issues at all. The first stop at the market was what was a racket - they tell you to keep your receipts so that there's no confusion about who purchased what, but really why they say that is so you cannot negotiate a purchase price there. We paid way too much for a handful of items that we could easily barter lower elsewhere. If your not planning to shop at the market, then the rest of the tour was fantastic. They charge for water at the buffet, but it's 30 pesos so not expensive at all. It was great being on a tour at Chichen Itza to learn all about it, definitely wear hats (it's hot!). I highly recommend going to the bathroom prior to going there - it was an hour wait for the women's bathroom in the park. All in all, a great tour with a great company. Would go again!

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Selena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmigotoursCalidad, Public Relations Manager at Amigo Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Good afternoon!

We're glad to know you had a wonderful time with Caesar in Chichen Itza. We visit a "souvenir shop" due many customers wants to buy a original gift and this place is cerified and approved by the policies in the destination. However, no customer is compelled to buy in this place.

We hope you come back soon ;)

Amigo Group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2020

I really enjoyed the early tour. It was nice to be at the site before the heat and crowds. Tour guide Marco was very knowledgeable and fun. He did a great job keeping everyone updated in English and Espanol. It was a long day with a very early morning bus ride. Box lunch was ok. There was a stop at a convenience store for breakfast and restrooms. Unfortunately. It was a pay toilet and the ladies room would not unlock. Bus was comfortable.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank 438heidie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmigotoursCalidad, Public Relations Manager at Amigo Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Good afternoon Heidie!

Thank you so much for your comments, we're glad to know you had a great time with Marco in Chichen Itza.
You choosed the best option "Early Access to Chichen Itza" because avoid the crowds, heat and the site is completely for our Group and is perfect due the customers return to the Hotel in the afternoon to keep enjoying the time at the resort or another personal activities.
The cost of the toilet in the site is not included in this activity, and this charge is out of our hands.

Remember that we offer many other experiences in Cancun and all around the world.

Come back soon!!
Best Regards,
Amigo Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2020 via mobile

I did the Chichén Itzá early access from Playa del Carmen. It was a good value. The tour guide Frank was very knowledgeable about the ruins. Early access is a good idea for Chichén Itzá due to the hordes of tourists who go there in high season (a Tuesday in January in my case.). There was a stop at a Mayan cultural place after the ruins. The shopping was good there and the quality of goods much better than at the ruins themselves. A decent box lunch was provided.

What I did not know when I booked is that the tour actually originates from Cancun. There was a lot of picking up passengers in a mini van and then a transfer to a big tour bus somewhere in Cancun. We left playa del Carmen at 5:15AM and it took over 4 hours to get to Chichén Itzá which is only a 2 hour drive. The return trip was even longer.

Be sure to check on such logistics before you go unless you don’t mind 8+ hours of travel. Especially if you are leaving from playa del Carmen.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank grandjamais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmigotoursCalidad, Public Relations Manager at Amigo Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hello!

We're glad to know you had a wonderful time with Frank in Chichen Itza. This Tour is a shared activity and the pick up time is assigned according of each zone. Please consider the distance of each zone plus the distance from the last meeting point to Chichen Itza.
We will follow up your opinion to improve our services.

Best Regards.
Amigo Group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2020

We opted to pay another $60 per person to sail on a smaller catamaran that hosted no more than 25 passengers, that was on top of the $14 per person dock fee. We accompanied my elderly mother and this was perfect for her. The crew was attentive and the ride back and forth was lovely. However, Isla Mujeres was a major disappointment! We had two hours to spend there and all there is are vendors. The street is crowded and there isn't a nice place to stop and have a drink. My review is only for the catamaran.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank IrmaB470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmigotoursCalidad, Public Relations Manager at Amigo Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hello Irma.

Thank you for your review. We are very glad due you enjoyed the service. We will follow up your opinion because the customers are very important for us.

Best Regards.
Amigo Group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2020

You know a tour is great when you remember the names of the ones who took you: Rodrigo, Caesar and Alfredo! What a team. From the time we were picked up at our hotel throughout the entire day, the team with the tour company were excellent! You not only saw beautiful sites BUT they went over and above the history and explanation of everything you encountered. It is worth more words than can be expressed in a review. You will absolutely love this tour with the team behind it!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Z8BPcathyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmigotoursCalidad, Public Relations Manager at Amigo Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hello.

Thank you for your review. We are very glad due you enjoyed the service. Rodrigo, Caesar and Alfredo will receive your comments too.
Remember that we offer many different experiences from Cancun and Merida too. Come back soon!

Regards,
Amigo Group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews