We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, convenient location”
Review of Hotel Alux Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Alux Cancun
Ranked #141 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
130 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Good value, convenient location”
Reviewed October 21, 2007

I was looking for somewhere to stay for my last night in Mexico before a very early flight out of Cancun the following morning. I contacted several small hotels in downtown Cancun, the Alux was the only one to respond, and I made my reservation. Their correspondence was always quick and businesslike.

I was quite happy with the hotel - it is far from being the Four Seasons, but for the price it is very acceptable - rooms are nothing very exciting, but mine was spotlessly clean, with amazingly crisp white sheets on the bed, tiled floors, and clean if tired looking bathroom. For me, the location was great, right in the middle of everything in downtown Cancun. If you want to be right on the beach of course, this is not your place. To mix with the locals in the downtown area however, it is perfect. I would stay here again.

I am rating the hotel as 'above average' based on the cleanliness and the value for money it offers.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank El-Yuca-Ingles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    29
    42
    15
    6
See reviews for
19
35
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
182 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2007

I was looking for an inexpensive hotel near the bus station in downtown Cancun and stayed here. It is so-so. The room was clean but a bit dreary but it was a good budget choice. I just wanted a place near the bus station for my last two nights in Mexico. It was comfortable and clean but pretty basic. My only real complaint would be that although the room was air condtioned there were gaps between the window/window frame, and around the air condtioning unit where mosquitoes could enter.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank viajero5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ensenada, Mexico
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2007

Stayed at Alux hotel in playa del carmen for one night. Found this place on the internet and for 400 pesos per night we booked for our first night. This is a great hotel only one block from 12th st and 5th ave. so if you want to be close to the best club/bar/lounges, this is the place to stay. We stayed on the 2nd floor single bed kitchenette AC cable TV room, no view...but it was really nice, mexican furniture...great bathroom. Sorry i did not take any pictures, but you can do a google search for alux hotel. address for this hotel is 14th st between 10th and 15th ave. It´s a wonderfull clean hacienda style hotel at a great price..I do recommend it.

Helpful?
2 Thank aineetiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2007

Hotel Alux (A-loosh) is a clean, but unattractive place. It's old, has tiny lobby, no courtyard or common areas, bare light bulbs in all room ceiling fixtures. This hotel is in the town of Cancun, not the Hotel Zone strip. It is conveniently located 2 blocks off of the main street, Avenida Tulum. It is a block from the modern new bus station. There are lots of restaurants and Internet cafes nearby. We stayed here 3/26/07 for 330 Pesos including tax. They don't take credit cards. Breakfast is not included. Easy reservation form on their website. Got an email reply the next day. No deposit required to hold room, but call them if you will arrive after your stated arrival time. There was no Internet at hotel, but Internet cafes nearby on the same block. There is no elevator, and no rooms on the first floor. They do not offer parking. We had to park on the street
- not recommended in Mexico. Room had red tile floor, good A/C, phone, small TV, but no room safe box. We would not stay here again.
Would probably go with our second choice, Hotel El Rey del Caribe for $74, which is nearby and has off-street parking and a courtyard.
Hotel was so dismal, I have no photos to submit.

  • Liked — Cheap price and location
  • Disliked — Old, unattractive place
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WisconsinVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cancun hotels

Malmö
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2007

Hotel Alux was a very good budget place. We stayed 1 night before going home and it was very close to the central bus station. The staff in the reception was very nice and helpful. The room was very basic but clean, and the bathroom was spotless! I would definitely stay here again for shorter periods! The price was 3 usd/ 330 pesos.

  • Liked — good price and CLEAN!!
  • Disliked — it was very basic
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maja80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2006

Attn tripadvisor.com: hotel's website is:

I found this hotel a great value at 30 USD per night (One person July 4-6, 2006). Cancun's bus station is right next door (with cheap & comfortable bus service to the airport!). Plenty of money exchanges, restaurants, mini-marts, and internet cafes nearby as well. There's also a self or full serve laundromat next door which I found useful.
My good-sized single room had a decent bed, good A/C, a small TV, and was in a secluded part of the hallway on the 3rd floor so it was quiet.
My only complaint would be non-movable shower head that sprayed straight to the opposite wall. Being tall, I was lucky to have the water at least spray my head.
Saving money at this conveniently-located hotel with its very friendly staff members will bring me to stay here again in the near future. Just find their website and make a simple reservation via email.

Helpful?
10 Thank funnychap24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.4 mi away
Rivemar
Rivemar
#122 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tankah
Hotel Tankah
#136 of 181 in Cancun
3.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maria De Lourdes
Maria De Lourdes
#125 of 181 in Cancun
3.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel los Girasoles Cancun
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Kokai
Hotel Plaza Kokai
#128 of 181 in Cancun
3.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kin Mayab
Kin Mayab
#71 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alux Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alux Cancun

Property: Hotel Alux Cancun
Address: Av Uxmal #21, Cancun SM23 MZA 3, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alux Cancun 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alux Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing