We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis Palm - all inclusive - August 2013 stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Oasis Palm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oasis Palm
Ranked #77 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Oasis Palm - all inclusive - August 2013 stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husbans and I with 8 year old son arrived on hot sunny day to Oasis Palm. Walked to reception desk to check in and were not offered any drink , we were exhausted from the flights, all sweaty and receptionist advised us to come back in 2 hours to check in (it was 1 pm). After complaint, he did take some basic info and told us that we could go early and get a lunch. Still no drink offerred, when we walked away I saw a lot of drinks ready with ice in a glass, on a countertop next to receptionist, to be offered to visitors just like us, but staff is not doing their things. After having lunch, came back to reception area and waited until 2 55 pm to be called to check in, after my kid asked for. They gave us a room keys, along with a towel keys and told us luggage will arrive right after us to our room. We called twice from room, to finally have our luggage delivered at 5 00 pm. Horrible ! Room was old, no knob on a bathroom door, i got locked in at 4 00 am for like 20 min couldnt open the door, had light off, switch is outside of the room so was my son locked in couple of times. It took hotel 5 calls or 4 days to come out to put the door knob on a door. Paint was peeling off from ceiling in a bathroom and sink area. Could not open the window curtains ... We paid for non smoking hotel, but everybody was smoking in a hallways in front of elevator, there were ashtrays !!! NON SMOKING HOTEL ! After 2nd day stay, I had eye swollen, next day my face was swollen, my lips swollen and I was not recognizable ... Had fever and chills and abdominal pain. 1st time in my life, wanted to go home right away from vacation :( There was a bed sewer smell in our room, I complained twice, they send 3 days later a house maintenance guy to look into this, and he sprayed with deodorant the room !!! Food was very low quality, same with the service. Out of 6 restaurants to be part of all inclusive, we were to use only 1 for breakfast and lunch. For dinner was 1 with additional seafood restaurant (mandatory reservation in the morning). Other restaurants, we had to pay 10 us dollars per person to dine in !!!!! So, we were looking 30 + dollars for dinner in a hotel, where the same food is being served !!! Beach was ok, close by, a lot of chairs to use from, ocean was not so deep, but it was ok. Water was uncleaned since it is coming out from the lagoon around the corner, so you have only few hours a day of swimming in a clean water. There was no snorkling equipment to be offered as stated on a website when we booked the vacation. Hotel staff informed me that they do have it, but we had to go 20 minutes bus drive to their other hotel in order to use it !!! Grand Oasis hotel is attached building to Oasis Palm. There is an ice cream place right in a middle of it , and sometimes we would get the ice cream and most of time not, with rude response from a lady that our wristband is not for Grand Oasis. Even though we were not allowed, which is still questionable, how the hell you can turn down an 8 year old kid if you give away thousands of ice creams a day ! 2 days before we left hotel, I started having diarhia. We were at Oasis for 9 days. After arriving back home still had a diarhia for a week, that turned into abdominal and back pain. Went to doctor and got antibiotics for urinary tract infection, still week after taking them, not feeling much better. Have a follow up doctors appointment for kidney infection - to recheck. Horrible experiance that we would NEVER recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank gradjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Oasis Palm, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest:

Let us thank you for taking the time to leave your comment. This type of feedback helps us know our weaknesses in order to improve in the future. We regret the inconvenience occurred during your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel to improve their perception.

We reiterate our thanks.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    957
    587
    280
    298
See reviews for
1,037
821
37
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have stayed at this property more than a dozen times. We will definitely come back. The location is excellent - right on the main bus routes to downtown Cancun, the mercados and the hotel zone. Close to everything (10 minutes to the Walmart!). The ferry to Isla Mujeres is just across the bridge next door. The staff are friendly, speak English and are very helpful. This is a great place for kids. The water is shallow and there is a fully-equipped kids club on the property. The rooms are very clean and most have great views of the ocean or the lagoon. There are a number of restaurants at this resort and the food is tasty and plentiful. Lots of bars, I particularly love the tequila bar, especially on a hot day, with its old Mexican furnishings, movies and barrels of peanuts. One of the staff, Juan, is a tequila expert and will definitely point you in the right direction there. This resort is very reasonably priced and is excellent value for the dollar.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DOCTORSUE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Oasis Palm, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Sue:

We're pleased to hear your comments about our service and this motivates us to keep improving and so ensure a high quality service. We hope soon to receive back to our hotel where we welcome you with open arms and the satisfaction of seeing him again.
Once again, thank you for your trust in us. We are at your service.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Where do I start? About the only positive thing about this place is the location! The staff all seemed to be stressed and overworked (and I'm sure VERY, VERY underpaid), and as a result they came across as unhelpful, inefficent & downright rude on occasions. The rooms were not very clean. While the food in the buffet restaurants was okay to good, there were unfortunately flies sitting on the food at the buffet. In the "specialist" restaurants the quality of food was poor (tasteless), and the service was dreadful. Drinks (including soft drinks) are warm, and seem to be watered down. The "gym" is a tiny, smelly room with no functioning air conditioning. Never again!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank CleoUK_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Oasis Palm, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Cleo:

We sincerely regret that you have had this negative experience at one of our hotels. Please note that your comments will help us improve the service and thus fulfill the highest expectations of our guests in our facilities. We reiterate that we always keep in touch with you and your comments are always taken into account to improve our service.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cancun hotels

connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is our third time at the Oasis Palm. The first two times were at the Grand Oasis Palm. This time we stayed at the Oasis Palm and were disappointed. We chose this side because it is closer to the main pool.
Our room was old and beat up. The furniture was a mess.The bathroom had chunks of wood missing from the door. There was a punched hole in the wall. The clock did not work. The sheets were itchy and the towels stiff. However, if you have small children the ocean is great. There are no waves and it is shallow. Breakfast was excellent and other meals were about as good as it gets for food at an all inclusive. If I go back I will choose to stay at the Grand side. The price was right and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank connecticut-elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Oasis Palm, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Elaine :

We regret this news and be advised that your comments are being submit to the area of ​​our hotel. Also we confirm that our commitment to our guests is to improve our service every day.
We hope to see you son again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Terrible room service. The hotel have very hard workers. They do so take complaints well. They avoid trying to help you. The only goood part was the food in the La Bama restaurant. Disgusting beds and showers. They have a small beach. Not worth it !!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Selma_Mekic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Oasis Palm, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Selma:

We regret the trouble you had during your visit. We will consider all comments and opinions in order to meet your expectations in the future. We appreciate the time to leave your comments and hope to see you again soon.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again to change your perception and enhance your experience.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

The staff at the Oasis Palm made me and my family very UNWELCOME. My children tried the kids program once ,they spent 3 hours not knowing what they were to do, they sat there the whole time. The choices of food, better at McDonalds. The beach area was dirty,could not walk on the beach bare foot. The only 2 good things out of the Oasis Palm were, the DJ (Carlos) and The bar tender (Victor). They were the only staff members that seamed to care about the quest. After this trip, I do not care to go back to Cancun if all resorts are like the Oasis Palm.

Room Tip: Don't Go
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Oasis Palm, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Sheri:

We are truly sorry the weather was not optimal and that it caused some inconveniences during your stay, please accept our most sincere apologies. We want to let you know that all of your comments and opinions will be taken into account to offer a better service in the future and we will submit them to all departments in charged to correct these issues.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel to change your perception of us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at the Oasis Palm for 7 nights on an all inclusive and had a wonderful time.. The atmosphere was great and the staff were very friendly and always willing to help. A good choice of day time activities and night entertainment. Good location and easy to get to Cancun town and other excursion.Lovely and pleasant beach. Hotel is huge,big swimming pools. Had two lovely restaurants with buffet meals plus one a la Carte La Bamba restaurant and 3 snack bars. Food was excellent.
The best animation team - Carlos, Allan, Armando, Felipe, Edyth and Alex.
Elvis and Luis (waiters) were very helpful.
Definitely go back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Moseeraullee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Oasis Palm, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Moseeraullee

It is amazing to know that your stay with us has motivated to share such a great review about our hotel. Thanks for highlighting those qualities that made your stay unforgettable.

We are glad you enjoyed the restaurants, facilities, entertainment and personalized service we offer. Our staff is always working hard to satisfy our guests so they can have an amazing experience.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you again once again in the future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.6 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#44 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#50 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,146 reviews
6.6 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#25 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Royal Solaris Cancun
Royal Solaris Cancun
#35 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,124 reviews
2.8 mi away
Park Royal Cancun
Park Royal Cancun
#61 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,024 reviews
6.2 mi away
GR Solaris Cancun
GR Solaris Cancun
#32 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Palm

Property: Oasis Palm
Address: Blvd Kukulkan km 4.5, | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Oasis Palm Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#50 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#51 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oasis Palm 3.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Everything you want in a family vacation for less: that's me! Let me play with the little ones in my Kids Club while you take a break in my Kin Ha Spa - I've got lots of ways for grown-ups to relax while the kids have fun and games.They say I look a lot like my sister resort, Grand Oasis Palm, but my price tag is smaller, and who doesn't love that! Get together as a family and share my Mexican heritage, culture and cuisine; build sand castles on my sandy shore and splash and paddle in my spectacular freeform swimming pool". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oasis Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Palm Hotel Cancun
Oasis Palm Beach Cancun
Oasis Palm Beach Hotel Cancun
Oasis Palm Cancun
Oasis Palm Beach Resort Cancun
Calinda Beach Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing