We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel and everyone associated with it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
Ranked #20 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersGold level
Richmond, VA
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel and everyone associated with it!”
Reviewed February 24, 2010

We stayed at this hotel as Hilton Vacation Club members using our timeshare points. We arranged for transportation through the hotel and they were there and waiting despite our flight being late and were right on time for our pickup back to the airport. While we didn't have to pay for the room, the prices for food and sundries in the hotel were amazing. We ate pretty much every meal at the 1 restaurant (either by room service, pool-side service, their little deli, or in their beautiful open oceanfront restaurant) and spent less than we normally spent in 1 day during our other vacations! Excellent Mexican food! As well as other choices. Our concierge was fantastic - she spoke English as well as we did and truly helped make our trip great. The only even less than perfect rating is the location - and it depends on what your interest is. If you want to go to Senor Frogs, Margarittaville, Outback, etc, they are quite a bit down. However, if you are looking for a relaxing time with great service and the non-chain restaurants, this is the place. We are planning a return visit very soon.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smb4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,061
    595
    166
    77
    59
See reviews for
990
551
47
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Moody
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2010

My 2 girlfriends, their 2 teenagers, my 10 month old baby and I just came back from spending a wonderful week here. I was a bit concerned after reading some of the negative reviews here, especially because we are not club members, but I should not have worried. I have stayed at many Fiesta Americana properties, including their Aqua location in Cancun, but by far this has been my favourite. Both our 1 bedroom rooms were huge and similarly appointed on the inside, but my room had an added bonus of a massive patio with a great view of the pool area and ocean. The king size bed was a bit hard (common issue with all the Fiesta Americana properties), but the living room had a couch that rolled out into a very comfy double bed. The kitchen was nicely appointed and it was great to be able to cook in our room. It is very expensive in Cancun to eat out at every meal so this cut our costs down considerably.
The service on all fronts (reception, concierge, bellboys, bar staff and activities staff) was superb. The north facing beach was small but great and because of Isla Mujeres' protection, we were able to swim when other beaches on the east side had red flags (too rough to swim). We never had any issues with getting a palapa or lounge chairs. The food at their one restaurant /the food they served us beachside was yummy -standouts for me were the tamarind margaritas, chilaquiles and nachos.
The colourful hotel decor made me feel like I was actually in Mexico (vs. the more American feel of the Aqua).
I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it for people who like a low-key relaxing vacation.
PS. If you plan to see Chitzen Itza, I recommend renting a car and driving there yourself. The toll highway is new and very safe and be sure to stop on the way there for an amazing lunch at the Hotel Maria de la Luz in charming Valladolid. I also recommend renting a car and driving down the coast to Tulum, stopping at the various ports along the way, including Playa del Carmen.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PortMoodyGal2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2010

We booked a stay at this hotel through RCI. In multiple attempts to contact the hotel before our arrival to confirm, we were met with confusion which was frustrating. We arrived in Cancun not certain that we had a place to stay. However, our arrival at the front desk thankfully removed all fears -- they knew us and were expecting us. We had a great room on the third floor with a "partial ocean view" and a view over the pool -- it was absolutely spectacular. They put us in a newly renovated room and we were pretty impressed by the decor. During the week we were there, the hotel was only at about 30% occupancy but that made for some stellar service. We loved the margaritas on the beach and the food at the hotel restaurant was terrific. The pool was fine -- there was a light fixture in the pool that didn't have a light in it, just a gaping maw and some wires that freaked me out a bit. A friend of ours cut his foot on a tile in the pool (which we couldn't find to point out to hotel staff) and the medical personel were there immediately to put a band-aid on it. The hotel next door has an infinity pool -- would have liked that? Sure, but ours was adequate. The staff is hardworking and friendly.

This was an interesting place over all -- with its five floors it was literally dwarfed by the monstrous hotels on both sides. A plus of a "short" hotel was that we had sunshine on our beach long after the others only had shade.

Perhaps our only beef was that there was no wi-fi in the rooms. We had to go down to the lobby to catch up on our email. But the wi-fi is free and the lobby chairs plenty comfortable.

We would certainly stay here again -- we really loved the "down home" feel of this place and hope it doesn't become another mega-hotel in the future.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall
1 review
Reviewed December 15, 2009

This place is smaller than the average Cancun resort, but has a "Jimmy Buffet laid back attitude". The rooms are nice and clean and hotel staff is freindly. This is a good spot to recharge your batteries for the wild Cancun nightlife.

This is not a five star hotel but it's good enough for a quick weekend getaway at a great price.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank da4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2009

I first statyed at this Fiesta Americana some thirty years ago and absolutely loved it for its colorful Mexican architecture. Cancun has changed dramatically since then but this hotel, small as it is, has retained its distinctive Mexican decor. My wife and I had some apprehension about making reservations because of the negative comments in the reviews but we had a wonderful time. When we arrived, we got a great room on the third floor but not on the pool side. We got a room pool side the next morning, and although it was on the first floor, we enjoyed the view much more. Both rooms were clean and odor free. The mattresses are firm as others have pointed out but not uncomfortabale.
Having been to Cancun four times now, we were surprised at how few people there were, not only at our hotel but at the larger hotels. (We had breakfast at two other hotels and walked along their almost deserged beaches.) Our pool, not as large as at other hotels, was very clean and adequate. Unlike many years ago, there is no indoor restaurant, but both the drinks and the food, prepared near the pool, were top-notch. One gratuity we really appreciated was getting a card from the concierge for the restaurant, Casa Roncali, located a few minutes away inside the Plaza Caracol. The card entitled us to free drinks, and the Margaritas were as fabulous as the food. We returned the next night with again a card for free drinks. (Try the homemade pasta with shrimp in ginger sauce!)
Extensive renovation of rooms was still progressing, but not in the hallways where guests were located, so there was no noise or bother from the the workers. The staff was quite friendly and gracious. Even though it is a club ownership hotel with only some of its rooms open to reservations, we were never approached or hassled about buying into a plan. For the price, decor, location and gracious service, we don't think this hotel can be beat.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dickydoodenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2009

Stayed through an HGVC timeshare. We had a one bedroom apartment. The rooms were nice and spacious. Very convenient for a family stay. Nice pool and beach. There was a washing machine just down the corridor, and unlike European resorts, this was free.

The rooms were cleaned everyday- also great, though the quality of cleaning while not bad, is not the greatest. No nonsense about towel changes and linen, which is what I hate about vacation timeshares (I re-use towels normally, but I hate hotels which announce an extra charge for the basics).

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dk10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2009

The hotel is showing it's age, but is under renovation. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and professional. The King Size bed was very firm, great for me, but too hard for my wife. They will bring you a pillow top for the mattress if you'd like.
The restaurant was Fantastic. The hamburgers were the best I ever had, huge and Delicious and a meal in themselves.
Great breakfast and lunch/dinner buffets on the weekend.
Bottle of wine for dinner was about $7.
You could take any wine not used, back to your room.
Location is great, and everything else is a shirt bus ride.
I witnessed the renovation, while I was there.
New luxery beds, lamps, flat screen TV's etc.
Best part was the staff, you asked them for something, it was done.
We will be going back in Jan. hopefully renovations will be finished by then.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.1 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
0.4 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
4.2 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
0.3 mi away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
3.8 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#15 of 175 in Cancun
3,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun

Property: Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
Address: Seccion A, lote 3 Km. 8.5, Boulevard Kukulkan, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#42 Family Hotel in Cancun
#44 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun Hotel Cancun
Fiesta Americana Cancun
Fiesta Americana Hotel Cancun
Fiesta Americana Vacation Club Cancun
Cancun Fiesta Americana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing