We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a Mall like any other”

La Isla Shopping Village
Ranked #6 of 149 things to do in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Its a Mall like any other”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

There is an aquarium here, but for the most part it is a smattering of stores you would find in any mall in Florida with a few Mexican stores thrown in and a few bars (the Senor Frogs here is a gift shop, not a Senor Frogs LOL). I honestly felt like I was back home in Miami! Nice for a stroll and the hawkers are at a minimum here. High end, low end and everything in between - assume its a nice break from the beach or something to do when bored of everything else. I would NOT buy anything here that i could by in the states (face it a Louis Vuitton purse is no cheaper in Mexico that in US, and I always have that "i wonder if its really real" feeling when i buy anything with a name on it in Mexico)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 305Pirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,059 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,418
    2,627
    848
    108
    58
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ehh”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

It's an outdoor mall with a few interesting stores, but nothing to go out of your way for. You really don't get the felling you are in Mexico. Apart from some stores taking pesos and the McDonald's having a limited menu that serves salsa with their chicken - you would think you were in Florida.
Prices were steep, but it was clean and appeared to be safe. We didn't do the Aquarium, but that appeared to be the major draw here. We did get to see the dolphin show through a large window while in one of the stores.
Be aware - the stores don't open early and even when they did, it looked like employees don't expect much business until later in the day.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant Shopping Complex”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Pleasant visit if you fancy a day out of the sun or even on bad weather days, nicely laid out, nice variety of shops, some good bars along the harbour side where you can enjoy a relaxing tub of cold Coronas and it gets sun for most of the day.

This place had variety of high end shops such as Gucci, Burberry, Louis Vuitton, Kiehls, Jewellery Stores, sunglasses huts and MANY cosmetic and perfume stores. Macdonald's, Starbucks etc It also had a variety of pretty good tourist, souvenir shops.

I agree that the high end stuff is cheaper in the US and UK, however perhaps not Asia.

Also very easy to get to, $1 around the hotel zone or 17 Pesso's so easy enough. Buses come every couple of minutes, we used the buses to get most places.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KATS290411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Nice Outdoor Mall”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

La Isla Shopping Mall is located across the street from Live Aqua.

It is an outdoor shopping mall with stores ranging from souvenir shops to high need retailers. Most of the stores you could probably find in your local American mall at home. Most stores take peso's, some take dollars. But, if need be, there is a currency exchange there.

There are lot of restaurants, mostly in the lower price range. (McDonalds, Starbucks, Johnny Rockets, and Hooters). A couple of the restaurants overlook the water.

The mall isn't too small or too big. Just the right size for a quick get away from blazing sun on the beach.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank lasvegasfreeway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice shopping atmosphere”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We went here on a hot day to check out a movie, buy a t-shirt, and something cold to drink. The store variety was okay, some were vacant but mostly filled. The open air atmosphere next to the water was a nice atmosphere for a little shopping trip. Some souvenir shops, but mostly a true mall style.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnMarie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Isla Shopping Village also viewed

 

Been to La Isla Shopping Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing