We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel, for a price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
Ranked #3 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel, for a price”
Reviewed February 14, 2010

Ahhh the days of cheap Cancun...so long ago! The Aqua is a Vegas-y style hotel with big name restaraunt, seven pools, excellent styling, and high prices to go with it. We had ocean view room and were offered concierge level for $99 per night extra, which we declined. The place was almost empty Mon-Thu. Really nice, although it was a little odd. Only one pool heated - for adults only. Other pools too cold to really enjoy but very beautiful. Breakfast was about $25pp for buffet, lunch without cocktails for two $60. Drinks were outrageous! Water $9-15. Sodas $4. Good service at the pools, rooms were nicely appointed but nothing extroardinary. The aromatherapy was a nice touch. Gym was functional. Didn't try the spa. Nice tohave free internet access. PERFECT location between LaIsla shopping and Luxury Ave. LOTS of dining choices. Loved the Thai place at La Isla but once again, style = high price. One drink pp, bottle water for the table, one appetizer, and two entrees $100.00. I just can't recommend going downtown anymore. Getting hassled at every turn and then derided for not purchasing items/tours is not relaxing. Don't bother with LaMujeres. Not much to see/experience. Overall, great stay, get a good package deal to stay at Aqua. Ours was a savings of almost $900 for a week versus booking individually.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoBeachguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,026
    1,408
    444
    116
    83
See reviews for
869
5,727
108
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,626)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2010

Overall a good experience. We definitely recommend it. But a more involved manager and better trained staff would make it really world-class.

Pros: Beautiful pools. Excellent and convenient location (nice beach, close to 2 malls). Very nice and well maintained property. Adequate rooms. Very calmed and relaxed atmosphere (though helped by a 30% ocuppancy during our visit).

Cons: Overall service is ok, but lacks that extra mile.
- Breakfast at the 5th floor Aqua Club lounge was never ready at 7am as promised (our kids are early risers).
- The only restaurant open for lunch is the one at the pool, what makes it very inconvenient on a rainy day, particularly because the roof leaks (a lot!).
- The warmest pool is the one reserved for adults, and there is no sign indicating that.
- It's quite unsettling that a maid knocks at your door asking if the room is taken (don't they have systems por that?).
- They have a "Your wish, my wish" policy, but the staff lacks the initiative and/or empowerment to make magic happen. We asked for some baby wipes and only received directions to the closest pharmacy. We wanted to cross the street to "La Isla" mall during pouring rain and were only offered a taxi (US$ 7 to cross the street!) instead of using the hotel cars they have sitting there all day long.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MexicoCityJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

If you want to relax in extreme chill and quiet this is the place. The staff wears all white and walks around quietly and swiftly. The music is soft, the sand is soft and the outdoor beds and lounge chairs are soft. The service is impeccable and the food is absolutely delicious. The MB on site restaurant was stupendous. Best location around as we walked down the beach to checkout other hotels (ritz and JW marriott). The mall across the street was perfect for a relaxed stroll. I have travelled a lot and do not go to the same resort twice but for a long wknd in Cancun I will be back to Aqua! Thanks for the recommendation Trip Advisors!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelwashingtondc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUERTO RICO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2010

Employees where not identified with a name tag, to be able to call them by their name, make a complaint or for security purposes. Front desk and the manager were not available at check in. Front desk clerks and manager were not trained. they were inexperienced, young, ironic, indiference, silence at arrival and continued becoming abusive during our stay. they were slow excesively at check in provocking stress to kids. They acted to make you tire to make you sign additional blank check for them to overcharge your card daily daily and two or three months later after your original reservation or stay. They do did not honored room rate fares according to views and locations which i had confirmed also on the phone in spanish. They did not honored a room rate credit for a lower category room change. They did not honored breakfast as reserved, three hundred dollars added over room rate confirmed in the internet. They did not honored breakfast for all four the next morning. it was expressly included in the reservation confirmation papers. they did not honored 200 hundred usd dollars discount or bonus advertise in the internet. At arrival they required me to repay and to charge my credit card again. They charged my card, twice for the stay twio months later . At arrivall they charge the card for additional amount of 600.00 to cover future room charges. The front desk did not activated and froze room charges priviledges the next day, the first day of our stay because we had consumed all the money in that afternoon or night. My kids had to leave the restaurant and were told we did not have balance for two cokes.
The room floded everytime any one of us four had a shower, due to shower walls builing defects in our room and in other rooms as we noted the watter coming out from other rooms to the hall. They know and occupied those rooems and they have been having that unresolved problem since the reconstuction after a terrible hurricane that destroyed the Hotel as we were told by many. They did not changed us to another room, No Credit or Any gratification for us or our kids. We sustained the room floor wet, we had to call to informed the situation then we requiered action in the mornings and in the afternoon when we arrive also had to call for extra towels. We sustained, interruptions, knoking at the door, by maintenance crew, at times we were arriving to shower, change clothes to go out to have dinner or to rest. Every time, we had to use towels to collect water, stop he running water to prevent it to reach our suite cases in the closet. TAlso to dry the slippery marble floor. The problem leaved us without clean towels for us and for the kids, at the moment and for next morning. The shower repair Show, simulation, Performed by maintenance left the rooms withe debrie into the shower and strong chemical sealing products Odors. After two months i receved notice of two electronic cash withdrawls to my bank card account. I paid almost three thousand dolars for four or five nights. and for the odissey. NOTE thay they did not have interconencted systems, their mamagers or clerks are not trained or authorize to solve o veify anythig deling two payments. They do not want, to connect or call the Hotel the credti card company or the accounting department, to review payments and prior authorized charges collected by them to corroborate your account. Also they did not wanted to verify with administration, finance, the department. They were informed by me with the facts and reference numbers They did not recognized the two charges one of more than one thousand dollars and the other one of 600 that the had already posted to my account upon my arrival. No conection with the reservation department. These charges had already cover for the whole stay. They do not recognize Authorization charges or holds made with and througn the reservation department agents that take your calls or throug the internet. They are trained to charge and run the charges daily and more charges and to FREEZE ALL HOTEL AND ROOM CHARGES PRIVILEDGES, TO OBLIGE YOU TO KEEP SIGNING AUTHORIZATIONS. I STILL HAVE A CLAIM, THEY MADE FOR THE WO CHARGES OF MORE THAN 1,400 FOR ONE UNLIVABLE ROOM. Daily they required me evidence which no one takes to a trip. In my case they Required me evidence which I fortunalely had becasue I had printed pages of all room descriptions, amenities, what included, advertisement, promotions, offers, fares, amenities and the 200 USD bonus that they never honored either. ALONG WITH THE CONFIRMATION WITH ALL OFFERED AND AGREED CONDITIONS. i even had notes and identified the reservation agents that I had talked to working at the Hotel and at the reservation areas and they did not wanted to recognize said namens. Thereaftger, i was obliged to call to obtain and produce bank documents. Interrupting my time to arrive and enjoy the Hotel, Room or vacations. From my US BANK, During a holiday weekend. I even obtained the payment reference numbers to my account. At the same time Paying to the Hotel abusive international charges for phone calls.
IF You, take the risk to go they can leave your account without money or without charging limies for your trave expenses and needs in mexico. or in Jail if you have no funds to sustain the charges and also feeling the Constant SPA OF BAD AND STRONG NEGATIVE FEELINGS

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank GARCIAESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2010

This is not the place to go party. It is the supreme place to go for zen like, low key, relaxed luxury. The look, the lighting, the music, the pool/beach, the spa and the service are all stress free. The service is outstanding without being intrusive. I am not a spa person but I loved this place for a relaxing get away. If you can't relax here, you have big problems!

We don't usually spend over $250 per night on a hotel. We bought a package deal on line that included room and air. The room rate worked out to be substantially lower than reglarly posted rate for this hotel. At this point in time, there are good deals to be had in the Cancun area. It appears occupancy is low. Overbuilt or a result of swine flu and the economy? Not sure but good for the consumer.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2010

Our last trip to the Aqua was in August and we're headed back again next month. This will be our 10th stay at the hotel, and we've been fans since the first opening and the reopening after Hurricane Wilma. Many don't know the hotel was gutted during Hurricane Wilma with nothing but the concrete shell standing. Interesting fact, hotels on both sides were completely leveled and bulldozed after the storm, and only now has there been a Westin built on one side of the Aqua.
Everything in the Aqua is crisp, clean and new, and as you've read it has a spa vibe and you have to enjoy that vibe in order to enjoy your stay. It smells like a spa throughout, it looks like a spa and the music around the pool has a cool, relaxing vibe. May not work for everyone, but it's what we enjoy.
Staff is attentive and as helpful as any other 4 star hotel in Cancun. Food at the pool restaurant is good and we frequent it, but we generally go out for dinner and haven't dined in the other restaurants. They are high end, and generally a bit formal for our taste.
We've stayed in every room type available and we prefer the Aqua Suite (1200 sq. ft) over all others including the Presidential Suite, but even the ocean view rooms are nice with either balconies or a terrace.
There are multiple pools with different temps, depths and purposes. We prefer the pool that has a bar attached to it for obvious reasons. Beach area is great with beds, palapas and covered beds on multiple tiers leading to the sand.
This is a high end hotel for Cancun. They don't allow troublemakers, spring breakers or unescorted kids. There are families, but it's generally a late 20's to early 50's crowd.
I'll update after our Feb. stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CJCHouston_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Ratio price / quality of the hotel overall is quite poor. Food in all restaurnats is mediocre .
Nice pools and beach , rooms are pseudominimalistic but clean .Nice spa.

Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank 12houston12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnaMontes, General Manager at Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun, responded to this review, January 8, 2010
Dear Karel Riha,
With great concern I have read your comment on the quality of the food in our hotel – which is normally very highly regarded by our guests and patrons. We have taken note on the quality of the pain au chocolat and croissants. We thank you for sharing this with us.

We have taken the opportunity of reviewing comments on another hotel where you have previously stayed and have noticed that you have found specific items overpriced.

We take this opportunity to wish you a prosperous year.

Sincerely,

Live Aqua Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.4 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,874 reviews
1.2 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
2.3 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#7 of 175 in Cancun
5,690 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
1.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun

Property: Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
Address: Boulevard Kukulcan km 12.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Live Aqua Cancun All Inclusive)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#3 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#4 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live Aqua Cancun, a welcoming place, where being is the first part of feeling. Your senses work together. It's a prism of colors, eclectic rhythms, and seductive details. Enjoy the fusion of idyllic days and energizing nights. It is a monument to your arrival to this Cancun Spa Resort. This sophisticated beachfront resort lies along white sand beaches, across the street from La Isla Shopping Mall and walking distance from some of the best restaurants and shopping malls in the city. Exotic drinks, barefoot luxury and activities overlooking the resort's 8 infinity pools are just part of the exquisite details within our All Inclusive concept. Music worships you at every step, with changes in rhythms that match the emotions you feel and the space around you. The sound is never the same, but always relaxing, exciting and harmonic. Arriving, leaving, just belonging makes you sigh with peace. The Aqua aroma seeps into every nook and cranny up to the sky, down to the sea. Return to yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelPower, TravelUp, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Live Aqua Cancun All Inclusive Hotel Cancun
Cancun Aqua Hotel
Aqua Hotel Cancun
Fiesta Americana Grand Aqua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing