We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont miss out.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
Ranked #3 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Dont miss out.”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed here Summer 2011.
The Hotel is beautiful, the staff is wonderful, the views are breathtaking. The food is great and the drinks are top shelf.
This hotel is very zen, within a party strip. I was working for two months without a day off and needed to stay in this enviroment and still have all the parties at my reach. That is exactly what I had, luxury in zen with everything else at my fingertips.
The food is healthy, gourmet and fresh, not to mention delicious. The staff could not do enough for me. I stayed for 10 days alone, no family no friends.
All of my acitvities wehere booked on site and I must say I got very apealing prices on everything I wanted to see, explore and experinece. I would recomend this hotel. It delivered. As a piky, spoiled, hard to please traveler I can assure that you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nina12873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,026
    1,408
    444
    116
    83
See reviews for
869
5,727
108
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,626)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We just returned from one week at the Live Aqua in Cancun. Overall it was a great week with the surf, food and service truly being outstanding. The beach is typical of the Cancun area with the sand and ocean being clean and fun to body surf in.

The staff was superb, but one individual really stood out. We ate four times at the Azur restaurant just to be served by Wilfrido Aguirre. Both in effort and with the quality of the service he was deserving of extra acknowledgement compared with the other great staff.

The other restaurants were also good and the overall food quality was much better than average for Mexican all-inclusives. We ate at MB, Hidden Garden, and Tea Corner and were pleased with the menu and food. The buffet was excellent, and again the service was generally great. We tipped for good service and this was appreciated by the service staff.

The one thing that some folks may be disappointed with were the activities. As compared to other resorts we have visited, these were pretty low key. With only two early evening shows per week there wasn't much to do in the evening. If you are willing to follow the schedule you definitely could find things to do but not much by the pool which is where we hung out most of the day.

The pools were great, although the hot tub was not quite hot enough for late day soaking.

The aromatherapy throughout the resort buildings was very calming as was the spa music. If you are looking for a truly relaxing vacation, this may be the resort for you as it is very much a spa resort.

Room Tip: Higher is better for the view...........which is amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank frogandgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is one of the best resorts we've been to in Mexico. We travel with a group, this time there was 10 of us.
FOOD: The restaurants always seated us together, whatever we wanted 6,8,10 to a table, most resorts will limit you to 4. Breakfast buffet is one of the best we've had, great selection. It's a combination of Mexican traditional & American food, topped off with a Bloody Mary & mimosa bar. Many options for lunch, we usually hit the beach side place which had great shrimp tacos. Dinner was nice b/c you only had to make reservations at 1 restaurant, others you just walked up and got on the list, we never waited long. Food was awesome, never had a bad meal...well the Garden Restaurant wasn't all that great but it's Oriental which isn't our preference. They have a walk-up, made fresh to order Sushi Bar which was great for appetizers while waiting on a table. We loved all the sushi, high quality and made fast; these guys were amazing to watch.
DRINKS: Beer on tap is Dos Equis: cold & served with a lime. They have Crown, Absolute vodka, Don Julio tequila and many, many other great liquors. Drinks were always tasty & they made lots of fun shots! All the bars were quick with your order, one exception was the Swing Bar, they made drinks for most of the pools and the beach, so they were very busy and it took a while to get a drink.
POOL: pools were very nice, there were quiet areas where people were reading a book & relaxing and then there’s a more rowdy pool with the swim-up bar which is where was hung out most of the time. It was heated, which made it nice in the morning. Lots of fun, everyone was friendly having a great time, service there was awesome, the bartenders were fast & attentive. Evarado was the best!
ROOMS: very nice, clean, most have a balcony. We had one couple stay on the main floor near the elevators and they said it was very loud, always heard people outside the room. We stayed down one of the hallways and did not hear a thing.
SERVICE/STAFF: The staff was unlike most resorts, very friendly!! Very helpful & interactive - liked to see people having a great time.
BEACH: Really nice, lots of chairs, beds, umbrellas. Beach volleyball was available and the activity director was fun and was great at getting teams together. All the pools overlook the beach, so you have an awesome view no matter where you are - it’s beautiful blue water!
NIGHTLIFE: They have 1 bar that stays open until 1am; they had a DJ a couple of nights but always had great music playing. Fun place to hang out & meet people, great atmosphere. There was a group that would head out to a pre-selected bar every night about 10p which was a great option for those wanting to go party with a group and have easy access into the bar.
OUTSIDE THE RESORT: just across the street is a shopping mall: very nice, safe and easy to get around.
We WILL return :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelinMonkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAQCU, General Manager at Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. It is a pleasure for me to know that your experience at Live Aqua Cancun exceeded your expectations; our number one priority is to make every guest experience exceptional and unique as it can be, thank you for letting us know how memorable and special was your staying with us. I'm very grateful for your comments about the service provided by our staff; let me assure you that this kind of recognition has a very special meaning to us as a team.

It will be an honor to have you and your group as our guests again, do not hesitate to contact us if you require any assistance for your next stay.

Warmest regards,
Alfredo Santamaría
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 days during spring break. I was concerned it was going to be loud with a lot of drunk people, but to my surprise (and probably due to the price to stay here) it was mainly couples on vaca or honeymoon or friends just needing to get away. Upon arrival they serve you booze which was a nice way to get your vaca started. Unfortunatly we were tricked into hearing a sale pitch, but the guy wasnt pushy about it an once we declined, he was understanding; however he wasnt the last one to try. Stay away from the lobby after you check in! Room was very nice, clean and comfortable. Ocean view was great to wake up too. All bathroom supplies were replenished daily. Never had to call and ask anyone for anything. Food everywhere was fabulous! Ate at the buffet for breakfast everyday. Had tacos by the pool, lunch at the restaurant by the beach and our last dinner was at the MB. Portions at the MB are very small, but delicious! So make sure you order apps, entrees, main course & dessert if your hungry! Service was fabulous! Everyone speaks decent English and they are always making sure you have a drink in your hand. The aromatherapy does get a little tiring in a few places, but it is relaxing at first. I concur with other comments about trying to find a nice sun bed located by the pool. They get taking quickly. Also due to the time of year, the ocean was cold so it wasnt an option to lounge on the beach since you couldnt cool off in the water. Also most of the pools were pretty chilly considering how windy it was. It would be nice to enjoy a cabana, but at $85/day I don't think it's worth it, plus you are covered so there no catching rays. I'm not sure if I would stay here again, only because I like to try new places. We did enjoy our time here and are leaving very relaxed and happy with our choice to stay here this time.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hurry22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We came here for our honeymoon in mid-March, and we loved it! We read a lot of reviews here on Trip Advisor, so we thought we'd share our experience since we relied so much on everyone else's. We've traveled to a lot of places (Europe and Americas mostly), but have never done the all-inclusive resort route. Here's what we found:

**Service: Excellent! The issue with the chairs and beds is true. They're all claimed by 8 am and people may not come back for hours, which isn't great. However, we had several staff members carry chairs and/or tables over to us and set up a spot for us on the beach or by the pool (thanks, Leonides!), depending on where we wanted to sit for the day. We also had no problem getting help with umbrellas or getting pool-side/beach-side drink assistance. Just ask for help - they're happy to assist!

Because we told them we were celebrating our honeymoon when we checked in, the resort surprised us by having chilled champagne and chocolate-covered strawberries waiting for us one night in our room. They also had someone sprinkle rose petals on the bed, light candles, and blow up balloons on another night for us. I actually ruined the surprise by returning early, but Luz was very sweet and we chatted for a bit while she finished up. (My husband was surprised though!) That was very much appreciated and certainly made our trip memorable!

**Restaurant Service: Mostly good. We stayed for a week, and only twice was the wait service sub-par compared to every other meal. We just tipped accordingly. So many of the hostesses and waiters were very personable and quick to help, to name them all would take too much time. I will say that Patricia was the nicest of the hostesses and Carlos at Inlaa'kech was probably the best waiter we had. You do have to pay extra to eat this restaurant, but it is SO worth it! And he really made the evening fun and enjoyable for us. Fantastic experience!

The staff at the concierge and check-in desks were always very nice and helpful. No complaints there at all!

**Food: Mostly good. We didn't like Azur for dinner and actually left our meal and came back for room service. However, it was our favorite place for lunch. My husband really liked Mb. Siete's breakfast buffet is fantastic and you'd be hard pressed to find something you couldn't eat. The cooks that make the food are so nice too and they always have a smile on their face. Great way to start the day. Again, Inlaa'kech will be the best meal you'll have if you choose to eat there and you don't mind paying extra. Manuel is a fantastic chef!

**Room: We were originally to be in a garden-view room on a lower floor, but moved up to the third floor. There's a great view of the ocean from the balcony and even the bed! There is a vacant lot next door, but the view of the ocean is too magnificent to ignore! For the two of us, the room is great: a table with two chairs for dining, a lounge chair, and king bed, mini-bar, tv, and bathroom with a tub and shower. We spent most of our time outside the room, so it was perfect for us. If you're looking for more, you'll want to upgrade to the suites.

The hallways can get a little noisy. That's mostly due to guests, so hopefully you'll be near considerate people. But you can also hear noises from outside (traffic, loud Spring Breakers, the occasional siren...)

**Outdoor Atmosphere: We're a bit on the younger side of the guests here, but we're not big on clubbing and going out. This is a wonderful place if you want to sit on the beach, wade in the pool, read a book, and drink fruity cocktails throughout the day. If you are looking to go clubbing or want constant entertainment, you may want to look elsewhere. They have a few things throughout the week, but nothing too spectacular (except the Friday night fire show - that was cool!). For us, we have high-stress jobs, so the serenity of sitting by the pool and doing nothing for a week was just what we needed.

The pools are great, and there really is enough room to spread out and feel like you're in your own little area in the water. I've seen complaints that they're really cold, but I think a lot of that has to do with the weather. They actually come in handy on the really hot days! The hot tub could be a little hotter, but that's probably for safety reasons (very hot hot-tub + very inebriated guests = terrible outcome for all).

**Cleaniness: They clean 24/7. You'll see staff members in the hallways fixing things and scrubbing floors. They do take their time with cleaning your room, and may even try to come clean after 8 pm (that happened to us!). But they really do a nice job. And we always got fresh towels, new shampoo/soap, etc. when we asked for them (sometimes they'll come by and check). You can get fresh sheets, but you have to put a card on your pillow to let them know. Otherwise, they won't change them.

**Trips: We used Olympus Tours (on the pool level) to book a trip to Chichen Itza and go parasailing. We had excellent service with both, thanks to Lupita and David.

Hopefully that helps! Overall, we had a great experience with Live Aqua and would love to come back again. We got the relaxation we needed, and had a beautiful honeymoon!

Room Tip: If you don't mind the basics, garden level is fine. However, if you want more, you'll need t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAQCU, General Manager at Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write your review. All of us at Live Aqua Cancun are truly grateful for the honor you gave us to be host of such a special time as your honeymoon. We are delighted to know that our restaurants and staff exceeded your expectations. We strive to distinguish our service by giving importance to little details and anticipation of our guests’ needs and desires and it's wonderful to know that it made your vacation a truly unique experience

We all are looking forward to welcome you back soon. Please feel free to contact us any time for pre-arrival arrangements.

Warmest regards,
Alfredo Santamaría
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

You couldn't ask for a more beautiful resort. The hospitality was beyond our expectations. No children, so the pools were never full. Yoga classes every morning outside. Plenty of expensive tequila available which was all included. 24 hour room service which has filet mignon on the menu. But as Americans, our bodies were not used to the difference in bacteria found in Mexican food etc so we got deathly ill by the 3rd day and spent the rest of the time [--] our brains out in our room. Not very romantic. As amazing as it was, we will never go to Mexico again. Sorry Live Aqua, you were amazing, but we're breaking up with you and you can keep our underwear.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytraveler21677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

First, let me state the positive points:
1. Best beef and overall food found in Cancun.
2. Very polite service personnel from the front desk to the restaurants.
3. Small resort and easy getting to all areas.
4. Great beach area, but too cold to experience.
Now the bad:
1. Two occasions without hot water for bathing.
2. Bar area between restaurants(M and Siete) too small for dinner crowd.
3. Room had old and dirty furniture.

We stayed for four nights in late February and early March.

This location would be great for most people, but the quality does not match the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank billumu8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAQCU, General Manager at Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
I appreciate your valuable review about our hotel and especially your comments from your recent stay with us. We appreciate all forms of guest feedback, and it is through constructive comments that we are able to continually improve our services and facilities for our guests. It was very concerning to learn that we failed to meet your expectations during the time you spent at Live Aqua Cancun. I would like to assure you that we pay careful attention to feedback such as you have provided, taking immediate steps to correct any deficiencies.

Thank you for adding very generous remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with us and mentioning the services that made your stay more comfortable.

Hopefully you will give us an opportunity to host you in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will personally make sure your next visit with us will be without any incidents.

Warmest regards,
Alfredo Santamaría
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.4 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,874 reviews
1.2 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
2.3 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#7 of 175 in Cancun
5,690 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
1.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun

Property: Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
Address: Boulevard Kukulcan km 12.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Live Aqua Cancun All Inclusive)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#3 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#4 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live Aqua Cancun, a welcoming place, where being is the first part of feeling. Your senses work together. It's a prism of colors, eclectic rhythms, and seductive details. Enjoy the fusion of idyllic days and energizing nights. It is a monument to your arrival to this Cancun Spa Resort. This sophisticated beachfront resort lies along white sand beaches, across the street from La Isla Shopping Mall and walking distance from some of the best restaurants and shopping malls in the city. Exotic drinks, barefoot luxury and activities overlooking the resort's 8 infinity pools are just part of the exquisite details within our All Inclusive concept. Music worships you at every step, with changes in rhythms that match the emotions you feel and the space around you. The sound is never the same, but always relaxing, exciting and harmonic. Arriving, leaving, just belonging makes you sigh with peace. The Aqua aroma seeps into every nook and cranny up to the sky, down to the sea. Return to yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelUp, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, HotelPower, Hotwire, HotelsClick, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Live Aqua Cancun All Inclusive Hotel Cancun
Cancun Aqua Hotel
Aqua Hotel Cancun
Fiesta Americana Grand Aqua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing