We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Beach Palace(Cancun)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (9,867)
Filter reviews
9,867 results
Traveler rating
7,644
1,521
480
129
93
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,644
1,521
480
129
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshidden gardenhand massagemb restauranthabanero soupminute foot massageegos baraka barsushi stationazur restaurantmojito barrice artroom serviceswim up barocean fronta garden view roomspecial dinnerbeach bag
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6,438 - 6,443 of 9,867 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We were amazed how great the service was from the moment we arrived. Great location for shopping and dining. Everything is within walking distance. The hotel all around is a very clean one. If you love the smell of eucalyptus - you will love this hotel. The rooms are clean! I don't think there is a bad view from any of the rooms at this hotel because they all face the ocean. Mini bar / fridge comes fully stocked and maids restock. Maid service great - cleaning times a little off. Lots of pools to enjoy. If you want an umbrella by the pools or beach area - get there early in the morning. Pool service great. If you want a great drink - specify the way you like it otherwise you might get the basic. Restaurants are good - Several to choose from. If you have any questions dont hesitate to ask - employees are so friendly. We will definitely be back next summer! If you are looking to relax while on vacation this is the place.

Room Tip: Any rooms fifth floor on up will have a good ocean view
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This hotel opened 3 years ago recovering from the aftermath of Hurricane Wilma....it is absolutely one of the best in the area...it is 5 star, all inclusive, adults only. Fabulous beach, great pool area, excellent spa and resort has a wonderful aromatherpy fragrance throughout the hotel. Two years ago it became all-inclusive with 3 order from the menu restaurants and only one well done buffet choice. It is across the street from La Isla shopping center and a 5 minute walk to Kukulcan luxury shopping mall. Very safe area...see for yourself!!

Room Tip: Top of the line service and staff...rooms well appointed, flat screen TVs....all rooms in quiet location
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MarthaAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAQCU, General Manager at Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Thank you for qualifying our services so highly, it's truly our pleasure to know that your stay with us was excellent.

We all are looking forward to welcome you back to Live Aqua Cancun.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This is definitely a little bit of everything a traveler to Mexico wants; awesome fresh food, beautiful beach, clean spacious modern rooms, impeccable service, and a welcoming elegant atmosphere. I went with a girlfriend of mine and we were in awe!! This is truly a couples resort, but there were mother daughters and friend couples as well. The weather was gorgeous but we also went at the end of July which made it very hot. I didn't mind because I was in the ocean and on the beach! :)))

As soon as you come to the hotel, you are reminded to relax and greeted with an authentic welcome and orientation. You are passed on to your guide and he or she will bring you personally to your room. Everything is explained to you and your luggage is brought to you immediately. Your room smells of vanilla and orange scents and it is clean and fresh! There are comfy beds, soft sheets, fully stocked spa items, and lots of towels :)) The hotel grounds are beautifully kept with tropical gardens and flowers, and the pool is immaculately cleaned! There are plenty of lounge chairs and beds, and suite guests are entitled to both beach and pool cabanas which is included in the price. You can also rent a cabana for the day, but it's extra.

When you're at the beach, the sand is white and it's not hot! That's because of it's special compound properties that keep it cool even on the hottest days. The water is a beautiful turqoise clear colour and it is the perfect refreshing temperature. Do be careful however, the waves are strong and you will not be able to swim far out in the water everyday as it does get rough. The life guards are very good at what they do and they are also monitoring where patrons are in the water, so you are very well looked after. The beach personel come to see you regularly and bring you your drinks promptly and tipping is not really an issue as they are really happy to serve you regardless of tips. My package included tips and gratuities but if I made a connection with someone- which was almost always, I usually left a tip. They are a very friendly staff and they appreciate you being there- you will leave actually doing what they do which is to hold their hands to their chest area and slightly bow to you to accept your presence. There are staff that will give you a hand and foot message if you have the cabana if you like as well, I never accepted one but others had them. Beach towels are clean and abundant and you can help yourself anytime you need a clean one.

There are two main order off the menu restaurants- one at the beach outside and one inside for the evening- both great! There is also a buffet restaurant that carries just about everything you want from salads, pizza, pasta, meat, fish, chicken, nachos,...the list is endless! The breakfast buffet is exceptional boasting an array of fresh heathly options such as custom smoothies to omelets, to home made yummy options like donuts and french toast! No worries about finding something to eat outside of the restaurants, there is a coffee bar for light snacks, and 2 options for lite affairs on the beach (hamburgers, hot dogs, fries, nachos, salads, shrimp....)
You must try the MB restaurant, you will love the service and the gourmet food- everything is prepared to order and if it's not on the menu, don't hesitate to ask, they will accomodate you. I once just felt like ordering a burger and fries and they made it for me even in the fine dining place! Feel like trying all of the desserts on the menu? No worries, if you can eat them, they'll serve it no questions asked- everyone I asked a question had an answer of "no problem, or my pleasure." There is also 24 hour in room food menu should you want to dine in your room.

If you're looking to work-out, there is a clean modern gym with cardio equipment and weights as well as pilates stations. I loved the chlorophil water they had there! The inside of the hotel is immaculate- the marble floors shine, it has a constant clean spa aroma scent, and the lounge music is always playing- it looks and feels upscale and classy. In the evenings, you have a choice to leave the premises with a group to local hot spots or relax by the indoor air conditioned bar lounges- one has euro-lounge music and the other is just outside the buffet restaurant. There isn't any "entertainment" shows which was fine by me, because this is a different type of hotel. So if you're looking to enjoy the warm tropical sun and beach and indulge in great food and relax, this is the place for you. If you're looking to party, it's not that kind of hotel.

There is a personal voice mail system for you when you are out of the room so you can check your messages always, and when you call the front desk they answer by reffering to you by your name! Great service! Anything you need, they will bring to you room at any time of the day or night! The staff here is what really makes this place what it is- they are professional, well dressed, always smiling, and ready to make your stay an enjoyable one. If you're a romantic couple, you can reserve a personal dinner for you and your partner on the beach for an extra cost, and there is also an exclusive lobster bar nestled amongst the tropical grounds that you can attend also for extra charge.

Special thanks to Alejandro Anguas and Luis Ayala & Tita the Parrot for making my stay that much better :)))))

Other information you might be interested in:

1. Bring pesos for tipping of have your money in small change because the front desk does not carry American or Canadian money. The Mexican government is trying to encourage the use of the Mexican peso.

2. The airport is only 10 minutes away! Awesome!

3. When you arrive, bypass the time share personnel and look for your shuttle- they will have yoru name on a sheet- ask to see your name on it to make sure they are not just trying to get you to get a ride with them.

4. This is a safe resort, you don't need to be worried about travelling here but as always, use common sense.

5. There is free use of computers and printers-- print your boarding passes from the resort early because the airport is a disaster!

6. Use 50 and up sunscreen for the first few days even if you're tanned, the sun is very, very strong! Bring bug spray and after bite as there are mosquitos- not a lot because you are always inside for dinners at night which is a bonus!

Room Tip: All rooms are equally nice- I had a garden view and it still faced the ocean!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Just left the resort today very pretty but would not go back. This resort has no night life what so ever. All bars close at 11pm and the one by the pool 1pm. If they say king deluxe garden view their is no garden that is strictly for ocean view we faced a construction site front desk said we got the good side the other faces the ac units. The property has no shows except 1 Friday night which missed we were no told about. The restaurants alternate menus never change. This was an extremely boring resort.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Abatem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAQCU, General Manager at Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments of your recent stay with us. Although many travelers find Live Aqua Cancun to be a great place for romantic and relaxing getaway, I do understand that the concept of our hotel does not suit your kind of lifestyle.

I will truly appreciate if you could contact me with any further comments regarding your experience with us, which we will certainly use in order to make changes for better and ensure that every guest has the most satisfactory experience.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at Live Aqua Aug 1 thru 5, 2012. This was our 20th Anniversary trip to Cancun. We had the most amazing experience at Live Aqua!! It more than exceeded our expectations. We were treated like every staff member was expecting us upon our arrival. Even the staff member at the front gate when our ground transportation dropped us off. We were greeted at the front lobby and taken immediately up to the 5th Floor where the Aqua Level Checkin takes place. We selected an aqua level ring room, which allowed us access to the 5th floor Aqua Lounge. This is where we checked in with Feranda Franco and Diego, our private Concierge. Both were very welcoming and helpful. Fernanda even provided us with hand massages! She was GREAT!

We opted to sign up for the "vacation club presentation" so that we could get a free couples massage in the Spa. The next morning, they took us to a family all-inclusive "Fiesta Americana", just down the street for this since we have children and Live Aqua is adult only. They wanted us to see other properties within their vacation club...which was nice. We had breakfast there, and listened to the 90 minute vacation club presentation. It was about a two hour process from start to finish (with breakfast). So, only do this if you are interested in a vacation club and/or want a free spa service.

BEACH/ROOMS: The resort is clean and very well kept. Rooms were emaculate! They had grounds keepers and beach keepers everywhere outside, as well as staff to provide food/drink service pool-side, as well as beach service. We walked up the beach about 1.5 miles and the Live Aqua beach area was the BEST-KEPT beach by far! They take great pride in keeping their beach clean, even raked up the sea weed each morning! The Aqua staff was quick and responsive. We called for a fan, it was there in less than 5 minutes. We called for a different coffee pot in our room, it was there in less than 5 minutes. They always called us by name when we dialed any of the numbers for lobby, front desk, aqua lounge, room service, etc. The bed was so comfortable! I slept better there than I do at home!

STAFF: We loved Leonel, the life-guard...he was SO friendly and remembered us each day and came over to say hello and shake our hands. He was awesome! He never stayed long, just long enough to check in and make sure we were having a good time. David at Sea Club also make quite an impression on us. The Sea club is just beyond the swim up bar on the far end of the resort, down by the beach. This is the BEST spot for lunch, in our opinion! The Fish Tacos were AMAZING!!!! Don't miss trying out this area! David will take good care of you!
Although tipping isn't necessary, we wanted to tip...because the staff was so friendly and always going out of their way to make sure we felt important and that we knew they were glad we chose Live Aqua! Not one staff person met us on the sidewalk or in a lobby area, that didn't speak and smile at us. We were completely and utterly impressed by this! These people really love working at Live Aqua!...and it showed! Make sure you take plenty of 1's for tipping! These people work so hard out in the heat...and it is nice to let them know you appreciate them.

GUESTS: We saw mostly couples at Live Aqua, but there was a 40th B-day group of ladies there, and a group of men there for a bachelor party. So, this isn't just for couples, although that is mostly what we saw while there. I wouldn't hesitate to take a group of my girl-friends...it would be a perfect girl's trip location as well!

FOOD: The food was very, very good. We are not picky eaters, we liked just about everything we tried. And if you don't like what you order, order something else to try! That is the beauty of all-inclusive. The room service food was VERY good! You must try it! The only place you have to pay for food is "In Laakech" the steak and lobster restaurant. It is $60 per person. All other restaurants and bars are included in the all-inclusive. We enjoyed the "Sea Club" for lunch the most, and "Azur" for dinner. MB is nice, but the acoustics in that restaurant made it hard to visit during your meal. It was a little loud and echoed. But still a very nice atomosphere. We had access to Aqua Lounge, which had finger foods each evening, and they also had breakfast foods in the morning hours. This was nice and handy for us since our room was on the 5th floor.
SHOPPING: Aqua is minutes from two very nice shopping malls. One is just across the street and down 1 block, and the other is about 2 city blocks the other direction. A very easy walk to both!

SAFETY: There is a staff member at the front gate 24/7 that monitors cars coming to and from the resort. We never felt unsafe at all! In fact, there is a police station one block down the street on the same side of the street as Aqua!

ENTERTAINMENT: I had read in some of the reviews before our trip that there wasn't much going on at night...well Live Aqua has changed all that! There was a fire show on the beach, a casino night, a live dancing entertainment show...something going on almost every night we were there! They also offered a trip to a popular night club on Friday night, that left Egos Bar at 10pm and offered transportation to the bar, immedate entry into the bar (no waiting), bottle service (unlimited drinks til 3-4am), with seating for all Aqua guests, for the cost of $50. Everyone was on their own for transportation back to the hotel (since people like to leave at different times). We didn't actually do this, but heard about it from the Entertainment Coordinator.

SPA: I have been to many spa's and this one ranked among some of the nicest spas I have been to. The facilities were beautiful and peaceful. Arrive early for your service so you can enjoy the sauna, steam room and jacuzzi before your service. My husband and I had the couples fusion massage...it was great. I also had the Apple Facial, loved it!

In summary, this was the best all-inclusive experience we have ever had! Wish we could have stayed longer!! We will definitely be going back!!! The friendliness of the staff was by far the most impressive thing about our stay! You will love Live Aqua!

Room Tip: We were on 5th floor...it was perfect. Aqua Lounge Level and the perfect height to enjoy the view of the ocean. I doubt there is a bad room view, the way this hotel is set up.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Steffanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAQCU, General Manager at Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you for sharing such a wonderful and detailed review, it is rewarding and motivating at the same time to know that you have enjoyed every moment of your vacation with us. I’m glad to know that our efforts have reached it’s goal and you have enjoyed our service, restaurants, beach and pools.

We will be looking forward to your next visit to Live Aqua Cancun, please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance in the future.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews