We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing!!”
Review of Gran Caribe Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Caribe Resort
Ranked #29 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing!!”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Stayed for 5 days and everything went great. Check in was a breeze, food and drinks were fantastic, and the staff was attentive and personable. The room was very clean and comfortable (stayed in room 252). I would definitely would go back.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias K, Director General at Gran Caribe Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2015
Gracias for taking part of your valuable time to share with us your experience,

We are very happy to know that you had a fabulous vacation with us

Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,098
    2,305
    826
    459
    401
See reviews for
2,866
2,275
115
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We were extremely pleased with this resort. Being our first time in Cancun we were not sure what to expect. the staff were all pleasant and very helpful. Smiling and very hard working. some people need to be recognized for our great vacation Fernanado the beach butler always smiling and polite. Armando at the bar who was very pleasant and ready to serve as soon as we would walked in. Claribel who cooked our eggs shy but smiling whenever she saw us. Margherita my wonderful maid on the third floor. Thanks to all other staff members who I do not have their names. The food was amazing it was well cooked and very tasty. The resort is very clean. The beach is to die for beautiful sand and blue water. Strong waves on occasion but it was fun to play in the waves. I do not have anything negative to say of this resort and we have been to Cuba and the Domenicain and I have to admit it is hard to choose which was better but Cancun has alot more to see and do and I preferred the food in Cancun but have your wallet ready all activities are expensive so being there for one week we just wanted to relax and get away from the cold January we have experienced in Montreal. We had no problems checking in I see some people had long waits I guess it depends how many guests arrive with you. This resort caters very well to couples, family and has wheelchair ramps. The beach is very close and you do not have to walk long or get shuttle to the beach. I must say there is not too much to do at the resort but our vacations are for relaxation and resting which we did. We can party in Montreal but we do not have any beaches haha!!!

Room Tip: We would have enjoyed being in an ocean front view but we did not pay for it so we got a room facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franchevrier2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias K, Director General at Gran Caribe Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2015
On behalf of Gran Caribe Cancun staff and myself, we appreciate the time you took to share with us your positive review!

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

We got married here last year with our children and 30 guests present & decided to come back alone for our anniversary trip. It was just as wonderful as last year! They are constantly maintaining & cleaning this hotel. The staff aims to please, all the food is good, and the price is right. We just may come back every year! Shout out to Alejandro for working our wedding reception last year & serving us twice again this year! Well done real resorts!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cprzybyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias K, Director General at Gran Caribe Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2015
We appreciate your comments and the time you took to describe your stay, our best reward is our guest satisfaction. That keeps us training to be better every day

We are looking forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

A friend and I stayed here for 8 days, 7 night all inclusive vacation. We had a fantastic trip! It was our first time here. We stayed in the most basic room available, and even still it had a pretty decent view of the sunset. I have typically stayed at very large resorts that require a shuttle to and from places, and so this change to a small resort was welcome :)

Here are my pros and cons of this hotel:

Pros:
- great staff! Everyone greeted us with a smile and were so friendly and helpful.
- beautiful beach! The beach was clean, and we were lucky enough to have 30 degree weather all week! The beach wasn't busy at all.
- the drinks were great, no complaints about watered-down drinks at all. In fact, they were usually a little strong!
- the rooms were very clean, and for our basic room, we were surprised to find a nice balcony, a couch inside the room, two sinks and a massive shower! We were even given a bottle of complimentary champagne in our room when we first arrived.
- the entertainment was fantastic! Every night there was some sort of live music, which we thoroughly enjoyed. The entertainment at the theater was also very well-done. I was pleasantly surprised.
- the gym wasn't too bad either! They had a squash/racketball court which my friend and I used as well as treadmills, weight machines, ellipticals, and even offered spin classes.
- our last day there wa

Cons:
- Even with tips, the beach waiters didn't come around that often. Bring your Bubba mugs people!
- The food wasn't the greatest. It was definitely edible, and safe to eat (we ate pretty much everything - no one got sick!) just not the widest selection of foods.
- the beds were a little firm.
- the lobby bar closes by midnight - a little too early for my liking! There is a 24 hour bar stocked with liquor, but it's just not the same as sitting in a comfortable lounging chair in the lobby socializing with everyone else.


All in all, we had a great vacation, and would return to this hotel. Is it a 5-star? I'd say no, but if you're looking for a nice resort to escape for a week with your friends, family or significant other, sit on a beach, maybe venture downtown for a couple nights, then this is the place for you. I cannot comment on the spa or any of the excursions since we mostly sat on the beach all week. We did however go to Coco Bongo - if you haven't been, you definitely need to fork out the $$ and go!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mac5159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias K, Director General at Gran Caribe Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2015
It was a pleasure to welcome you to Gran CaribeCancun and we very much appreciate you taking the time to share your lovely review with us.

Thank you once again for your feedback and please know we are very much looking forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We just got back a few days ago and would be happy to go back again. I'll get the bad news out of the way first. The front desk is bad! Check -in takes way to long and they try to up-sell you to a nicer room or their sister property next door ( we got offered 2 nights free and $40 extra per night for in room jacuzzi all ocean view rooms..we declined). We're glad we stayed. The hotel in my opinion is a 4-4.5 start. Overall it is very well done up but then you see older doors in the hallways that look a little industrial and little details you think would make it jump up a notch but....grab a drink and hit the beach...for the price its tough to complain, this was a fantastic value.
The resort is a decent size but very easy to navigate, you are never far from he pool, bar, restaurants or the beach. You will NOT spend 10 minutes walking anywhere, its very well laid out. The grounds are well kept, staff are friendly and the food was really good. Their are 2 breakfast and lunch buffets ( indoor and outdoor) with a good variety of choices and it changes daily so if you find a new favourite it may not be on the menu again for a couple days...not a problem. There is also the a la carte Sunset grill for lunch and dinner, no reservation required, great menu choices...tasty food. The Japanese restaurant is also walk up dining for dinner but we never bothered. We ended up using room service a coupe times ( free) and again had great menu choices...they make a great Club sandwich!
Evening entertainment...the shows overall were very good, lots of dance/acrobatic types things going on. Only one night was kind of blah. The weird thing is they have no theater or amphitheater. It is all happening in a large ball room so there is not going early to grab a drink, mingle and such. You go , watch the show, then leave. By the time the show is over, there is already something going on in the lobby bar that is usually geared more towards the locals but not in a bad way and I would say that overall there were more locals than at many other places we have stayed but ..not a bad thing. Unlike some resorts where you gets the locals coming in on the weekend and taking over...nothing of the sort here. The beach was great though a ways out there are some big ( more than a foot in diameter) round rocks but hey are easy to see and avoid...and the waves are great, this is not the calm beach you get on the other stretch of the Hotel Zone, it can get a bit rough in higher winds...we loved it. You can walk down the beach for a couple miles in either direction if inclined...no problems there.
The resorts location is very convenient. In one direction, it is 12-15 minute walk to a mall/tourist area with the Hard Rock Cafe, Fats Tuesdays, Co Co Bongo and an open market. in the other direction it is 3-4 minutes to the Flamingo Plaza ( with Bubba Gumps Shrimp and Jimmy Buffets Margaritaville restaurants). A lower end mall with the pushiness of an open market at times. 5 more minutes walking and you are at La Isla Mall/Plaza. Very nice place, lots of places to eat some higher end stores outdoors but covered. 5 more minutes of walking take you to the Kukulcan Mall. this is all indoors and has lots of luxury stores. If you buy too much and don't want to walk the 15 minutes back to the resort, a bus is 9.5 pesos or $1 USD. It'll take 3-4 minutes. If you like outdoor markets and bargain arguing Hop a bus to Market 28...it is their big out door market and takes about 25 minutes by bus. There is also a Wal-Mart 5 minutes farther down the road. Love it or hate it Wal-Mart has the best prices for snacks/produce/pop and things like that in that area. Buses for both of these run every 5 minutes or less for most of the days ( catch the bus on the resort side of the street). The other big mall is Plaza Las America..again 25 minutes by bus but this bus runs way less frequently maybe every 20-30 minutes...not a problem just pay attention at the mall. Bus routes are marked well on the busses.
Lastly check out...late check out wasn't a problem, no issues with transfers and we would go back back without hesitation. this isn't a Riu Palace, but its half the price and we didn't miss much at all.

Room Tip: There don't appear to be to many bad rooms but there are a few budget rooms that face the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jimbe2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias K, Director General at Gran Caribe Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2015
We would like to thank you for choosing our resort as your host on your recent gateway to Cancun.

It was a pleasure having you and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We sincerely look forward to welcome you back on a future occasion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I went there with a friend and we had a wonderful trip :-)
The cleaness of the rooms was very nice
The beach was nice but if you want to have a beach bed you better get up early to reserve it with your towel cause they are popular lol
The restaurants' staff are very attentionate to all your needs but sometimes you may have to have a fit and then they will be on their knees to satisfy all your needs
A special Thanks to the El Coraso staff espacially Antoine (waiter), Hector (waitor) and the Captain Juan de la Cruz
Filet Mignon is not on the menu but if you ask for it you will get it

Room Tip: Our reservation was for a Junior Suite with garden view but when we got there none was available so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdv38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias K, Director General at Gran Caribe Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2015
First of all thank you very much for writing this detailed review about your stay at Gran Caribe Cancun! We thank you for staying with us.

We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Our annual girls trip (6 of us) was spent here from January 19th to January 26th, 2014. I will admit that the check in was slow as well as our rooms weren t ready..when a hotel says check in time is 3pm then it should be 3pm...of course they tried the upgrade speech to the hotel next door..don t like this..we had requested rooms with 2 double beds which was not accommodated.

I ve stayed at a lot of all inclusive resorts and will say that this one was one of the cleanest hotels I ve ever stayed at..from the lobby to the beach to the rooms to the hallways..always spotless..

The staff was excellent..very friendly and great service at all the restaurants, the beach, the bars..the only exception would be the front desk..for some reason they weren t as friendly or helpful for that matter..maybe they should job share and switch it up with the other staff..
Big Mac the beach bartender, Fernando the beach butler, Reuben the waiter at Sunset Grill, Fermin, Felix and others at la Graviota restaurant all to name a few were super friendly ALL the time...very nice people

One complaint I would have is that the only hot tub is by the Spa..we did use it a few times however we were shushed by the spa workers to not talk (and we weren t loud) as people were having massages..maybe they should move the massage room right by the hot tub.. or get another hot tub away from the spa

The food was good...The speciality restaurants were not great..we visited the Italian and the Mexican..neither one was fantastic..service was good but the cannelloni at the Italian restaurant would have made my Italian grandma turn in her grave..not good at all..they need to retrain their chef in Italian cooking.. The buffets were good..always something to choose from...not any worse than any other all incusive I ve been too..they had great Sushi daily..enjoed the fruit and especially enjoyed the Sunset Grill restaurant..outside dining with good food..

All in all we really enjoyed ourselves..I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank girlfest2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias K, Director General at Gran Caribe Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2015
Thank you for your brief yet encouraging review about your past stay.

Our associates strive to provide excellence in service and we are proud to read we were able to meet your expectations throughout your visit at Gran Caribe Cancun.

Once more, thank you and we hope to have the privilege of hosting you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.7 mi away
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
1.2 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
3.0 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe
2.4 mi away
The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
2.8 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#23 of 175 in Cancun
9,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Caribe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Caribe Resort

Property: Gran Caribe Resort
Address: Blvd. Kukulkan, Km 11.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#24 Business Hotel in Cancun
#25 Family Hotel in Cancun
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Caribe Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a beautiful stretch of pristine white sands in the heart of Cancun's famous Hotel Zone stands the spectacular Gran Caribe Resort, welcoming couples, families, friends, and colleagues to relish all-inclusive luxuries, enjoy genuine hospitality, and explore the region's cultural heritage and vibrant entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Gran Caribe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Caribe Real Cancun
Caribe Real Resort Spa
Gran Caribe Cancun
Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa
Cancun Gran Caribe Real Resort
Gran Caribe Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing