We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like a carnival cruise + beach” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Caribe Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gran Caribe Resort
Ranked #28 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Like a carnival cruise + beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend for a wedding. The first thing you'll instantly realize is that few places in this resort are air conditioned. The staff are very helpful and the rooms are decent. We ate at the Albatross mostly which would remind you of a buffet on a Carnival Cruise. As a side note, the clientele will also remind you of a Carnival Cruise. If you are looking for a party location or a place for families, this is a decent spot; but don't look for luxury here. The water is beautiful and the beaches are very clean. This place won't blow you away but won't ruin your vacation.

Room Tip: You have great leverage to upgrade to the VIP floor of the Real or to the Royal when you check-in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias K, Director General at Gran Caribe Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2015
Please know that we will take the matters you expressed in your feedback seriously into consideration for improvement, in order to be a lot more attentive towards your needs in order to accomplish them, and to make your stay as memorable and unique as it could possibly be.

I hope you allow us another opportunity to welcome you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,891
    2,242
    808
    440
    392
See reviews for
2,722
2,178
107
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We just got home from a wonderful vacation in Cancun. The Gran Carib service is awesome. We were so impressed by the pool guys, Daniel and Fernando, the bar waiter Armando, who makes the best margaritas I ever tasted, the zumba instructor, Dana, and the concierge, Alma.
All the waiters at the Albatros restaurant were great. We had a fabulous anniversary dinner at Pescatore II with chanpaign and a special cake. The food is delicious and plentiful. The creative presentation inspired us to take pictures before we ate. Everyone at this resort works so hard to meet your every need. Thank you to the wonderful staff. We'll see you next year.
Kay Montoya 16/6/13

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias K, Director General at Gran Caribe Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2015
We appreciate your comments and the time you took to describe your stay, our best reward is our guest satisfaction. That keeps us training to be better every day

We are looking forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pevely, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

There is plenty of opportunities to eat and drink all you desire. Two restaurants, Marias and Il Pescatore require reservations when you arrive at the hotel, but they are definitely worth it. The service and food are excellent at both. The food and service at the buffets, Albatros and Gaviotas, is good as well. In fact, our group played cards at Gaviotas each night. The waiter, Augustin, brought us several new types of drinks to try. He was great! Also, there are plenty of activities at the hotel. Marco, Dana, Vierly did a fantastic job organizing the activities at the pool each day. I won two bottles of tequila and two T-shirts. Everyone else at the hotel was friendly. The only issue at the hotel was the teenagers that came back from the bars early in the morning. They were drunk and made a lot of noise. However, I would still recommend staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias K, Director General at Gran Caribe Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2015
It was a pleasure to welcome you to Gran CaribeCancun and we very much appreciate you taking the time to share your lovely review with us.

Thank you once again for your feedback and please know we are very much looking forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Traveled with a group of twelve and we all enjoyed our stay. We had a junior suite with 4 people - not an expansive room but we were only in the room to sleep. The fridge wasn't stocked daily like our friends but I didn't feel the need to complain - everything we needed was either in the restaurant or bar. Our room was cleaned thoroughly every day.

We enjoyed the beaches, bars and restaurants.There were other hotel activities (water aerobics, games, volleyball, shows at night, etc.) but we were there to relax. The beach was clean and there was sometimes music on the beach. The waitresses and bartenders were great. We specifically looked for Jose and Jesus at the bar - very friendly and served us well.

The travel agents there were very helpful in answering our questions about market shopping and helping us find a day excursion. A special shout out to the great folks at Lomas Travel for airport transportation and getting us to Xel-Ha!

There is only one negative thing I can say about the hotel. Our hotel room door didn't automatically shut all the way. We made sure the door was pulled shut every time and would have complained about it we if felt like it was a security issue.

Most of the restaurants were buffet style and all the food was good. Nothing fancy but better than I cook at home, lol. There's a 24 hour snack bar with American-like snack food that was quick and easy but not something you want to eat every day. We also ate at Maria's and the Friday night steak dinner - which were excellent and a bit more fancy than the normal buffet meals.

We didn't get a big push to upgrade - thank goodness. They asked and we declined. I'd definitely go again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacationer5968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias K, Director General at Gran Caribe Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2015
First of all thank you very much for writing this detailed review about your stay at Gran Caribe Cancun! We thank you for staying with us.

We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Overall a great stay in Cancun.. Hotel room was more than what we expected, very good service with friendly people. This was our 3rd time in Cancun. It is a great place to go with friends or as a couple. It caters to both.. There are several of things and amenities that the hotel has to offer.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias K, Director General at Gran Caribe Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2015
Thank you for your brief yet encouraging review about your past stay.

Our associates strive to provide excellence in service and we are proud to read we were able to meet your expectations throughout your visit at Gran Caribe Cancun.

Once more, thank you and we hope to have the privilege of hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here 10 years ago (2003) and it was great. We stayed at the Moon Palace the year before (2002) and this past summer (2012) and this place is a mini version of the Moon Palace...a bunch of us just booked a week this coming November 2013 and we will post our review, but it was great 10 years ago and still looks and sounds just as great if not better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias K, Director General at Gran Caribe Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2015
Great review!!

Hope to have the opportunity to have you with us again in the near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the resort from May 30 thru June 3, 2013. We had a blast activities were great.

Tony in the restaurant Gaviotas WAS AMAZING he took care of us every time we ate there great service.
Our room was cleaned to perfection everyday.

Room Tip: we wanted a ocean view it had a hammock for two on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias K, Director General at Gran Caribe Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences with us. It is very gratifying to read how much we exceed you expectations

I look forward to welcoming you in another paradisiacal getaway and create many more memorable experiences!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.9 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
1.7 mi away
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
1.2 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe
3.0 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
2.8 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#21 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Caribe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Caribe Resort

Property: Gran Caribe Resort
Address: Blvd. Kukulkan, Km 11.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#24 Business Hotel in Cancun
#25 Family Hotel in Cancun
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Caribe Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a beautiful stretch of pristine white sands in the heart of Cancun's famous Hotel Zone stands the spectacular Gran Caribe Resort, welcoming couples, families, friends, and colleagues to relish all-inclusive luxuries, enjoy genuine hospitality, and explore the region's cultural heritage and vibrant entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Gran Caribe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Caribe Real Cancun
Caribe Real Resort Spa
Gran Caribe Cancun
Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa
Cancun Gran Caribe Real Resort
Gran Caribe Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing