We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our first Christmas in Cancun”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gran Caribe Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gran Caribe Resort
Ranked #30 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
fort worth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our first Christmas in Cancun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Wilei visiting Cancun and GCR are no stangers to us, experiencing our first Christmas away from home was great. I had always wanted to see Santa land on the beach in his helicopter (thanks for the free sand body scrub, Santa!) was so worth it. And then taking pics in the lobby was neat. While I did not get to participate in the Christmas Eve dinner, I still enjoyed how eveybody was in the Christmas spirit and friendly. I thoroughly enjoyed seeing our extended family of the staff. Although I was disappointed to know that Guadalupe (lobby bartender) has left. He will be greatly missed. He is a very nice and special person. Lilliana (hostess) was beautiful and sweet as usual. Hi again to Carlos, Romi, Patty, Angel, Danial, and others I can't remember right now. (all beach bar bartenders)

It was nice that there was no construction going on. But what happened to the hot weather! LOL It was weird for it to be so cool.

The only thing I beg of the owners is to supply for fresh-steamed vegetables. While your meat choices are ample, finding fresh steamed vegetables needs to be addressed.

The staff really make this hotel the place to go. We look forward to visiting as often as possible.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FortWorthTabbygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias K, Director General at Gran Caribe Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2015
First of all thank you very much for writing this detailed review about your stay at Gran Caribe Cancun! We thank you for staying with us.

We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,956
    2,263
    815
    445
    394
See reviews for
2,770
2,214
110
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manitoba
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Honestly one of the best properties all around. Six of us travelled - two adults, two kids and two grandmothers. Grandms'a ocean veiw room was perfectly clean all the time (thank goodness or we would have heard about it). We had a family pool front room - bunkbed with a trundle so you can sleep three kids, king bed for us, two sinks, one in and none out of the bathroom - exactly what we wanted. This place has staff cleaning 24/7. Everything is spotless. The buffets are great - top quality food, incredible flavors. Theme changes daily. The 4 a la carte's are good too - particularily the Italian and the Mexican. Gourmet food served by top notch staff, presentation is incredible too. Our kids are a little to old for the kids club (12 and 15) but used the water slides and ping pong table lots. The gaming room was always packed as we were there over christmas and newyears along with many other families. That did not bother them at all as they brought their tablets and ipods. If you have small children, the kids club area is over the top. mini golf, pirate ship pool, trampoline, splash pad, kids pool, dedicated kids staff with activities from sun up till bed time!
SO thrilled to see cabanas and not palapas. Lots of room by the pool and the beach, fun activities, great location and lots to do. Every staff member truely cares and goes out of their way to make your stay memorable.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the kids pool are VERY loud at night untill midnight when the lobby bar closes - the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winterinwinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias K, Director General at Gran Caribe Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2015
Thank you for your brief yet encouraging review about your past stay.

Our associates strive to provide excellence in service and we are proud to read we were able to meet your expectations throughout your visit at Gran Caribe Cancun.

Once more, thank you and we hope to have the privilege of hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Because I ran after trouble, I got sick on my fourth day at the GCR. I needed to rest daytime and because of the activity going on in this resort during the day, it was impossible; obviously!

The personnal accomodate me right away sending me to their quiet sister's Hotel (The Royal) at a fraction of the usual price for the upgrade.

After resting a couple of days, I will be able to enjoy most of my vacation

Thanks to J.A. Hernandez

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias K, Director General at Gran Caribe Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2015
Great review!!

Hope to have the opportunity to have you with us again in the near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

this year we decided to go back to the Gran caribe real ... 7th visit .. and as usual it was 85 everyday. the beach is super super nice and danial with his huge smile always on his face bringing you drinks makes it that much better thanks danial you are great.. infact there is alot of staff members there that treat us good my second visit to this resort (which was 2 years after the 1st) we were rembered by angel the bell hop and victor in the loby bar love those two guys when we went to the resteraunt we were greeted by our last name as we were walking in the door YES SHE REMEMBERED OUR LAST NAME FROM 2 YEARS PRIOR she said ohla mr. simpson...I was instantly in love :-) thank you Raquel Martinez I <3 u ... well this year stood out from all the rest we met this spunky little thing that worked for the entertainment staff her name was Dana Perdigón... if you are going to go to this resort you better be ready for this girl she was SOOOO much fun .no matter how hungover you feel from the night before she has this way of picking you up... it didnt matter what was going on it just seemed like she took time out to visit with everyone and liven things up .she was just a bundle of fire wraped into this little body we are planning a huge trip back next december and cant wait to introduce all of our friends to these wonderful staff members ...everyone at this resort is very nice the place is very clean and the food is great . speaking of food if you end up at this resort you must go to the upstairs buffet and have hector as your waiter trust me he will put a smile on your face. I could go on and on and on about this place. when it comes down to it I really wish I was a part of this staff I bet it would be a fun place to work... if you get a chance you must visit this resort and if you do .please tell dana that you read on the internet that she is awesome

Room Tip: do yourself a favor ... upgrade to ocean front it is worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank simpson12_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias K, Director General at Gran Caribe Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences with us. It is very gratifying to read how much we exceed you expectations

I look forward to welcoming you in another paradisiacal getaway and create many more memorable experiences!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a group of 11 family members that came down in late December to spend Christmas together. We all agreed that the food was wonderful, the staff worked hard and always had smiles on their faces. The ocean view was beautiful from the hotel and had a beautiful beach w/lots of lounge chairs, cabanas and a bar. We loved our pool and beach waiters, Maclovio "Big Mac", Daniel, Jose and Fermin; the kids loved the games they played in the pool (bingo, pool races, volleyball, blackjack, among others) and found the entertainment pretty good too. The hotel was clean, pretty and easy walking distance to other restaurants and shopping centers. We really didn't have to leave the hotel. Our only complaint was the door slamming that occurred each morning-halls are tile and either wind would pull them shut or people would slam them. It was very loud but plan on going back again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias K, Director General at Gran Caribe Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2015
Thank you very much for writing us in regards to your recent stay at Gran Caribe Cancun

We truly appreciate when a guests takes their time to share with us their “Gran” experience!

Once again, thank you and we hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Dana Perdigon is the best! Very sweet and helpful and gave me good dance lessons! We were on the 6th floor -Room 2622. Very noisy . There were doors banging at night which woke me up a few times. Cleaning crew was excellent and helpful!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank p c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias K, Director General at Gran Caribe Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2015
Gracias for taking part of your valuable time to share with us your experience,

We are very happy to know that you had a fabulous vacation with us

Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin,TX
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I know this is kind of long, but I want to express our experiences and observations....All inclusive is a great way to go, this was our first experience going all inclusive. Especially if your going to Cancun with a family, your kids can eat until they fall over. We arrived and assigned room 2221, the bellman took us to the room. Our package vacation was to be a king size bed and a sofa with an ocean view. We walked in the, there was 2 double beds, and out the window was a brown wall, kids putt-putt golf and play area. The ocean view was a sliver of a view of the ocean between corners of the building. Don't accept a room in this area, it's terrible. We demanded a room with a king bed, sofa and ocean view. It took sometime then bellman took us to room 2507, we walked in the room and were blown away, what a beautiful view. The second number in the room number is the floor level of the hotel. In our new room 2507, was king size bed and bathroom sink and very huge very nice shower. You walk further in the room to a sunken area with a sofa and small table with 2 chairs. Booze dispenser is on the wall next to the TV console. Mini refrig. is stocked with bottled water, sodas, and beer. Out on the balcony we overlooked the main swimming pool and the view of the beach and hotels southward from our 5th floor room. Pesky pigeons roosted on the balcony walls. The fireworks from the 5th floor looking down the beach was fantastic. The hallways of the hotel are marble, thus acted as an echo chamber. Rooms around the elevators are probably very noisy too. The employees are very helpful and very much customer friendly. The food was pretty good such as in Gavitas and Albatross. I don't know how many times they has calamari in some kind of sauce and pasta with some kind of sauce. We noticed an incident that the chef was using a set of tongs to move some fish then use the same tongs to make my wife a pasta dish (cross contamination big time). The wife said no way she was going to eat the pasta he was going to make. We didn't like the menus at Maria's or Al Pastors so we can't comment on them. If your a boozer, an all inclusive is the way to go, let it be wine, beer, liquor, any kind of mix drink, even champagne. I would consider this hotel/resort as almost spotless, we did have some tiny ants on the patio and in the room. People were continuously clean the floor in the lobbies. My wife went to the spa for one of their 2.5 hr treatment and said it was great. Patrons of the hotel were from all over the world. Don't bother with the over priced taxis, take the bus, 17 pesos for 2 people. Just go out front of the hotel and raise your arm for the bus to stop. There is a bus every 30 seconds, it seems. Don't expect A/C on the bus, the windows are all open, but ok. Overall not knowing much about this hotel/resort we would definitely stay here again. We stayed 30Dec 12 to 5Jan13.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nmd1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias K, Director General at Gran Caribe Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2015
On behalf of Gran Caribe Cancun staff and myself, we appreciate the time you took to share with us your positive review!

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.9 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
1.7 mi away
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
1.2 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe
3.0 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
2.4 mi away
The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Caribe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Caribe Resort

Property: Gran Caribe Resort
Address: Blvd. Kukulkan, Km 11.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#24 Business Hotel in Cancun
#25 Family Hotel in Cancun
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Caribe Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a beautiful stretch of pristine white sands in the heart of Cancun's famous Hotel Zone stands the spectacular Gran Caribe Resort, welcoming couples, families, friends, and colleagues to relish all-inclusive luxuries, enjoy genuine hospitality, and explore the region's cultural heritage and vibrant entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Booking.com, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Caribe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Caribe Real Cancun
Caribe Real Resort Spa
Gran Caribe Cancun
Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa
Cancun Gran Caribe Real Resort
Gran Caribe Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing