We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Roman Catholic wedding chapel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Gran Caribe Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gran Caribe Resort
Ranked #30 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful Roman Catholic wedding chapel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

Our family of four adults stayed at the Gran Caribe Real Resort for a relative's wedding last weekend. The glass enclosed wedding chapel overlooking the beach was beautiful and private. Because of rain and wind, the reception needed to be moved off the beach and into a rather mundane conference room in the basement of the resort. Unfortunately, the food served buffet style was less than desirable, and the wedding cake was inedible and only one layer. For an all inclusive, where guests are forced to eat at the resort's restaurants, the food is the biggest disappointment overall. The food at the Sunset Grill ranged from acceptable lunches to inedible hunks of "steak" tacos for dinner. Food in the other two no-reservation restaurants was on par with college dormitory food. We ate at Maria's one evening and service and food were much better; however, the restaurant is in the interior of the resort with no windows and uncomfortaby hot. The fire display in making the Mayan coffee was the highlight of the meal for all of us. The drinks at the bar and in the restaurant were very lacking in alcohol content and disappointing. Another disappointment was the very small size of the adult pool. However, we spent most of our free time under the cabanas on the beach, which sheltered us from the heat and harsh sun. The beach at Gran Caribe Resort is truly beautiful and fairly quiet. The staff were very friendly and kept the resort spotlessly clean. However, the guest services staff were very pushy and tried to sell us on time share tours and other tours everytime we walked thru the lobby. Even the towel kiosk by the pool promoted their excursions when not interested. We were happy to leave the Gran Caribe Real and move into another resort where we had a much more positive experience.

Room Tip: Recommend paying a little extra for an ocean front room on a high floor, which have a full view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimibreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias K, Director General at Gran Caribe Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2015
We are pleased to greet you and at the same time thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit to Cancun.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back so you can witness the changes we implement on a daily basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,957
    2,263
    815
    445
    394
See reviews for
2,770
2,215
110
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

we stay an entire week. sea is wonderful but the hotel do not exceed your expectations as they say. cheap alcohol (it really taste as alcohol) very noisi rooms (you can hear all around other rooms all the night). if you call for room service they wake you up at midnight asking for the dishes. no early room cleanup you have to wait until non. food is ok but the worst thing is the attitude service seems to be wrong ask for something to the staff .

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mty_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias K, Director General at Gran Caribe Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2015
We are terribly sorry you had such an unpleasant experience at our resort.

We hope you give us the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future and if there is anything you need please do not hesitate to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

Went to Cancun with three couples, mutual friends. The food was not great, we like to dance and there was no disco at the Hotel.

Room Tip: It's hard to tell which room will be good for you, since they just gave us whatever room was ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beasanta13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias K, Director General at Gran Caribe Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2015
Thank you for your comments, they mean a lot to us as we consider every one of them to improve in all aspects

We hope to have the opportunity of welcome you back in the future to change your perception of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

Stayed here for an all girls trip with friends from college for a birthday celebration. Overall it was a good experience. Reservations for dinner on the last night were supposed to have been made by front desk because I was doing an excursion that left before the desk opened to make them and it wasn't done! So we had to settle for dinner in one of the other restaurants...the food could have been better, some places were better than others. The staff is very friendly overall, especially the housekeeping staff. We got massages on the beach and it was charged to the room and mine was done by Lilliana, and she was excellent!!! My room was supposed to be an ocean front suite, but it the view was kinda off to me....I was thinking it was more of a view instead of front. The offer you this upgrade at check-in that really isn't worth the money because with it you get to dine next door for one night. I was going to do it becasue half of my group was doing it but they didn't have their upgrade available and tried to get me to do an upgrade for an additional $300!!!! I politely declined!!!! The Lomas travel guys in the corner were very good and friendly and helped out with booking excursions and club tickets, and provided free transportation to the club. Also, one last thing...they try to get you to do this timeshare presentation and offer little gifts that to me were not worth my time. If you are into it, ok, but if not, you can forego it. They can waste lots of time and you can be enjoying more of your vacation otherwise.

Room Tip: The ocean front suite is really an ocean view room...there was a wall obscuring my view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QueenE F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias K, Director General at Gran Caribe Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2015
Great review!!

Hope to have the opportunity to have you with us again in the near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

Just got back from a week stay in Cancun at the Gran Caribe Real Resort, stayed from May 14th-20th. Overall, great time and I would return for a second vacation without hesitation. What makes this resort perfect is, without question, its staff, beginning with the hotel waiters, room service persons and the hotel activity team (Gama, Jesus, Dani, Omar & Cindy). The Hotel activity Team made the whole group of us feel welcome from the minute we arrived. They all introduced themselves and made it a point to learn everyone's names in order to invite us to join in all the activities around the pool and on the beach.

The hotel is not the newest on the beach, but is in a great location for shopping and night life, which is just a 1 dollar US bus ride away. On the food side the dinners were five star, while the breakfasts and lunches were buffet's but still very, very good. Here are my Pro's & Con's list:

Pro's: Nice beach, great pool and pool activities (which can be a lot of fun), targeted for teens and adults (which we liked) great dinners, wonderful service, very fairly priced.
Con's: Not a brand new hotel (but this keeps the cost in line), very warm in the upper breakfast dinning room, very expensive excursions were offered and we found much cheaper one's by calling around and going on our own.

Room Tip: Upgrade to at least Jr Suites. On the Pool side is NOT a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjc6890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias K, Director General at Gran Caribe Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences with us. It is very gratifying to read how much we exceed you expectations

I look forward to welcoming you in another paradisiacal getaway and create many more memorable experiences!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

I was a little leery of the cleanliness of a hotel outside the United States. This place was so clean, you could eat off the floor! The staff was VERY GOOD! My wife and I experienced a Spa treatment with Anel and Marisol. These ladies were the best! Highest marks for everything!

If you are looking for an all-inclusive place in Cancun, I don't think you will find a better place than Gran Caribe Real.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RIMUG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias K, Director General at Gran Caribe Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2015
Thank you very much for writing us in regards to your recent stay at Gran Caribe Cancun

We truly appreciate when a guests takes their time to share with us their “Gran” experience!

Once again, thank you and we hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We booked our trip with Jennifer from Tripguy and she was excellent. We received our documents in advance and were able to fly with confidence with the info booklet she sent us.

THe hotel was excellent. The staff was courteous, helpful and at our service.
Constant attention from the staff making sure we were comfortable.
In one of the buffets/restaurants I asked for something I ate the day before and because they didnt have it at that time he asked the chef to make me something similar and primised he would have it for me the following day.

The following day as promised they had my requested item even though they didnt have it on the menu that day.
EXCELLENT EXCELLENT SERVICE!!!

Definetley will book again and with Jenifer from Tripguy.

Room Tip: All rooms and any type of rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meliza P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias K, Director General at Gran Caribe Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2015
Gracias for taking part of your valuable time to share with us your experience,

We are very happy to know that you had a fabulous vacation with us

Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.9 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
1.7 mi away
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
1.2 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe
3.0 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
2.4 mi away
The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Caribe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Caribe Resort

Property: Gran Caribe Resort
Address: Blvd. Kukulkan, Km 11.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#24 Business Hotel in Cancun
#25 Family Hotel in Cancun
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Caribe Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a beautiful stretch of pristine white sands in the heart of Cancun's famous Hotel Zone stands the spectacular Gran Caribe Resort, welcoming couples, families, friends, and colleagues to relish all-inclusive luxuries, enjoy genuine hospitality, and explore the region's cultural heritage and vibrant entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Caribe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Caribe Real Cancun
Caribe Real Resort Spa
Gran Caribe Cancun
Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa
Cancun Gran Caribe Real Resort
Gran Caribe Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing