We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE REAL CLUB MEMBERSHIP”
Review of Gran Caribe Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Caribe Resort
Ranked #29 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“BEWARE REAL CLUB MEMBERSHIP”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Dont get me wrong the resort especially the Royal next door are great. I am here to warn you about the FREE guided tour to get you to buy into the Real Club. I could write a lot of information but I will keep it simple. they incentatives especially the gaurantee buy back weeks program every year is FAKE!! They will nto provide you any brokers or the ones you get on a sheet are scam/ers that want you to pay hundreds of dollars. they will try and get you to pay thousands of dollars to invest in weeks. Do the math first...make sure your cost plus the fees they charge are lower than if you booked your trip thru expedia or some other source. Example if you buy 100 weeks at $20000 ...you are paying $ 200 a week plus your nightly fee of around $100 each. You total cost for the trip is around $1600 plus flight. Just make sure you bring a calculator and see what you are paying for a week then add thier fee to see if you are getting a good deal Dont trust the extras..they are tools to get you to buy but they are fake.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank travelerSAtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias K, Director General at Gran Caribe Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences with us. It is very gratifying to read how much we exceed you expectations

I look forward to welcoming you in another paradisiacal getaway and create many more memorable experiences!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,110
    2,307
    828
    459
    401
See reviews for
2,873
2,280
116
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Went there on a family trip, my cousin was getting married. Never going to Mexico again in their summer months July, August, soooo hot and humid!!! The hotel was okay, it was small but still nice. Not very good circulation, not sure if the air conditioning was working in the lobby nor restaurants or it was just plain hot! Dont mind being hot during the day at the beach but in the evenings were unbearable. Couldn't even hang out at the lobby because it was too hot, Sweating profusely even though we were just sitting at the lobby and doing nothing. Preferred to stay in the room where it was nice and cool. The restaurants were okay, the buffets were small and not that many choice for food. The Steak place a la carte was pretty good.
My cousin chose this resort because she wanted to get married in a chapel. Very beautiful glass, chapel on the beach. The only thing again was very hot, no air, but still amazing view. Overall, it was an okay resort. I preferred the resort i stayed in April at Great Parnasus. The Royal next door was there sister hotel, now that one is beautiful!!! If you can upgrade, you should.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Royal resort next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenfred78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias K, Director General at Gran Caribe Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2015
Thank you for taking your time for your review at the Gran Caribe Cancun. All the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are always of value to us, We do apologize for the mishaps your experienced. Please rest assure that these issues you have raised have been addressed and that the proper action has been taken.

We do hope you give us a second chance in the future and thank you again for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewee Valley, Kentucky
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Nice hotel with clean rooms, lots of food options that were good. We especially liked the open air dining option at Graviotas. The staff there was always friendly and efficient, especially Roberto and Guadalupe. Geovanni at the towel shack was very friendly and remembered my name everytime I came for a fresh towel. He was also very helpful in booking the skyrider/parasailing adventure.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonInKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias K, Director General at Gran Caribe Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2015
Thank you very much for writing us in regards to your recent stay at Gran Caribe Cancun

We truly appreciate when a guests takes their time to share with us their “Gran” experience!

Once again, thank you and we hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Got off to a bit of a bad start as we were delayed a day and consequently when we went to check in they had given our room to someone else. Found us a temporary room only to be moved the next day. I was a little tied and irritable due to the travel incident and probably their indifference to the situation wouldn't have annoyed me so much in different circumstances.

Anyway couple of days on and no still don't like the hotel. Breakfast is horrible, dinner is terrible and yet lunch is surprisingly good. Room is ok but the beds/pillows were not comfortable. The pool area always had plenty of sun loungers available and unlike some of the other Cancun Hotels the sun doesn't disappear mid afternoon. I liked the fact that you had plenty of space in between each lounger but the loungers themselves were not comfortable and the pool was a bit something and nothing. There is a little bar at one end of the pool but it was not well stocked. Order a Pina Colada and bring your own straw.

The main bar during quiet times is fairly nice and they do mix a good Mojito but when it is busy you feel its one drink away from vomitsville. The hotel itself is in a good location and directly opposite two good restaurants.

The hotel is ok but for me not particularly comfortable or relaxing. If you are on a budget this probably is as good as you will get for the money but if you can afford more go elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susie2jeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias K, Director General at Gran Caribe Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2015
Thank you for leaving us a review of your stay. We value your comments and feedback immensely.

We very much appreciate you providing us with the areas of opportunity you experienced during your stay as it allows up to see where we need to improve.

We hope you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future and make sure you receive the excellence in service you deserve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

My friend and I travelled all the way from Australia for a girls trip in Cancun and stayed at the Gran Caribe Real Resort and Spa and could not be happier with every aspect of our stay.
From check in the staff were very helpful, with guest services giving us tips on things we should do whilst in Cancun, and the pool and entertainment staff in particular ensured you never had a dull moment. Our room was spacious, and cleaned well everyday. The hotels location was also quite good, being walking distance from some of the clubs. The only negative thing was that the food was average- however being all inclusive this didnt bother us too much.
Overall, we had a very memorable stay and I will definately stay there again if I get the chance to go back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imogenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias K, Director General at Gran Caribe Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2015
Gracias for taking part of your valuable time to share with us your experience,

We are very happy to know that you had a fabulous vacation with us

Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We have just returned from a 10 night stay at the gran caribe , I wouldn't say it's the best hotel but wouldn't not recommend it. When we first arrived with our 2 year old they allocated us a room with a 2 ft wall on the balcony and a 12 ft drop on the other side , which was unacateble. I went to change rooms and ended up paying $300 to upgrade to a suite which in all fairness was quite dated.
The pool area is a decent size and the children pool is great for the kids , the staff are really good and there no shortage on drinks. The food in the hotel is really good especially the grill were you can go as many times as you want with no surcharge they had all cuts of meat to restaurant quality.
Overall the staff make the hotel they are friendly and keep the hotel very clean , it's in a good location , the only thing I would say is that the hotel is a little dated maybe 20 years since it's last renovation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scabailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias K, Director General at Gran Caribe Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2015
On behalf of Gran Caribe Cancun staff and myself, we appreciate the time you took to share with us your positive review!

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We had a wonderful time at the Gran Caribe. The resort is very clean, the rooms also and the beds are extremely comfortable. We had an Oceanfront room with a fantastic view. the sunrises were spectacular, the beach excellent with lots of lounge chairs and the water great for swimming and frolicking.

There's an Aqua World kiosk onsite so you can book any tours you like through them for a reasonable price. The scuba diving was excellent as well as the Isla Mujeres tour and Jungle tour...lots of time for snorkeling.

All the restaurants had good food and it varied every day so you don't get bored. The staff too was excellent and very willing to see to your needs, should any arise.

We tipped our maid $3US every second day (starting with the first) and she kept our room spotless. We also tipped our waiters a couple of bucks at each meal and they were quick to bring coffee, drinks, etc. and very appreciative.

The buses to downtown or anywhere along the hotel zone stop right out front of the resort and are very cheap and fast. They also had some of the local merchants at the resort every night so you can buy almost anything you want but remember: barter, barter, barter. I never pay their asking price and usually start at about 25% of what they want and go from there but never spend more than 50% as you can likely find it somewhere else for what YOU want to pay. It's all part of the game.

We are thinking about going again next year and staying there. We had a fantastic time!!!

Note: we were 2 couples but the kids we saw at the resort were all having a great time too.

Room Tip: Oceanfront room is great and you don't hear any noise from the pool area during the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snorkelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matias K, Director General at Gran Caribe Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2015
We appreciate your comments and the time you took to describe your stay, our best reward is our guest satisfaction. That keeps us training to be better every day

We are looking forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.7 mi away
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
1.2 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.2 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
2.4 mi away
The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
2.8 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#23 of 175 in Cancun
9,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Caribe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Caribe Resort

Property: Gran Caribe Resort
Address: Blvd. Kukulkan, Km 11.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#24 Business Hotel in Cancun
#25 Family Hotel in Cancun
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Caribe Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a beautiful stretch of pristine white sands in the heart of Cancun's famous Hotel Zone stands the spectacular Gran Caribe Resort, welcoming couples, families, friends, and colleagues to relish all-inclusive luxuries, enjoy genuine hospitality, and explore the region's cultural heritage and vibrant entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Gran Caribe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Caribe Real Cancun
Caribe Real Resort Spa
Gran Caribe Cancun
Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa
Cancun Gran Caribe Real Resort
Gran Caribe Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing