We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BAD FOR NON-SMOKERS - NON RESPONSIVE MANAGEMENT”
Review of GR Solaris Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GR Solaris Cancun
Ranked #35 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2009

An all inclusive luxury resort that is NOT responsive to the needs and concerns of its guests and members. The food was OK, the shows entertaining and high energy.

Being allergic to cigarette smoke, I requested a non-smoking room. My room was bright and airy, but the hallway smelled strongly of fresh cigarette smoke. I notified the front desk and they told me that would take care of it. I reported this on Friday, the day that I checked in, twice on Saturday, again on Sunday. Each time the front desk assured us that they had taken care of it, but after 6 days of complaining on a daily basis, management has not fixed this problem. Despite their repeated assurances that they were addressing this concern and fixing the problem, there continues to be smoke throughout the non-smoking floor.

If you want a smoke free environment or to stay somewhere where management listens to your concerns, and enforces it own rules, then the GR Solaris is NOT the place for you.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lee510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,780)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,226 - 3,232 of 4,781 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2009

I had stayed at this hotel back in April and forgot to write a review, so here it is. I would definately recomment this hotel. It is a beautiful hotel with gorgeous views, and almost all the staff-including the entertainment staff, the cleaning staff and the lobby staff are very sweet and make you feel welcome..they could be an example to alot of other hotels as to what hospitality is. we did encounter lots of timeshare, but instead of grumbling on about how it was a waste of time, blah blah blah..just say no thanks and they will not push you. the manager at the hotel was very personable, and remembered us throughout our stay, and made sure to greet us and make conversation when we ran into him, he previously did try to discuss timeshare with us, but he continued to be courteous for the rest of the stay even though we refused his offers. the improvements i would suggest is the rooms could use an upgrade, for a 4-star, they are quite simple and sterile. the drinks as well could be less diluted. i failed to get even buzzed after numerous drinks. there are quite a few different options for restaurants, and i did not find the food to be as bad at all as the other reviewers.overall, i am happy and the hotel was a very positive experience, and i would recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rifa8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2009

For starters let me say this is my wife and I 5th year in a row traveling to Mexico in December. We both mid-20's and enjoy drinking and eating and relaxing on vacation.
So Lets start with the Good-
Hotel layout and design-very nice compact layout with bautiful grounds and even better pool with great swim up bar and activity pool.
Rooms- very simple but clean and fuctionable, and great views!
Employees- all were very nice and helpful with smiles (sosa at the swim up bar is the best!)
The Bad-
Entertainment staff- I felt they did a very poor job, often many days they were hung over and never really got much going on until late afternoon when they wanted to repromote what club they were going back out to at night (off grounds)
The Ugly-
The male entertainment staff- I dont know what their problem was but they found it fun to make the younger in shape guys look bad. I just shook it off but one inpaticular really had it out for me( I think its because he was 5'7 and built but i am 5'11 and built) He was their to be part of the entertainment staff but he really was out for himself.
Food- Horrible taste, horrible selection, just all in all not good.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benjohn15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2009

An all inclusive luxury resort that is NOT responsive to the needs and concerns of its guests and members. The food was OK, the shows entertaining and high energy.

Being allergic to cigarette smoke, I requested a non-smoking room. My room was bright and airy, but the hallway smelled strongly of fresh cigarette smoke. I notified the front desk and they told me that would take care of it. I reported this on Friday, the day that I checked in, twice on Saturday, again on Sunday. Each time the front desk assured us that they had taken care of it, but after 6 days of complaining on a daily basis, management has not fixed this problem. Despite their repeated assurances that they were addressing this concern and fixing the problem, there continues to be smoke throughout the non-smoking floor.

If you want a smoke free environment or to stay somewhere where management listens to your concerns, and enforces it own rules, then the GR Solaris is NOT the place for you.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lee510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2009

My boyfriend and I had a cruise that was cancelled from Miami so we opted to go to Cancun. Due to the last minute plans the default hotel was GR Solaris. We were not able to really research, and went on the mixed reviews from Trip Advisor....I wish we would have kept looking. In all, the hotel was mediocre. First off, please let me emphasize the annoying employees who literally push you to their "time-share" presentation. It is literally a waste of a morning (8:30AM - 12PM). If you are not planning on buying, do not waste your time. On another note, the rooms were very simple, nothing great. The food was blah, not much variety. For an all-inclusive, they did not have many options, we were not able to eat at the only ONE restaurant they had that took reservations. The pool and swim up pool were nice; note, there is no beach. The night entertainment at the hotel was decent. We tried out the spa, it was just ok. I would do my research before booking at this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJatNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2009

We ended up with GR Solaris through Hotwire and stayed there 3 nights. This hotel may have been okay some 30 years ago, but it is definitely not a 4-star (or 5-star according to the hotel itself): it is a 2-star at best. My wife and I have traveled a lot and this hotel is definitely not a good deal from any angle. You can have good time staying here only if
a) you are old and lonely,
b) you are single 20-something and want to get laid,
c) you have never traveled anywhere and don't know any better.
In detail:
- food is stale and tasteless, lots of canned stuff and little freshly cooked food,
- room is Motel 8/Days Inn style,
- No in-room Internet,
- TVs are old and have loud buzz, so you cannot watch anything (we changed our initial room and it's the same everywhere),
- air conditioning makes high-pitch noise,
- walls are paper-thin, so you can hear your neighbors having sex or scolding children,
- alcohol is soooooo diluted, you cannot get drunk simply because you cannot consume so many mixers: you'll be overloaded with sugar and high fructose corn syrup (the included Mexican wine is vomit-inducing, really; the only option is beer, and you can have Sol, all right),
- towels are old and gross light-diarrhea color (I'm being honest).

In sum, instead of spending $130/night for two people here you can spend $100 at Marriott or similar better hotel and buy your own tequila and have lunches/dinners in town. I assume other all-inclusive places are similarly crappy.

In general, Cancun does not have good beaches (even though Solaris does have reasonable access to theocean) - the beaches are artificial with rocks showing every now and then and the ocean is way too rough most time of the year. Better go to Baja.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rtw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2009

Nice hotel, well situated, friendly staff, clean over all. But the food; so lausy, no taste. I advice the management to fire the chefs asap, and the we will be back in 11 months. Otherwise we will be back in Cancun, but definately at another hotel.

Regards
Flemming
Denmark

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flemmingt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.5 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#26 of 176 in Cancun
3,263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Solaris Cancun
Royal Solaris Cancun
#43 of 176 in Cancun
5,024 reviews
2.3 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 176 in Cancun
4,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
1.2 mi away
The Royal Caribbean
The Royal Caribbean
#37 of 176 in Cancun
2,186 reviews
6.1 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GR Solaris Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GR Solaris Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulkan Lote 59 2 Etapa, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Cancun
#29 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#29 Business Hotel in Cancun
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $212 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — GR Solaris Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GR Solaris Cancun is an all inclusive beachfront resort that offers a range of facilities and a full slate of activities daily. Guests have access to two swimming pools, a spa tub, a 22.5-Meter (74-foot) stretch of beach, and a fitness center. The hotel also has a marina, where non-motorized water sports, tennis courts, and a volleyball court are available. Other amenities include concierge services, a spa, a hair salon, and laundry facilities (no dry cleaning services). Business amenities include meeting rooms, banquet facilities, event catering, a ballroom, and business center with Internet access (surcharge for all). Three restaurants, two snack bars, and two bars are on site. Room service is available 24 hours a day. NEW Wall climbing and mini cinema Solaris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your GR Solaris Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gr Solaris Cancun Hotel Cancun
Solaris Cancun
Grand Solaris Cancun
Gr Solaris Hotel Cancun
Gr Solaris Cancun & Spa
Gr Solaris Cancun Mexico
Grand Royal Solaris Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing