We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth the money”
Review of GR Solaris Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GR Solaris Cancun
Ranked #35 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2009

This was the first all inclusive resort I have stayed at and found it to be well worth the money. A huge list of cocktails to choose from, top shelf drinks were supplied on request. The beach was amazing and the staff were great, lots of activities poolside. I would definately return.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T_Mac_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,935)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,375 - 3,381 of 4,935 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2009

Great vacation with all the right choices! Excellent hotel with great staff. The photos on the GR Solaris website are to the "T"! Gotta get the Deluxe Room with Panoramic View. It has both a spectacular view of the ocean but also the pool. Bed was sooo comfy! We stayed in room 8350. Our maid was excellent and left us towel figures everyday! We tipped her about $2 US daily. The food at the buffett was so-so but customizable. You just have to ask. Entertainment staff was soo much fun! Thanks Danny and Ailean for making our poolside the best! Shakie Shakie. We did one tour, one nightclub, and a walk in town, the rest of the time was well spent at the pool and lobby entertainment. Lots of SUNSCREEN! Tour: Xel-Ha w/out Tulum recommended. We did Tulum and it was WAY too HOT to be touring without getting in the water. We snorkled the entire park and saw rainbow fish, sting rays, baracuda and much more. We ate at the restraunt by the spa and by far the BEST MEXICAN FOOD EVER!!! BTW-book with Sol-Ha (GR Solaris staff will direct you). All inclusive with admission. Also book your transportation with GR Solaris ahead of time otherwise you'll be paying an arm and a leg for taxi. We used the public bus for our visit to town $.50. Very clean town! Ask ask ask, the hotel staff will give you all the insight on the tours entertainment etc. Nightclub: COCOBONGO is a MUST! We never experienced a club like that. They do celebrity impersonations to the "T", dancing on the bar and stage, balloons, bubbles and confetti every 10 mins. Awesome experience! Lobby entertainment is so-so but fun! We'll be back for sure!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Frog25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2009

My wife and I travelled from Australia to stay at the GR Solaris in Cancun from the 2 Oct to 11 Oct 09. The whole experience at the GR Solaris was wonderful, we cannot say enough about how impressed we were with the staff of the resort they were simply amazing and could not do enough for us.

Having flown over 23 Hours to get there, coupled with the inevitable flight delays it took us 30 hours to get to the GR Solaris from Sydney Australia, so our comments and recommendations are not made lightly.

The cleanliness of the rooms was faultless; they were always cleaned and serviced daily regardless of the time we left it.

The food in all of the restaurants we found to be very very good, if there was something that was not to our liking then there was simply a large selection to choose from, choose something else. How can you go wrong when you have a Bloody Mary and Champagne stand at breakfast to start your day.

All inclusive, really just lock you money away you don't need it except for tips if you wish to.

The hotel amenities were fabulous, we spent the vast majority of our time at the hotel relaxing and partying around the pool, were the pool staff were simply amazing and provided for a fun filled atmosphere all day long with a host of activities. If the activities are not to your liking just watch and don't take part, sit at the swim up bar and grab another drink or go over to the quiet pool.

The hotel itself was extremely well maintained we often see then cleaning tirelessly late at night

We took a few trips through the travel agency at the Hotel Sol Ha, there was never a problem everything was on time and well managed, however, I think there are better prices available over the net as opposed to booking personally. A great tip given to us was that by booking there at least you know what the weather is like as opposed to booking in advance, personal choice.

Time share, well we said no at the start and were not hassled again, however towards the end of it we asked about it again and initiated a reviewed of it and brought into a short three year deal to sample, once again personal choice just say no and you will be left alone and you are not treated any differently.

The best part of our experience was not only the wonderful weather, beautiful hotel, but the friendly staff and the friends we met that we are sure we will remain friends forever with.

Don't hesitate go you will enjoy; the place is wonderful and well priced. We are going back this time next year for two weeks and taking our little ones, even taking into account our 20+ hours of flying it’s worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Smifths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

I had an amazing experience with the staff. The location was amazing and the hotel was exactly as I expected. Overall, I not only recommend this hotel, but would most likely book again!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manny127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Just like most reviews, the time share thing is one of the thing I didn't enjoy. However, we knew this before chosing this hotel and were prepared. After check-in, when this guy wanted to talk us about the hotel (which will eventually lead to the sales pitch), my husband simply said that we are not interested. That is the end of that.

1 Nightly shows were very entertaining. The Magic, Cirus type show and the Mexicana shows were all good. There was a 'dance' type show which I found a little cheesy. But overall, it was nice.

2. Pool/Beach - If you have young kids, this is a good place. The area is small. The walk to the beach is short. The grounds/bathrooms were kept clean. There's entertaintment all day -- although there are times were it's not meant for younger children so I just let them keep swimming towards the kiddie side or that's when we go to the outside restaurant nearby. You will know ahead of time what the events will be.

3. Food/Drinks - It's not the best, but not the worst. We didn't go hungry.

4. Room - We were barely in the room and just used it for sleeping, which is fine. The only complaint I have is that it gets very humid and slippery inside if we leave the sliding door open. So it's either hearing the soothing sounds of the ocean or super slippery floor.

5. Staff was great. Please tip them.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NyLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

When we arrived at the GR Solaris(4 hours before check in time) we were greated by the bell boy who kindly took our suitcases. We then continued to the front desk to see about checking in. We were very suprised to find out that our room was ready. We were NOT hounded at all with the timeshare speeches and other BS. The room was very large and clean. There was a fridge stocked daily with sodas, water and SOL beer. The view from the balcony was out of this world! The only thing we didn't like about our room was the balconies were not private and we shared it with 2 other rooms. The restuarants were excellent and offered a variety of different types of food. Marco polo was a very fancy restuarant, but you do need to make reservations early in the morning to get in. I had a steak and it was fantastic. Cafe Solaris was a buffet style that offered breakfast and different themed dinners(ex. taco night). Rosmarinas was an outdoor buffet that was open for lunch and dinner on certain days. Every night there was a dinner and show in the ballroom that was amazing. We would definately recommend this experience. The food overall was very good and offers a wide variety of styles. The staff was amazing and made us feel right at home. We ordered room service everynight after coming back from the lobby bar. There was entertainment nightly at the lobby bar which made it nice so you didn't have to leave the resort. Overall we had the time of our lives!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Soltez182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Over all our stay was pretty good. As many people posted here the service was great. The rooms were very good. The food was great a few times, and good most of the time. There were a few items I didn't care for that I normally would like but...no big deal. The beach wasn't all that great so the wife and I spent most of our time at the relaxing pool. That was awesome! We got a massage the first day which was great but shoulda waited till later on in the trip. The shopping was pretty blah. The same crap every where you go and you get hounded at EVERY shop you go to. Even at Walmart! Probablly wouldn't go back to Cancun, but we did have a good time.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pastorshaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.5 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#27 of 177 in Cancun
3,338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Solaris Cancun
Royal Solaris Cancun
#43 of 177 in Cancun
5,152 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
4.9 mi away
Panama Jack Resorts - Gran Caribe Cancun
2.3 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 177 in Cancun
4,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GR Solaris Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GR Solaris Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulkan Lote 59 2 Etapa | Fase 2, Section A, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#28 Family Hotel in Cancun
#29 Business Hotel in Cancun
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#37 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $218 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — GR Solaris Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GR Solaris Cancun is an all inclusive beachfront resort that offers a range of facilities and a full slate of activities daily. Guests have access to two swimming pools, a spa tub, a 22.5-Meter (74-foot) stretch of beach, and a fitness center. The hotel also has a marina, where non-motorized water sports, tennis courts, and a volleyball court are available. Other amenities include concierge services, a spa, a hair salon, and laundry facilities (no dry cleaning services). Business amenities include meeting rooms, banquet facilities, event catering, a ballroom, and business center with Internet access (surcharge for all). Three restaurants, two snack bars, and two bars are on site. Room service is available 24 hours a day. NEW Wall climbing and mini cinema Solaris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your GR Solaris Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gr Solaris Cancun Hotel Cancun
Solaris Cancun
Grand Solaris Cancun
Gr Solaris Hotel Cancun
Gr Solaris Cancun & Spa
Gr Solaris Cancun Mexico
Grand Royal Solaris Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing