We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love you guys!”
Review of GR Solaris Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
GR Solaris Cancun
Ranked #33 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“love you guys!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

As members, we have stayed at the GR severals times over the past 10 years, with our two Kids growing form elementary school age to teenagers. Over the years, our Focus has shifted from the wonderful kids' Club with the lovely staff to the Fitness room and spa, as well as the Entertainment and Shows. Everyone is genuinely friendly and helpful as can be. Many members of the staff have been there as Long as we have ben coming to GR - seems the "chemistry" is right behind the curtain, too. The Food is great, be it the many choices at the breakfast buffet or for Lunch/dinner buffets, and a more formal dinner at "Marco Polo" is a treat. Several members of the staff were especially friendy: Hamilton at the bar, Addy and Matilda who make the impressive mecixan coffee (spiced with alcohol and then setaflame and skillfully poured from one dish to another) and Gilberto at breakfast and lunch. Thank you all, we will be back!

Room Tip: Ocean view is prettier than lagoon view of course, and ocean front tops it all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hallo, ich danke Ihnen sehr für die Nachricht so schön. Ich hoffe, Sie haben gut in Deutsch geschrieben!

It is always great to read that our guests enjoy themselves during their stay, especially when it is their 10th time at GR Solaris.

We are glad you loved the Kids Club, the Fitness room, the Spa services, the entertainment, shows and the quality of the food. We will make sure to inform our coworkers about your great feedback especially to Hamilton at the bar, Addy and Matilda who make the impressive mexican coffee and Gilberto at breakfast and lunch.

We are looking forward to see you next year.

Kind regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,259
    1,417
    559
    231
    157
See reviews for
1,629
1,637
42
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,092)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We recently returned from GR Solaris where we stayed for 5 days. This is one of the best places for a decent/affordable price. We were there on our 25th wedding anniversary and when they knew this, they made our visit special. They decorated the room and we also got a bottle of champagne, compliments of the manager. Thanks GR.
The food and service were great. Excellent service by all the waiters and waitresses, great service from Edgar, Salaya, Roberto, Rosario. The entertainment team provided constant activities to keep everyone busy. We really liked Ally and Sandy who kept everyone going.
Overall great experience, very nice hotel, great food choices and good entertainment. You cannot ask for more for what you are paying.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and get an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msabatini2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
First of all thanks for choosing Hoteles Solaris one more time, it is an extraordinary privilege to welcome you. We are so glad to know that your stay with us was wonderful and your 25th wedding anniversary was special.

Thank you for pointing out how great our staff is especially Edgar, Salaya, Roberto, Rosario, Ally and Sandy. Also we are happy you enjoyed the room, the food, the services and the entertainment. We will make sure to inform our coworkers about your great feedback.

We are looking forward to see you soon.

Warm regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Just back from my first trip to Cancun and a seven night stay at the GR Solaris.

Enjoyed the trip immensely due to:

A- not many whiny people and undisciplined children this time of year
B- fabulous, friendly staff
C- great beach and pool
D- perfect location for north and south travel
E- never went hungry
F- problems resolved immediately
G- perfect price
H- no attitude
I - fun night time entertainment
J - great lagoon view with balcony for watching the sunset over the lagoon
H- always very clean
J - closing the pool bar at 5pm to move the day drunks out of the water
K - over supply of pool lounges
L - over supply of free beach lounges
K- unlimited clean beach towels
M - taking hotel towel on day tours
N - working safe in room
O- perfect housekeeping
P - no pressure for tips
Q - flea market vendors, with good prices
R - beautiful grounds
S - nice looking hotel
T - air conditioning worked like a charm
U - loved the shower

Wished did not have to complain but:

V - checkout time 11am
W - no currency exchange available on site
X - had connecting room and could hear "fun" neighbors through connecting door.
Y- tile on floor in hallway created echo for everyone that passed by
Z- $9 an hour to use on site "internet cafe".

I would recommend this hotel.
Gracias GR Solaris

Room Tip: Ask for a non-connecting room if applicable. Most rooms face the beach. We loved the room facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dswslc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a very detailed review! It is great to hear that your stay with us was wonderful and enjoyed our services and facilities.

We greatly appreciate the suggestions you mentioned, they certainly help us improve in order to satisfy the expectations of our future guests the best way possible.

We are looking forward to see you soon.

Warm regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

we recently stayed at GR Solaris. This was our second stay and were treated like royalty. They really go out of their way for return visitors. We had slippers and house robes in our room one night. The next night we had champaigne and a plate of desserts when we came back from our evening out. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to relax, have a good time, be well entertained or just want to enjoy the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cancunsally4123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for writing such a beautiful comment about our Resort. It is always great to know that our guests enjoy themselves during their stay, especially when it is their second time.

Looking forward to having you back in the near future,

Kind Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My new husband and I visited for 3 nights with a Groupon deal, and while I did like many parts of the resort, I don't think I would stay again or pay full price.

We wanted to shut down and just relax after a busy month of wedding planning, and eat and drink all we wanted after the good ol wedding diet. Normally we avoid all inclusives because we like to try new local foods and see and do things, and resorts are just so.... "America in another place." But it fit our desires perfectly this time.

The resort has a lot going for it: very clean, GREAT beach, decent service. Check in was easy, drinks were offered immediately, and they even upgraded us to a balcony king bed room with a bottle of champagne for our honeymoon. It wasn't peak season so we didn't have to worry about scrambling for a good pool chair. We were really never bothered by sales pitches, but I tend to shut people down as soon as they approach the subject. The bed and pillows were wonderfully comfortable and we slept like babies every night. We did have a good time.

But all of that was overshadowed by the food and drink situation. The food there is B.A.D. bad. I'm not a picky eater and my standards are already low for all inclusive resorts, but even so it was just so disappointing. Bad variety, everything overcooked and dried out, and my husband and I both had bad stomach aches by the time we left. For dinner, unless you make a res for the "nice" restaurant, you're stuck sitting at a table with multiple other parties making small talk. We make small talk for work every day, so all we want to do on vacation is our own thing and enjoy each others company. Also as many people have commented, the drinks are oh so weak and all the outdoor bars are closed by 5pm. The wine and champagne options are disgusting and taste like vinegar - I saw many a woman with a full glass she couldn't finish.

So there are a lot of good reasons to stay at this resort, but in the end the food and drink just matter to me too much. I'd rather not spend $ on the all inclusive deal and stay in a regular nice hotel and get drunk and eat the food I want.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dardanellia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Please accept our deepest apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay at our resort by the food and drinks situation.

We are happy to read that you had a good time after all, and enjoyed your room, the great beach and the service.

We have already informed our General Manager about your feedback and is a pleasure for us to comment you we are creating new dishes to improve our service in the variety and quality of the menus.

We want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay with us and invite you to come back soon to see our improvement.
Let us to exceed your expectations,

Kind Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed at the GR Solaris September 14-21. Upon arrival, we waited for 1 1/2 hours to check in to be told the room we reserved was not the same in their system as the confirmation paperwork we had, so we ended up paying twice to get the oceanview Jacuzzi room we wanted. The room was lovely and had an amazing view. Our housekeeper was below average. The property is small (which I liked) and very well maintained. The food is beyond horrible. It is very bland other than the excess salt they use. The bartenders are great and the only negative is that the pool bar closes at 5 leaving you to have to dry off and go inside. We had a chance to hold a baby sea turtle as the hotel has a breeding ground to keep the eggs safe and does a protected release which guests can participate in. Overall (despite the tropical storm) I had a great trip.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank friscorealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Please accept our deepest apologies for the inconveniences you receive in our Resort with the room you wanted. We value your opinion seriously, therefore we can improve our guest service.

Allow us to inform you that we are improving our services in the variety and quality of the menus.

We are happy you enjoyed the experience with the little sea turtle, is a lovely gesture!

Kind Regards
Hoteles Solaris de México
^X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel room we stayed in was clean. I can't complain about it.

The food was edible, but just okay. I am not a picky eater, but I do love food and this resort could use some improvements. The deli smells terrible!!!! Instead of gaining weight on this trip,I lost weight. I had to leave the resort to get some real food. Some of the staff was friendly, but not all. Vermon from Marco Polo was GREAT, but Elias was so RUDE to us.

I had a terrible experience with BEST DAY. My boyfriend and I booked an excursion. We waited for an hour to be picked up. We called them and they told us our tour was canceled because of the rain, apologized and promised us a refund.We didn't understand the cancellation because everyone else was going on their excursions. Hours later the guy we spoke to from Best Day comes to the resort and tells us that we will not be getting our refund because we weren't at the lobby on time. We were on time and waited for an hour! He was lying to our face after he had told us the tour was canceled. My boyfriend and I made a big deal till we got our money back. The guy had the nerve to lie to us just to keep our money. LEANNE from the lobby saw me crying and tried to help us out.

***Excursions*** Stand outside and walk up to every single person with a clip board. They purposely try to leave you so they keep your money. It happened to some friends we made at the resort. That's how i found out how sneaky they are with lying to us + leaving our friends at the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Please accept our most sincere apologies for not being able to exceed your expectations and for all inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us.

We've already informed our General Manager about your feedback, we are improving our services in the variety and quality of the menus.

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We hope you come back soon to see our improvement.

Best regards.
Hoteles Solaris de México
^X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
7.5 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#39 of 175 in Cancun
687 reviews
12.6 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
0.5 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#26 of 175 in Cancun
3,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Solaris Cancun
Royal Solaris Cancun
#41 of 175 in Cancun
4,604 reviews
6.2 mi away
Oasis Palm
Oasis Palm
#76 of 175 in Cancun
2,900 reviews
6.2 mi away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#49 of 175 in Cancun
3,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GR Solaris Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GR Solaris Cancun

Property: GR Solaris Cancun
Address: Boulevard Kukulkan Lote 59 2 Etapa, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#29 Business Hotel in Cancun
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#34 Family Hotel in Cancun
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — GR Solaris Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GR Solaris Cancun is an all inclusive beachfront resort that offers a range of facilities and a full slate of activities daily. Guests have access to two swimming pools, a spa tub, a 22.5-Meter (74-foot) stretch of beach, and a fitness center. The hotel also has a marina, where non-motorized water sports, tennis courts, and a volleyball court are available. Other amenities include concierge services, a spa, a hair salon, and laundry facilities (no dry cleaning services). Business amenities include meeting rooms, banquet facilities, event catering, a ballroom, and business center with Internet access (surcharge for all). Three restaurants, two snack bars, and two bars are on site. Room service is available 24 hours a day. NEW Wall climbing and mini cinema Solaris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your GR Solaris Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gr Solaris Cancun Hotel Cancun
Solaris Cancun
Grand Solaris Cancun
Gr Solaris Hotel Cancun
Gr Solaris Cancun & Spa
Gr Solaris Cancun Mexico
Grand Royal Solaris Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing