We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel was clean, food was good, and hospitality was great”
Review of GR Solaris Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
GR Solaris Cancun
Ranked #33 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Turlock, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“hotel was clean, food was good, and hospitality was great”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Waiter Gibran was AWESOME!!! However, the outrageous price for WI-Fi was ridiculous and made me dislike GR Solaris. I, like all travelers, cant live without my computer or smart phone to keep in touch with the world while on vacation. I was disappointed that this hotel didnt provide free WI-FI and charged an outragious amount of money for the service!!! WI-FI is standard and free at almost any location in the U.S and not having that service in a hotel that prides its self on excellence really left a sour taste in mouth!!!

Room Tip: rooms on second floor with beach view balcony and jacuzzi are Awesome!!! Highly recommended! Pay the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeronimo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed our services at Gr Solaris. We value very much your feedbacks because we are always looking for ways we can improve the guest experience.

We hope you stay with us again during your next trip to Cancún and see our improvement.

Warm regards,

Hoteles Solaris de México
^C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,177
    1,382
    550
    223
    149
See reviews for
1,539
1,622
41
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,066)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The GR Solaris was an excellent choice for our trip. Although the property was not very large and choices for night time activities was limited, the GR Solaris offered most everything that we could have desired on our vacation. The food was very good, the shows were excellent, and the property was kept very clean. Other than the front desk staff, all other staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Don't expect a lot of help from the front desk staff; they never gave us a tour of the property and often offered conflicting information. We had booked a smoke free trip with friends and were placed on the smoking floor and our rooms were nowhere near each other. When we tried to get our rooms switched we were treated as though we were asking for a penthouse suite and trying to get the whole trip for free. Considering the fact that our trip was off season and the resort was not at full capacity, the request should have been easy to fulfill. Other than that we felt that we would certainly return and recommend the property to anyone looking for a great time pool or ocean side under the hot Caribbean sun.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room on a floor other than the first floor if you are not a smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Corey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
On behalf of all the staff of Hoteles Solaris we want to thank you for taking the time to share your opinion about our resort , it was a pleasure having you with us and we appreciate your preference.
Hope to see you on your next vacations.

Hoteles Solaris de Mexico
^A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My friends and I took a trip to the GR Solaris Cancun in January, and we had the best time! The hotel was very clean inside and out, the food was great, and the pools were big and always clean. All of the staff, especially the entertainment staff made our trip amazing! They always greeted us with a smile, and the games the entertainment staff put on at the pool were a lot of fun. Also, the shows at the GR Solaris were outstanding, and people of all ages would enjoy them!!!!! My friends and I would recommend this hotel, and we hope to go back one day!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kariann81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
We are so glad to know that you always enjoy the time you spend at our resort , We thank you for writing such a wonderful review and look forward to having you back in the near future!

Hoteles Solaris de Mexico
A^
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel was just what us parents needed for a quick getaway from the kids & too relax and enjoy some sun. I would say that the hotel was nice and the staff was great. The food was great as well. The nightly specialty dinners were delicious and the entertainment was good during the night and the daily entertainment by the pool. The hotel was clean and well taken care of. The rooms were nice. We paid the extra few dollars to have an ocean view and hot tub. I would also like to say the staff especially Gibran & Obeth were excellent!! They both went above and beyond to help us when we were at the pool,beach or lounge area. Gibran was a great young man that took to us while us couples were there celebrating our friends 40th bday. He suggested nightlife and brought us many new drinks to try. He delivered excellent service. I would say that both these young men were awesome because whenever they saw us out they always greeted us with a smile & then asked what we needed.

Room Tip: Choose a room with an ocean view and small hot tub well worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed our services at Gr Solaris. It is always nice to here positive feedbacks. We will inform your comments to our staff, especially to Gibran and Obeth. Thank you for taking your time writing your review.

Kind regards,

Hoteles Solaris de México
^C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essexville, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at GR Solaris from 1/3/13 - 1/9/13. We really feel as though we got our money's worth and more at this all inclusive. The resort was very clean and the staff were very nice and we were pleasantly surprised that the drinks were not weak. The pool was really nice and the view from our room was excellent. The food was average, in some cases a little bland, with the exception of what we ordered off of the menu at Marco Polo. We had an excellent waiter there named Vermon that took very good care of us. One thing we were not happy with was when we first arrived, the concierge unknowingly sucked us into a time-share type presentation (they wanted us to pay to join Club Solaris) and it was very annoying and they were very pushy and would not accept no for an answer. Other than that, we were very pleased with our stay.

Room Tip: Definitely go with an ocean view room. The view is spectacular! I think I would have been slightly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
On behalf of GR Solaris Cancun we want to thank you for choosing us as your vacation destination! We thank you for sharing your experience with us and are happy to know that you enjoyed our resort and accommodations. We hope you will stay with us again soon!

Best regards,
Hoteles Solaris de Mexico
A^
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had a great time at the GR Solaris. We found the hotel to be super clean inside and out. The staff seemed really happy to be there too. We had adjoining ocean side rooms on the 4th floor right in the center. The view was spectacular. Loved having coffee out on our balcony in the morning before the resort got going. Our rooms were clean and neat. The beds were comfortable. The bathrooms were clean too. When we got there our kids toilet wouldn't flush and once we reported it someone was up immediately to fix it. The rooms could be a little noisy - mostly noise at 3 am from kids coming back from the clubs. The sliding door in our room whistled quite loudly at night if the wind was coming up from the ocean. The food was good - we ate at Marco Polo every night. You do have to get up early to get your reservations though - my husband did it while also reserving chairs by the pool. My daughter celebrated her 19th birthday while there and the whole staff really made her feel special - especially Vermon, Gilberto and Salaya (in the diningrooms) and Cindy and Gloria in the spa. Speaking of the spa, my daughter and I had two massages each with Cindy and Gloria - both were the best we have ever had. Try it with them! One word of warning - when you check in you will be assigned a concierge who does a lovely job of telling you everything about the hotel. He will also invite you to breakfast at one of the sister properties so that you can see it so that in the future you might want to stay there. Stupid us, we went and it was a timeshare presentation. We did get spa certificates for our time though and we went early in the morning. But, just be aware! If we return to Cancun we would definately consider returning to this property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellebella_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We will inform to our staff your comments especially Vermon, Giblberto, Salaya, Cindy and Gloria. Thank you for taking your time writing your review.
Kind regards,

Hoteles Solaris de México
^C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is a great average hotel. Breakfast and lunch are good, but dinner is less than good (do not pay to upgrade in the nice restaurant it just as bad so don't waste your money). The staff is amazing and the bar is great. The rooms are a normal 3 star room and if you can make sure to get an ocean view. Stay away from the concierge they are time share sales people who pleasure you every day!! I would go back. but with less expectations of the food. Hope this helps!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BradleyinSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We thank´s your comments regarding our staff. it´s a pleasure to heard that our staff was amazing.
About the food, we will address your comment with our Executive Chef , who will take action on this, in order to improve it.
Thank you for your feedback that help us to give a better service to our guests.
A^
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
7.5 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#42 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.5 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#25 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,073 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Solaris Cancun
Royal Solaris Cancun
#36 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe
6.2 mi away
Oasis Palm
Oasis Palm
#75 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,797 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GR Solaris Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GR Solaris Cancun

Property: GR Solaris Cancun
Address: Boulevard Kukulkan Lote 59 2 Etapa, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#30 Business Hotel in Cancun
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#34 Family Hotel in Cancun
#37 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — GR Solaris Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GR Solaris Cancun is an all inclusive beachfront resort that offers a range of facilities and a full slate of activities daily. Guests have access to two swimming pools, a spa tub, a 22.5-Meter (74-foot) stretch of beach, and a fitness center. The hotel also has a marina, where non-motorized water sports, tennis courts, and a volleyball court are available. Other amenities include concierge services, a spa, a hair salon, and laundry facilities (no dry cleaning services). Business amenities include meeting rooms, banquet facilities, event catering, a ballroom, and business center with Internet access (surcharge for all). Three restaurants, two snack bars, and two bars are on site. Room service is available 24 hours a day. NEW Wall climbing and mini cinema Solaris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your GR Solaris Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gr Solaris Cancun Hotel Cancun
Solaris Cancun
Grand Solaris Cancun
Gr Solaris Hotel Cancun
Gr Solaris Cancun & Spa
Gr Solaris Cancun Mexico
Grand Royal Solaris Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing