We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First-Rate Service”
Review of GR Solaris Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
GR Solaris Cancun
Ranked #34 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This review is being written specifically to commend two wonderful staff members at this fantastic hotel. They are Abigail (last name unknown), whose service at the hotel's pool area is beyond above-average, and Miguel Martin, our top-notch server at breakfast and dinner on several occasions. Both of these individuals were sincere in their friendly and attentive actions. They are true assets to this hotel's team of great people, and I would really enjoy seeing them again in a possible future visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guydean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,749)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,532 - 2,538 of 4,749 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

My husband and I have were at the GR Solaris for 17days. This is our 14th stay at this resort.We have traveled to many countries as well as states in the United States and have yet to find anything quite like this resort. From the moment u exit ur van Noel Adrian or Aiden r right there with a smile hug and taking ur bags. Proceeding inside David and Charlie are checking u in seeing to all ur hotel needs. Margarita is the best Concierge the GR has. My daughter and her family were coming for the first time and upon entering her room it was decorated with balloons streamers and animals made from towels.My grandchildren went crazy.The entertainment staff headed by Ramone Rock!!!! They include everyone in their daily activities and cater to every age group. The more u participate the better ur time. The entertainment staff are the main reason so many people become Repeaters. Ray Christian Alian Vincent Jennifer ana and Jazmin are ur personal entertainers you will fall in love with all of them just as my family have. All ur bartenders entertain u as well with shaky shakying as they mix ur special cocktail Luis is always there with a smile hug or a hand carved item. Kevin Elder Edgar Abraham Rony come from behind the bar to serve u drinks if ur empty handed. While lounging Odely Adi Monica Andre continually keep u filled and refreshed. Betty is upstairs in the lounge also waiting on u hand and foot. Food Food Food always something to eat. Marco Polo being my favorite fine dinning headed by Oscar Vermon is of course our favorite waiter... Breakfast being our favorite meal the best omelets by ovilia endless cups of coffee headed by ringo gilberto luna salaga carlos. These are just a few examples of the excellent services provided by the staff. The grounds and rooms are spotless. I could go on forever about my Mexican family but u need to experience this for urself. You will never be disappointed.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are magnificent. Lagoon rooms have the best sunset!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimifleck7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this resort over Spring Break, and found it to be very quiet and relaxing. The room was beautiful and spacious, and the staff was very attentive. I wasn't crazy about the food, but I could always find something to eat. It was peak spring break time, but not a party hotel. The bar service was excellent at the pool and the beach.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisnsarah2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We love this place. It's small but large enough to feel like a resort. Staff is really wonderful and are there year after year. A few small updates would be great just like any normal hotel but don't change it too much or you will loose your homey feel!!

Room Tip: You shouldn't be in your room much as the beach and pool area are great. Don't party so hard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToesWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Hello Travelers! For you that are a bit leery about chosing this resort, fret no more! I've been to the Cancun/Rivera Maya area annually since spring of 2006, and the last 3 years we have chosen the GR Solaris Resort.
I travel with my family which includes 2 kids ages 11 and 9, and they love it!!! There's something for everyone here! My favorite place during the day is to get a cool spot at the activity pool where the entertainment staff will engage in games all day, whether it be a silly beer drinking contest or a cool bingo game for everyone. My kids favorite part of course is the mini club, where as soon as they have breakfast are begging to go and partake in whatever fun activity Ani and Karin have set up for the day! Ani and Karin run the kids club and have become favorites for my kids, (well, myself included). :) We end up coming home with the kids hand made pinatas, frames and other hand crafted souvenirs!

Another favorite of mine is the breakfast buffet! HEAVEN! Made to order omellette bar, and of course endless mimosas to start off my day! Reservations for Marco Polo is also a must!

As stated in a previous review, the lobby bar is great to hang out if you have kids and cannot go to the clubs. Always fun and the kids enjoy being part of it. Another must do are the themed nightly shows - my kids loved them! Very family oriented. The entertainment staff definitely does their job in "entertaining!"

The hotel and lobby are beautiful with marble floors, beautiful plants and of course excellent service from staff. As I mentioned in my title - my third time here was a charm, "I'm a member now" and can't wait to visit again in June 2013!

HAPPY TRAVELS!!! =)

Room Tip: Opt for an ocean front room. It's so worth the few extra dollars. =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DeeAnneCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I just got back from the GR solaris and we had a great time. We upgraded our room on arrival and made the most of the jacuzzi on our balcony. The room was beautiful, the food was awesome and we could not have had a better time, the even have a quiet adults only pool. The staff went out of their way for everyone. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We upgraded to the oceanview with jacuzzi and made the most of the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peagreenAbq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was my second year at this hotel. We were there August 2011 and 2012 and we are planning to go back August 2013. The food and alcohol were great the entainment was amazing. The Lobby bar is a great place to hang out if you have kids and can't go out to the night clubs, they have two live bands which are great and keep you parting with your kids until midnight. The most Important thing for us is that our two girls were well taking care by Annie and Karin at the kids club. They are great with the kids and my girls love them!! Every morning the first place they wanted to go was the Kids Club with Annie and Karin they were always doing some kind of activity with the kids and kept them busy. My husband and I are very particular on who takes care of girls, this is the only hotel that we have left our daughters at a Kids Club, we felt very confortable on the care that Annie and Karin gave to my girls. Annie and Karin are the best!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Angie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.4 mi away
Omni Cancun Resort & Villas
0.5 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#26 of 177 in Cancun
3,249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Solaris Cancun
Royal Solaris Cancun
#42 of 177 in Cancun
4,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 177 in Cancun
4,073 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
1.2 mi away
The Royal Caribbean
The Royal Caribbean
#36 of 177 in Cancun
2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GR Solaris Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GR Solaris Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulkan Lote 59 2 Etapa, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#29 Business Hotel in Cancun
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#34 Family Hotel in Cancun
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $190 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — GR Solaris Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GR Solaris Cancun is an all inclusive beachfront resort that offers a range of facilities and a full slate of activities daily. Guests have access to two swimming pools, a spa tub, a 22.5-Meter (74-foot) stretch of beach, and a fitness center. The hotel also has a marina, where non-motorized water sports, tennis courts, and a volleyball court are available. Other amenities include concierge services, a spa, a hair salon, and laundry facilities (no dry cleaning services). Business amenities include meeting rooms, banquet facilities, event catering, a ballroom, and business center with Internet access (surcharge for all). Three restaurants, two snack bars, and two bars are on site. Room service is available 24 hours a day. NEW Wall climbing and mini cinema Solaris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your GR Solaris Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gr Solaris Cancun Hotel Cancun
Solaris Cancun
Grand Solaris Cancun
Gr Solaris Hotel Cancun
Gr Solaris Cancun & Spa
Gr Solaris Cancun Mexico
Grand Royal Solaris Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing