We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice modern rooms, Awful pool”
Review of GR Solaris Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
GR Solaris Cancun
Ranked #36 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2011

This review is over due. My husband and I stayed here on a 12 day vacation in Cancun. We stayed the last 6 days at this property in May 2011. The rooms are average hotel rooms. The plus was the nice cool a/c, which our first resort did not have. The food was so-so and nothing special. The shows were "very karoke-like" with little talent. They had a magician from Argentina who was very entertaining. The Mexican theme show was average and colorful with a variety of dancing. The pool at this resort is terrible. It is a stone like pool. It feels like it's made of little pebbles that are glued to inside of pool. If you go in pool, it's inevitable that you will come out with scrapes. Not a kid friendly pool. I'm surprised more guests havent been severly injured at this pool. Pool has a greenish brown color, so you dont get the feeling of a blue, crisp, clean pool. The pool is far from clean, since people dump their beer in it. The swim up bar and bartenders are a plus. I could give this resort better reviews, if they had a better pool area. The location and view is fine but pool construction, not so much! Resort has a very outgoing entertainment team. There was always something going on at the pool! There is an adult only pool which is more quiet. There are nicer hotels in Cancun for better value. Overall, this ones OK!

Room Tip: Try for room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank planefunusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,777)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,857 - 2,863 of 4,777 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the GR Solaris from 11/4 to 11/11. We weren’t very concerned with the reviews of the resort because they seemed to be pretty good.

Check in went very smoothly. We arrived at approximately 2 pm and were asked if we wanted to upgrade our room for an extra $30.00 per night, since we were traveling on somewhat of a budget this time we declined and were informed that our room was not ready and to check back after 3 pm. We were sent over to the concierge desk for the timeshare spiel which we politely declined also and were never bothered again. We went for a late lunch and returned for our room assignment around 4pm.

Room: We went to our room and waited for our luggage to arrive which was very prompt. However, I think we were given the worst view in the place (lol) which included a couple trash dumpsters and some ugly propane tanks. Oh well who cares you are only in your room a short time anyway and we didn’t have to worry about privacy on our balcony. Our room was very spacious and clean. The closet space sufficient for two people and the bathroom was well appointed. Con: Beds are very, very, very hard!

Pool/Beach: The pool was clean but very hard on your feet, knees and rear-end while sitting at the swim up bar. I completely understand the concept of the pebble bottom, sides and stools with helping guest not slip and fall and warming the water but it can become very uncomfortable. The beach was slightly washed away from the recent T.S. Rina but still very nice and lots of sand. The surf was extremely rough and rocky/shelly, cut my feet on several shells. Once past the surf it was pretty calm and you could actually dive down about 6 feet and find beautiful conch shells. My only con of both the beach and pool would be the great and well known “TOWEL GAME”. I swear some people must have gotten out of bed at 4 in the morning while on vacation to get their spots and never use them all day! It really wasn’t that important to me. We were always able to found 2 chairs together before 10am. The pool only has sun until 2-3pm because the building blocks the afternoon sun and it gets very chilly.

Grounds: The resort grounds are very much like a compound and compact. The resort is surrounded by big hotels on either side and they have walls to separate the resorts and provide very little grass or paths to walk around in the evening. The grounds were always found clean and maintained. Someone was always cutting, chopping, painting, sweeping or mopping!

Food/Drinks: We found the food definitely above average buffet A.I. food. They had a great selection. All the food that I sampled was fresh and hot or cold as it was supposed to be. We ate at Marco Polo’s 3 evenings and had 3 great meals and had no problem getting the reservation times we wanted!!! Being there for 6 nights and not tiring of the food says something. We had no problem getting the alcohol that we asked for, we only had to order it as we wanted and the bartenders would remember the next time. Room service was wonderful and timely. We ordered room service several times throughout our stay and never waiting longer then 15- 20 minutes. Make sure you get Betty to make you a specialty coffee in the lobby! OMG!!!

Wait Staff / Bartenders: One word sums up the staff and servers at this resort “IMPECIBLE”. We found the staff to be friendly, caring and concerned that we were having a good time. Our favorite waiter for breakfast was Alexander, he always took care of us and made the best mimosa ever!!! The bartenders are great too, especially Manual, Luis and Kevin! Our housekeeper always made sure we had clean towels, our mini bar fully stocked and cute little towel animals.

Entertainment: The evening shows were very good just very confining. They would be much nicer if held outside. The entertainment staff are awesome and able to get everyone involved in the little games around the resort. They also plan a trip to a different club every night; we did the Senor Frogs and had a blast!!! Happy Birthday Jennifer!

Tips: I understand that it states tips are included but the staff work so hard and ask for nothing but their paychecks. We tipped about $10.00 per day here and there and only spent an extra 60.00 dollars for the 6 nights but were able to put a smile on a few faces and help out their economy. A dollar goes a long way. We never felt that we didn’t receive good service if we didn’t tip!

We would definitely return to this resort and found our only regret was not upgrading our room! Book and have a blast we did!

Room Tip: Upgrade to an ocean view room and ask for a mattress topper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank travelenfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

This was our 4th time back to the GR Solaris. We are members with this hotel and really enjoy staying there. The staff are extrememly friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is well maintained and the food is great. You can choose from a buffet meal or a sit down dinner in the Marco Polo restaurant for dinner. The best dinner that we had there was the French Night on Saturdays. As we go there often we have gotten to know several of the staff members who greeted us daily and were very helpful attending to whatever we were needing.
Our kids enjoy the kids club and look forward to hanging out with the other kids from the hotel. The activities for the kids are great as they spend time doing crafts, swimming in the pool, going down to the beach to build sandcastles and collect shells. Any and Karen who work there are great with the kids and because we were there over Halloween they did a great job at doing the face painting for the kids costumes.
The entertainment staff and activities are great. We have gotten to know several of the staff including Christian, Ray, Jennifer, Anna and Jazmin who making hanging out at the pool and around the hotel fun and exciting. The activities and the evening shows are good. This year the addition of the Michael Jackson Tribute was great. Our kids really enjoyed the Magic show.
We would definately recommend this hotel and they do have two other properities on the Hotel Zone that you can enjoy. If you were considering a membership to any of the hotels in Cancun we definately recommend giving the Solaris hotels consideration. In the members area our consultant Roger is great he greeted us when we arrived and took care of our check in as well as making sure that we were enjoying our trip.
Overall the hotel staff and atmosphere is great and encourage you to visit this hotel.

Room Tip: Definately recommend a sea/ocean view room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

My husband and I traveled to GR Solaris in Cancun August 28-September 4, 2011.

We have stayed at the "sister" resort - Royal Solaris in Cancun - several times and had always wanted to stay at this newer resort.

Overall, I was not impressed with the look of the resort. Many things like the lighting fixtures, wall sconces and other attributes were just not good quality and actually made the resort look older than it actually was. We noticed that the decorative fountain at the base of the stairs always contained cigarette butts and straw papers - no one seemed to pay attention to the "cleanliness" details.

We liked the 'adult only' pool area and easily found a chair there every morning.

The restaurant selection is poor! Plan on eating "buffet' food for most of your stay unless you hop on the "bus" and enjoy a real dinner at Chiles at the La Isla mall like we did. We found the "Theatre Restaurant" to be no more than plastic tables and chairs covered in linens with low quality buffet food arranged out in the hallway/entrance. And be prepared to enjoy your dinner seated at these plastic tables with other people.

I did enjoy the late afternoon coffee available near the lobby bar every day.

The one A La Carte restaurant (Marco Polo) requires reservations. You must give the breakfast buffet hostess your name at breakfast to ensure a seat for this restaurant. Since we were at the resort during a slow time, we easily secured a dinner reservation. However, I would bet that during a busy week, reservations would be hard to get!

WiFi is available for free when seated near the Lobby Bar - you must ask for sign in information.

The beach is gorgeous!

The rooms are just like a typical hotel room - close together and thin walls. So be prepared for the late night "drunks" to come back from the Cancun night clubs at all hours of the "morning" yelling and swearing down the hallways! And every time these drunks entered their room we jolted out of bed by the slamming door! Awful!

We would not revisit this hotel mainly because of the poor food quality and restaurant options.

Room Tip: Noisy hallways and late-nighters interrupt sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Islagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at GR Solaris Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2011

Dear Guest:
We regret we did not meet your expectations; we thank your comments that help us improve our service.

Regarding the dinner at the Theatre let us inform you that we received excellent comments from our guests; the decoration is designed according to the show we offer, please note that we have other options for dinner in the hotel.

About cleanliness of Hotel areas, our General Manager have ​​taken action on this, and we improved all areas.

Our Food and Beverages Manager will review the reservation process for Marco Polo and will be improved for the benefit of our guests.

Once once again thanks for your comments,
Hoteles Solaris de Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We picked the GR Solaris due to its loaction bang for the buck and the reviews. The hotel and grounds were nice and well maintained. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The shows and activities were decent.

The food served was all buffet and of average buffet quality. I have stayed in this area several times at different hotels and the buffets vary quite a bit in quality, but theirs was on the lower end of that scale.

Many reviewers stated that they enjoyed the Marco Polo however we were not able to sample the food there as they have a pants & shirt (no shorts or t-shirts) dress code. I have eaten in a number of places in Cancun and never been tured away for dress, but here at our all inclusive I was. I came prepared for a stay at the beach.

Currently there are hotels being renovated on either side of the GR Solaris and it is at the bottom of the hotel zone where many of the older hotels and condos are. That is not a bad thing as there were fewer people on the beach.

We stayed during the Hurricane/Tropical Storm Rina week, the staff made every effort to keep us informed and safe.

Room Tip: The double balcony rooms that face the pool give you a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Siteseer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Tips $$ go a long way. Bring Pants

ROOMS: Nice, kept clean and maintained, A/C wasn't awesome, just enough to chill the room. Coffee and Minibar restocked daily. Heard that if you tip the minibar attendant, you'll be overflowing with beer, otherwise 6 or so beers, 6 sodas, and 6 waters, plenty for the normal person. Bugs (mosquitoes) on the balcony, bring bug spray. Good hot water in the shower, and safe worked as described.

FOOD: Mostly buffet, only Marco Polo was order from the menu and good food. The food at Marco Polo was excellent, but it is reservation (made in the am) and dress formal. BRING PANTS. we went shopping for them (giant pain), but it was worth it. Also need a nice shirt, guys, polo's ok. They do an internation night, italian nights, etc...As for breakfast, it was fine at Cafe solaris, but buffet everyday. Tip the waiter for attentive service everyday, Asuncion did a good job. Tipping 20 pesos or $2 a meal, gets you noticed, ie quicker drinks at lunch. An entertainment staff said that means alot to them economically. Dropped 50 pesos at Marco Polo for the waiter salida and the second night, the same waiter made sure my beer was never less than 1/3 full. Room service was good, on time, and even brought a few items that we wrote in. Wife wasn't completly happy with buffet, feeling like she never got a true mexican dish.

SERVICE: All staff was very friendly and helpful BUT tips were a huge motivator. Tip the bartender decently ($10) on the first night, and drinks will come without waiting. That goes for everything else... tipping the maid for extra towels, waiter for extra attention, minibar attendant for a booze bar, etc.. an extra $100 on a 6 day vacation can make it alot nicer.

ENTERTAINMENT: They have a fairly good staff, but don't always stick to the schedule, which is annoying. The water polo game was fun, as was beach volleyball. The karaoke was okay because nobody wanted to sing, and the "casino night" at the same time was sad, 2 wobbly tables with blackjack dealers who have never dealt (anna) or can't add. Played tennis only their court, very nice, best in the am. The 70's show was very good, said that it was the last performance, and the Mexican show also very good, mariachi band and all.

LOCATION: right in the middle of the hotel zone, 15 min from the airport, great spot, Bus R2 and R15 go downtown, 8.5 pesos per person, the driver will make change, and you'll have to flag down some buses. White buses are crazy drivers, some work on commission, Ride at your own risk. We used the bus many times and found it a great cheap way to and from town and the scuba shop (aquaworld)

SALESPEOPLE: annoying from the getgo... once thru customs, walk past the horde of sales people in the long hallway to get outside to your ride. The hard sales starts here and continues after you check in with the concierge. Be kurt but polite. These people will talk and talk and talk. Even the Apple Vacations rep babbled on... The M.O. with all the sales is start a conversation, or handshake, then ramble on about it.. Prices are very negotiable.

POOL it's great, warmer later in the day. Never went to the quiet adults only pool, but looked like a few used it. At the main pool, upper portion, music was normally on 11a-5. Clean with a poolside bar, and plenty of shade in the surrounding area. Good way to spend the day.

BARS: the poolside bar had short hours in my opinion, and usually wrapping up about 5. They have plenty of choices for drinks, except beer, only Dos XX on tap. Tequlia shots were good but way too much salt. Lobby bar is the evening place to drink open late. Tips help your service and often get you shots without asking.

SCUBA; was awesome! we signed up at the watersports desk with Eileen, and aquaworld was the provider, they're just down the road. $77 person for a 2 single tank dives. Awesome diving.. saw turtles, lionfish, crabs, morel eel, jellyfish, and more. Worth every penny. Only draw back is was 40 min boat ride, and after dive 1 they wanted to get right back in. I had just taken off my weight belt.. Ask for a few minute break..

MISC: Avoid the Astec Two Step by drinking only bottled water, and avoid dairy (even the ice cream). Bring $1's, at least $15 per day. Gym is small but gets the job done.

OVERALL: A- recommended for those who want a wonderful but not perfect vacation.

Room Tip: Higher floor (3+) for great view. Balcony rooms have great view, but sunrise might wake you up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jdpphotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

I have stayed at this resort three times and have yet to be disappointed. A great resort at a great price, but there have were two changes, one good and one so not good:

Good: You can now book reservations for the Marco Polo (la carte restaurant) at the Café Solaris (buffet) all morning, instead of having to wait in line at 8:00 am at the Marco Polo. Of course the earlier you book the best chances of getting the time you prefer, but there was always one available.

Not so good: The deli (which has very good sandwiches) that used to stay open until 6:00 am (hours: 4:00pm – 6:00 am) now closes at 10:00 pm. I really did enjoy getting a nice snack at two in the morning (after enjoying a night of premium drinks). However, room service is still 24 hours a day.

Hurricane Rina: HATS OFF to the GR staff for there efforts during the storm. The level of service never declined.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnandLizinMd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.5 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#26 of 177 in Cancun
3,262 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Solaris Cancun
Royal Solaris Cancun
#42 of 177 in Cancun
5,020 reviews
2.3 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 177 in Cancun
4,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
1.2 mi away
The Royal Caribbean
The Royal Caribbean
#37 of 177 in Cancun
2,185 reviews
6.1 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GR Solaris Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GR Solaris Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulkan Lote 59 2 Etapa, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Cancun
#29 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#29 Business Hotel in Cancun
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $203 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — GR Solaris Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GR Solaris Cancun is an all inclusive beachfront resort that offers a range of facilities and a full slate of activities daily. Guests have access to two swimming pools, a spa tub, a 22.5-Meter (74-foot) stretch of beach, and a fitness center. The hotel also has a marina, where non-motorized water sports, tennis courts, and a volleyball court are available. Other amenities include concierge services, a spa, a hair salon, and laundry facilities (no dry cleaning services). Business amenities include meeting rooms, banquet facilities, event catering, a ballroom, and business center with Internet access (surcharge for all). Three restaurants, two snack bars, and two bars are on site. Room service is available 24 hours a day. NEW Wall climbing and mini cinema Solaris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your GR Solaris Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gr Solaris Cancun Hotel Cancun
Solaris Cancun
Grand Solaris Cancun
Gr Solaris Hotel Cancun
Gr Solaris Cancun & Spa
Gr Solaris Cancun Mexico
Grand Royal Solaris Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing