We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a deal”
Review of GR Solaris Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GR Solaris Cancun
Ranked #36 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We read a lot of reviews and decided on this resort based on price and average reviews. Resort was overall clean. The rooWe read a lot of reviews and decided on this resort based on price and reviews. Resort was overall clean. We did read before the trip that the room hallways were noisy but just thought people were too picky but after staying in our room the first night and getting No Sleep from all the noise and echo in the hallway we asked to be moved the next night and got a room at the end and were happy for the rest of our stay.

*Food: The food was not great but acceptable. We did not get sick :)

*Entertainment: Resort does not have activities at all!!!
The only source of entertainment at night is a lobby bar.

*Poolside: Poolside chairs get full quickly!

*Beach: There were always chairs on the beach. The beach was great! We walked along beach and saw other resort beaches besides a really expensive hotel this resort had best beach on this strip.

*We did not leave the resort so cannot comment on distance to downtown area.

Note: sunsets on the opposite side of this hotel so you will not get sunset views but still beautiful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milwaukee08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,777)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,900 - 2,906 of 4,777 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2011

This was my first time to mexico and my first all inclusive and I loved it! I went to gr solaris with my boyfriend of 8 years and another couple, we are all between 22-26 years old. I read a lot of reviews before coming here and got a bit nervous but it was a great time!

The rooms were clean and I will say that the walls were very thin so you could definately here your neighbors. The ocean view upgrade is not expensive and is well worth it!

The pools were great! Not dirty at all...pebble bottom which can be rough on the feet if you aren't careful but not dirty at all. Perfect temperature! The pool bar was awesome with great drinks and staff however they close at 5 which was a bummer...

The beach was my favorite! Very clean soft sand and swimming area. I could not get enough of it!

The staff was friendly but one thing I had a problem with was finding change. So bring small bills for tips and spending.

The food was the only bad thing about the trip. I am a picky eater but I don't think anyone could say they enjoyed it. It was very bland. I lived off snack food. The deli was alright but have it made fresh.

We went on a adventure called xplor which was ziplining underground swimming and rafting and atvs. This was AMAZING! Buffet with good food included and transportation also included! LOVED IT!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank krisf1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

The GR Solaris is only for families and young people. The reason is because it is consider as 5star hotel (looks 4star) and offers affortable prices.You can NOT relax if that is what you wish. It is also very very crowded and you are surrounded by many people all the time. However, the room were comfortable, and the sea was AMAZING. The food was below average.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chleparni b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

from the minute we arrived to cancun, we were surprised with the oragianization, if you bought through bestbuy, your names were on a list, treansported threw a nice vechile to and from your hotel with nice vechicles. when you get to the airport, do not stop for the people that try to help you out, they will try to stop form timeshare. When we reached the hotel the empolyees were above amazing, entertainment every day at the pool, the 3 guys that enertained were super funny that tired to get everyone involved, the bar drinks were amazing the food amazing, alitttle bit spicy, the shows at night out of this world. MUST SEE SHOWS AT THE HOTEL. they also had a short two minute flim before every show shwoing if you have any used clothing or toys, brimg them along and donate them. rooms were extremeley clean, the service from the empolyees was great!! after the night shows everyone goes to the bar , the have karoke night, live music, and dancing, we got lucky they had baby turtles we got to name and realse. the beach was crystal clear and beautiful, the pools were all amazing, overall we will definitly go back, and we traveled quit a bit to different hotels and this one by far is the best. it is very safe, and a very sad day when we had to leave :( na na na na na goodbyeee.
From Canada. :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rose v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I just returned form 5 nights at the GR Solaris with my husband, 4 1/2 daughter and 7 month old son as well as 2 adult friends. We had a great time! I wasn't sure what to expect so I went without high expectations.
It felt like we were in the airport forever. The line for customs was very long. The second line was very short because the woman directing people where to go had us go to what seemed like a family line. Our friends were directed to a longer line so we had to wait about 10 minutes for them. We hadn't booked tranfer to the hotel ahead of time so we picked a company from the airport. They took us to a counter before going to the van where a man tired getting us to book excursions. I explained that my baby needed to eat and he led us to our van. We weren't bothered about time shares.
As soon as we walked into the hotel lobby I immediatly relaxed. The lobby was pretty. The from desk staff was very nice and helpful. We had requested connecting rooms but they weren't available so our friends were 2 doors down. We were taken by an employee who explained the hotel to us. He then directed us to lunch which we all needed. From there we went to our room. We had requested a crib when we checked in but it wasn't there so my husband called the front desk. They asked if the crib was for a girl or boy which I thought was odd. Less than 10 minutes later the crib was delivered and it had Mickey Mouse bedding which was adorable.
I was impressed with the food. It wasn't 5 star but it was good and there was a nice variety. I loved that we could have chips and guacamole at the pool every day. Since we had the kids we didn't try Marco Polo.
I didn't like to floor of the pool. It is too rough. My daughter and I both cut our feet. At times to water was very warm.
They said the pool bar closed at 5:00 when in fact the bartenders started cleaning up around 4:15. After that you could get soda or beer until they left which was probably before 5:00.
My daughter went to the kids club on the second day we were there. We found seats by the fence to the kids club pool. I looked over and saw my daughter alone in the pool floating in a tube. Needless to say, I kept a watchful eye on her. It was a minute or so before a counselor walked out to check on her. After the pool she made a few bracelets, went into the main pool with the counselors and had her face painted. She didn't want to go back the next day because she said she couldn't understand what the counselors were saying.
It rained one of the days. We quickly found out that there in nothing to do, especially with 2 kids, when it rains.
Overall, I really enjoyed my stay at the GR Solaris. I would recommend it to friends and I would return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank allymax13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Amazing hotel, excellent location, everything was great. I cant wait to come back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rocio7338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Here goes, I read alot of the reviews and was a bit worried with some of the reviews, but everyone should make up their own mind. We are from the City of Chicago and are exposed to some of the best restaurants and the chef at the Marco Polo prepared meals that were outstanding. We are vegetarian and they were happy to prepare meals to meet our needs. David, the waiter, at Marco Polo was professional and went above and beyond. The resort is kept very clean and the spa was very relaxing. I did not feel the food was terrible. There is something for everyone. The only thing I would say is a drawback is the noise level in the halls because they are not carpeted so it does echo. The adjoining rooms, you tend to hear the people in the other room. The staff at the Grand Solaris was great. Even though it is an all inclusive--tip the staff!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.5 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#26 of 177 in Cancun
3,262 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Solaris Cancun
Royal Solaris Cancun
#42 of 177 in Cancun
5,020 reviews
2.3 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 177 in Cancun
4,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
1.2 mi away
The Royal Caribbean
The Royal Caribbean
#37 of 177 in Cancun
2,185 reviews
6.1 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GR Solaris Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GR Solaris Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulkan Lote 59 2 Etapa, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Cancun
#29 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#29 Business Hotel in Cancun
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $203 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — GR Solaris Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GR Solaris Cancun is an all inclusive beachfront resort that offers a range of facilities and a full slate of activities daily. Guests have access to two swimming pools, a spa tub, a 22.5-Meter (74-foot) stretch of beach, and a fitness center. The hotel also has a marina, where non-motorized water sports, tennis courts, and a volleyball court are available. Other amenities include concierge services, a spa, a hair salon, and laundry facilities (no dry cleaning services). Business amenities include meeting rooms, banquet facilities, event catering, a ballroom, and business center with Internet access (surcharge for all). Three restaurants, two snack bars, and two bars are on site. Room service is available 24 hours a day. NEW Wall climbing and mini cinema Solaris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your GR Solaris Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gr Solaris Cancun Hotel Cancun
Solaris Cancun
Grand Solaris Cancun
Gr Solaris Hotel Cancun
Gr Solaris Cancun & Spa
Gr Solaris Cancun Mexico
Grand Royal Solaris Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing