We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go go go”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aloft Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aloft Cancun
Ranked #68 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Go go go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

i booked this hotel while i was in mexico in isla mujeres in a terrible hotel ( which had good reviews in trip advisor from some reason) and than i booked the Aloft in Cancun! Wow what a nice surprise , amazing amazing location, great food in the restaurant design top notch and all rooms had ocean view rooms its was breath taking.
the staff was just incredible i didn't hear them say no to me once and i am handful, they were all about YES and RIGHT AWAY i felt like they work for me and they did it all with a smile - really the hotel is amazing but if i have to point the best part is the customer service front desk and restaurant employees in particular Louise in the front, Jose, Jonas & Ariel in the restaurant and the roof top guys who i didn't catch their names all were superb!!

any way don't hesitate go there now! wifi all over with excellent connectivity . Im planing my September stay there again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roynyc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana V, administrative assistant at Aloft Cancun, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Roynyc1 , good afternoon!

Wow! It is great to know we have reached and exceeded your expectations during your stay at Aloft Cancun!
Thank you very much for your kind comments and recomendations.
We have extended your recognition to our staff and their managers regarding their great service. We are glad to count with them.

Dear Roynyc1 , it is almost september, so we hope to have you here soon and keep living the Aloft style.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    370
    156
    39
    43
See reviews for
123
363
68
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Depends what you expect. There's two ways this hotel is good, and if it's what you want then it's a great hotel. 1: you fly into cancun, need a cheap hotel to stay for a night or two to recoup before moving on 2: you are wanting a hotel which allows you to sleep in after you've been partying all night.

This hotel has the wow factor of having the roof top pool, WHICH, going by the view, none of the other hotels around do.

It's not trying to be something it's not, it isn't a resort and you don't pay ridiculous prices, so you get just what you need, as it's clean. But MUCH better than a Travelodge or Days Inn.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sabrina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana V, asistente administrativo at Aloft Cancun, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear Sabrina S,

thank you for your kind comments! We hope you can come back and get to live life Aloft again.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

If you are tired of looking at hotels that cost an arm and a leg, this one is a gem. The theme of the hotel is bright and funky (a little too much for me), but the rooms were adequately appointed and importantly, the beds were comfortable. This is not a 5* hotel but it's good enough for a vacation or a business visit. See photos.

Floors were tiled, but this is sensible given that its so close to the beach. The hotel itself is NOT on the beach, which explains its lower cost - but it had access to the Mandalay beach club a short 5 - 10 minute walk away (but you have to get your towels from the front desk and walk with them to the club).

A surprise bonus was that there were two free washing machines and dryers on the first floor, but you have to bring your own detergent and laundry bag (there aren't any there - and there is no where to put washing that other residents have left in the machine and forgotten about them.)

Room Tip: High floor, non smoking and a view of the beach of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank theteaman_aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana V, asistente administrativo at Aloft Cancun, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear theteaman_aus,

Thank you for taking your time in leaving your kind comments!
We are happy you had enjoyed a great stay at Aloft Cancun and we are looking forward to receive you back.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

This is not a resort, it is transit property plopped down in the middle of a busy boulevard. The staff is not well trained and it lacks the panache attributed to the Aloft brand. There is confusion concerning amenities and no in room coffee. The rooms are stark and viewless. The only reason to stay here is if it were free.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveledbefore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana V, administrative assistant at Aloft Cancun, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear traveledbefore,

We appreciate your time taken to leave your comments and we are really sorry to hear that we were not able to offer you a great service and experience.
Our head managers have been taking proper actions as our commitment is to obatain full satisfaction of all our guests staying at our hotel Aloft Cancun. And we are willing to receive you back and show it to you.
We hope you give us the opportunity to host you back and have you live life Aloft.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wexford
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

This hotel is great, fantastic location, clean room's and comfy beds! It is not a resort so if that's what you're looking for, book one of the big resort hotel's. It is an excellent city hotel room with great rooms with a nice pool to chill out and beach and restaurant's close by.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheiln3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana V, administrative assistant at Aloft Cancun, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear sheiln3 ,

We thank you for your kind comments about your recent stay at our hotel Aloft Cancun.

It is very good to know that you had enjoyed of our great location and comfy beds.

If you plan to come back soon to Cancun, we hope to host you back to keep enjoying of our design beds and great splash pool!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLCHESTER
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

We arrived at the Aloft after a 10 hour flight to the UK. We were 2 hours after our advised check in time and were told our room was not yet ready. We waited 20 minutes and were then given a room which was not what we had booked. We had booked a large double with a lagoon view. We got a room with two double beds and a view of a wall. We went back down to reception and were offered an alternative room not that much better.

We were supposed to have coffee making facilities but did not. When mentioned to reception we were told that not all the rooms yet had this so it was not offered ! So why mention it on the web site.

All in all this was a very upsetting stay.

Room Tip: Please try and get someone who speaks English if you don't speak Spanish. Make sure you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomadicnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

We've heard a lot of good reviews for Aloft before, which is why we were content with booking this hotel in the downtown area - after all, it was right by a lot of nightlife, easy access to beach, and transportation.

Unfortunately, the Aloft was a HUGE disappointment, and that's being kind. The rooms were dirty. I'm talking about brown spotty towels, stained bedskirts, moldy showers and simply a distinct aura of feeling unclean.

On top of all the grossness, my group of friends experienced such a poor display of customer service by the front desk, and even now, are still appalled by how we were treated.

The minute we checked in, the front desk slapped bright neon yellow bracelets on us to wear the entire stay saying we needed it for entry into our rooms. It struck as as odd at that moment - not to mention they were uncomfortable and just plain tacky - but we didn't think about it much more until after a day at the hotel. If it was hotel policy to put bracelets on everyone, then we'd deal with it.

The next day, we noticed NO other guests were wearing these bracelets. We asked at the front desk and the hotel rep essentially explained that they get to pick and choose whoever wears these bracelets, and they picked us because we were part of a bachelorette party. The front desk rep basically said if we were on business, we didn't have to wear them.

Let me stop here and explain that we are all professionals, in our late 20s and early 30s, and far from college spring breakers - and far more different than the hot mess of a girl who stumbled her way drunk and barefoot into the hotel the other night (who, by the way, didn't have a yellow bracelet on). It was completely absurd to profile us this way, and assume we would behave a certain way because of how young we looked, when NO ONE ELSE in the entire hotel were discriminated against. Not to mention, wearing those bracelets marked us as tourists even more, completely negating their lame "it's for your safety" excuse.

I'm sorry, if someone came up and mugged me, am I supposed to wave this dinky plastic bracelet in front of their face for protection?

Aloft - I truly wonder if you OK with this policy of profiling your Cancun hotel is enforcing?

Simply put, don't stay at the Aloft unless you like dirty hotels and poorer customer service. Thank God we had accommodations at the Westin Lagunamar for half the trip - it was amazing enough to make up for the horror show that is Aloft Cancun.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Karynn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.1 mi away
Krystal Cancun
Krystal Cancun
#70 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
0.5 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
2.1 mi away
Real Inn Cancun
Real Inn Cancun
#60 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
5.1 mi away
LQ Hotel by La Quinta Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Cancun

Property: Aloft Cancun
Address: Blvd Kukulkan Km 9, Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aloft Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate your style at Aloft Cancun, a hip new hotel where you’ll be steps away from the convention center. We offer easy-breezy access to the beach, upscale shopping, sizzling entertainment, vibrant nightlife, and the best restaurants in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aloft Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing