We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good option un Old Cancun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aloft Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aloft Cancun
Ranked #65 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good option un Old Cancun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Really great hotel, a few minutes walking from the nightclubs and bar area. Has a great pool/viwe on the last floor. Service is great, Rooms are ok but love the Aloft brand, is cool, energetic and simple in a good way.

Room Tip: High floor with view to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joselin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivonne A, Social Media Coordinator at Aloft Cancun, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Aloha Joselin G!

Thank you very much for sharing your stay experience with us. Your feedback is very important to us as a new hotel in order to deliver a better experience to all our guests pinpointing the areas where we need to work harder

We are very happy to read that the hotel talent were able to delight & deliver an A+ experience. The team works hard to engage our guests and its great to get the feedback when we deliver

Thank you once again for your feedback and do not forget to give us a buzz on your next trip to Cancun so we can amase and amuse you again.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    356
    152
    37
    40
See reviews for
115
349
64
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fitchburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Aloft seemed like it was a great value for the location. Close to clubs and restuarants and an available beach club since the hotel itself is not beach side. When we arrived at 4PM and there was a lobby full of people waiting around and a line at the check in desk. There were two gentlemen at the service desk explaining that rooms were not ready...for anyone. We asked if we could go to the beachclub while we waited and were told it was closed for an event. The gentlemen working at the desk were certainly trying their best, but there's obviously a flaw in the system and they need more front end support. Our room was eventually ready by 6PM, and it was not the king room that we booked. The rooms were nice enough and the view on the lagoon side was nice. We had to go back down to the front desk to ask for towels because no one was answering the phone and wait in line for another 20 minutes. All in all it was a bit of a frustrating stay when we were hoping to have something convenient at the end of our vacation.

Room Tip: The lagoon view is almost as nice if not nicer than the ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HomeisParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivonne A, Social Media Coordinator at Aloft Cancun, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear HomeisParadise,

Thank you very much for sharing your stay experience with us. Your feedback is very important to us as a new hotel in order to deliver a better experience to all our guests pinpointing the areas where we need to work harder

I am really sorry to read that we missed the chance to impress you with our facilities and amenities. Although the team works very hard to get things right, we do suffer setbacks, nevertheless we will take your comments very seriously and they will be shared in order to take actions regards the room issues.

Thank you once again for your feedback, in the meantime, if I may be of further service to you, please give us a buzz.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

The hotels design is very nice we arrived around 6:30ish and it was pretty busy our room was not ready so we sat around for about 30 minutes waiting for our room there definitely seems to a staffing issue they need more people upfront . Another problem we ran into was that the cleaning crew did not change the towels regularly rather they folded them and stacked them back at one point they only left one towel for a room they knew had two occupants in it? The floors in the bathroom were also still dirty even after the cleaning staff cleaned the room? The reception staff is very nice and friendly I can't recall any names but we asked to use their phones at the reception desk several times and they were very nice about it we didn't want to use the phone in our room being they charge a pretty steep and unreasonable price per minute ! The room itself was large and ample seemed at little empty but it was fine we understood we were getting what we paid for the shower is also pretty large which was nice how also there's a safe in the room which was very comforting, it's located right in the heart of party center if that's your thing we visited coco bongo and that was fun and it's also near a lot of local businesses and local places to eat for us it was the perfect location it's a very safe area you also get access to the Mandela beach club which was also fun through aloft you get free access to this club and get free cover but on weekends it's pretty busy so if you sleep in you won't find any lounge chairs or umbrellas left but you can at least use the pool, jacuzzi and restrooms. Because of the friendly staff @ aloft and good location we were able to see past a couple of flaws we would recommend it to others and would stay their again

Room Tip: One King size bed is good enough for a couple bed is very large and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivonne A, Social Media Coordinator at Aloft Cancun, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Aloha Jimmy A!

It is very important for us to know our guest feedback regarding the service and facilities we provide, in this occasion I read you enjoyed your stay and that our talents were able to provide you an A+ service. I want to extend you an apology about the time you had to wait for your room to be ready and also for the room issues you have raised, I want to mention that we will work harder to improve this areas so we can impress our future guests.

Thank you for your comments and if I your travels take you back to sunny Cancun give us a buzz; we will be more than happy to welcome you once again at Aloft Cancun.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed at the Aloft hotel at the end of December of last year 2013
And to be honest, the hotel was urbanish decorated ok, the Corridors to go to the room were filthy dirty for the tow days we stay there.
In the other hand service was good.

the hotel Not for me.
.

Room Tip: Please ask if the room dont have mold,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alfredopj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivonne A, Social Media Coordinator at Aloft Cancun, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Aloha Alfredopj!

Thank you for your review! Aloft is different by its design and was conceptualized with the new generation jet set traveler in mind. We certainly understand that the bright & bold look is not for everyone. Sorry that we missed the mark, on the other hand is great to read that our talents were able to provide you an A+ experience.

If I may be of further service to you, give us a-buzz.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
862 reviews
482 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

Overall this hotel was very nice but some quirky operational issues disappointed us. We ran into similar issues as many previous reviewers and noted that the hotel responded but nothing seems to have changed. We arrived at the hotel around 2:25 and waited about 10 minutes till the (only) receptionist was free. Also we thought we could self park but the only option was valet. After doing all the regular check in stuff he told us he would check to see if our room was ready and it may take 10 minutes so he encouraged us to take a seat in the rather humid lobby. After 10 minutes he told us the room would be ready in about 10 minutes. So we sat in the lobby and watched various people check in and get keys and head to their rooms!! Then we noticed that the receptionist who had worked with us was no longer there and 2 new receptionists were in place. I asked them when our room would be available and was told in about 10 minutes, at 3pm which seems to be the magic hour. We booked the hotel on the Starwood website with senior discount and wonder if discounted rooms cannot check in before 3. I am a member of the Starwood loyalty program but did not feel like a welcome guest. Anyway, at 3:10 we were given keys to the room, woohoo! Room was very nice and spacious however the tiled floor was dirty and really was in need if a swiffer. Room was cool but also rather humid. There was a coffee machine but no coffee so we requested some decaff. It arrived later but no cups or creamer. Next day we were just about to leave the room when the housekeeper knocked on the door. I held the door open while my husband collected his hat etc but she walked away for some reason. We came back to the room later in the day and the room was not done so we asked the security guy to ask the maid to make up our room. Came back several hours later and room still not done so asked reception if we could have the room made up and that was about 5pm. We went out for dinner and came back around 7:30 and room still not done. Went back to reception and told them I was not happy and he assured me he would take care of it. We went up to the lovely rooftop pool area to wait and it was 9:30pm before the room was finally done. Really bemused as to what is going on in this hotel. We saw many airline crews in the hotel so not sure if that contributes to logistics problems. Other minor issues that washcloth was not replaced, nor was coffee on the second day. Bar staff were very friendly and we ate a light dinner there one night and it was delicious. Sorry to be so verbose me but this could be a great hotel if some of these logistics problems could be resolved. Definitely didn't seem like a Starwood property. I held back on writing this review until the end of our trip to compare the experience with other hotels on the peninsula. Again, this is a very nice hotel but has operational issues which are not major just disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WeeLuv2Travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivonne A, Social Media Coordinator at Aloft Cancun, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear WeeLuv2Travel2,

Thank you very much for the time you took to write a review for us. It is our aim to delight & deliver and it looks like we missed the mark on this occasion. As a new hotel your feedback is extremely important for us to get better and I want to mention that I have already extended your comments to the Aloha desk and the Refresh Talent Coach. I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations and please be sure we will work harder to impress our future guests

If I may be of service to you in the future, give us a-buzz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern Wells
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Stayed here only one night in transit from Acapulco via Mexico City.
This hotel is a great business Hotel but due to its lack of bedroom balconies and middle of the town location, I cannot recommend it as a holiday base. However it is good value for money.

I must make special of Daniel on reception who was exceptionally helpful to us and deserves a pay rise.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivonne A, Social Media Coordinator at Aloft Cancun, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you Kevin G!

For take some extra minutes of your time to write a review for us on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to read that Daniel were able to deliver an A+ service during your stay! We hope you can visit Cancun again in the near future and do not forgive to give us a buzz next time you do.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

First stay in an Aloft for us and I have to say, aside from the unseasonal rain, we enjoyed our stay here. The rooms are not what you would call luxury (and I understand that is not Aloft's concept in any case) but it suited us perfectly as it had all we need and was clean and comfortable.

Note that this is not a resort and not next to a beach so probably more suitable for people who have activities and excursions planned every day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivonne A, Social Media Coordinator at Aloft Cancun, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hi Angelo C

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us on Trip Advisor! We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our clean and comfortable rooms!

We hope you can visit us again in the near future so we can continue to amuse you.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.2 mi away
Krystal Cancun
Krystal Cancun
#69 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,579 reviews
0.2 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
0.4 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Real Inn Cancun
Real Inn Cancun
#59 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
4.6 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
0.2 mi away
Cancun Clipper Club
Cancun Clipper Club
#84 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Cancun

Property: Aloft Cancun
Address: Blvd Kukulkan Km 9, Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aloft Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate your style at Aloft Cancun, a hip new hotel where you’ll be steps away from the convention center. We offer easy-breezy access to the beach, upscale shopping, sizzling entertainment, vibrant nightlife, and the best restaurants in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Aloft Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing