We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SPG at a Great Price”
Review of Aloft Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aloft Cancun
Ranked #67 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Casper, Wyoming
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“SPG at a Great Price”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We booked the Aloft in Cancun because of the great price we saw! I believe it was $65 a night! Which is incredibly reasonable when you check around at other hotels around the area. This is not all inclusive. However it is a SPG hotel, so if you have stayed at an Aloft before, you know what to expect.

The room was nothing short of what we expected. Clean, Modern, and Comfortable. Air conditioning and a refrigerator. A major plus for us, was the internet was high speed and we have no problems. The rooftop pool is pretty neat too! A nice place to lounge around on a day you have nothing planned. Also, they have a washer and dryer for use for guests. Of course, you buy the soap, but hey we thought that was pretty cool.

They let us check in a hour and a half early. As well as we felt safe the whole time we were there. As a side note, check the elevator floors, pretty cool and something only a SPG hotel would do! The staff was friendly and attentive.

We stayed 9 days there. The location is fabulous! A five minute walk in one way or the other, you are to a beach. There are two different ones that are five minutes away. The local club/bar area is about a 7 minute walk! Which was great for us! There are many restaurants and shopping areas near by as well! And the flea market, although I would suggest Market 23 to get souvenirs. But the location was super great for us.

All in all our stay was pretty good. Of course, it's a Aloft and not a W, but it was to the standards we expected, and a super reasonable rate. We would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivonne A, Social Media Coordinator at Aloft Cancun, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Hi Misti M!

Thank you for having recently stayed with us and taking some minutes of your time to write such a nice review for us.

Great to read that we have been able to delight & deliver an a+ experience and that you liked our facilities like the Splash rooftop pool and our comfortable rooms. As you mentioned, we are conveniently located on the heart of the night life of the hotel zone here in Cancun and we are really glad to read that this was a plus for you!

Give us a-buzz on your next trip to Cancun so that we can amaze and amuse you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    390
    169
    44
    46
See reviews for
132
382
74
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Our stay in Aloft Cancun was really terrible.

Check in: There was no other guest around and we were attended immediately. However, the entire check in process took more than 30 mins. The guy attending to us did not seemed to know what he is doing. We thought he might be new since he was constantly refering his doubts to another staff. However, the other staff looks equally as blur and both of them were clicking away on the computer as we waited very patiently. Finally we got our keys.

Room: The room was not what we paid for. We paid for a king size ocean view room but only got a king size lagoon view. When we confronted the reception, they said they have a ocean view room but only double bed. So, it is either or. I was amazed, since we paid for the specific room. Not as to wasted time, we settled for the current room (King size, lagoon view). The room was musty in smell. The floor was wet, not sure if its small puddle of water or was it condensation. The deco of the room was not Starwood quailty and had coffee machines without coffee. Complimentary water was not replenished everyday. Overall, i tiped-toe everywhere i went. Opposite to the information provided to us in our confirmation email, Wi-fi was virtually non-existent in the room. Anyway, one of the room card was not working again the next day.

Check out: Again, the same two staff was mending the reception and it took a frustrating long time to check out. The confirmation email sent to us stated that our credit card has been charged but the staff told us we have not paid for it. At this point, our shuttle bus is already waiting for us at the pouch. In the end we gave him our credit card and made the transaction. We boarded the bus. Then the same staff came running to us and knock on our bus door and said he needed our credit card again for more information to be keyed into their system. *shocked*.

Ok, I am as tired now typing so much as I am dealing with Aloft cancun during my Christmas vacation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Daren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivonne A, Social Media Coordinator at Aloft Cancun, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Daren L

Thanks for sharing your experience with us during your recent visit to out hotel. Your feedback is important to us as a new hotel in order to deliver an a+ experience to all our guests.

While the team works extremely hard to get things right, we do on occasion suffer setbacks. We do take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. I do apologize for the issues you have raised.

Thanks again for your feedback because this will definitely help us improve the products and services we offer our guests.

In the meantime, if I may be of further service to you, please let me know.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Just checked out of the Aloft today following a four night stay. (booked on Orbitz flight + hotel deal)

My stay was comfortable and enjoyable. Employees provided good customer service even though they were often overwhelmed.

Pros:

modern/chic feel of rooms
air conditioning worked great
nice glass door showers
rainfall showers (ceiling)
employees work hard to provide good customer service
convenience to clubs, pharmacies, small stores, starbucks and professional massages
nice pool area (roof top garden)
rooms have Mr. Coffee makers
free use of small steam room/sauna
free bottle of water each day
free laundry (one washer one dryer)
mini frigs
toiletries are of high quality
free wifi

Cons:

front desk consistently overwhelmed (never enough employees to deal with flow)
rooms consistently not ready for check ins
no coffee supplied for coffee makers (always had to ask and it was always instant decaf)
only one washer and dryer for entire property
not on beach (limited beach access)

I usually stay at the Marriott properties in Cancun and have developed certain expectations.
In my opinion, Aloft is hampered by structural and management issues. With a viable labor source in Cancun, its strikes me strange that the Aloft never seems to have enough employees working (front desk/housekeeping/pool area)

Also the attention to details is lacking:
towels should be provided on location at pool
pool loungers should have comfortable pads ready each morning consistently (early)
coffee provided in rooms

Would I stay again? Most likely for a couple of days and then move on to a beach front property to have best of both worlds. If one is looking for a good, cool place to stay to enjoy the night life then you will like the Aloft.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bsamgbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivonne A, Social Media Coordinator at Aloft Cancun, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear bsamgbane,

Thank you very much for taking some minutes of your time to write a review for us.

For us is very important to get our guests feedback so we can pinpoint the areas we need to focus on. It was really encouraging to read that our talents were able to provide you an A+ experience and but we also read that despite your stay was enjoyable, you experienced some inconvenients during your stay and we apologize about that, you can be sure we will take them very seriously to improve our services and facilities.

Please give us a buzz next time you are in town, we will be more than happy to host you and show you our improvements.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

The Aloft Hotel in Cancun is very new yet very disappointing. We arrived and had a lot luggage, but the door host did not offer to help with the luggage. Luckily, they had one airport style cart where we stacked 6 pieces of luggage with difficulty. However, none of the staff in the lobby seemed to care. We were sent via mail pre checked-in room keys, but they said those were not valid at their location. After a very long and tiresome journey we were told that our room was not ready. Keep in mind it was already nighttime when we arrived and we are Starwood Preferred Guest members. Because of this we were offered member points or a voucher for two cocktails at the bar. Since the room was not ready, we chose the drinks. We had a Mojito and Chardonnay by the lobby bar. The ambiance is mostly for young adults. Not very cozy or welcoming. We finally made it to our Gold Member Preferred Guest long awaited room. It was located immediately next to the gym. While this might seem to be a plus, we could feel and hear all the fitness equipment pounding on the bed wall. The room was not too big. Partial view of the ocean with a rather small window. There is a small fridge, an analog bedside clock a small bench and a small desk. It was clean, but uninviting. The bed and towels were not Heavenly Starwood signature at all. The music from the local bars and discos can be heard throughout the night from the fourth floor. Once checked out I was approached by a staff member who asked if I needed a taxi to the airport. I told him we had already secured our transportation with a taxi driver a few blocks away and he got upset. I told him we were offered a $300 pesos rate instead of $800 by the hotel. He kept ranting about some control norms and what not. Bottom line is, I'm not paying more than I need to for the same service. Overall, this hotel has damaged my perception of Starwood Hotels. It should be inspected for quality control. As regular visitors to Cancun, we will never stay at this hotel again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank skyrat1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivonne A, Social Media Coordinator at Aloft Cancun, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear skyrat1977

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us, the comments and feedback from our guests is very important to us because they help us to focus on the areas that need our attention.

We are very disappointed to read that you did not experienced a warm welcome, that is not the way we want our guests to feel treated or the service we aim to provide. You can be sure that your comments will be used to make us work harder in order to improve our service and the promptness of the rooms, please accept our most sincere apologies.

If your travels take you back to Cancun someday in the near future, I hope you can visit us to witness our improvements.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

It is a very pretty hotel and it has a good price. However, they have a serious management problem. I check in and I had to wait for my room key more than 20 min. They only have one guy at the front desk who is juggling with all costumers demands. The official time for check in is 3 pm. I arrived at 6 pm.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 84alg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivonne A, Social Media Coordinator at Aloft Cancun, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear 84alg,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for our property.

I read your comments and I truly regret to read that we missed the chance to impress you during your stay due to the delay on delivering your room. Please believe me that that is not the service we aim to provide to our guests and I am really sorry that it happened to you. We will work harder to impress our future guests and if you decide to come back to Cancun in the near future I sincerely hope you can give us a second chance to live the real Aloft experience.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This sleek and modern hotel offered rooms at an amazing price and sits just one street off of the beach. Rooms look out onto the ocean or lagoon, are well sized with modern amenities (the shampoos felt and smelled great), with cool decor and nice touches. The bed was gigantic and very comfortable!

The hotel offers a breakfast buffet (not included!), has a central pool table, fitness center, and impressive pool on the roof (great for early evenings after visiting the beach all day before going out for the night), and even has a welcome package for doggies (40lbs or less).

The staff were very friendly and informative and quick to respond to any needs (we had a confusion with our breakfast dining situation which was solved immediately). If you plan to hit the party scene, ask if the hotel has any specials (we received a discount to one of the main clubs, including drinks and dinner, for half the price).

Hotel offers complimentary valet parking. We look forward to staying at Aloft hotels around the world. Well worth the money!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tashinabrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivonne A, Social Media Coordinator at Aloft Cancun, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you very much tashinabrito!

For your “Modern hotel, amazing price” nice review for us on Trip Advisor. It is very gratifying to read that our talents were able to provide you an A+ service and that you enjoyed the hotel facilities such as our comfortable rooms and our amenities as well as the roof garden!

We will be looking forward to host you again in the future, so if your travels take you back to Cancun don’t forget to give us a buzz so we can continue to amaze and amuse you.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Good location but not on beach front, near restaurant and bars. free access to beach at a beach club. Employees are great and they try to accommodate you. The hotel has a restaurant, bar and a food station open 24hrs. The windows do not open, but a problem for me. AC works well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alwaysinasuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivonne A, Social Media Coordinator at Aloft Cancun, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you very much Alwaysinasuitcase!

For have recently stayed with us and also for writing such a nice review for us here on Trip Advisor. It is very gratifying to read that our talents were able to provide you an A+ service and that you enjoyed the hotel facilities like our Refuel, our WXYZ bar and our Nook Restaurant.

If your journey takes you back to Cancun, give us a buzz so we can amaze and amuse you once again at Aloft Cancun.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.2 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
2.1 mi away
Real Inn Cancun
Real Inn Cancun
#64 of 175 in Cancun
498 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Krystal Cancun
Krystal Cancun
#69 of 175 in Cancun
4,885 reviews
4.9 mi away
Fiesta Inn Cancun Las Americas
4.7 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Cancun

Property: Aloft Cancun
Address: Blvd Kukulkan Km 9, Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aloft Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate your style at Aloft Cancun, a hip new hotel where you’ll be steps away from the convention center. We offer easy-breezy access to the beach, upscale shopping, sizzling entertainment, vibrant nightlife, and the best restaurants in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Aloft Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing