We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine shuttle, lackluster representative support”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lomas Travel

Lomas Travel
Ranked #61 of 317 Tours in Cancun
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lomas Travel is a travel agency certified by the Mexican Association of Travel Agencies (AMAV), with a team of over 800 professionals in tourism services. Since 1981, we have been providing unforgettable experiences to visitors from around the world, whom thanks to their preference and recommendations have allowed us to create quality memories for 31 years, in the Mexican Caribbean and other destinations in the country.In our varied catalogue you will find: Hotels in Mexico. You can choose accommodations suitable to your requirements, be it for a family, business or leisure trip. We offer a wide variety of hotels at the best rates in major destinations of Mexico, like beaches, cosmopolitan cities or magical towns. Transfers in Cancun and Riviera Maya. Relax and don’t worry about how to reach your destination. We offer you private, shared, or luxury transportation options, on board modern and safe vehicles equipped with GPS technology and speed control, from the airport to any hotel in Cancun and the Riviera Maya. Tours in Cancun and the Riviera Maya. To complement your stay, we offer incredible experiences for you to take home the best memories. All activities take place in movie-like landscapes: lush jungles, impressive archaeological sites, underground cenotes, idyllic beaches and spectacular underwater sites. Some of the activities you can enjoy are: camel-back rides, snorkel at reefs, scuba diving, swimming with dolphins, zip-lining tours, visits to archaeological sites and more.Let us show you why our customers come back to this destination using our services. Consult with our tourism specialists and experience the best vacation. We are at your service 24 hours a day, 365 days a year
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Fine shuttle, lackluster representative support”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We have used Lomas Travel a number of times in the past when we have booked a Funjet package, so I decided to use them for our airport shuttle even though we were booking the vacation independently. Big mistake!

Although the actual shuttle from and to the airport was on time and pleasant, the fact that we were not part of a package seem to cause confusion. The bellman at the hotel couldn't find our reservation when we arrived because we weren't on the "usual" list of guests arriving as part of a package. Then, each time we met with a Lomas representative, they always had difficulty locating our reservation. We upgraded from one section of the resort to another for the last three days of our trip, but we made sure to tell, Marisol, the Lomas rep, that we had originally been assigned to that we were moving. She told us she would transfer our pickup to the other section of the resort since it has a separate lobby, but we should check in with the representative in that part of the resort in case our shuttle time changed. When we checked in with Juan, he was rude and kept telling us that we had to contact Marisol to transfer our reservation. After several unpleasant discussions with him, we discovered that he was looking for our name on the wrong lists since we weren't part of a package.

Since there are plenty of companies who offer airport shuttle services in the Riviera Maya, I'll probably choose another company next time.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    550
    127
    68
    74
    201
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fine service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We used Lomas for our transport from the airport to the El Dorado Royale. We followed the instructions they gave us to just head past all the chaos in the arrivals area of the airport, and we looked for the blue shirts and white ties. We were in our beautiful, well-supplied stretch limo within 10 minutes of passing through customs. A safe, comfortable ride with a courteous driver. The return transport was in a Lincoln Navigator, and, though not as splashy as the limo, it was just as enjoyable. Now that we know we'll be heading back to the same resort regularly, we are happy to know that Lomas will be our touring company.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank carolibbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Mixed results”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Had to wait at the airport for our transportation for 45 min with a group of about 30 people. The person kept saying "10 more minutes". Extremely frustrating when you want to start your vacation.

At the hotel (Azul Beach) we signed up for the zipline/ATV tour. Was not told that we had to bring the receipt with us. I ended up running back to the room while the bus waited for me. In addition, we were told that the place was only 40 minutes away from our hotel. What they failed to mention was the additional time to pick up another group from another hotel. Their road was washed out and took 20+ minutes to just drive down the driveway! Was told we could wear our flip flops and only needed to bring tipping money. Good thing we wore tennis shoes. There is no way you could have done the activities we did with only flip flops. In addition when we got there we were told we needed to buy $10 insurance per person for the ATV's or put a credit card down. This would of been nice to know a head of time since I didn't bring a credit card with me.

On the plus side, they picked us up on time for our return to the airport.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decorah, Iowa
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lomas Travel Fishing Excersion”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Recently my husband,myself and another couple rented a fishing boat for a half day through Lomas Travel with Roger at Blue Bay Esmeralda, Riveria Maya. The fishing trip was a new experience and for the most part enjoyable, with a pretty good day of fishing. However, after paying a pretty good amount of money for this trip, the boating staff still asked for a tip at that end, which was very uncomfortable, as we had paid a large sum for the trip to begin with.

After returning to the states, we discovered that the fishing trip transaction had been taking from my husband and my account twice, and from the other couples account three times. Extremely frustrated, and disgusted with this type of error, we tried to get a phone number to contact somebody that would be able to understand English and help us with this situation. This excursion took place on 1/4/14 and today is 1/21/14 and we still have not been refunded our money yet. Although, Alejandra Flores has assured us several times since the 14th of January that this money has been through their bank and placed in our accounts.

Extremely frustrated and now we are filing a dispute with the banks so that they can get the authorities involved.

Next year we will not use Lomas Travel.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaAdventures, Public Relations Manager at Lomas Travel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced

LOMAS TRAVEL finds your comments highly concerning in order to provide the best resolution could you give us your email address in order to follow up properly.
As evidence of our striving for perfection, we have taken steps to ensure this never happens again by strong actions to enrich the satisfaction that we offer our customers.
We deeply appreciate your relationship with Us and are committed to providing the highest level of service.
If you have questions or comments about this topic, feel free to talk to us in customer@lomas-travel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
“MARIO AT XCARET WAS INCREDIBLE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Our trip to Playa Del Carmen was perfect because of Mario who works at the Xcaret hotel for Lomas travel. Everything that we did was directed by Mario. We did 4 excursions in 7 days and they were all great because of his expertise. All the transfers went smoothly and on time with no surprises. The quality of the excursions and the people we went with were soo much better than what we expected. Thank you Mario and Lomas travel for a great vacation.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank h0rnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lomas Travel also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Lomas Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing