We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great restaurant worth the trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Palapa del Mezcal - CLOSED

La Palapa del Mezcal
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great restaurant worth the trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Conveniently located across from RUI and close to Casa Maya (and near the big Mexican flagpole) around KM 5.5. Great view of the water and the marina. The food is excellent (try the octopus or grouper). The wait staff is stupendous.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CHXBeachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    18
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
90 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great food, but empty restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

This place was next to our hotel. Its has a lovely interior and an open air feel. We arrived at approximately 8 PM during the 3rd week in March and there was one table of 3 just leaving. Other than them, we were the only customers. The service was very good. The grasshoppers are worth a try, and the green salsa was wonderful in a very hot way. As mentioned in other posts, the Shrimp 3-3-3 was excellent. The Octopus was also excellent, and professionally cooked. I hope business picks up, as I'd love to see this place make it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank light122376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best food we had in Cancun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely restaurant in a great location. The food is absolutely amazing! Highly recommend leaving your AI hotel for a night and going here! Staff are very friendly too.

Helpful?
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
2 reviews
“Worth a try”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Discovered this restaurant right across from our resort and ate there several times. The convenience was a big deal, but we enjoyed the experience also and had a variety of meals as we always went with a group of friends. The 3/3/3 shrimp was a hit, along with the grouper, which one person had 3 times. Service was friiendly and efficient. Even with our large group, they got everything right.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tigee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great food great sunsets!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Each February we stay at the nearby Riu Caribe resort and make it a point several times throughout our stay to get across the street to the La Palapa del Mezcal for great food and wonderful views of the sunset over the lagoon and marina. We always round up a few guests to take with us and the response is the same every time from those we take with us...."what a wonderful place and they are so friendly we will come back on our own now". The food is, for the most part traditional Mexican, but you can also find some other dishes that might be more familiar for the tourists. The drinks are very good (and plentiful) and the staff is so accommodating and so happy to see you when you walk in you feel like you are almost part of the family. We highly recommend for dinner or maybe one of their very good Strawberry Daiquiri's on the deck as you relax and enjoy the view.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank getawaytoCancun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Palapa del Mezcal also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing