We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Italian with hip South Beach vibe”

Cenacolo Il Ristorante Italiano
Reserve with OpenTable
Cenacolo Il Ristorante Italiano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 960 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $70
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Italian with hip South Beach vibe”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Ate here over Christmas vacation with my wife and two teenagers. This is one of two restaurants owned by the same people on the Hotel Strip. One is in a luxury mall and this one overlooks the lagoon. They each have essentially the same menu. They also have gluten-free pasta which is good because my daughter has celiac. The place looks like it should be on South Beach in Miami...all white furnishing inside with a cool vibe and outdoor/indoor seating. They make their own pasta here and the dishes are very good. I had a pasta dish with shrimp and red sauce. Service was quick and with a smile. Definitely would recommend this place if looking for a nice Italian dinner.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRCENACOLO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Cenacolo Il Ristorante Italiano, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear customer, we are glad to know that you and your family enjoyed the dinner at the restaurant, and that your daughter enjoyed our gluten free pasta options. Thank you for your comments

we hope you´ll visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    88
    31
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous homemade authentic Italian food in Cancun?!”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

When the sommelier is the first person that greets you during your visit to a restaurant amongst a strip of cheezy chain restaurants, you know you're in for a good time.

The wine list is extensive and superb. The food is fresh, a la brick oven fresh rosemary bread, squid ink pasta, and house made burratta. Aparently their menu changes all the time based on availability and seasonality, but after just returning from Sorrento and Capri, I can honestly say this place is legit!

Watch out for the sabering of champagne bottles and the 4 foot long pepper grinder!

Perfect place for a special dinner night as it's somewhat expensive, say 3/5 $$$, but much more reasonable for the price than neighboring restaurants with bland fare.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chase S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRCENACOLO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Cenacolo Il Ristorante Italiano, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear customer, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit to cenacolo mare. We hope you visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
176 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian food among many competitors”
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming to Cancun for nearly 20 years and have made the rounds among the many Italian restaurants in Cancun. We tried Cencolo Mare for the first time on our last visit.

The food was excellent as was the wine list. The ambiance was quite lovely and we had a table right on the lagoon.

The restaurant was above average in terms of price but we felt it was well worth it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lancburm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRCENACOLO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Cenacolo Il Ristorante Italiano, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear customer, we are pleased that you enjoyed your last night in Cancun with us at cenacolo mare.We will consider your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Level Contributor
134 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“On the Water”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

When making reservations be sure to request an outdoor table so you can enjoy the water side dining experience.
Like many restaurants in Cancun the street entrance is not impressive, the dining room is gorgeous with beautiful shaded glass fixtures. The service is commendable as is the food.
The members of my party ordered the garden ravioli, lasagna, mushroom ravioli, tuna, and I order the fresh grilled snapper. Everyone raved over their entrees. The grilled snapper was prepared for the fish was light and flaky. The tuna was the largest serving of fresh tuna I have ever seen, and prepared rare, it was creamy as fresh tuna should be.
I cannot wait to return to Cancun next November to dine again at Cenacolo Mare.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pegrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome food, service, ambience”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful setting , even in a tropical storm, beautiful white contemporary decor. Sat and enjoyed cocktails in the lounge bar. Dinner was amazing...think of all your favourite foods, pasta, seafood and meats and wow...Beef Carpaccio, baked 2 lobster tails, fresh homemade pasta, 6 cocktails and all for less than £70... Very attentive but not intrusive service, great for all occasions with friends, romance. Wood always come back here if in cancun without question!
:-)

Helpful?
Thank SUEDDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cenacolo Il Ristorante Italiano also viewed

 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Cenacolo Il Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing