We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

La Guada Restaurante Cantina
Ranked #355 of 980 Restaurants in Cancun
Price range: $2 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Highly recommend this restaurant with real character and wonderful food. Nice locals spot.

Squash blossom empanadas and short ribs in a sauce with bitter greens were super good and complex. Salsas, beans, and everything else were exemplary.

Helpful?
Thank Werkbund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    12
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
carolkemp@aol.com
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“We Love This Place”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have been there two times since our arrival this year in Cancun on 3/21/13. We are typically the only gringos in the place! We are best served when Luis is serving us....be sure to ask for him... Don't expect him to speak English.... We have been coming here for the last 3-4 years and enjoy the true Cantina atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carolkemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really spicy!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Ask for one "Vuelta al ruedo" with the special chilis, and you will know the really home-made spicy food tastes! Quality and good price for locals. Don´t expect the waiters to speak english.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank manuel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Recommended by a friend, checked out this Cantina under the Bull Ring. Great food.
Nice change from all-fish diet of the week, we had some meat.

It was a little confusing to find, because it had changed its name (formerly known as la Guadalupana, apparently).

Felt very local (we were the only tourists there).

I'd hang out there a lot if I lived in Cancun.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hir00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Guada Restaurante Cantina also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to La Guada Restaurante Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing