We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better insight into Mayans” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museo Maya de Cancun

Museo Maya de Cancun
Book In Advance
More Info
$93.50*
and up
Cancun Day Trip: Museo Maya and El Rey Ruins Tour
Ranked #13 of 141 things to do in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Better insight into Mayans”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

The museum is in the hotel zone and they charge about $56 mexican pesos per person. When you first come in they have a nice, small exhibit that isn't related to the Mayans. Upstairs they have many Mayan artifacts that are really wonderful from jewelry to weapons. They also have a long winding "road" that has a handful of ruins to check out. They really aren't that great except for the one all the way at the end (El Rey ruins nearby is better for this). The ruins are not wheel chair accessible They also have a small gift shop with decent prices.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LAS29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    981
    615
    194
    24
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Well worth the time if you enjoy historical information”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is a museum that we consistently bring our Cancun guest to who have even a passing interest in Mayan culture. It's well done, air conditioned and the information is fascinating. Coupled with the 5$ admission fee and it's easy access in the hotel zone, this is a worthwhile 1-2 hour exhibit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Made me want to learn more about the Maya”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

It was not very large, but the displays were nicely done with enugh in English to convey the messages well. I don't think I would have wanted to spend more time, even if it had been larger. It was a lot of information to absorb.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank maureane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, Canada
1 review
“A Monumental Journey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Besides the heat, I had very little to complain about. I learned a great deal, took incredible pictures that before I could only dream of, and NOW I have a setting for my novel based on the experience!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DarianTibert_2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxbury, CT
Level Contributor
124 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Excellent Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were surprised at the number and quality of artifacts at this new museum just steps outside the Omni Hotel. Well worth the modest entry fee to spend an hour or so exploring the museum.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank stonecroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Maya de Cancun also viewed

 

Been to Museo Maya de Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing