We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, Welcoming, and Delicious: A perfect Cancun combo”

Wazaaabi Sushi House
Ranked #163 of 1,107 Restaurants in Cancun
Price range: $5 - $40
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed August 5, 2013

While in Cancun, it is quite possible (and sometimes quite tempting) to stay for a week and never leave your resort, much less the well-trafficked Zona Hotelera. But doing so at the cost of not trying some of the more unique culinary offerings, especially away from the posturing pseudo-glitz of the hotel strip, would be a mistake. Wazaaabi, situated just west of the lagoon in Plaza Peninsula, is certainly a restaurant that is worth venturing out for. Their extensive menu and high quality sushi could easily compete with the sushi houses of San Francisco or New York in all categories but one: Wazaaabi's prices are probably half of what you'd find in those larger cities. Their citrus-spiked house soy sauce and spicy edamame are just a few of the many pleasant variants that give their sushi a unique twist, and the patio seating, live music, and outdoor bar make for a surprisingly enjoyable ambience despite the lack of any real scenery to speak of aside from the adjoining restaurants. While the indoor part of the restaurant is currently under construction (they are adding private karaoke rooms), it did not interfere with the dining experience. The generosity and graciousness of the manager, Eric, are on par with the finest restaurant service I've received in any city, and if your Spanish isn't perfect he is more than happy to help with English translations or any menu questions. This level of service and personal attention came despite the fact that every table was full. He even had a personal printed sign awaiting us at our table, which was ready immediately on our arrival for our reservation. The fact that we had a large group didn't slow them down a bit. If you're in Cancun and hungry for Sushi, this should definitely be your first stop. It may not be as familiar to your hotel concierge as Margaritaville, but don't let their blank stares, or your cab driver's, deter you (have the address ready). Wazaaabi is a great and authentic Cancun experience, as unique as it is spelled.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Bernark2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericfontaine, General Manager at Wazaaabi Sushi House, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Bernark, thank you so much for you review and your kind words, it makes us very happy and motivates us to make a better job with each guest, we look forward to having you back again as it was a pleasure to serve you!!

Kind regards,

Eric Fontaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 213 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

On our second day in Cancun my daughter and I decided to try Wazaaabi based on the reviews. Our expectations were exceeded in both quality of the food and the service. The waiter made some recommendations as well as Eric, the manager.

We had the spicy tuna roll, the tuna and mango roll and the shrimp and crab roll. They were all beautifully made and presented and we also had two specialty soy sauces that went really well with the rolls.

Eric also helped make some recommendations of things to do in the area and made us feel really welcome. At the end of the meal we were so full but were served a complimentary dessert as well. We had deep fried Oreos with ice cream. They were lightly battered and warm and gooey inside....really yummy and a nice surprise.

To top it all off, we asked Eric to call a taxi for us but he insisted on driving us back to the bus stop that runs along the hotel strip.

If you're in Cancun and a sushi lover, you won't be disappointed!

Thank you Eric for a wonderful meal and such warm hospitality!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank EileenBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericfontaine, General Manager at Wazaaabi Sushi House, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Mrs. Eileen,

It was so nice to meet you and your lovely daughter and was a pleasure having you as our guests for lunch, hope you enjoyed the rest of your holidays and look forward to your return!

kind regards,

Eric Fontaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

As an avid sushi fan I have high standards. And wazaabi surpassed them. Highly recommend the salmon on rice bowl. All prepared in house. Service very attentive.

A great experience. Will definitely attend again!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Eskieclunge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

If you want sushi in Cancun, get away from the Hotel Zone and head to Wazzabi in downtown – it’s a 160 peso cab ride and well worth it. It was the last night of our 7 day family vacation. We had some great and some not so great meals during our stay and we wanted to make this one count. I received a recommendation from a local suba operator (Scorpio Divers www.scorpiodivers.com) and I confirmed with other positive reviews from Trip Advisor. We were greeted by the manager, Eric who was very attentive and helpful. Not only did he offer great advice for his menu but also provided local travel tips and suggestions. My only regret is that we didn't find Wazzabi and Eric earlier in the trip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank todd m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericfontaine, General Manager at Wazaaabi Sushi House, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Mr. Todd M,

Thank you for your kind words, it was a pleasure having you and your family over on your last night in Cancun, please send my regards to the family and hope to have you back as our guests soon!!

Kind Regards,

Eric Fontaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I are from New York and we love good sushi. And we have been to some of the best sushi spots in New York. When we were in Cancun we weren't expecting to find such good sushi but we were craving sushi so bad that we went here and to our surprise it was delicious. I especially like the sauces they give on the side, the owner was very sweet and he recommended us the best things on the menu. I recommend fried Oreos for dessert! And just in general if you're in Cancun this is a most stop! They even have some fish imported from Japan

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gaby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wazaaabi Sushi House also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Wazaaabi Sushi House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing